tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this mp3/download review

08/12/2016 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - Swedish Electro Vol.3

VARIOUS ARTISTS

Swedish Electro Vol.3

MusicMP3/Download
08/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Swedish Electro Scene has released a 63 track compilation, a really extensive one. It presents Swedish electro bands and solo projects, and as the Swedish scene is a flourishing one, we were eager to hear the tracks on this compilation.

The opening track is I Never Told You to Stay from Uncreated, a solo project of Patrik Hansson (a member of Vanguard) and as expected it’s a solid melodic synth pop track, a perfect start of the pretty long voyage through electronic Swedish sounds. Optic offers a more melancholic and atmospheric melody with the song Rise and the feel persists with the next track from Erotic Elk, Surrender. The Scare, an acoustic version from Machinista, is again one utterly melodic and emotive track.

When listening further, at this point I conclude that I am really in a particular landscape of sounds that depicts the Swedish electro scene of today, that is so well presented both by Modular Passion with the track Frekvens and Patrik Pistol‘s What’s the Meaning, where we can hear the voice of Lisa Englund, which is such a nice refreshment after hearing only male vocals up to now. Lisa’s voice perfectly combines with the atmospheric synths, singing almost in a whispering manner, making you surrender to this release already by the sixth track.

A bit of a more up tempo track awaits you at the seventh place with another female voice. 2nd Happiest offers a bit of a dance sound with their Little Stars, which flirts a bit with the retro synth vibe. A more optimistic tune comes from Mechatronic, proving that not all is melancholic in Sweden, giving us a song to dance to with their Rewind. Dance beats continue but Cold Connection shifts the mood to a darker note on Memories, still holding that melodic course that runs from the beginning of the compilation.

As far as Presence | Of | Mind is concerned, the first thing that pops up to my mind is a clear Depeche Mode influence, which I can hear in vocals and song construction, and definitely stands out with heavier beats and a melody that is mainly formed by the vocals, which are the core of their Brittle Bones. To put Cold Blue Fire, performed by Denormal, is a perfect choice, since it continues in a bit minimalistic manner, with beats and vocals leading the story, and then developing into indeed a catchy but darkly painted chorus with a touch of industrial elements. Then back to electro pop with Red Cell‘s Taking Back The Crown that is one contemporary piece of electro sound, offering a mixture of feelings, varying between positive and melancholic feel, nice way to merge it into one track.

Hearts Of Black Science is a true revelation, as I was hearing them for the first time. They are clearly flirting with many influences, at least on Icon,which brings them close to the dark wave and gothic rock; this makes me want to investigate this band more for sure. There are some more 'goth' vibes on the next track, he solo project Walk With Anything, as you can’t escape the 'goth' vocals and overall feel of Gothic Princess. The Department brings us a minimalistic synth song Slow Down, again painted darkly and by the 15th track, I must admit the songs were very cleverly chosen and listed.

Dpoint presents the remix of This Is My Time, in which the dark beat is stressed with little melody. It sounds minimalist, albeit violent and dark at the same time. M-LINC brings the more industrial/ebm track The Piper, and in Afraid, Elke Machine combines ebm and synthpop. The ebm/industrial beat of Deadweight by Finkseye delivers what is needed to get your body moving, because the track has heavy beats and radiates power.

Sta Emot by SPARK! is for all the ebm lovers, as this is a track for waking up some old school ebm souls. Some more raw and powerful sound with a more martial rhythm can be found on The Iron Sky from Chaos All Stars. Besides a catchy chorus, it is really interesting how male and female vocals can work together on a track, and my attention is really drawn to the powerful female voice. And we are back to some very danceable and optimistic synh pop from eleKtroFish with Shaky, which is a nice change of feel on the compilation (after those darker and more ebm tracks), just in time not to make it monotone. Delaykliniken continues that synth pop feel with their Holy, but with a bit more melancholic version where we can hear even some trancy moments. And a wakeup call comes from Train to Spain with their electro pop tune Blipblop. The perfect sequence to this would indeed be a track from Vogon Poetry as their Hyperspace Bypass is again an optimistic and dancy electro pop tune. Another electro pop song Dark Side of The Earth from Love in Progress is the first instrumental track so far, but is a really nice refreshment and provides us with a bit of the retro vintage moment. Aeld sweeps you away with La Lux, not only with the great melodic synth sound but with a very versatile female vocal performance that varies from gentle to more daring, adding greatly to the song texture. Another female voice can be heard on the next track Fear of Truth from Libra, a bit of a darker electronic track with rather melancholic chorus. It seems there is now a nice sequence of female voices on the compilation, but the voice of Herself performs “Diseased” in more of an r n b style, and the song has even a trip hop feel to it, that makes this song stands out instantly. xxxxx

Anna Oberg, another female performer delivers an interesting track titled I Morgen, both vocally and musically, as she is a bit more experimental in her expression that is not easy to label, but I think we are hearing one exceptional artist here. I was afraid I wouldn’t hear enough of female voices on this compilation, I was totally wrong. KAOS! presents another strong female vocalist with their song Puppet Dance, a darkly painted electro track, and combination of languages makes it even more intriguing.

And finally a switch back to male vocals with Hem Igen from Hyacinthuset, a really mellow and dreamy pop song. Why Care from solo project named Camelot, reminds me again of Depeche Mode as far as vocals are concerned, but again is a nice melancholy and emotional track. Strand delivers a change of pace as it is a bit more of an up tempo track called In Your Head and Salvation provokes an association with Peter Heppner vocals, and even a bit of Wolfsheim sound, and is overall a danceable and catchy song. True Love is yet another synth pop tack from Petition For Mercy that gives a bit of a retro 80s and even italo disco feel but The Livelong June provide their own electro statement on That’s Why I Love Weekends. Some real synth pop can be heard again on Do You Want to Dance from Electric City Cowboys, a danceable tune as a modern halfbreed of OMD and Erasure. Obsession of Time offers truly powerful female and male voices, as I am (sorry guys) a fan of solid female voices, again I must pay a compliment to the female vocals, but both female and male vocals work together just perfectly on this vibrant track Obsession.

Frontadero shows us that synth music doesn’t always need to be rigid or serious as he is experimenting with electronica and some techno elements that I especially like, giving it a trancy feel, on the third instrumental called Sebababa. This track I would name as another highlight of the compilation for me. Zyntetix is creating the robotic minimal electro sound on Analogue Man and even there is a voice present I would consider it to be more of an instrumental track. Another minimal electro track Damage comes from Asfalt. The track is an excellent mixture of minimal electro-ebm-experimental style. Viral Stealth for some reason gave me some goose bumps while listening to their Flesh In Command, which is again a minimalistic electronic-ebm experience but I consider this track to be the darkest point of the compilation despite this.

But what’s to come is even more minimalistic, as I will stop right there at that description, minimal electro, and as a title suggests Not Human, I can hardly imagine this voice coming from the human being, but Musik For Lik made their point. It is surely not for everyone, but I guess for the likes of me. By the time I got to My Own Sorrow I really didn’t know what to expect from the last two tracks, but Rats In The Walls makes you feel just like that, like a rat in the wall, a powerful dark electro-industrial experimental track filled with feels of anguish and claustrophobia, so whoever dares to listen, get ready. Last Cermonia as the last track, closes the compilation in a very dancy manner, EoV saw to it that you don’t get to sleep after this 63 tracks voyage and that it ends on an uplifting tone.

To my personal feelings, I consider this compilation cleverly put together as it presents various projects, names and bands that you might never have heard of before but are definitely worth checking out. This proves once again that Sweden has a lot to offer musically and that the Swedish electro scene is indeed a great and diverse one.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


NL

Swedish Electro Scene lanceert een uitgebreide compilatie met 63 tracks. De selectie bevat Zweedse elektrobands en solo-projecten en omdat de Zweedse scène het uitstekend doet tegenwoordig, stonden we te popelen om de tracks te beluisteren.

Het openingsnummer is I Told You Never to Stay van Uncreated, het soloproject van Patrik Hansson (lid van Vanguard) en zoals verwacht is het een stevige en melodische synthpoptrack, de perfecte start van een mooie en lange reis door de wereld van Zweedse elektronische geluiden. Optic biedt een melancholischere en sfeervollere melodie in de track Rise, en dat gevoel overheerst ook in de volgende track, Surrender, van Erotic Elk. The Scare, een akoestische versie van Machinista, is weer een uiterst melodieuze en emotionele track.

Tijdens het beluisteren stel ik vast dat ik in een bijzonder geluidslandschap terecht ben gekomen, getuige de tracks Frekvens door Modular Passion en What’s the Meaning door Patrick Pistol. In die laatste horen we de stem van Lisa Englund, een verfrissing na de overwegend mannelijke vocalen. Lisa's stem is op een perfecte manier gecombineerd met de atmosferische synths. Ze zingt op een haast fluisterende manier.

Een up-tempo track met vrouwelijke vocalen biedt 2 Happiest. Hun Little Stars klnkt een beetje als dance en flirt ook een beetje met de retro synthvibe. Een optimistischer geluid komt van Mechatronic, dat bewijst dat het niet alleen om melancolie draait in de Zweedse scène. Hun Rewind is een track om op te dansen en dat is eveneens het geval in Memories van Cold Connection, dat evenwel voor een donkerdere aanpak kiest, terwijl de melodische koers wordt bewaard die ook in de rest van het materiaal op deze compilatie aan bod komt.

Presence | of | Mind is zeer duidelijk beïnvloed door Depeche Mode qua zanglijn en opbouw. Hun Brittle Bones krijgt zware beats en een melodie die vooral wordt gedragen door de zangpartij. Cold Blue Fire, uitgevoerd door Denormal, is de perfecte volgende track, een beetje minimalistisch, met beats en vocalen voor de verhaallijn, die zich ontwikkelt tot een catchy, maar donkere track met een vleugje industrial. Dan terug naar elektropop met Taking Back The Crown van Red Cell, een eigentijds stukje elektrogeluid als een mengeling van gevoelens, variërend tussen een positieve en een melancholische sfeer, allemaal in één en dezelfde track.

Hearts Of Black Science is een ware openbaring voor mij, want ik hoor de band voor het eerst... Men flirt duidelijk met vele invloeden, althans op Icon, waardoor ze dicht aanleunen bij dark wave en gothic rock. En meer goth hoor je in Gothic Princess van het solo-project Walk With Anything. Van The Department horen we de minimalistische synthtrack Slow Down, opnieuw een donkere track en opnieuw perfect geselecteerd voor deze compilatie.

Dpoint presenteert de remix van This Is My Time, waarin de donkere beat wordt benadrukt met maar weinig melodie, waardoor die minimalistisch klinkt, zij het heftig en donker tegelijk. M-LINC brengt de meer industrial/ebm-track The Piper, en in Afraid combineert Elke Machine ebm en synthpop. De ebm/industrial beat v van Deadweight door Finkseye, levert wat nodig is om je lichaam in beweging te brengen, want de track bevat heftige beats en straalt power uit.

Sta Emot van SPARK! is materiaal voor liefhebbers van ebm, want dit is een track om een aantal old school-ebmzielen wakker te maken. Een rauwer en krachtiger geluid met een martial ritme horen we in The Iron Sky van Chaos All Stars. Naast een catchy refrein, is het interessant om te horen hoe mannelijke en vrouwelijke vocalen samen kunnen klinken op een track, en vooral de krachtige vrouwelijke stem trekt mijn aandacht. Heel dansbare en optimistisch synhpop weerklinkt in Shaky van eleKtroFish, een leuke afwisseling qua sfeer op deze compilatie (na de donkerdere en meer ebm-achtige tracks), net op tijd om eentonigheid te vermijden. Delaykliniken gaat door op dat synthpopgevoel met Holy, een melancholischere song met trancy momenten. En aandachttrekker komt van Train to Spain met de electropopsong Blipblop. De perfecte opvolger is een track van Vogon Poetry, wiens Hyperspace Bypass opnieuw een optimistische en dansachtige electropopsong is. De electropopsong Dark Side of The Earth van Love in Progress is de eerste instrumentale track tot nu toe en een echt leuke verfrissing die ons een beetje een retro vintagemoment bezorgt. Aeld veegt je weg met La Lux, niet alleen met groots melodisch synthgeluid, maar met veelzijdige vrouwelijke vocalen die varieëren van zacht tot meer gedurfd. Een andere vrouwen stem is te horen in Fear of Truth van Libra, een beetje een donkere elektrotrack met een nogal melancholisch refrein. Een mooie verzameling vrouwenstemmen op de compilatie. De stem van Herself klinkt dan weer r'n'b-achtig in Diseased en heeft zelfs een triphopgevoel waardoor de song meteen opvalt.

Anna Oberg levert de interessante vocale en instrumentale track I Morgen. Zij gaat een beetje experimenteler te werk en is niet gemakkelijk te labellen, maar ik denk dat we hier wel een uitzonderlijk kunstenaar horen. Ik was bang dat er te weinig vrouwenstemmen op deze compilatie zouden staan, Maar ik had het mis. KAOS! brengt opnieuw een sterke vrouwelijke vocaliste in Puppet Dance, een donkere elektrotrack en de combinatie van verschillende talen maakt de track nog aantrekkelijker.

