tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2015 : OSTROGOTH - Last Tribe Standing

OSTROGOTH

Last Tribe Standing

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[79/100]   

Empire Records
12/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A week ago we received the sad news that guitarist Rudy "Shark" Vercruysse has died of liver cancer. 

Apparently the time has come for Belgian metal bands of the past to re-emerge. First Drakkar and now Ostrogoth, a legendary name from the 80’s of which the logo was sewed on many jean jackets from teens when I was young. Between 1983 and 1987 the Ghent-based band released four albums. This is their first official release since 1987. Musically they are somewhere between Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister and Saxon.

Opening track No Risk Taken is a great start. The vocals sometimes reminds me of Dee Snider of Twisted Sister. Lovely song. Clouds is even a bit faster. Return to the Heroes Museum is essentially a reprise of Heroes Museum of 1983, but with a different text. Last Tribe Standing has an excellent bass and the interplay between the guitars is excellent too. Old school, but that’s fine!

After four new studio tracks we get four live tracks from their debut EP Full Moon 's Eye: All performances were recorded during the past summer.

The new songs are certainly not inferior to the old material, we just wanted more... Hopefully they surprise us with an album of new songs soon. For people who have nothing of the band: this CD is the ideal purchase.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2015


NL

Een week geleden kregen we het treurige nieuws dat gitarist Rudy “Shark” Vercruysse is overleden aan de gevolgen van leverkanker.

Blijkbaar is dit het tijdperk voor de heropstanding van een aantal Belgische metalbands uit een ver verleden. Eerst Drakkar en nu Ostrogoth, ook een legendarische naam uit de jaren 80. Ik herinner mij nog levendig hoe ik als jonge snaak hun logo op de jeansjassen van oudere tieners zag. Tussen 1983 en 1987 bracht deze Gentse band vier albums uit. Dit is hun eerste officiële release sedert 1987. Muzikaal zitten ze ergens tussen Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister en Saxon.

Openingstrack No Risk Taken is een vet nummer. Een mooi uitgewerkte intro en snedige gitaren doorheen het nummer, met daarbij een knap samenspel tussen de twee stemmen. De zang doet soms wat aan Dee Dee Snider van Twisted Sister denken. Een schitterende gitaarsolo die het nummer naar de laatste strofe brengt. Heerlijk nummer.

Clouds gaat iets sneller van start. Return to the Heroes Museum is in feite een herneming van Heroes Museum uit 1983, wel met een andere tekst. LastTribe Standing heeft een excellente bas en het samenspel tussen de gitaren mag er ook zijn. Op dat vlak zitten de songs wel old school in elkaar, maar dat is helemaal niet erg. Na vier nieuwe studionummers krijgen we nog vier live nummers uit hun debuut EP Full Moon’s Eyes, opgenomen tijdens optredens van afgelopen zomer. Daarmee doen ze hun naam als live band alle eer aan, alles klinkt energiek en netjes.

De nieuwe songs moeten zeker niet onderdoen voor het oude materiaal, het mochten er gerust wat meer zijn… Hopelijk verrassen ze ons nog eens met een album vol nieuwe nummers. Voor mensen die niets in huis hebben of minder bekend zijn met de band, is deze cd de ideale aankoop. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation