tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2015 : SHIVERS ADDICTION - Choose Your Prison

SHIVERS ADDICTION

Choose Your Prison

MusicCD
Heavy Metal

[70/100]   

Revalve Records
16/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

The Italian band Shivers Addiction was founded in 2004. After some changes in the line up, a first album was released in 2011 (Nobody's Land). Today Shivers Addiction is back on the metal front with a brand new CD: Choose Your Prison.

We hear a lot of different elements in the sound: folk, thrash metal, progressive rock and some heavy metal like Judas Priest, Queensrÿche or Savatage. Almost all the songs have the same structure: tight guitar lines, vocals like the aforementioned bands and beautiful guitar solos.

With Eternal Damnation and We Live On A Lie Shivers Addiction conquers the heart of the heavy metal lover, as these tracks are indeed decent straightforward heavy metal anthems.

La Mort Qui Dance is a sort of prelude with some folk elements, a carillon and an acoustic guitar. It is followed by The King and the Guillotine, a hip swaying sing-along with (again) some folk influences.

During Money Makes The Difference and especially Freedom, the folk parts disappear and we get some solid metal sounds. The guitar work in the middle part of Freedom sounds a lot like Iron Maiden, it is something we hear in other tracks too.

Where Is My Future starts in a threatening way. We hear a great riff, but it is a shame that not all the vocals are pure, with the result that some efforts completely fail.

Painted Arrow is another song with some folk and it also has a changing mood as it goes from metal to a very intimate sound. Against We Stand probably will satisfy the prog rock fans, just like the last track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). The song sounds pretty poppy, especially when you compare it to the rest. In my head I see some metal guys doing everything to sound harsh. Nah, you really can’t say that this track is a winner.

Choose Your Prison is okay, but it misses highlights. In terms of music, Shivers Addiction is on the right track, but it better makes some changes in the vocals, as now they’re too flat.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


NL

Het Italiaanse Shivers Addiction is in 2004 opgericht. Na een aantal wissels in de bezetting en een eerste album in 2011 (Nobody's Land), is de band er opnieuw met een tweede album: Choose Your Prison.

In hun geluid vinden we heel wat verschillende elementen terug: folk, thrash metal, progrock en heavy metal zoals Judas Priest, Queensrÿche of Savatage. Zowat alle nummers hebben dezelfde opbouw: strakke gitaarlijnen, vocalen zoals bij de bovenvermelde bands en mooie gitaarsolo’s.

Met Eternal Damnation en We Live on a Lie verovert Shivers Addiction meteen het hart van de heavymetalliefhebber, dit is degelijke rechttoe rechtaan heavy metal.

La Mort Qui Dance is een voorspel met wat folk, een klokkenspel en een akoestische gitaar, om daarna door te gaan naar The King and the Guillotine: een heupwiegende meezinger met alweer wat folkinvloeden.

In Money Makes The Difference en zeker in Freedom, wordt de folk veilig opgeborgen en krijgen we stevige metal. Het gitaarwerk in het midden van Freedom neigt sterk naar Iron Maiden, het is een kenmerk dat je trouwens in meerdere nummers hoort.

Where Is My Future begint dreigend en gaat dan over in een geweldige riff. Het blijft wel jammer dat niet alle vocalen in dit nummer even zuiver zijn, sommige uithalen gaan zelfs gewoon de mist in.

Painted Arrow bevat opnieuw wat folk en het nummer heeft een wisselende stemming: van metal gaat men naar heel intimistische stukken. Against We Stand zal wellicht de progrockfans tevredenstellen, net als de laatste track (Death Has Nothing To Teach). Het nummer klinkt vrij poppy, zeker als je het met de rest vergelijkt. In gedachten zie ik geblondeerde metallo’s uit de bol gaan in een poging om hard te klinken. Ik bedoel niet dat het nummer er niet mag zijn, maar een echte knaller is het nu ook weer niet.

Choose Your Prison is een vrij knap werkje, helaas met iets te weinig hoogtepunten. Muzikaal zit het wel snor, vocaal af en toe net iets te vlak en soms (zelfs) vals.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
16/12/2015


Music reviews

25
11
DEZ MONA
LOOSE ENDS
02
11
STAATSEINDE
Fehlerlinie
05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
12
Today, 44 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
79 Years Ago JIM MORRISON WAS BORN!
07
12
30 years ago NINE INCH NAILS released the FIXED (EP)
06
12
Rabbit Junk Brings Fatalism And Frustration To 'Apocalypse For Beginners'
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
05
12
46 Years Ago Oxygene Was Released!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.
29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2

PHOTOS

08
12
TARJA TURUNEN
Christuskirche Bochum
05
12
SONAR
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TEST DEPT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
RADICAL G
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
FIX8:SED8
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
TC75
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas
05
12
SOFT RIOT
Bimfest XX - De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
12
HELENA HAUFF
Sworn To Secrecy Part II
07
12
JOHN ROX & OXYDION FT. ELENA ALICE FOSSI
Social Lovers
06
12
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
05
12
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
04
12
ORSON HENTSCHEL
Noise of the Light
03
12
GOOSE
Synrise
02
12
THE UNDERTONES
Teenage Kicks