tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/01/2015 : FACTICE FACTORY - The White Days

FACTICE FACTORY

The White Days

MusicCassette
Cold Wave

[86/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
13/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With some albums you feel very quickly that everything is good, and that is the case with the release of this Swiss-French quartet, that looks like a family business: son, father and mother come from Lille. All of them were previously member of the now defunct Rajna.

What can you expect on this debut? Cold Wave of a high level. An album that has nothing in common with Rajna. Songs that are sophisticated to the bone. Dark music and lyrics that evoke desolate landscapes, strange moods and emotions. I could start name-dropping and compare them with some known groups in the genre, but that would be unfair to them. Of course you can hear influences from the 80s, but that’s normal, right?

In the opening song Collide you hear a nice bass line, atmospheric synth, a voice with effects and some distorted guitars. Wie raben is a German song, uptempo and a little Neue Deutsche Welle. Cold (the song by The Cure) immediately sets in a dark tone. The French text reinforces the effect. Hour Glass seems like a monotonous poem on music. Somnolence starts in a light way, but once the voice joins in, dark tones are coming in... And album that really has no weak tracks.

Okay, it doesn’t sound very innovative. There is nothing complicated, but everything seems to have its right place. A debut that every Cold Wave fan should check out.

Released by Wool -E Tapes on a cassette, with the bonus track AVGVST remix of Kaugummi, which is not on the CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


NL

Bij sommige albums voel je al snel dat alles goed zit, Ook bij dat van dit Zwitsers-Frans kwartet dat min of meer een familiebedrijf is: zoon, vader en moeder komen uit Rijsel. Allen zaten ze eerder bij het ter ziele gegane Rajna.

Wat mag je van dit debuut verwachten? Cold Wave van hoog niveau. Een album dat niets gemeen heeft met Rajna. Songs die uitgepuurd zijn tot op het bot. Gitzwarte muziek en teksten die desolate landschappen, vreemde sferen en emoties oproepen. Ik zou aan namedropping kunnen doen en ze vergelijken met bekende groepen uit het genre, maar daar zou ze alleen maar tekort doen. Deze muziek staat op zichzelf. Natuurlijk hoor je hier en daar invloeden uit de jaren 80. Normaal toch?

in het openingsnummer Collide hoor je een lekkere baslijn, een sfeervolle synth, een stem met effect en wat overstuurde gitaren. In Glow horen we heel fijne en overstuurde synthgeluiden en dito sfeertapijten. De bas doet mij aan een klassieke baspartij denken, maar de naam van het nummer blijft me ontsnappen. Wie raben is een Duitstalig nummer, uptempo en een beetje Deutsche Neue Welle. Cold (het nummer van The Cure dus) zet meteen op eigen wijze een donkere toon uit. De Franse tekst lijkt dat effect nog te versterken. Hour Glass lijkt een monotoon opgedragen gedicht op muziek te zijn. Somnolence begint wat speelser, maar zodra de stem erbij komt is de speeltijd voorbij… En zo rollen we voort door een album dat eigenlijk geen zwakke momenten bevat.

Erg vernieuwend klinkt het niet. Je hoeft ook niet meteen technische hoogstandjes te zoeken of ingewikkelde loopjes. Alles is eenvoudig, maar toch zit alles wel goed en precies op zijn plaats. De effecten, de stem, de baslijnen en de synthklanken zijn immers op vakkundig wijze tot fijne songs gesmeed. Een debuut dat elke Cold Wave fanaat moet checken.

Uitgebracht door Wool-E Tapes op cassette en je krijgt er nog de heel erg geslaagde bonustrack AVGVST remix van het nummer Kaugummi bijgeleverd die niet op de cd staat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless
15
08
JO QUAIL
Gold (live)
15
08
SIXTH JUNE
Drowning
14
08
ASHRAM
Maria and the violin's string
13
08
DAVEY SUICIDE
Rise Above
12
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri