tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2015 : SHIVERS ADDICTION - Choose Your Prison

SHIVERS ADDICTION

Choose Your Prison

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[70/100]   

Revalve Records
16/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian band Shivers Addiction was founded in 2004. After some changes in the line up, a first album was released in 2011 (Nobody's Land). Today Shivers Addiction is back on the metal front with a brand new CD: Choose Your Prison.

We hear a lot of different elements in the sound: folk, thrash metal, progressive rock and some heavy metal like Judas Priest, Queensrÿche or Savatage. Almost all the songs have the same structure: tight guitar lines, vocals like the aforementioned bands and beautiful guitar solos.

With Eternal Damnation and We Live On A Lie Shivers Addiction conquers the heart of the heavy metal lover, as these tracks are indeed decent straightforward heavy metal anthems.

La Mort Qui Dance is a sort of prelude with some folk elements, a carillon and an acoustic guitar. It is followed by The King and the Guillotine, a hip swaying sing-along with (again) some folk influences.

During Money Makes The Difference and especially Freedom, the folk parts disappear and we get some solid metal sounds. The guitar work in the middle part of Freedom sounds a lot like Iron Maiden, it is something we hear in other tracks too.

Where Is My Future starts in a threatening way. We hear a great riff, but it is a shame that not all the vocals are pure, with the result that some efforts completely fail.

Painted Arrow is another song with some folk and it also has a changing mood as it goes from metal to a very intimate sound. Against We Stand probably will satisfy the prog rock fans, just like the last track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). The song sounds pretty poppy, especially when you compare it to the rest. In my head I see some metal guys doing everything to sound harsh. Nah, you really can’t say that this track is a winner.

Choose Your Prison is okay, but it misses highlights. In terms of music, Shivers Addiction is on the right track, but it better makes some changes in the vocals, as now they’re too flat.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse Shivers Addiction is in 2004 opgericht. Na een aantal wissels in de bezetting en een eerste album in 2011 (Nobody's Land), is de band er opnieuw met een tweede album: Choose Your Prison.

In hun geluid vinden we heel wat verschillende elementen terug: folk, thrash metal, progrock en heavy metal zoals Judas Priest, Queensrÿche of Savatage. Zowat alle nummers hebben dezelfde opbouw: strakke gitaarlijnen, vocalen zoals bij de bovenvermelde bands en mooie gitaarsolo’s.

Met Eternal Damnation en We Live on a Lie verovert Shivers Addiction meteen het hart van de heavymetalliefhebber, dit is degelijke rechttoe rechtaan heavy metal.

La Mort Qui Dance is een voorspel met wat folk, een klokkenspel en een akoestische gitaar, om daarna door te gaan naar The King and the Guillotine: een heupwiegende meezinger met alweer wat folkinvloeden.

In Money Makes The Difference en zeker in Freedom, wordt de folk veilig opgeborgen en krijgen we stevige metal. Het gitaarwerk in het midden van Freedom neigt sterk naar Iron Maiden, het is een kenmerk dat je trouwens in meerdere nummers hoort.

Where Is My Future begint dreigend en gaat dan over in een geweldige riff. Het blijft wel jammer dat niet alle vocalen in dit nummer even zuiver zijn, sommige uithalen gaan zelfs gewoon de mist in.

Painted Arrow bevat opnieuw wat folk en het nummer heeft een wisselende stemming: van metal gaat men naar heel intimistische stukken. Against We Stand zal wellicht de progrockfans tevredenstellen, net als de laatste track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). Het nummer klinkt vrij poppy, zeker als je het met de rest vergelijkt. In gedachten zie ik geblondeerde metallo’s uit de bol gaan in een poging om hard te klinken. Ik bedoel niet dat het nummer er niet mag zijn, maar een echte knaller is het nu ook weer niet.

Choose Your Prison is een vrij knap werkje, helaas met iets te weinig hoogtepunten. Muzikaal zit het wel snor, vocaal af en toe net iets te vlak en soms (zelfs) vals.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl