tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2015 : OSTROGOTH - Last Tribe Standing

OSTROGOTH

Last Tribe Standing

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[79/100]   

Empire Records
12/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A week ago we received the sad news that guitarist Rudy "Shark" Vercruysse has died of liver cancer. 

Apparently the time has come for Belgian metal bands of the past to re-emerge. First Drakkar and now Ostrogoth, a legendary name from the 80’s of which the logo was sewed on many jean jackets from teens when I was young. Between 1983 and 1987 the Ghent-based band released four albums. This is their first official release since 1987. Musically they are somewhere between Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister and Saxon.

Opening track No Risk Taken is a great start. The vocals sometimes reminds me of Dee Snider of Twisted Sister. Lovely song. Clouds is even a bit faster. Return to the Heroes Museum is essentially a reprise of Heroes Museum of 1983, but with a different text. Last Tribe Standing has an excellent bass and the interplay between the guitars is excellent too. Old school, but that’s fine!

After four new studio tracks we get four live tracks from their debut EP Full Moon 's Eye: All performances were recorded during the past summer.

The new songs are certainly not inferior to the old material, we just wanted more... Hopefully they surprise us with an album of new songs soon. For people who have nothing of the band: this CD is the ideal purchase.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2015


NL

Een week geleden kregen we het treurige nieuws dat gitarist Rudy “Shark” Vercruysse is overleden aan de gevolgen van leverkanker.

Blijkbaar is dit het tijdperk voor de heropstanding van een aantal Belgische metalbands uit een ver verleden. Eerst Drakkar en nu Ostrogoth, ook een legendarische naam uit de jaren 80. Ik herinner mij nog levendig hoe ik als jonge snaak hun logo op de jeansjassen van oudere tieners zag. Tussen 1983 en 1987 bracht deze Gentse band vier albums uit. Dit is hun eerste officiële release sedert 1987. Muzikaal zitten ze ergens tussen Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister en Saxon.

Openingstrack No Risk Taken is een vet nummer. Een mooi uitgewerkte intro en snedige gitaren doorheen het nummer, met daarbij een knap samenspel tussen de twee stemmen. De zang doet soms wat aan Dee Dee Snider van Twisted Sister denken. Een schitterende gitaarsolo die het nummer naar de laatste strofe brengt. Heerlijk nummer.

Clouds gaat iets sneller van start. Return to the Heroes Museum is in feite een herneming van Heroes Museum uit 1983, wel met een andere tekst. LastTribe Standing heeft een excellente bas en het samenspel tussen de gitaren mag er ook zijn. Op dat vlak zitten de songs wel old school in elkaar, maar dat is helemaal niet erg. Na vier nieuwe studionummers krijgen we nog vier live nummers uit hun debuut EP Full Moon’s Eyes, opgenomen tijdens optredens van afgelopen zomer. Daarmee doen ze hun naam als live band alle eer aan, alles klinkt energiek en netjes.

De nieuwe songs moeten zeker niet onderdoen voor het oude materiaal, het mochten er gerust wat meer zijn… Hopelijk verrassen ze ons nog eens met een album vol nieuwe nummers. Voor mensen die niets in huis hebben of minder bekend zijn met de band, is deze cd de ideale aankoop. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2015


Music reviews

19
01
THE PULSEBEATS
LOOKIN’ OUT
18
01
ANALFABETISM
Rotvälta
17
01
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Desctruction
23
12
SYGO CRIES
Talking about walls
22
12
DIRK DA DAVO
King Of Fools
21
12
RHYS FULBER
Brutal Nature

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
01
On this day, 12 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
The Jesus and Mary Chain have signed to London-based independent label Fuzz Club Records.
21
01
Today, exactly 29 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
'Giving Ground”…and Gaining It: The First Sisterhood Single, 36 ago, 20 January 1986
19
01
Electronic Band LUSCIOUS APPARATUS Addresses Domestic Violence With New Single, 'Infiltrate'
19
01
On this day, 31 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
01
25 YEARS OF AHRAYEPH
Everything I do, right or wrong, is being determined by my autism
17
12
SOPHIA LUCIA
Blurring Boundaries
11
12
JAH WOBBLE
'Bass was considered being among dying instruments for years. Dub pushed it to the front...'
05
12
MOVMENT
Finding Truth Through Dakness
26
11
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
I’m not a conservative songwriter and I’m not interested in the status quo; I’m interested in progress.

PHOTOS

07
11
GARY NUMAN
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
COVENANT
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
AND ALSO THE TREES
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
A SPLIT - SECOND
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
YOUR LIFE ON HOLD
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
LEAETHER STRIP
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder
07
11
KORINTHIANS
Sinner's Day Heusden Zolder

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
20
01
FAUNLET
Anatomy
19
01
PSY'AVIAH FT MARIEKE LIGHTBAND
The Great Disconnect
18
01
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
17
01
MATT HART
Decimate
16
01
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
15
01
FATAL CASUALTIES
No Heaven