tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/01/2015 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1

VARIOUS ARISTS

Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBMGothic

[80/100]   

Upscene
14/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

Part four of this cult series has been divided in two. In 2014 the club in southern Germany celebrated its 25 years of existence and it was decided to release twice a double compilation CD. Like for many other compilations, tracks were selected that have not been available for a long time, some rarities as well and some exclusive versions as a sale argument.

In my opinion the interesting thing about this compilation is its diversity. It compiles absolute classics and current stars, as well as some less well-known names of the past and some newcomers. It offers a whole range of styles: synthpop, electro, dark wave, anhalt EBM, industrial rock, gothic rock, neue Deutsche Härte, cybergoth, etc.

The first part of the compilation contains 34 songs. It kicks off with Karin Park’s spherical New Era. This nice opening track is followed by 2 uninspired covers: Faderhead with Nowhere girl (originally by B-Movie) and Apoptygma Berzerk with Major Tom (from Peter Schilling), sung in English. But apart from those 2 disappointing covers and maybe some cybergoth or techindustrial ones (you like it or you don’t), this compilation has plenty of good music.

Beside Karin Park, I discovered nice things such as the female Greek synthpop duo Marscheaux, Homo Futura (a Welle Erdball side project) and Solar Fake, a new electronic project of former Dreadful Shadow singer Sven Friedrich. Other discoveries are the rare eighties EBM from Ganzheit and Inside Treatment.

Off course many tracks on this collection are aiming for the dance floor, but you can hear also dark folk from Rome with the single version of Hates Us and See if We Mind and some neo-classical ones with Varney 1826 and Anna Aliena.

On Abby 4.1 you find 3 exclusive remixes: there is a so called Abby mix 2014 for Les Berrtas’Knochenschäler, for Autodafeh’s Retro Electric and for The Invincible Spirit classic Power and Outlaw. Especially the last track is a hammer, just as Die Krupps’ Als wären Wir für immer.

Other noteworthy contributions are of 18 Summers, In Strict Confidence, Torul (from Slovenia) and Kirlian Camera with the fantastic Black August. And let us not forget Re:legion. Normally I am not very fond of future pop, but Re:legion’s Saints from the Streets (aequitas mix) is simply an outstanding track, combining catchy beats and atmosphere.

Other highlights are the British goth rockers of Angels Of Liberty with their Black Madonna, and those of Suspiria with the classic Allegedly, Dancefloor Tragedy. Another absolute classic is Ausgeblutet of Relatives Menschsein.

My personal highlights are Näd Mika and Objekt/Urian, two projects I did not know before. Näd Mika mixes a lot of pop sounds from the past with industrial. Her song Schizomatic is catchy and impressive. Objekt/Urian makes old school industrial. Their track Chamber Music reminds me of The Normal and Crash Course In Science.

Abby 4.1 is an interesting compilation with lots of variety. It’s nice to hear back some classic and some promising discoveries.

Benny CALUWE
14/01/2015


 

Next reviews
XII • Moving In The Shadows
YORGOS LANTHIMOS • Kinetta
DARK STORM FESTIVAL • Chemnitz, Germany (25/12/2014)
ANGELDUST • Meth Face EP
GARY SHORE • Dracula Untold
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
ASTRONAUTS • In My Direction
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days
• GIRLS - SEASON 3
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: EBM
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
TUKT • Tukt
STAATSEINDE • Darüber Reden Wir Nicht
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE • Sharpening The Axe
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
UNITCODE:MACHINE • Paper empires

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
JESU • When I Was Small
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse

Music reviews

19
10
DREADFOOL
Atoms for peace
18
10
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
All Thoughts Fly Sweden
17
10
FATAL CASUALTIES
Lullaby for Helsinki
16
10
JESU
When I Was Small
12
10
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Mindstrip Redux
09
10
PORTION CONTROL
SEED EP1

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
40 years of Subhuman and Adrenalin by Throbbing Gristle!
21
10
Angels & Agony launched a new official lyric video of 'Forever'!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 43 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
17
10
Electronic/Alternative Artist CARVR Unleashes Debut Single & Visualizer, 'Erase Me'
16
10
SAMMI DOLL Releases Official Music Video for 'AN OM IE'

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form
17
10
DREADFOOL
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... DREADFOOL!

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
CIRCLE BROS
Detroit
23
10
FEVER RAY
Part VII: IDK About You (Official Video)
22
10
EXECUTIVE SLACKS
So Mote it Be (Bedroom version)
21
10
PANKOW
Great Minds Against Themselves Conspire / Dirty Old Men
20
10
CHAMELEONS VOX
Swamp Thing
19
10
SALLY DIGE
Holding On
18
10
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent