tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

16/12/2015 : HARBOUR OF SOULS - Mountain Of Fire

HARBOUR OF SOULS

Mountain Of Fire

MusicCD (EP)
Hard RockMetal

[75/100]   

Self-released
16/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Zeeland (located in the south-west of the Netherlands-ed.) has more to offer than water, wind and the beach. Just listen to Mountain Of Fire, the EP by Harbours of Souls. This five piece hard rock/heavy metal band started as a hobby project in 2010 when they supported Peter Pan Speedrock in their home town. After many positive reactions and some more gigs, the band recorded an EP in Eindhoven with producer Pieter Kloos.

We hear some great riffs and groovy hard rock. On the opener Mountain of Fire it feels like you’re back in the glory days of 70's hard rock. You know bands like Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow or Black Sabbath. It is clear where their inspiration comes from, but in the case of Harbours Of Soul that never is a disadvantage.

The EP is produced in a perfect way, while the vocals, that are reminiscent of the young Bruce Dickinson or David Lee Roth, are excellent too! If you like nostalgia or just some good old hard rock/heavy metal, then the four songs on Mountain Of Fire surely will please you! I do not know how they sound live, but with this type of music, I’m sure they must be able to throw a party!

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2015


NL

Dat Zeeland meer te bieden heeft dan water, wind en strand wordt na het beluisteren van deze ep van Harbours of Souls nog maar eens mooi bewezen. Deze vijfkoppige hardrock-/heavymetalband begon in 2010 als een hobbyproject in het voorprogramma van Peter Pan Speedrock in hun eigen stad. Na heel wat positieve reacties en meer shows trok de band dit jaar naar Eindhoven om er samen met producer Pieter Kloos een eerste ep op te nemen.

We horen vette riffs en groovy hardrock. Op de opener Mountain of Fire waan je je even weer in de hoogdagen van de jarenzeventighardrock. Je weet wel: Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow of Black Sabbath. Het is duidelijk waar ze de mosterd gehaald hebben, maar voor Harbours Of Soul is dat allesbehalve een nadeel.

De ep heeft een stevige productie en met de zang, die doet denken aan de jonge Bruce Dickinson of David Lee Roth, zit alles goed! Vier lekkere songs met een ruig geluid als basis.

Indien je van nostalgie of gewoon oerdegelijke hardrock/metal houdt, dan zal deze ep je ongetwijfeld plezier bezorgen. Ik weet niet hoe ze live klinken, maar met deze muziek kunnen ze wellicht voor een feestje zorgen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2015


 

Next reviews
MAUTIV • 1
THE GRAND GESTURES • Happy Holidays
ZOE ZANIAS (KELUAR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HELLHUMM • Random Damage Industry
ORANGE SECTOR • Monoton
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
DEATH IN ROME • Barbie Girl/Pump Up The Jam
KRISTOFFER BOLANDER • I Forgive Nothing
ANDREW PETTIT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOVEMBRE • Novembre

 

Other reviews from HARBOUR OF SOULS
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
HUNTRESS • Static
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
DEMI LOVATO • HOLY FVCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!
03
02
This month, 37 years ago, Front Line Assembly released Corrosion!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face