tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2015 : SHIVERS ADDICTION - Choose Your Prison

SHIVERS ADDICTION

Choose Your Prison

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[70/100]   

Revalve Records
16/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian band Shivers Addiction was founded in 2004. After some changes in the line up, a first album was released in 2011 (Nobody's Land). Today Shivers Addiction is back on the metal front with a brand new CD: Choose Your Prison.

We hear a lot of different elements in the sound: folk, thrash metal, progressive rock and some heavy metal like Judas Priest, Queensrÿche or Savatage. Almost all the songs have the same structure: tight guitar lines, vocals like the aforementioned bands and beautiful guitar solos.

With Eternal Damnation and We Live On A Lie Shivers Addiction conquers the heart of the heavy metal lover, as these tracks are indeed decent straightforward heavy metal anthems.

La Mort Qui Dance is a sort of prelude with some folk elements, a carillon and an acoustic guitar. It is followed by The King and the Guillotine, a hip swaying sing-along with (again) some folk influences.

During Money Makes The Difference and especially Freedom, the folk parts disappear and we get some solid metal sounds. The guitar work in the middle part of Freedom sounds a lot like Iron Maiden, it is something we hear in other tracks too.

Where Is My Future starts in a threatening way. We hear a great riff, but it is a shame that not all the vocals are pure, with the result that some efforts completely fail.

Painted Arrow is another song with some folk and it also has a changing mood as it goes from metal to a very intimate sound. Against We Stand probably will satisfy the prog rock fans, just like the last track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). The song sounds pretty poppy, especially when you compare it to the rest. In my head I see some metal guys doing everything to sound harsh. Nah, you really can’t say that this track is a winner.

Choose Your Prison is okay, but it misses highlights. In terms of music, Shivers Addiction is on the right track, but it better makes some changes in the vocals, as now they’re too flat.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse Shivers Addiction is in 2004 opgericht. Na een aantal wissels in de bezetting en een eerste album in 2011 (Nobody's Land), is de band er opnieuw met een tweede album: Choose Your Prison.

In hun geluid vinden we heel wat verschillende elementen terug: folk, thrash metal, progrock en heavy metal zoals Judas Priest, Queensrÿche of Savatage. Zowat alle nummers hebben dezelfde opbouw: strakke gitaarlijnen, vocalen zoals bij de bovenvermelde bands en mooie gitaarsolo’s.

Met Eternal Damnation en We Live on a Lie verovert Shivers Addiction meteen het hart van de heavymetalliefhebber, dit is degelijke rechttoe rechtaan heavy metal.

La Mort Qui Dance is een voorspel met wat folk, een klokkenspel en een akoestische gitaar, om daarna door te gaan naar The King and the Guillotine: een heupwiegende meezinger met alweer wat folkinvloeden.

In Money Makes The Difference en zeker in Freedom, wordt de folk veilig opgeborgen en krijgen we stevige metal. Het gitaarwerk in het midden van Freedom neigt sterk naar Iron Maiden, het is een kenmerk dat je trouwens in meerdere nummers hoort.

Where Is My Future begint dreigend en gaat dan over in een geweldige riff. Het blijft wel jammer dat niet alle vocalen in dit nummer even zuiver zijn, sommige uithalen gaan zelfs gewoon de mist in.

Painted Arrow bevat opnieuw wat folk en het nummer heeft een wisselende stemming: van metal gaat men naar heel intimistische stukken. Against We Stand zal wellicht de progrockfans tevredenstellen, net als de laatste track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). Het nummer klinkt vrij poppy, zeker als je het met de rest vergelijkt. In gedachten zie ik geblondeerde metallo’s uit de bol gaan in een poging om hard te klinken. Ik bedoel niet dat het nummer er niet mag zijn, maar een echte knaller is het nu ook weer niet.

Choose Your Prison is een vrij knap werkje, helaas met iets te weinig hoogtepunten. Muzikaal zit het wel snor, vocaal af en toe net iets te vlak en soms (zelfs) vals.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


Music reviews

13
07
LIZARD SMILE
Wandering in Mirrors
12
07
SIMPLE MINDS
Walk Between Worlds
27
06
JOHN FOXX
METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
07
Today it’s exactly 30 years since Siouxsie & The Banshees released their single Peek-a-Boo.
18
07
Today, exactly 38 years ago, Joy Division released their second and final studio album, Closer.
16
07
DIRK DA DAVO 'MOODS': CD release July 2018
16
07
'A Midsummer Night's Dream' - a modern adaption of Shakespeare's comedy play celebrates theatrical debut
10
07
Peek-a-Boo Magazine #30 out now with temporary free download of the song 'Peek-a-Boo' by Christian Death!!
10
07
Today it’s exactly 27 years ago Ministry released N.W.O. (New World Order)!

Concert reviews

16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
07
WHISPERS IN THE SHADOW
'I have no high hopes for humanity anymore...'
23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’

PHOTOS

25
06
LACUNA COIL
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel
25
06
MARILYN MANSON
Graspop, Dessel
23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
07
SECRETS OF THE MOON
Man Behind The Sun
18
07
DAVEY SUICIDE
Imperfect
17
07
MAIA VIDAL
Jell-O
16
07
DAVID BOWIE
I Can’t Give Everything Away
15
07
JO QUAIL
Laurus
14
07
PIG
The Revelation
13
07
KLAMMER
Spiral Girl