tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2015 : SHIVERS ADDICTION - Choose Your Prison

SHIVERS ADDICTION

Choose Your Prison

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[70/100]   

Revalve Records
16/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian band Shivers Addiction was founded in 2004. After some changes in the line up, a first album was released in 2011 (Nobody's Land). Today Shivers Addiction is back on the metal front with a brand new CD: Choose Your Prison.

We hear a lot of different elements in the sound: folk, thrash metal, progressive rock and some heavy metal like Judas Priest, Queensrÿche or Savatage. Almost all the songs have the same structure: tight guitar lines, vocals like the aforementioned bands and beautiful guitar solos.

With Eternal Damnation and We Live On A Lie Shivers Addiction conquers the heart of the heavy metal lover, as these tracks are indeed decent straightforward heavy metal anthems.

La Mort Qui Dance is a sort of prelude with some folk elements, a carillon and an acoustic guitar. It is followed by The King and the Guillotine, a hip swaying sing-along with (again) some folk influences.

During Money Makes The Difference and especially Freedom, the folk parts disappear and we get some solid metal sounds. The guitar work in the middle part of Freedom sounds a lot like Iron Maiden, it is something we hear in other tracks too.

Where Is My Future starts in a threatening way. We hear a great riff, but it is a shame that not all the vocals are pure, with the result that some efforts completely fail.

Painted Arrow is another song with some folk and it also has a changing mood as it goes from metal to a very intimate sound. Against We Stand probably will satisfy the prog rock fans, just like the last track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). The song sounds pretty poppy, especially when you compare it to the rest. In my head I see some metal guys doing everything to sound harsh. Nah, you really can’t say that this track is a winner.

Choose Your Prison is okay, but it misses highlights. In terms of music, Shivers Addiction is on the right track, but it better makes some changes in the vocals, as now they’re too flat.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse Shivers Addiction is in 2004 opgericht. Na een aantal wissels in de bezetting en een eerste album in 2011 (Nobody's Land), is de band er opnieuw met een tweede album: Choose Your Prison.

In hun geluid vinden we heel wat verschillende elementen terug: folk, thrash metal, progrock en heavy metal zoals Judas Priest, Queensrÿche of Savatage. Zowat alle nummers hebben dezelfde opbouw: strakke gitaarlijnen, vocalen zoals bij de bovenvermelde bands en mooie gitaarsolo’s.

Met Eternal Damnation en We Live on a Lie verovert Shivers Addiction meteen het hart van de heavymetalliefhebber, dit is degelijke rechttoe rechtaan heavy metal.

La Mort Qui Dance is een voorspel met wat folk, een klokkenspel en een akoestische gitaar, om daarna door te gaan naar The King and the Guillotine: een heupwiegende meezinger met alweer wat folkinvloeden.

In Money Makes The Difference en zeker in Freedom, wordt de folk veilig opgeborgen en krijgen we stevige metal. Het gitaarwerk in het midden van Freedom neigt sterk naar Iron Maiden, het is een kenmerk dat je trouwens in meerdere nummers hoort.

Where Is My Future begint dreigend en gaat dan over in een geweldige riff. Het blijft wel jammer dat niet alle vocalen in dit nummer even zuiver zijn, sommige uithalen gaan zelfs gewoon de mist in.

Painted Arrow bevat opnieuw wat folk en het nummer heeft een wisselende stemming: van metal gaat men naar heel intimistische stukken. Against We Stand zal wellicht de progrockfans tevredenstellen, net als de laatste track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). Het nummer klinkt vrij poppy, zeker als je het met de rest vergelijkt. In gedachten zie ik geblondeerde metallo’s uit de bol gaan in een poging om hard te klinken. Ik bedoel niet dat het nummer er niet mag zijn, maar een echte knaller is het nu ook weer niet.

Choose Your Prison is een vrij knap werkje, helaas met iets te weinig hoogtepunten. Muzikaal zit het wel snor, vocaal af en toe net iets te vlak en soms (zelfs) vals.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


Music reviews

24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018
23
05
Europe, watch out! International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest next month!
19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'
16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City

PHOTOS

26
05
CRASH COURSE IN SCIENCE
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
AUTHOR & PUNISHER
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
26
05
TREPANERINGSRITUALEN
Het Bos, Antwerp, Belgium
21
05
SKELETAL FAMILY
WGT
21
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
WGT
21
05
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA
WGT
21
05
UNDERTHESKIN
WGT

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
05
AMATORSKI
Hear Me
26
05
THE 69 EYES
Jerusalem
25
05
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
24
05
LAID BACK
White Horse
23
05
DIRTY HARRY
D' BOP
22
05
STAHLR
Into The Black
21
05
VIRGIN PRUNES
Baby Turns Blue