tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2015 : MAUTIV - 1

MAUTIV

1

MusicCD
DanceElectronics

[76/100]   

Hear The Label
16/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Too often techno is described as music for nitwits. However, the debut of Mautiv is a fine example that shows how wonderful commercial techno can be. With Mautiv, Steven Ribus (that’s the man’s name!) has invented a sound that will please a lot of music fans (even people who never visited a nightclub in their life!).

On his debut album (with a mysterious, futuristic gray cover) Steven produces a wonderful mix of IDM, trance and marimba with his electronic instruments.

1 (yes, you can hardly call it original) contains nine songs. The first track (Jagwar) sounds like a musical friend you have known for decades. Just think of an electronic hybrid of Orbital and Wim Mertens and you probably end up with this superb track that could be a classic in the genre.

The enchanting beats keep on following you in the other songs too. Did You Notice is excellent minimal techno, Focus has something of the known Motor sound and if there's one ultimate club hit included on this disc, then it must be Grief.

A sublime debut of a Belgian musician who definitely deserves our attention!

Didier BECU
16/12/2015


NL

Het gebeurt net iets te vaak dat techno wordt omschreven als muziek voor leeghoofden, en de debuutplaat van Mautiv is een knap voorbeeld dat aantoont hoe wondermooi commerciële techno wel kan zijn. Steven Ribus (want zo heet de man!) vond met Mautiv een geluid uit waarmee hij zonder twijfel heel wat muziekfans zal kunnen bekoren (zelfs indien die nog nooit een voet in een discotheek hebben gezet).

Op zijn debuutplaat (gehuld in een mysterieuze, futuristische grijze hoes) tovert Steven uit zijn elektronische instrumenten een prachtige mix van IDM, trance en marimba.

Op 1 (ja, echt origineel is het niet) staan negen songs. Het allereerste nummer (Jagwar) klinkt als een vertrouwde vriend. Denk gewoon aan een hybride van Orbital en Wim Mertens en je belandt bij deze sublieme track die een klassieker in het genre zou kunnen worden. De betoverende beats hoor je ook in de andere nummers. Did You Notice is heerlijke minimal techno, Focus heeft wel iets van Motor en als er één ultieme clubhit op dit schijfje staat, dan moet het wel Grief zijn.

Een ronduit subliem debuut van een Belgische muzikant die we beslist in het oog moeten houden!

Didier BECU
16/12/2015


Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
03
No Time To Cry since 36 years!
08
03
Today, exactly 27 years ago, American industrial band Nine Inch Nails released The Downward Spiral!
07
03
Electronic Act IMBUED VAGARY Releases 6 CD Project – “Hexalogy”
07
03
33 years ago the Drag Queen of the 20th Century, Divine, passed away!
07
03
41 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released the single 'Happy House'!
05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
03
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
07
03
MARSHEAUX
Eyes Without A Face
06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You