tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

16/12/2015 : MAUTIV - 1

MAUTIV

1

MusicCD
DanceElectronics

[76/100]   

Hear The Label
16/12/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Too often techno is described as music for nitwits. However, the debut of Mautiv is a fine example that shows how wonderful commercial techno can be. With Mautiv, Steven Ribus (that’s the man’s name!) has invented a sound that will please a lot of music fans (even people who never visited a nightclub in their life!).

On his debut album (with a mysterious, futuristic gray cover) Steven produces a wonderful mix of IDM, trance and marimba with his electronic instruments.

1 (yes, you can hardly call it original) contains nine songs. The first track (Jagwar) sounds like a musical friend you have known for decades. Just think of an electronic hybrid of Orbital and Wim Mertens and you probably end up with this superb track that could be a classic in the genre.

The enchanting beats keep on following you in the other songs too. Did You Notice is excellent minimal techno, Focus has something of the known Motor sound and if there's one ultimate club hit included on this disc, then it must be Grief.

A sublime debut of a Belgian musician who definitely deserves our attention!

Didier BECU
16/12/2015


NL

Het gebeurt net iets te vaak dat techno wordt omschreven als muziek voor leeghoofden, en de debuutplaat van Mautiv is een knap voorbeeld dat aantoont hoe wondermooi commerciële techno wel kan zijn. Steven Ribus (want zo heet de man!) vond met Mautiv een geluid uit waarmee hij zonder twijfel heel wat muziekfans zal kunnen bekoren (zelfs indien die nog nooit een voet in een discotheek hebben gezet).

Op zijn debuutplaat (gehuld in een mysterieuze, futuristische grijze hoes) tovert Steven uit zijn elektronische instrumenten een prachtige mix van IDM, trance en marimba.

Op 1 (ja, echt origineel is het niet) staan negen songs. Het allereerste nummer (Jagwar) klinkt als een vertrouwde vriend. Denk gewoon aan een hybride van Orbital en Wim Mertens en je belandt bij deze sublieme track die een klassieker in het genre zou kunnen worden. De betoverende beats hoor je ook in de andere nummers. Did You Notice is heerlijke minimal techno, Focus heeft wel iets van Motor en als er één ultieme clubhit op dit schijfje staat, dan moet het wel Grief zijn.

Een ronduit subliem debuut van een Belgische muzikant die we beslist in het oog moeten houden!

Didier BECU
16/12/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation