tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cassette review

13/01/2015 : FACTICE FACTORY - The White Days

FACTICE FACTORY

The White Days

MusicCassette
Cold Wave

[86/100]   

Wool-E Tapes
13/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

With some albums you feel very quickly that everything is good, and that is the case with the release of this Swiss-French quartet, that looks like a family business: son, father and mother come from Lille. All of them were previously member of the now defunct Rajna.

What can you expect on this debut? Cold Wave of a high level. An album that has nothing in common with Rajna. Songs that are sophisticated to the bone. Dark music and lyrics that evoke desolate landscapes, strange moods and emotions. I could start name-dropping and compare them with some known groups in the genre, but that would be unfair to them. Of course you can hear influences from the 80s, but that’s normal, right?

In the opening song Collide you hear a nice bass line, atmospheric synth, a voice with effects and some distorted guitars. Wie raben is a German song, uptempo and a little Neue Deutsche Welle. Cold (the song by The Cure) immediately sets in a dark tone. The French text reinforces the effect. Hour Glass seems like a monotonous poem on music. Somnolence starts in a light way, but once the voice joins in, dark tones are coming in... And album that really has no weak tracks.

Okay, it doesn’t sound very innovative. There is nothing complicated, but everything seems to have its right place. A debut that every Cold Wave fan should check out.

Released by Wool -E Tapes on a cassette, with the bonus track AVGVST remix of Kaugummi, which is not on the CD.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


NL

Bij sommige albums voel je al snel dat alles goed zit, Ook bij dat van dit Zwitsers-Frans kwartet dat min of meer een familiebedrijf is: zoon, vader en moeder komen uit Rijsel. Allen zaten ze eerder bij het ter ziele gegane Rajna.

Wat mag je van dit debuut verwachten? Cold Wave van hoog niveau. Een album dat niets gemeen heeft met Rajna. Songs die uitgepuurd zijn tot op het bot. Gitzwarte muziek en teksten die desolate landschappen, vreemde sferen en emoties oproepen. Ik zou aan namedropping kunnen doen en ze vergelijken met bekende groepen uit het genre, maar daar zou ze alleen maar tekort doen. Deze muziek staat op zichzelf. Natuurlijk hoor je hier en daar invloeden uit de jaren 80. Normaal toch?

in het openingsnummer Collide hoor je een lekkere baslijn, een sfeervolle synth, een stem met effect en wat overstuurde gitaren. In Glow horen we heel fijne en overstuurde synthgeluiden en dito sfeertapijten. De bas doet mij aan een klassieke baspartij denken, maar de naam van het nummer blijft me ontsnappen. Wie raben is een Duitstalig nummer, uptempo en een beetje Deutsche Neue Welle. Cold (het nummer van The Cure dus) zet meteen op eigen wijze een donkere toon uit. De Franse tekst lijkt dat effect nog te versterken. Hour Glass lijkt een monotoon opgedragen gedicht op muziek te zijn. Somnolence begint wat speelser, maar zodra de stem erbij komt is de speeltijd voorbij… En zo rollen we voort door een album dat eigenlijk geen zwakke momenten bevat.

Erg vernieuwend klinkt het niet. Je hoeft ook niet meteen technische hoogstandjes te zoeken of ingewikkelde loopjes. Alles is eenvoudig, maar toch zit alles wel goed en precies op zijn plaats. De effecten, de stem, de baslijnen en de synthklanken zijn immers op vakkundig wijze tot fijne songs gesmeed. Een debuut dat elke Cold Wave fanaat moet checken.

Uitgebracht door Wool-E Tapes op cassette en je krijgt er nog de heel erg geslaagde bonustrack AVGVST remix van het nummer Kaugummi bijgeleverd die niet op de cd staat.

Wim GUILLEMYN
13/01/2015


Music reviews

01
02
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Hologram Moon
31
01
MIRLAND/LARSEN
Disturbia
30
01
KASPER HATE
Why Live When You Can Rule
29
01
GLAARE
To Deaf and Day
28
01
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT
NEIN! (Single)
27
01
BLUTENGEL
Black

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
02
Peek-a-Boo founder Ward De Prins has passed away...
18
02
Darkness On Demand (Ex-Dance Or Die) release new video, EP and album!
18
02
Today, exactly 15 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Nemuer Unveils Mystical Music Video With Ancient Babylonian Lyrics
16
02
Mignon's new album “Toys Tantrum” is out on 9 February
16
02
3DFLY, featuring Dirk Da Davo (The Neon Judgement/Neon Electronics) releases EP!

Concert reviews

14
12
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE
XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
19
11
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK
OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
10
11
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF
Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
02
11
ILLUMININE | WOUTER DEWIT
Cultuurcentrum Mechelen | 27.10.2017
24
10
GARY NUMAN
Gary Numan’s 'Savage' 2017 Tour: Brighton performance at Brighton Dome, UK
27
09
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Front Line Assembly @ O2 Academy Islington, London, 24/8/2017

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

31
01
KIM LARSEN (: OF THE WAND AND THE MOON:)
Symbols still carry personal meaning to me.
29
01
ELEKTROSTAUB
'I think it will be almost impossible to combine all the artists into one single concept.'
26
01
DIE FORM
I would like to be optimistic and positive, but the world seems to move inexorably/blindly towards a sombre future, towards chaos.
24
01
LIVINGTOTEM
‘INDUSTRIAL INFUSED ROMANTIC TECHNOID MUSIC’
22
01
MESH
Richard Silverthorn Of Mesh On “Gothic Meets Classic” And The “Live at Neues Gewandhaus Leipzig” Album

PHOTOS

19
02
THE SOFT MOON
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
19
02
SARIN
Botanique, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
PUNISH YOURSELF
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
18
02
SPANKRAGHT
Magasin 4, Brussels, Belgium
10
02
NIK KERSHAW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
10
02
CUTTING CREW
New Victoria Theatre, Woking, UK
23
01
THE ALARM
Winterfest Gent

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
FEAR FACTORY
Expiration Date
18
02
SHE PAST AWAY
Sanri
17
02
SURGICAL METH MACHINE
I'm Invisible
17
02
FEVER RAY
If I Had A Heart
16
02
A DARKER COLOR BRIGHT
Fluorescent
15
02
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
I Face The Wall
14
02
THE SPECTORS
Sharknado