tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

12/01/2015 : OSTROGOTH - Last Tribe Standing

OSTROGOTH

Last Tribe Standing

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[79/100]   

Empire Records
12/01/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

A week ago we received the sad news that guitarist Rudy "Shark" Vercruysse has died of liver cancer. 

Apparently the time has come for Belgian metal bands of the past to re-emerge. First Drakkar and now Ostrogoth, a legendary name from the 80’s of which the logo was sewed on many jean jackets from teens when I was young. Between 1983 and 1987 the Ghent-based band released four albums. This is their first official release since 1987. Musically they are somewhere between Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister and Saxon.

Opening track No Risk Taken is a great start. The vocals sometimes reminds me of Dee Snider of Twisted Sister. Lovely song. Clouds is even a bit faster. Return to the Heroes Museum is essentially a reprise of Heroes Museum of 1983, but with a different text. Last Tribe Standing has an excellent bass and the interplay between the guitars is excellent too. Old school, but that’s fine!

After four new studio tracks we get four live tracks from their debut EP Full Moon 's Eye: All performances were recorded during the past summer.

The new songs are certainly not inferior to the old material, we just wanted more... Hopefully they surprise us with an album of new songs soon. For people who have nothing of the band: this CD is the ideal purchase.

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2015


NL

Een week geleden kregen we het treurige nieuws dat gitarist Rudy “Shark” Vercruysse is overleden aan de gevolgen van leverkanker.

Blijkbaar is dit het tijdperk voor de heropstanding van een aantal Belgische metalbands uit een ver verleden. Eerst Drakkar en nu Ostrogoth, ook een legendarische naam uit de jaren 80. Ik herinner mij nog levendig hoe ik als jonge snaak hun logo op de jeansjassen van oudere tieners zag. Tussen 1983 en 1987 bracht deze Gentse band vier albums uit. Dit is hun eerste officiële release sedert 1987. Muzikaal zitten ze ergens tussen Iron Maiden, Judas Priest, Twisted Sister en Saxon.

Openingstrack No Risk Taken is een vet nummer. Een mooi uitgewerkte intro en snedige gitaren doorheen het nummer, met daarbij een knap samenspel tussen de twee stemmen. De zang doet soms wat aan Dee Dee Snider van Twisted Sister denken. Een schitterende gitaarsolo die het nummer naar de laatste strofe brengt. Heerlijk nummer.

Clouds gaat iets sneller van start. Return to the Heroes Museum is in feite een herneming van Heroes Museum uit 1983, wel met een andere tekst. LastTribe Standing heeft een excellente bas en het samenspel tussen de gitaren mag er ook zijn. Op dat vlak zitten de songs wel old school in elkaar, maar dat is helemaal niet erg. Na vier nieuwe studionummers krijgen we nog vier live nummers uit hun debuut EP Full Moon’s Eyes, opgenomen tijdens optredens van afgelopen zomer. Daarmee doen ze hun naam als live band alle eer aan, alles klinkt energiek en netjes.

De nieuwe songs moeten zeker niet onderdoen voor het oude materiaal, het mochten er gerust wat meer zijn… Hopelijk verrassen ze ons nog eens met een album vol nieuwe nummers. Voor mensen die niets in huis hebben of minder bekend zijn met de band, is deze cd de ideale aankoop. 

Wim GUILLEMYN
12/01/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!
01
03
SEX GANG CHILDREN PREMIERE NEW SINGLE - DEATH MASK MUSSOLINI
28
02
35 years ago Siouxsie and The Banshees released the single Candyman!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)
27
02
ANTIPOLE
Part Deux
26
02
WILDNORTHE
Swamp