tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this article review

08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE)

Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Article
08/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Soon La Muerte will tour again. One of the dates is February 20, in Middelkerke. Peek-A-Boo asked Didier Moens (aka Dee-J) to come up with his ten records that changed his life.

This was a total nightmare! I’ve been asked to make my top 10 before. It was a hell too! Not every record I have changed my life, and maybe these are not all my favorites, but they surely marked me one way or another. Choosing 10 in a life time is not easy, especially at my… wise age! I tried to keep in mind the “that changed your life”-factor… I guess that’s why it stopped in 1984, although there are so many records and artists after that, that I wish I could mention and I still buy and discover new stuff today. “…Keep on rockin’!...” as Noddy would say!

1. JACQUES DUTRONC – J’aime les Filles
When it all started, at the age of six, my parents bought me my first record player and my first singles. Amongst those an EP by Dutronc. I always had a weakness for B-sides instead of the hits. Strangely there was also a single by Adamo. Never understood why! More records followed soon: Wallace Collection, Michel Polnareff, Aphrodite’s Child, Equals…

2. SLADE – Slayed?
The music virus was spreading. I moved to LP’s. Slayed? And also Slade Alive. Noddy Holder: one of the greatest voices in rock ‘n roll – sorry Bon Scott. Slade was my first gig in 73. I’m a hardcore fan. I started wearing platform shoes at school. My mum looked concerned. A rich period of discoveries: The Sweet, The Sparks, Gary Glitter, T-Rex, early Queen… and also:

3. DAVID BOWIE – The Jean Genie
Everything you read about the Ziggy fascination is true. I was 11 and I lived it too. In the meantime he passed away and so many things were said. I erased my words. A truly genius. I saw him live in 78.

4. ALICE COOPER – Billion Dollar Babies
The Coop at his peak. Great artwork. Great songs. Great production by Bob Ezrin. Sounds massive, but if you listen to the left or right channel from Elected separately, there aren’t that much layers of music. I also bought School’s Out at the Innovation(!) warehouse at the rue Neuve in Brussels. I returned to complain about the missing lady’s underwear around the record! I had a lamp with a slipknot rope hanging in my room. My mum felt worried.

5. KRAFTWERK – Radioactivity
Some serious cultural shock. No guitars, no drummer, no bass player and Germans. 

6. SEX PISTOLS – Anarchy in the UK
A symbol for the whole period. The raw energy and anger of that record. But it could have been the Damned, the Clash… My first time in London in 1977 during the Jubilee year. Fantastic period. You could see and feel this new energy everywhere. This was the start of a new musical era. Many great bands would follow from the ashes of punk rock. Today everyone plays in a band. The younger generation should understand that that was due thanks to that period. Also a very confusing period for me: you’re supposed to hate all the musical dinosaurs like Led Zeppelin, Bowie and others. I couldn’t.

7. PUBLIC IMAGE LTD – Public Image
You need balls to start something completely different right after the Pistols. I saw his first try out gig in Brussels in 78. Total chaos. Loved it. Metal Box would follow soon. An iconic release. Everything became possible at that time. Love the man, love the music, love what he wrote and his no bullshit honesty. La Muerte played with him at the Seaside festival in 1986. I didn’t dare to knock on his door.

8. GANG OF FOUR – Entertainment!
Unfortunately, it is Jimmy Page, but later, Andy Gill’s guitar play and moves gave me the urge to grab a guitar. I stole a lot of him in my learning period. When we shared the stage in Köln with Ether, I told him. I saw them the first time live with The Ruts in 78 at a RAR gig in Cambridge.

9. KILLING JOKE – Killing joke
One of those bands amongst many others (Wire, Tubeway Army, Joy Division, Devo, Cabaret Voltaire, Suicide, Scritti Politti, Bauhaus, The Human League…) that emerged around the post punk/new wave -whatever- period (78/79/80) and created its own style and sound. I think that’s what we tried to do as well… I got this Killing Joke T-shirt with ‘Not giving a fuck since 1979’. I’m totally in it! I still follow the band today.

10. LA MUERTE – The Surrealist Mystery
Okay, it could sound pretentious to put your own record in the list. But when we released this first record, from the first hostile reactions we got, we talked about moving to Mecca London, play as much as possible, probably having the time of our life for 6 months and then disappear. The choices I made that year actually changed the rest of my life, made who or what I am today, had an influence on who my friends are, how I live, on everything… And as I was asked to write this list in 2016, things went apparently not as planned!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


NL

Binnenkort toert La Muerte weer. In Middelkerke op 20 februari. Peek-A-Boo vroeg Didier Moens (aka Dee-J) om tien platen die zijn leven hebben veranderd.

Dit was een nachtmerrie! Men heeft mij al gevraagd om een top 10 te maken. Dat was ook een hel! Niet elke plaat heeft mijn leven veranderd, en misschien zijn de volgende wel niet mijn favorieten, maar ze betekenen op de een of andere manier wel iets. Het kiezen van die 10 is niet gemakkelijk, vooral op mijn... leeftijd! Ik heb geprobeerd om de zin 'die uw leven veranderden " te onthouden... Ik denk dat het daarom in 1984 stopte, maar er zijn zo veel platen en kunstenaars die ik zou kunnen noemen en ik koop nog steeds en ontdek ook vandaag nog nieuwe dingen. "... Keep on rockin'!..." zou Noddy zeggen!

1. JACQUES DUTRONC - J'aime les Filles
Toen begon het allemaal. Op de leeftijd van zes, kochten mijn ouders me mijn eerste platenspeler en mijn eerste singles. Daar zat ook een ep van Dutronc bij. Ik had altijd een zwak voor B-kantjes in plaats voor de hits. Vreemd genoeg was er ook een single van Adamo bij. Nooit begrepen waarom! Meer plaatjes volgden snel: Wallace Collection, Michel Polnareff, Aphrodite's Child, Equals...

2. SLADE - Slayed?
Het muziekvirus verspreidde zich. Ik begin met lp’s. Slayed? Maar ook Slade Alive. Noddy Holder: één van de grootste stemmen uit de rock ’n roll, sorry Bon Scott. Slade was mijn eerste optreden in 73. Ik ben een hardcorefan. Ik droeg platformschoenen op school. Mijn moeder keek bezorgd. Een periode vol ontdekkingen: The Sweet, The Sparks, Gary Glitter, T-Rex, de begindagen van Queen... En ook:

3. DAVID BOWIE - The Jean Genie
Alles wat je leest over de Ziggy-fascinatie is waar. Ik was 11 en ondervond het ook. Ondertussen is hij overleden en zijn er zo veel dingen over hem gezegd. Ik wis mijn woorden. Een echt genie. Ik zag hem live in 1978.

4. ALICE COOPER - Billion Dollar Babies
Cooper op zijn hoogtepunt. Een groot kunstwerk. Geweldige nummers. Fantastische productie van Bob Ezrin. Het klinkt enorm, maar als je afzonderlijk naar het linker- of rechterkanaal luistert, zijn er niet zo veel lagen in de muziek. Ik kocht School’s Out in de Innovation (!), een supermarkt in de Nieuwstraat in Brussel. Ik keerde terug om te klagen dat er geen damesondergoed om de plaat zat gewikkeld! Er hing een lamp met een touw om in mijn kamer. Mijn moeder maakte zich zorgen.

5. KRAFTWERK - Radioactivity
Een ernstige cultuurschok. Geen gitaren, geen drummer, geen bassist en Duitsers!

6. SEX PISTOLS - Anarchy in the UK
Symbolisch voor de gehele periode. De rauwe energie en woede van deze plaat. Maar het kon ook The Damned of The Clash zijn geweest... Mijn eerste keer in Londen in 1977 tijdens het jubileumjaar. Fantastische periode. Je kon die nieuwe energie overal zien. Dit was het begin van een nieuw muzikaal tijdperk. Vele grote bands zouden uit de as van de punkrock volgen. Vandaag speelt iedereen in een band. De jongere generatie moet begrijpen dat dit eigenlijk dankzij deze periode is. Het was ook een zeer verwarrende periode voor mij: je moest dinosaurussen zoals Led Zeppelin of Bowie haten. Ik kon dat niet.

7. PUBLIC IMAGE LTD - Public Image
Je moet echt ballen hebben om na de Pistols iets anders te starten. Ik zag zijn eerste optreden in Brussel in 78. Totale chaos. Ik vond het geweldig. Metal Box zou snel volgen. Een iconische release. Alles werd mogelijk op dat moment. Ik hou van de man, ik hou van de muziek, ik hou van wat hij schreef en zijn no bullshit-eerlijkheid. La Muerte speelde met hem op Seaside in 1986. Ik durfde niet op zijn deur te kloppen.

8. GANG OF FOUR - Entertainment!
Het is helaas niet Jimmy Page, maar wel Andy Gills gitaarspel dat me de smaak gaf. Ik heb veel van hem geleerd. Dat heb ik hem verteld toen we in Keulen met Ether het podium deelden. Ik zag ze voor het eerst live met The Ruts in 78 tijdens een RAR-optreden in Cambridge.

9. KILLING JOKE - Killing Joke
Een van de vele bands (Wire, Tubeway Army, Joy Division, Devo, Cabaret Voltaire, Suicide, Scritti Politti, Bauhaus, The Human League...) die ontstond rondom de postpunk/new wave -ik weet niet wat- -periode (78/79/80) en ze creëerden hun eigen stijl en geluid. Ik denk dat wat ze ook probeerden... Ik heb nog steeds mijn Killing Joke-T-shirt met het opschrift ‘Not giving a fuck since 1979'. Dat ben ik! Ik volg de band nog steeds vandaag.

10. LA MUERTE – The Surrealist Mystery
OK, het klinkt pretentieus om je eigen plaat in de lijst te zetten. Maar als we deze eerste plaat uitbrachten, vanaf de eerste vijandige reacties die we kregen, toen we spraken over het Mekka dat Londen was, zo veel mogelijk spelen, waarschijnlijk voor 6 maanden de tijd van ons leven hebben en dan verdwijnen. De keuzes die ik dat jaar maakte veranderden daadwerkelijk de rest van mijn leven, ze maakten me wie of wat ik nu ben, de plaat had een invloed op wie mijn vrienden zijn, hoe ik leef, op alles heeft het een invloed... En toen vroeg me mij om deze lijst in 2016 te schrijven, het ging blijkbaar niet zoals gepland!

Didier BECU
08/12/2016


08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life 08/12/2016 : DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) - Ten Albums That Changed My Life

Music reviews

24
04
THE MEMBRANES
What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
20
04
LUCKY AND LOVE
Transitions
12
04
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO
Menetekel
04
04
GROOVENOM
Wir müssen reden
03
04
THE RECEIPTS
The Receipts
02
04
FONTAINES D.C
Dogrel

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 33 years ago Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
15
04
New Peek-a-Boo Magazine #33 out now!
14
04
Blindness Vocalist Beth Rettig Announces Debut EP ''The Desert'' From New Project Where We Sleep
13
04
Watch a new trailer for an upcoming documentary on Canadian synthpunk innovator, Nash The Slash!
12
04
Coil Release 150 minutes Of Music Entitled ''SWANYARD''
11
04
Tomorrow! Double concert Neon Electronics + Simi Nah - Win a free album!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
04
GNOSTIC GORILLA
WAKE UP! We are really in deep shit if we don’t snap out of this siege mentality and we need to stop killing the earth!
12
04
ERNEST MOON
“Our interest in the literary arts is equal to that of music.”
11
04
51 PEG
Breaking A 14-Year Absence: An Interview With 51 Peg
10
04
JO QUAIL
'I guess I’m a bit difficult to categorize!'
08
04
LAIBACH
'In reality, nobody really wants to solve a Korean problem.'

PHOTOS

22
04
CHARLES DE GOAL
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
STILL PATIENT ?
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
THE INVICIBLE SPIRIT
Dark Skies over Witten
22
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
22
04
DAEMONIA NYMPHE
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen
21
04
JO QUAIL
Black Easter @ Zappa Antwerpen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
04
DECODED FEEDBACK
Waiting For The Storm
23
04
AEX
Selected Memories
22
04
NO SLEEP BY THE MACHINE
Old Track
21
04
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Gone (Feat. Yvette Winkler)
20
04
DAVID BOWIE
Fashion
19
04
GNOSTIC GORRILA
St. Basil's Asylum
18
04
UNDERTHESKIN
Borderline