Opnieuw mannelijke vocalen in Hem Igen van Hyacinthuset, een echt zoete en dromerige popsong. Why Care van het solo-project Camelot doet me weer denken aan Depeche Mode wat zang betreft, een mooie, melancholische en emotionele track. Strand levert met In Your Head een uptempo track en Salvation roept herinneringen op aan Peter Heppner' stem en zelfs een beetje aan het geluid van Wolfsheim. Hun bijdrage is een dansbare en catchy track. True Love is een synthpoptack van Petition for Mercy met een beetje een retro jarentachtig- en zelfs een italodiscogevoel en The Livelong June levert zijn eigen elektrostatement met That’s Why I Love Weekends. Echte synthpop hoor je in Do You Wanna Dance van Electric City Cowboys, een dansbaar deuntje als een moderne halfbloed van OMD en Erasure. Obsession of Time biedt krachtige vrouwen- en mannenstemmen, en omdat ik een fan ben van solide vrouwenstemmen (sorry, jongens), moet ik de vrouwelijke vocalen opnieuw een complement maken, maar eigenlijk klinken zowel de vrouwelijke als de mannelijke vocalen perfect op de vibrante track Obsession.

Frontadero bewijst dat synthmuziek niet altijd stijf of ernstig moet klinken, want hij experimenteert met elektronica en een aantal techno-elementen die ik bijzonder leuk vindt op de derde instrumentale track op deze compilatie, het trancy-achtige Sabababa, Dat nummer zou ik een hoogtepunt durven noemen op deze release. Zynetix creëert een robotachtig minimalistisch elektrogeluid op Analogue Man. Ondanks de stem, zou ik het toch eerder een instrumentale track durven noemen. De minimalistische electrotrack Schade komt van Asfalt, een uitstekende mix van minimalistische electro/ebm. Viral Stealth bezorgt me kippenvel met Flesh In Command, opnieuw een minimalistische elektro/ebm-ervaring, maar ik beschouw dit als de donkerste track van de compilatie.

Maar wat volgt is nog minimalistischer. Ik kan we moeilijk voorstellen dat de stem in Not Human van een mens afkomstig is, maar Musik For Lik maakt een punt. Het is niet geschikt voor iedereen en tegen de tijd dat My Own Sorrow weerklinkt, weet ik echt niet wat te verwachten van de laatste twee tracks, maar Rats in the Walls geeft je precies dát gevoel. Het is een krachtige en experimentele donkere electro/industrialtrack vol angst en claustrofobie, dus wie er durft naar te luisteren, zet zich beter schrap. Last Cermonia is de laatste track en die sluit de compilatie af op een dansbare manier. EoV kijkt erop toe dat je niet in slaap valt na 63 tracks en vooral dat er wordt geëindigd op een luchtige manier.

Persoonlijk beschouw ik deze compilatie als een uitstekende selectie omdat er zeer diverse projecten worden gepresenteerd, namen en bands die je misshcien nooit eerder hebt gehoord, maar die echt de moeite waard zijn, wat bewijst dat Zweden op muzikaal vlak veel te bieden heeft en dat de Zweedse elektroscène inderdaad groot en divers is.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


Music reviews

20
04
ABYSS X
Pleasures Of The Bull
19
04
APSURDE
See Me Coming
18
04
ANDERS MANGA
Perfectly Stranger
17
04
DARKNESS ON DEMAND
Back To Psychoburbia
16
04
VIKTOR KALIMA
Club Muscle
15
04
PSY'AVIAH
Lightflare

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Christina Plays Viola teaser for upcoming EP
16
04
Hatchling release their new single 'Holly'
15
04
Vogue.Noir release Strange.Days
14
04
Mourners release their first songs!
13
04
Empirion sign with Dependent
12
04
Nox Interna will release their EP 'A Minor Road' in May 2018

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’
20
04
ADAM USI
You know, art, music and visuals are the package, they are one big thing, they belong to each other. I try to find the jigsaw pieces to paint a all in all picture.
17
04
BYSENSES
We are Just 'People', Not A Superrace
26
03
MANINKARI
‘Sound Has Also A Place In A Process Of Spiritual Healing’
23
03
IRKLIS
‘INDUSTRIAL MUSIC WAS NEVER MADE TO PLEASE ANYBODY’

PHOTOS

16
04
SPARK!
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
LESCURE 13
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
ELM
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
16
04
DOGANOV
Darkest Night 2018, Jk2470, Retie, Belgium
08
04
EVANESCENCE
Paleis 12 Brussel
08
04
TRUE ZEBRA
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle
08
04
DARK POEM
Nachtvlindersfestival Oostmalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
04
NINE INCH NAILS
Only
21
04
HUMINOIDA
Ghosts on Photos
21
04
FRONT 242
Quite Unusual
20
04
MIDAS FALL
Glue
19
04
0KONTROL
Limbo
18
04
CHRISTINE PLAYS VIOLA
Sentenced to fall
17
04
LANA DEL RABIES
Vicious End