tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : UNDERWORLD - Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

UNDERWORLD

Second Toughest In The Infants-Redux

MusicCD
DanceElectronics

[90/100]   

Universal Music
08/12/2016, Paul PLEDGER

EN

The Super-deluxe machine rumbles on for Underworld's back catalogue, this time for what is widely recognised as the duo's most important (and approachable) release. Riding on the coat-tails of a certain lager-lager-lager behemoth? What the Nuxx? Get a life. Second Toughest is pretty much legions ahead of Born Slippy in almost every way - the only thing it lacks is another fist-pumping anthem like that one.

This is no bad thing. Juanita/Kiteless is one of the greatest opening sixteen minutes to any album period, even when it comes armed with vocoders and about four different tracks rolled into one. The chiming relentlessness of it all is its charm - Underworld specialise in hammering home the point with powerful beats and beautiful melodies and this compliments other great Smith/Hyde openers such as Cups and Dark and Long.

Drum and bass permeates Banstyle which in turn merges seamlessly into the zonked-out flourish of Sappys Curry before a trio of, what could have passed for, beer-swilling club bangers that actually evolve into something quite euphoric, the pick of which is the glorious Pearl's Girl. Again divisible by two clear parts, Pearl's Girl the album mix is the ultimate version with its nine minutes portioned into the insistent floor-filler for the first half and a slightly d'n'b comedown for the closing five minutes.

Three extra discs compliment the main event in style. The second toughest disc in the super-deluxe features the Cherry Pie take of Rowla, b-sides Mosaic and Deep Arch and mixes of Born Slippy, the third rounds up out-takes and unreleased morsels that include the heavily-dubbed up D'Arbly St and the trippy Bing Here while the fourth disc over-eggs the Born Slippy phenomena somewhat with multiple live takes and versions from the vaults, concluding with the only mixx, sorry, mix you'll ever need the full-throttle 12 minute punisher. To be fair, Underworld re-read their biggest hit of the period in various shades of techno but a rare concert of the entire album might have been suitable.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


NL

Een nieuwe release uit de Underworld-backcatalogus. Dit keer het album dat algemeen wordt erkend als het belangrijkste van dit duo. Dit is geen slechte zaak, want Juanita/Kiteless is een van interessantste zestien minuten durende openingstracks ooit, gewapend met vocoders en eigenlijk is het een samensmelting van vier verschillende songs. De charme zit in de meedogenloosheid, want Underworld is gespecialiseerd in krachtige beats en mooie melodieën.

Drums en bas domineren Banstyle, dat naadloos overgaat in Sappys Curry en wordt gevolgd door het glorieuze Pearl's Girl, een tweedelige track die begint als een negen minuten durende en indringende dansvloerkiller en in de laatste vijf minuten evolueert tot een d'n'b-track.

Drie extra disks complimenteren deze belangrijkste gebeurtenis in stijl. St en Bing Here, terwijl de vierde disk het Born Slippy-verschijnsel documenteert met meerdere live-opnamen en archiefversies.

Paul PLEDGER
08/12/2016


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel