tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

15/12/2015 : HELLHUMM - Random Damage Industry

HELLHUMM

Random Damage Industry

MusicCD
Dark PopEBMElectro

[82/100]   

Self-released
15/12/2015, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Everyone knows the feeling: you put an album in the CD player and it just stays there. Every time your finger moves towards the stop button on the remote control, you change your mind. Well, I had this “problem” with Helllhumm, a trio from Madrid that consists of Ignacio Ysasi (vocals, guitar), Sergio Torroba Herranz (synths, electronic drums) and Javier Calvo (synths). For years they are professionally involved with numerous musical projects and with Hellhumm they have created a perfect electro band. To put them in one category would be disrespectful. You notice influences from Covenant, NIN, Front 242 and Nitzer Ebb.

The album contains 11 songs. Opener Scramble could have been written by Diary Of dreams, especially when you hear the intro, as you’ll recognize the same epic synth sounds with drums. No Dawn is based on monotonous and nasal vocals, and unfortunately it is one of the lesser songs on this album.

Hounds is more dance-oriented, while Flesh On The Table is dominated by guitars. Modesty is EBM with its typical features, and it's perfectly danceable. It’s just three minutes of pure pleasure.

Too Late sounds a bit like Covenant: EBM, but at the same time it’s more than that! The same can be said about Bitter Bliss: a song with contemporary electronic instruments, and quite melodious!

Gravity (restraint) is pure EBM with robotic vocals from the 80s. Hate To Hate is again a song in which the guitars rule.

The final song Scum is a real gem, as it seems like Front 242 is behind the machines. Angular electro, bleeps in the background, some distorted voices, and even some dance influences.

Random Damage Industry is a great album. It’s obvious that Hellhumm listened to the big names in the genre, but fortunately it is not a copy, as it has a personalo and diverse sound. And the dance goes on!

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/12/2015


NL

Iedereen heeft het wel eens voor: een release die je in de cd-speler stopt en er gewoon in blijft zitten. Elke keer als je vinger in de richting van de stoptoets van de afstandbediening gaat, verander je van gedacht. Ken je dat gevoel? Wel, ik had het bij Helllhumm. Dit drietal uit Madrid bestaat uit Ignacio Ysasi (vocals, guitar), Sergio Torroba Herranz (synths, elektronische drums) en Javier Calvo (synths). Ze zijn al jarenlang professioneel met tal van muzikale projecten bezig en met Hellhumm hebben ze een goedklinkende elektroband. Deze groep in één categorie onderbrengen zou onrespectvol zijn. Je merkt invloeden van Covenant, NIN, Front 242 en Nitzer Ebb.

Het album bevat 11 nummers. Opener Scramble zou (vooral als je de intro hoort) van Diary Of Dreams kunnen zijn: uitgesponnen synthklanken met een heerlijke drum. No Dawn kabbelt op vrij monotone en nasale zangklanken, en het is één van de mindere songs op dit album.

Hounds gaat meer in de dansrichting, terwijl Flesh On The Table een tragere weg inslaat waarop de gitaren een plaatsje krijgen. Modesty tapt uit het EBM-vaatje met zijn typische kenmerken, het is op en top dansbaar. Drie minuten puur genot.

Too Late klinkt wat als Covenant: EBM en toch méér dan dat. Dat geldt ook voor Bitter Bliss. Er wordt stevig aan de knoppen van de hedendaagse elektronica-instrumenten gedraaid, toch blijft het een melodieuze song.

Gravity (restraint) is pure EBM met robotachtige 80s-vocalen. Hate To Hate is dan weer een song waarin de gitaren klinken.

De afsluiter Scum is er echt wel eentje om fier op te zijn. Het lijkt wel alsof Front 242 achter de machines staat. Hoekige elektro, bliepjes op de achtergrond, vervormde stemmen, een drumgeluid dat uit de prehistorie lijkt te komen, en zelfs wat dance-invloeden.

Random Damage Industry is een heel mooi werkstuk en Hellhumm heeft heel goed naar de grote namen in het genre geluisterd. Gelukkig is deze band geen kopie, want hij beschikt over een eigen en divers geluid. And the dance goes on !

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
15/12/2015


Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis