tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

14/01/2015 : VARIOUS ARISTS - Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1

VARIOUS ARISTS

Abby - The Compilation Part 4.1

MusicCD
Dark WaveEBMGothic

[80/100]   

Upscene
14/01/2015, Benny CALUWE

Part four of this cult series has been divided in two. In 2014 the club in southern Germany celebrated its 25 years of existence and it was decided to release twice a double compilation CD. Like for many other compilations, tracks were selected that have not been available for a long time, some rarities as well and some exclusive versions as a sale argument.

In my opinion the interesting thing about this compilation is its diversity. It compiles absolute classics and current stars, as well as some less well-known names of the past and some newcomers. It offers a whole range of styles: synthpop, electro, dark wave, anhalt EBM, industrial rock, gothic rock, neue Deutsche Härte, cybergoth, etc.

The first part of the compilation contains 34 songs. It kicks off with Karin Park’s spherical New Era. This nice opening track is followed by 2 uninspired covers: Faderhead with Nowhere girl (originally by B-Movie) and Apoptygma Berzerk with Major Tom (from Peter Schilling), sung in English. But apart from those 2 disappointing covers and maybe some cybergoth or techindustrial ones (you like it or you don’t), this compilation has plenty of good music.

Beside Karin Park, I discovered nice things such as the female Greek synthpop duo Marscheaux, Homo Futura (a Welle Erdball side project) and Solar Fake, a new electronic project of former Dreadful Shadow singer Sven Friedrich. Other discoveries are the rare eighties EBM from Ganzheit and Inside Treatment.

Off course many tracks on this collection are aiming for the dance floor, but you can hear also dark folk from Rome with the single version of Hates Us and See if We Mind and some neo-classical ones with Varney 1826 and Anna Aliena.

On Abby 4.1 you find 3 exclusive remixes: there is a so called Abby mix 2014 for Les Berrtas’Knochenschäler, for Autodafeh’s Retro Electric and for The Invincible Spirit classic Power and Outlaw. Especially the last track is a hammer, just as Die Krupps’ Als wären Wir für immer.

Other noteworthy contributions are of 18 Summers, In Strict Confidence, Torul (from Slovenia) and Kirlian Camera with the fantastic Black August. And let us not forget Re:legion. Normally I am not very fond of future pop, but Re:legion’s Saints from the Streets (aequitas mix) is simply an outstanding track, combining catchy beats and atmosphere.

Other highlights are the British goth rockers of Angels Of Liberty with their Black Madonna, and those of Suspiria with the classic Allegedly, Dancefloor Tragedy. Another absolute classic is Ausgeblutet of Relatives Menschsein.

My personal highlights are Näd Mika and Objekt/Urian, two projects I did not know before. Näd Mika mixes a lot of pop sounds from the past with industrial. Her song Schizomatic is catchy and impressive. Objekt/Urian makes old school industrial. Their track Chamber Music reminds me of The Normal and Crash Course In Science.

Abby 4.1 is an interesting compilation with lots of variety. It’s nice to hear back some classic and some promising discoveries.

Benny CALUWE
14/01/2015


 

Next reviews
XII • Moving In The Shadows
YORGOS LANTHIMOS • Kinetta
DARK STORM FESTIVAL • Chemnitz, Germany (25/12/2014)
ANGELDUST • Meth Face EP
GARY SHORE • Dracula Untold
KINGSTUX • Red & Blue
ASTRONAUTS • In My Direction
FACTICE FACTORY • The White Days
• GIRLS - SEASON 3
KEVIN STRAUWEN • Moving Sound & Music For Film

 

Other reviews from VARIOUS ARISTS
VARIOUS ARISTS • Liasons Dangereuses
VARIOUS ARISTS • Change The Beat - Celluloid Records Story
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Pagan Love Songs Vol.3
VARIOUS ARISTS • A Strange Play – An Alfa Matrix Tribute To The Cure
VARIOUS ARISTS • Beat:Cancer V2
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1

 

Same combination of genres: DARK WAVE + EBM + GOTHIC
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A Change Of Speed A Change Of Style
VARIOUS ARISTS • Abby - The Compilation Part 4.2
DIARY OF DREAMS • Ego:X

 

Same genre: DARK WAVE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
SAIGON BLUE RAIN • Pink Obsession
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collections Of Shadows
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
DARK DOOR • Inferno
KIRLIAN CAMERA • Hologram Moon
SILENT RUNNERS • The Directory

 

Same genre: EBM
STRIKKLAND • Predatorial Right
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Heut Nacht
POUPPEE FABRIKK • Armèn
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
M73 • Tainted
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
ELM • Death Of The North
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer

 

Same genre: GOTHIC
DAVID J HASKINS • Missive To An Angel From The Halls Of Infamy And Allure
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
ALIEN VAMPIRES • Evil Twin Ep
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
VIRGIN PRUNES • Hérésie
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
PHANTOM OF THE BLACK HILLS • Scalped
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
AUTUMN • The Fall

Music reviews

30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
05
Electro/Synthwave Act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON Unleash New Studio Album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017
29
05
UNZUCHT
Ein Wort Fliegt Wie Ein Stein
28
05
GOLDEN BOY FEAT. MISS KITTIN
Rittin Kitten (Extended)
27
05
HIDDEN ORCHESTRA
Still
26
05
EX-RZ
I can't live in a living room