tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

08/12/2016 : VUDUVOX - Vaudou Electrique

VUDUVOX

Vaudou Electrique

MusicCD
EBMElectronicsIndustrial

[95/100]   

EK Product
08/12/2016, Marija BULJETA

EN

Vuduvox, a French-Belgian duo released their debut album Vaudou Electrique almost exactly a year ago today when it came to me. Although it is a debut release, the band members are all but newcomers to the industrial/EBM scene. J-C, in charge of singing and synths, is also the frontman of BUZZ, French minimal electro, while guitarist Oliver T. has a resume of playing electro-percussions with acts like Signal Aout 42 and GrandChaos. The combined effort resulted in an old school industrial album with strong EBM notes that sounds like a strange mixture of The Young Gods, Excessive Force (slightly different KMFDM-like project by Sascha Konietzko), Birmingham 6 and even with some bits sounding like Fortification 55.

Vaudou Electrique, in total, is an exceptional album with strong and danceable basslines, pushing drums that is perfect both for dark strobed dancefloors and listening in a chair. The synths are beautifully layered on top of rhythm section and in combination with non-intrusive and atmospheric guitar sounds make the perfect bed for nicely reverbed, almost whispered vocals. Along with good voice samples and the usage of clap and a-gogo percussions, the end result is a bit nostalgic, but on the other hand, more contemporary than retro. The end result oozes with atmosphere and rolls forward almost like a sound avalanche that can hardly leave you indifferent.

The album opens with Sérénade Pour Renégat and Berlin, two songs setting a perfect tempo for things to come. Loads of tempo and power with frantic synths and a slightly monotone voice, which, as it seems a winning combination to get your blood pumping. After the grand opening, Kamikazes doesn’t sound as fast and powerful, since it lacks firm bassline of its predecessors, but still manages to deliver a good result, although leaving some feelings of wanting more.

L’Usine” is quick to bring the album back on track of the first 2 songs, with danceable and firm sounds making a perfect intro for the 3 songs that follow: Silex, Kennedy and Fascination are peaks of this album. A trio of masterfully executed songs, with Silex and Fascination being proper old school dance anthems that should be a mandatory part of any industrial / EBM dancefloor. Kennedy between those two, on the other hand, is a haunting and chaotic sound scape built on top of TV or radio simulcast of Kennedy’s assassination and really delivers very unique listening experience from start to finish. Definitely my favorite on the album. Bruit Blanc brings the pace down a notch and in a way, has similar observations like Kamikazes, although much less pronounced, but at this point I’m already spoiled enough.

Ils Descendront Du Train picks up again and sets ground for the remainder of the album, where although all the songs are great, I’d single out another trio: So Kalt, Charogne and Disco-Démolition, again, 3 hellishly danceable songs with contagious rhythm in a row, especially Disco-Démolition with real dancefloor hit capacity and great Disco Sucks! sampled intro. Au Rythme Des Incendies is another great dance song, followed by Avec Toi, by my understanding, the album’s romantic song that does have a “passionate” feel to it, even in the way it is sung.

The album is closed with Vu-Du-Vox (Part 1 & 2), a slow building song that begins with two minutes of slowly building noise before the drum and bass kicks in and rhythmically brings the album towards the end. Along with 15 songs, the album also contains 12 short Vudu-breaks scattered between them, ranging from a little more than 10 seconds up to almost 30 seconds, giving the entire album listening experience a bit more of a texture and character.

All in all, I’ve spent 5 days with this album up until now and most probably will spend a lot more time in days to come. It is an excellent album that has the “labor of love” feel to it, without any noticeable weak spots and with lots of advantages going for it. Best new material I’ve heard in quite a while. Highly recommended.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


NL

Vuduvox is een Frans-Belgische duo. Het debuutalbum Vaudou Electrique verscheen precies één jaar geleden, maar ik hoor het nu pas. Hoewel dit een debuut is, zijn de bandleden allesbehalve nieuwkomers in de industrial/ EBM-scène. J-C, die verantwoordelijk is voor de zang en de synths, is tevens de frontman van BUZZ, de Franse minimalelectroband, terwijl gitarist Oliver T. samenwerkte met acts als Signal Aout 42 en GrandChaos. Hun gezamenlijke inspanning resulteerde in een oldschoolindustrialalbum met sterke EBM-invloeden en klinkt als een vreemde mengeling van The Young Gods, Excessive Force (het KMFDM-achtige project van Sascha Konietzko), Birmingham 6 en zelfs wat Fortification 55.

In het algemeen kan je zeggen dat Vaudou Electrique een uitzonderlijk album is met sterke, dansbare basslijnen en stevige drums en dat het zowel geschikt is voor de donkere dansvloer als voor de stoel in je huiskamer. De synths zijn prachtig gelaagd met de ritmesectie en atmosferische gitaarklanken. Samen met goede stemsamples en wat geklap is het eindresultaat een beetje nostalgisch, maar aan de andere kant meer eigentijds dan retro. Het is een geluidslawine die je niet onverschillig laat.

Het album opent met Sérénade Pour Renégat en Berlin, twee songs die het perfecte tempo aangeven voor wat zal komen. Het tempo, de krachtige hectische synths en de ietwat monotone stem: het is een winnende combinatie om je bloed te laten circuleren. Daarna volgt Kamikazes, het geluid is minder krachtig omdat de stevige baslijn van de voorgangers hier ontbreekt, maar toch slaagt Vuduvox erin om een ​​goed resultaat af te leveren, maar goed…ik ben al genoeg verwend!

L'Usine zet het album weer snel op de rails van de eerste 2 nummers, het is de perfecte voorbode voor de 3 volgende tracks: Silex, Kennedy en Fascination, de toppers van dit album. Deze drie dansbare tracks zouden eigenlijk een verplicht onderdeel moeten zijn van iedere industrial-EBM-party. Kennedy is een beklijvend en chaotisch soundscape dat is opgebouwd met tv- en radiofragmenten over de moord op Kennedy en het levert een zeer unieke luisterervaring op. Zeker mijn favoriet op het album.

Bruit Blanc haalt het tempo wat naar beneden en lijkt wat op Kamikazes, maar ik heb je het toch al eerder verteld, ik ben meer dan genoeg verwend! Ils Descendront Du Train is dan wederom geweldig. En er volgen nog drie helse dansbare tracks: So Kalt, Charogne en Disco-Démolition. Au Rythme Des Incendies is een andere fantastische danstrack, gevolgd door Avec Toi, dat volgens mij het meest romantische liedje van het album is.

De plaat wordt afgesloten met Vu-Du-Vox (Part 1 & 2), een song met een trage opbouw die begint met twee minuten geruis vooraleer de drums en de bas hun intrede doen. 15 songs, samen met 12 korte Vudu-breaks die variëren van 10 tot 30 seconden, waardoor het hele album de luisterervaring meer textuur en karakter geeft. Al met al heb ik me 5 dagen goed geamuseerd met dit album en dat zal waarschijnlijk nog wel een tijdje doorgaan. Het is een uitstekend album dat met liefde is gemaakt, zonder zwakke momenten. Vadou Electrique is het beste nieuwe materiaal dat ik in een tijdje heb gehoord. Sterk aanbevolen.

Marija BULJETA
08/12/2016


 

Next reviews
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Swedish Electro Vol.3
OPPENHEIMER MK II • Line of Sight
LOVE IN PRAGUE • Fallen Angels
FROHM • Dawn Of Electric Age
DAVID BOWIE • The Man Who Sold The World
DIDIER MOENS (LA MUERTE) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
ORANGE REVIVAL • Futurecent
THE WEBB • In A Dark Place
YODOK III • Legion Of Radiance: Live At Dokkhuset
• Dubhfest, Poperinge, 05.11.2016

 

Same genre: EBM
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
RESISTOR • Ice Cold Gold
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
SADOMANCER • Dystopian Dawn
EMPIRION • I Am Electronic / Red Noise
KNK • Dead Body Music III
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
NEGANT • No !
STRUCK9 • Ritual Body Music

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
STIN SCATZOR • Industranquilizer
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid