tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/01/2015 : FACTICE FACTORY - The White Days

FACTICE FACTORY

The White Days

MusicCassette
Cold Wave

[86/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
13/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With some albums you feel very quickly that everything is good, and that is the case with the release of this Swiss-French quartet, that looks like a family business: son, father and mother come from Lille. All of them were previously member of the now defunct Rajna.

What can you expect on this debut? Cold Wave of a high level. An album that has nothing in common with Rajna. Songs that are sophisticated to the bone. Dark music and lyrics that evoke desolate landscapes, strange moods and emotions. I could start name-dropping and compare them with some known groups in the genre, but that would be unfair to them. Of course you can hear influences from the 80s, but that’s normal, right?

In the opening song Collide you hear a nice bass line, atmospheric synth, a voice with effects and some distorted guitars. Wie raben is a German song, uptempo and a little Neue Deutsche Welle. Cold (the song by The Cure) immediately sets in a dark tone. The French text reinforces the effect. Hour Glass seems like a monotonous poem on music. Somnolence starts in a light way, but once the voice joins in, dark tones are coming in... And album that really has no weak tracks.

Okay, it doesn’t sound very innovative. There is nothing complicated, but everything seems to have its right place. A debut that every Cold Wave fan should check out.

Released by Wool -E Tapes on a cassette, with the bonus track AVGVST remix of Kaugummi, which is not on the CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


NL

Bij sommige albums voel je al snel dat alles goed zit, Ook bij dat van dit Zwitsers-Frans kwartet dat min of meer een familiebedrijf is: zoon, vader en moeder komen uit Rijsel. Allen zaten ze eerder bij het ter ziele gegane Rajna.

Wat mag je van dit debuut verwachten? Cold Wave van hoog niveau. Een album dat niets gemeen heeft met Rajna. Songs die uitgepuurd zijn tot op het bot. Gitzwarte muziek en teksten die desolate landschappen, vreemde sferen en emoties oproepen. Ik zou aan namedropping kunnen doen en ze vergelijken met bekende groepen uit het genre, maar daar zou ze alleen maar tekort doen. Deze muziek staat op zichzelf. Natuurlijk hoor je hier en daar invloeden uit de jaren 80. Normaal toch?

in het openingsnummer Collide hoor je een lekkere baslijn, een sfeervolle synth, een stem met effect en wat overstuurde gitaren. In Glow horen we heel fijne en overstuurde synthgeluiden en dito sfeertapijten. De bas doet mij aan een klassieke baspartij denken, maar de naam van het nummer blijft me ontsnappen. Wie raben is een Duitstalig nummer, uptempo en een beetje Deutsche Neue Welle. Cold (het nummer van The Cure dus) zet meteen op eigen wijze een donkere toon uit. De Franse tekst lijkt dat effect nog te versterken. Hour Glass lijkt een monotoon opgedragen gedicht op muziek te zijn. Somnolence begint wat speelser, maar zodra de stem erbij komt is de speeltijd voorbij… En zo rollen we voort door een album dat eigenlijk geen zwakke momenten bevat.

Erg vernieuwend klinkt het niet. Je hoeft ook niet meteen technische hoogstandjes te zoeken of ingewikkelde loopjes. Alles is eenvoudig, maar toch zit alles wel goed en precies op zijn plaats. De effecten, de stem, de baslijnen en de synthklanken zijn immers op vakkundig wijze tot fijne songs gesmeed. Een debuut dat elke Cold Wave fanaat moet checken.

Uitgebracht door Wool-E Tapes op cassette en je krijgt er nog de heel erg geslaagde bonustrack AVGVST remix van het nummer Kaugummi bijgeleverd die niet op de cd staat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

25
09
LEAETHER STRIP
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
COMBICHRIST
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
SOLAR FAKE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
25
09
WINTERKALTE
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen E-Tropolis Festival
24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets