tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/10/2015 : X-MARKS THE PEDWALK - The House Of Rain

X-MARKS THE PEDWALK

The House Of Rain

MusicCD
Electronics

[78/100]   

Infacted Recordings
07/10/2015, Benny CALUWE

In the 90s, X-Marks The Pedwalk was one of the most successful EBM bands on the notorious Zoth Omog label. X-MTP was regarded as the German Skinny Puppy. But they don’t sound like that anymore. The agressive EBM made room for melancholic electronics with hints of synth pop and future pop. Sevren Ni-arb’s harsh vocals made room for clean and processed vocals. But hey, no worries. Fortunately there are sufficient gloomy soundscapes, pounding beats and electro-industrial elements. X-MTP did not become cheesy at all. That much I can assure you.

The album contains 12 tracks. It starts in fashion with the title track The House Of Rain and Drowned Words. Two mesmerizing dreamy tracks with the sweet voice of Estefania, whose vocals are more present than ever. That works just fine. Check out (or download via Bandcamp) Frozen Light.

Next to Shock Therapy, a track reminiscent of Depeche Mode. There are also some upbeat tracks such as Second Home, Go Down and Far From Eden. The latter is an outstanding instantly memorable anthem that will certainly fill the underground dance floors.

The album ends with 2 instrumentals. Another Dream combines Kraftworkian retro sounds with contemporary elements. Asynchronous contains some warm soundscapes and ambient elements.

The House Of Rain is a richly detailed album with a polished production. Sevren Ni-arb crafted some nice melodies and wrote vulnerable lyrics, full of contradicting emotions. Although I first worried about this new direction, the album grew on me and in the end I was convinced. Recommended, and not only for schizophrenics.

 

 

 

Benny CALUWE
07/10/2015


Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE