tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/01/2015 : FACTICE FACTORY - The White Days

FACTICE FACTORY

The White Days

MusicCassette
Cold Wave

[86/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
13/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With some albums you feel very quickly that everything is good, and that is the case with the release of this Swiss-French quartet, that looks like a family business: son, father and mother come from Lille. All of them were previously member of the now defunct Rajna.

What can you expect on this debut? Cold Wave of a high level. An album that has nothing in common with Rajna. Songs that are sophisticated to the bone. Dark music and lyrics that evoke desolate landscapes, strange moods and emotions. I could start name-dropping and compare them with some known groups in the genre, but that would be unfair to them. Of course you can hear influences from the 80s, but that’s normal, right?

In the opening song Collide you hear a nice bass line, atmospheric synth, a voice with effects and some distorted guitars. Wie raben is a German song, uptempo and a little Neue Deutsche Welle. Cold (the song by The Cure) immediately sets in a dark tone. The French text reinforces the effect. Hour Glass seems like a monotonous poem on music. Somnolence starts in a light way, but once the voice joins in, dark tones are coming in... And album that really has no weak tracks.

Okay, it doesn’t sound very innovative. There is nothing complicated, but everything seems to have its right place. A debut that every Cold Wave fan should check out.

Released by Wool -E Tapes on a cassette, with the bonus track AVGVST remix of Kaugummi, which is not on the CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


NL

Bij sommige albums voel je al snel dat alles goed zit, Ook bij dat van dit Zwitsers-Frans kwartet dat min of meer een familiebedrijf is: zoon, vader en moeder komen uit Rijsel. Allen zaten ze eerder bij het ter ziele gegane Rajna.

Wat mag je van dit debuut verwachten? Cold Wave van hoog niveau. Een album dat niets gemeen heeft met Rajna. Songs die uitgepuurd zijn tot op het bot. Gitzwarte muziek en teksten die desolate landschappen, vreemde sferen en emoties oproepen. Ik zou aan namedropping kunnen doen en ze vergelijken met bekende groepen uit het genre, maar daar zou ze alleen maar tekort doen. Deze muziek staat op zichzelf. Natuurlijk hoor je hier en daar invloeden uit de jaren 80. Normaal toch?

in het openingsnummer Collide hoor je een lekkere baslijn, een sfeervolle synth, een stem met effect en wat overstuurde gitaren. In Glow horen we heel fijne en overstuurde synthgeluiden en dito sfeertapijten. De bas doet mij aan een klassieke baspartij denken, maar de naam van het nummer blijft me ontsnappen. Wie raben is een Duitstalig nummer, uptempo en een beetje Deutsche Neue Welle. Cold (het nummer van The Cure dus) zet meteen op eigen wijze een donkere toon uit. De Franse tekst lijkt dat effect nog te versterken. Hour Glass lijkt een monotoon opgedragen gedicht op muziek te zijn. Somnolence begint wat speelser, maar zodra de stem erbij komt is de speeltijd voorbij… En zo rollen we voort door een album dat eigenlijk geen zwakke momenten bevat.

Erg vernieuwend klinkt het niet. Je hoeft ook niet meteen technische hoogstandjes te zoeken of ingewikkelde loopjes. Alles is eenvoudig, maar toch zit alles wel goed en precies op zijn plaats. De effecten, de stem, de baslijnen en de synthklanken zijn immers op vakkundig wijze tot fijne songs gesmeed. Een debuut dat elke Cold Wave fanaat moet checken.

Uitgebracht door Wool-E Tapes op cassette en je krijgt er nog de heel erg geslaagde bonustrack AVGVST remix van het nummer Kaugummi bijgeleverd die niet op de cd staat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 1 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You