tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2015 : SHIVERS ADDICTION - Choose Your Prison

SHIVERS ADDICTION

Choose Your Prison

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[70/100]   

Revalve Records
16/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian band Shivers Addiction was founded in 2004. After some changes in the line up, a first album was released in 2011 (Nobody's Land). Today Shivers Addiction is back on the metal front with a brand new CD: Choose Your Prison.

We hear a lot of different elements in the sound: folk, thrash metal, progressive rock and some heavy metal like Judas Priest, Queensrÿche or Savatage. Almost all the songs have the same structure: tight guitar lines, vocals like the aforementioned bands and beautiful guitar solos.

With Eternal Damnation and We Live On A Lie Shivers Addiction conquers the heart of the heavy metal lover, as these tracks are indeed decent straightforward heavy metal anthems.

La Mort Qui Dance is a sort of prelude with some folk elements, a carillon and an acoustic guitar. It is followed by The King and the Guillotine, a hip swaying sing-along with (again) some folk influences.

During Money Makes The Difference and especially Freedom, the folk parts disappear and we get some solid metal sounds. The guitar work in the middle part of Freedom sounds a lot like Iron Maiden, it is something we hear in other tracks too.

Where Is My Future starts in a threatening way. We hear a great riff, but it is a shame that not all the vocals are pure, with the result that some efforts completely fail.

Painted Arrow is another song with some folk and it also has a changing mood as it goes from metal to a very intimate sound. Against We Stand probably will satisfy the prog rock fans, just like the last track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). The song sounds pretty poppy, especially when you compare it to the rest. In my head I see some metal guys doing everything to sound harsh. Nah, you really can’t say that this track is a winner.

Choose Your Prison is okay, but it misses highlights. In terms of music, Shivers Addiction is on the right track, but it better makes some changes in the vocals, as now they’re too flat.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse Shivers Addiction is in 2004 opgericht. Na een aantal wissels in de bezetting en een eerste album in 2011 (Nobody's Land), is de band er opnieuw met een tweede album: Choose Your Prison.

In hun geluid vinden we heel wat verschillende elementen terug: folk, thrash metal, progrock en heavy metal zoals Judas Priest, Queensrÿche of Savatage. Zowat alle nummers hebben dezelfde opbouw: strakke gitaarlijnen, vocalen zoals bij de bovenvermelde bands en mooie gitaarsolo’s.

Met Eternal Damnation en We Live on a Lie verovert Shivers Addiction meteen het hart van de heavymetalliefhebber, dit is degelijke rechttoe rechtaan heavy metal.

La Mort Qui Dance is een voorspel met wat folk, een klokkenspel en een akoestische gitaar, om daarna door te gaan naar The King and the Guillotine: een heupwiegende meezinger met alweer wat folkinvloeden.

In Money Makes The Difference en zeker in Freedom, wordt de folk veilig opgeborgen en krijgen we stevige metal. Het gitaarwerk in het midden van Freedom neigt sterk naar Iron Maiden, het is een kenmerk dat je trouwens in meerdere nummers hoort.

Where Is My Future begint dreigend en gaat dan over in een geweldige riff. Het blijft wel jammer dat niet alle vocalen in dit nummer even zuiver zijn, sommige uithalen gaan zelfs gewoon de mist in.

Painted Arrow bevat opnieuw wat folk en het nummer heeft een wisselende stemming: van metal gaat men naar heel intimistische stukken. Against We Stand zal wellicht de progrockfans tevredenstellen, net als de laatste track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). Het nummer klinkt vrij poppy, zeker als je het met de rest vergelijkt. In gedachten zie ik geblondeerde metallo’s uit de bol gaan in een poging om hard te klinken. Ik bedoel niet dat het nummer er niet mag zijn, maar een echte knaller is het nu ook weer niet.

Choose Your Prison is een vrij knap werkje, helaas met iets te weinig hoogtepunten. Muzikaal zit het wel snor, vocaal af en toe net iets te vlak en soms (zelfs) vals.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers