tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/01/2015 : FACTICE FACTORY - The White Days

FACTICE FACTORY

The White Days

MusicCassette
Cold Wave

[86/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
13/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With some albums you feel very quickly that everything is good, and that is the case with the release of this Swiss-French quartet, that looks like a family business: son, father and mother come from Lille. All of them were previously member of the now defunct Rajna.

What can you expect on this debut? Cold Wave of a high level. An album that has nothing in common with Rajna. Songs that are sophisticated to the bone. Dark music and lyrics that evoke desolate landscapes, strange moods and emotions. I could start name-dropping and compare them with some known groups in the genre, but that would be unfair to them. Of course you can hear influences from the 80s, but that’s normal, right?

In the opening song Collide you hear a nice bass line, atmospheric synth, a voice with effects and some distorted guitars. Wie raben is a German song, uptempo and a little Neue Deutsche Welle. Cold (the song by The Cure) immediately sets in a dark tone. The French text reinforces the effect. Hour Glass seems like a monotonous poem on music. Somnolence starts in a light way, but once the voice joins in, dark tones are coming in... And album that really has no weak tracks.

Okay, it doesn’t sound very innovative. There is nothing complicated, but everything seems to have its right place. A debut that every Cold Wave fan should check out.

Released by Wool -E Tapes on a cassette, with the bonus track AVGVST remix of Kaugummi, which is not on the CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


NL

Bij sommige albums voel je al snel dat alles goed zit, Ook bij dat van dit Zwitsers-Frans kwartet dat min of meer een familiebedrijf is: zoon, vader en moeder komen uit Rijsel. Allen zaten ze eerder bij het ter ziele gegane Rajna.

Wat mag je van dit debuut verwachten? Cold Wave van hoog niveau. Een album dat niets gemeen heeft met Rajna. Songs die uitgepuurd zijn tot op het bot. Gitzwarte muziek en teksten die desolate landschappen, vreemde sferen en emoties oproepen. Ik zou aan namedropping kunnen doen en ze vergelijken met bekende groepen uit het genre, maar daar zou ze alleen maar tekort doen. Deze muziek staat op zichzelf. Natuurlijk hoor je hier en daar invloeden uit de jaren 80. Normaal toch?

in het openingsnummer Collide hoor je een lekkere baslijn, een sfeervolle synth, een stem met effect en wat overstuurde gitaren. In Glow horen we heel fijne en overstuurde synthgeluiden en dito sfeertapijten. De bas doet mij aan een klassieke baspartij denken, maar de naam van het nummer blijft me ontsnappen. Wie raben is een Duitstalig nummer, uptempo en een beetje Deutsche Neue Welle. Cold (het nummer van The Cure dus) zet meteen op eigen wijze een donkere toon uit. De Franse tekst lijkt dat effect nog te versterken. Hour Glass lijkt een monotoon opgedragen gedicht op muziek te zijn. Somnolence begint wat speelser, maar zodra de stem erbij komt is de speeltijd voorbij… En zo rollen we voort door een album dat eigenlijk geen zwakke momenten bevat.

Erg vernieuwend klinkt het niet. Je hoeft ook niet meteen technische hoogstandjes te zoeken of ingewikkelde loopjes. Alles is eenvoudig, maar toch zit alles wel goed en precies op zijn plaats. De effecten, de stem, de baslijnen en de synthklanken zijn immers op vakkundig wijze tot fijne songs gesmeed. Een debuut dat elke Cold Wave fanaat moet checken.

Uitgebracht door Wool-E Tapes op cassette en je krijgt er nog de heel erg geslaagde bonustrack AVGVST remix van het nummer Kaugummi bijgeleverd die niet op de cd staat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


Music reviews

20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us
19
01
DIVE
Live Maschinenfest 2017
16
01
EVI VINE
Black Light White Dark
08
01
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
PSYCHOSTASIA
28
12
MISS CHAMBERTALE
Berries and Tales
22
12
PAUL MADDOG AND HIS BAND AISLING
Winter In London

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, exactly 9 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex on Major Records!
22
01
This month 47 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2
21
01
Today, exactly 26 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
CANADIAN DUO FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY TO RELEASE NEW ALBUM 'WAKE UP THE COMA'
18
01
Israeli Dark Synthpop Artist LIYA Announces The Release Of LISTEN
17
01
MY LIFE WITH THE THRILL KILL KULT Reveal New Single, 'The Chains of Fame' Off Upcoming LP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
01
WULFBAND
If you feel that guitars would destroy whatever you think Wulfband is about, stay at home
17
01
ANY SECOND
The Eighth Sin Is The Human Himself
31
12
SIMI NAH
Balancing between the 'normal' world and the 'artistic' world was frustrating, but perhaps led us to make our best record ever!
27
12
ALIEN SEX FIEND
Alien Sex Fiend Is A State Of Mind And Not A Choreographed Or Rehearsed Thing
24
12
SIEBEN
The European Union are kinder overlords than the ones we may well inherit, out on our own, pretending we are not part of the world.

PHOTOS

20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AMNISTIA
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
01
MILA MAR
Haime
21
01
THE CURE
Pictures Of You, Live in Antwerp, 2016
20
01
SOPHIA (S)
Herbstwerk
19
01
OY
A New Planet Is Born
18
01
HEIMATAERDE
Hoch hinaus
17
01
CENT ANS DE SOLITUDE
The unacceptable face of beauty
16
01
PLANETDAMAGE
Hi Rez Lo Life