tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this vinyl review

15/12/2015 : DEATH IN ROME - Barbie Girl/Pump Up The Jam

DEATH IN ROME

Barbie Girl/Pump Up The Jam

MusicVinyl
Neofolk

[72/100]   

SPQR label
15/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

One will see it as pure sacrilege, others will say it’s the ultimate joke. Death in Rome (do you get it?) is an Italian neo-folk duo that clearly is a satire of the masters of the genre: Death In June. Even in the logo you can see that.

The Italians do it in a very special way. They ask their fans to choose a commercial pop hit and then make an neo-folk version of it. Simple as that. On this single they chose Barbie Girl by Aqua, and as the B-side, Pump Up The Jam by Technotronic.

Barbie Girl naturally refers to C'est Un Rêve in which Death In June wondered where Klaus Barbie is. Death In Rome is apparently fodder for leftists, because this band wants to demonstrate that neo-folk is a genre for everyone.
Death In Rome made a nice single, but although it’s actually funny, it primarily is a cover band.

Didier BECU
15/12/2015


NL

De ene zal het als pure heiligschennis beschouwen, terwijl anderen het als de ultieme grap zullen zien. Death In Rome (voel je het al komen?) is een Italiaans neofolkduo dat duidelijk de draak steekt met de grootmeesters uit het genre: Death In June. Zelfs in het logo kan je dat zien.

De Italianen doen dat op een zeer aparte manier. Ze vragen aan hun fans om een commerciële pophit te kiezen en daar maken ze dan een neofolkversie van. Zo simpel is dat. Op deze single kozen ze voor Barbie Girl van Aqua, en Pump Up The Jam van Technotronic als B-kantje.

Barbie Girl verwijst natuurlijk naar C’est Un Rêve, waarin Death In June zich afvroeg waar Klaus Barbie uithangt.

Death In Rome is blijkbaar voer voor linkse rakkers, want het wil aantonen dat neofolk een genre is voor iedereen. 

Death In Rome heeft een leuke single gemaakt, maar het blijft natuurlijk in de eerste plaats een coverband, grappig is het wel.

Didier BECU
15/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design