tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : VUDUVOX - Vaudou Electrique

VUDUVOX

Vaudou Electrique

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsIndustrial

[95/100]   

EK Product
08/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Vuduvox, a French-Belgian duo released their debut album Vaudou Electrique almost exactly a year ago today when it came to me. Although it is a debut release, the band members are all but newcomers to the industrial/EBM scene. J-C, in charge of singing and synths, is also the frontman of BUZZ, French minimal electro, while guitarist Oliver T. has a resume of playing electro-percussions with acts like Signal Aout 42 and GrandChaos. The combined effort resulted in an old school industrial album with strong EBM notes that sounds like a strange mixture of The Young Gods, Excessive Force (slightly different KMFDM-like project by Sascha Konietzko), Birmingham 6 and even with some bits sounding like Fortification 55.

Vaudou Electrique, in total, is an exceptional album with strong and danceable basslines, pushing drums that is perfect both for dark strobed dancefloors and listening in a chair. The synths are beautifully layered on top of rhythm section and in combination with non-intrusive and atmospheric guitar sounds make the perfect bed for nicely reverbed, almost whispered vocals. Along with good voice samples and the usage of clap and a-gogo percussions, the end result is a bit nostalgic, but on the other hand, more contemporary than retro. The end result oozes with atmosphere and rolls forward almost like a sound avalanche that can hardly leave you indifferent.

The album opens with Sérénade Pour Renégat and Berlin, two songs setting a perfect tempo for things to come. Loads of tempo and power with frantic synths and a slightly monotone voice, which, as it seems a winning combination to get your blood pumping. After the grand opening, Kamikazes doesn’t sound as fast and powerful, since it lacks firm bassline of its predecessors, but still manages to deliver a good result, although leaving some feelings of wanting more.

L’Usine” is quick to bring the album back on track of the first 2 songs, with danceable and firm sounds making a perfect intro for the 3 songs that follow: Silex, Kennedy and Fascination are peaks of this album. A trio of masterfully executed songs, with Silex and Fascination being proper old school dance anthems that should be a mandatory part of any industrial / EBM dancefloor. Kennedy between those two, on the other hand, is a haunting and chaotic sound scape built on top of TV or radio simulcast of Kennedy’s assassination and really delivers very unique listening experience from start to finish. Definitely my favorite on the album. Bruit Blanc brings the pace down a notch and in a way, has similar observations like Kamikazes, although much less pronounced, but at this point I’m already spoiled enough.

Ils Descendront Du Train picks up again and sets ground for the remainder of the album, where although all the songs are great, I’d single out another trio: So Kalt, Charogne and Disco-Démolition, again, 3 hellishly danceable songs with contagious rhythm in a row, especially Disco-Démolition with real dancefloor hit capacity and great Disco Sucks! sampled intro. Au Rythme Des Incendies is another great dance song, followed by Avec Toi, by my understanding, the album’s romantic song that does have a “passionate” feel to it, even in the way it is sung.

The album is closed with Vu-Du-Vox (Part 1 & 2), a slow building song that begins with two minutes of slowly building noise before the drum and bass kicks in and rhythmically brings the album towards the end. Along with 15 songs, the album also contains 12 short Vudu-breaks scattered between them, ranging from a little more than 10 seconds up to almost 30 seconds, giving the entire album listening experience a bit more of a texture and character.

All in all, I’ve spent 5 days with this album up until now and most probably will spend a lot more time in days to come. It is an excellent album that has the “labor of love” feel to it, without any noticeable weak spots and with lots of advantages going for it. Best new material I’ve heard in quite a while. Highly recommended.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


NL

Vuduvox is een Frans-Belgische duo. Het debuutalbum Vaudou Electrique verscheen precies één jaar geleden, maar ik hoor het nu pas. Hoewel dit een debuut is, zijn de bandleden allesbehalve nieuwkomers in de industrial/ EBM-scène. J-C, die verantwoordelijk is voor de zang en de synths, is tevens de frontman van BUZZ, de Franse minimalelectroband, terwijl gitarist Oliver T. samenwerkte met acts als Signal Aout 42 en GrandChaos. Hun gezamenlijke inspanning resulteerde in een oldschoolindustrialalbum met sterke EBM-invloeden en klinkt als een vreemde mengeling van The Young Gods, Excessive Force (het KMFDM-achtige project van Sascha Konietzko), Birmingham 6 en zelfs wat Fortification 55.

In het algemeen kan je zeggen dat Vaudou Electrique een uitzonderlijk album is met sterke, dansbare basslijnen en stevige drums en dat het zowel geschikt is voor de donkere dansvloer als voor de stoel in je huiskamer. De synths zijn prachtig gelaagd met de ritmesectie en atmosferische gitaarklanken. Samen met goede stemsamples en wat geklap is het eindresultaat een beetje nostalgisch, maar aan de andere kant meer eigentijds dan retro. Het is een geluidslawine die je niet onverschillig laat.

Het album opent met Sérénade Pour Renégat en Berlin, twee songs die het perfecte tempo aangeven voor wat zal komen. Het tempo, de krachtige hectische synths en de ietwat monotone stem: het is een winnende combinatie om je bloed te laten circuleren. Daarna volgt Kamikazes, het geluid is minder krachtig omdat de stevige baslijn van de voorgangers hier ontbreekt, maar toch slaagt Vuduvox erin om een ​​goed resultaat af te leveren, maar goed…ik ben al genoeg verwend!

L'Usine zet het album weer snel op de rails van de eerste 2 nummers, het is de perfecte voorbode voor de 3 volgende tracks: Silex, Kennedy en Fascination, de toppers van dit album. Deze drie dansbare tracks zouden eigenlijk een verplicht onderdeel moeten zijn van iedere industrial-EBM-party. Kennedy is een beklijvend en chaotisch soundscape dat is opgebouwd met tv- en radiofragmenten over de moord op Kennedy en het levert een zeer unieke luisterervaring op. Zeker mijn favoriet op het album.

Bruit Blanc haalt het tempo wat naar beneden en lijkt wat op Kamikazes, maar ik heb je het toch al eerder verteld, ik ben meer dan genoeg verwend! Ils Descendront Du Train is dan wederom geweldig. En er volgen nog drie helse dansbare tracks: So Kalt, Charogne en Disco-Démolition. Au Rythme Des Incendies is een andere fantastische danstrack, gevolgd door Avec Toi, dat volgens mij het meest romantische liedje van het album is.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met Vu-Du-Vox (Part 1 & 2), een song met een trage opbouw die begint met twee minuten geruis vooraleer de drums en de bas hun intrede doen. 15 songs, samen met 12 korte Vudu-breaks die variëren van 10 tot 30 seconden, waardoor het hele album de luisterervaring meer textuur en karakter geeft. Al met al heb ik me 5 dagen goed geamuseerd met dit album en dat zal waarschijnlijk nog wel een tijdje doorgaan. Het is een uitstekend album dat met liefde is gemaakt, zonder zwakke momenten. Vadou Electrique is het beste nieuwe materiaal dat ik in een tijdje heb gehoord. Sterk aanbevolen.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3
OPPENHEIMER MK II • Line of Sight
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Fallen Angels
FROHM • Dawn Of Electric Age
DAVID BOWIE • The Man Who Sold The World
DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
THE WEBB • In A Dark Place
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016

 

Same genre: EBM
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES • Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
SIGNAL AOUT 42 • Insurrection
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
ZWEITE JUGEND • Elektronische Körpermusik
PARADE GROUND • Life [Live In Frankfurt]
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots
21
06
NEW ORDER
Restless