tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

16/12/2015 : HARBOUR OF SOULS - Mountain Of Fire

HARBOUR OF SOULS

Mountain Of Fire

MusicCD (EP)
Hard RockMetal

[75/100]   

Self-released
16/12/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Zeeland (located in the south-west of the Netherlands-ed.) has more to offer than water, wind and the beach. Just listen to Mountain Of Fire, the EP by Harbours of Souls. This five piece hard rock/heavy metal band started as a hobby project in 2010 when they supported Peter Pan Speedrock in their home town. After many positive reactions and some more gigs, the band recorded an EP in Eindhoven with producer Pieter Kloos.

We hear some great riffs and groovy hard rock. On the opener Mountain of Fire it feels like you’re back in the glory days of 70's hard rock. You know bands like Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow or Black Sabbath. It is clear where their inspiration comes from, but in the case of Harbours Of Soul that never is a disadvantage.

The EP is produced in a perfect way, while the vocals, that are reminiscent of the young Bruce Dickinson or David Lee Roth, are excellent too! If you like nostalgia or just some good old hard rock/heavy metal, then the four songs on Mountain Of Fire surely will please you! I do not know how they sound live, but with this type of music, I’m sure they must be able to throw a party!

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2015


NL

Dat Zeeland meer te bieden heeft dan water, wind en strand wordt na het beluisteren van deze ep van Harbours of Souls nog maar eens mooi bewezen. Deze vijfkoppige hardrock-/heavymetalband begon in 2010 als een hobbyproject in het voorprogramma van Peter Pan Speedrock in hun eigen stad. Na heel wat positieve reacties en meer shows trok de band dit jaar naar Eindhoven om er samen met producer Pieter Kloos een eerste ep op te nemen.

We horen vette riffs en groovy hardrock. Op de opener Mountain of Fire waan je je even weer in de hoogdagen van de jarenzeventighardrock. Je weet wel: Van Halen, Led Zeppelin, Rainbow of Black Sabbath. Het is duidelijk waar ze de mosterd gehaald hebben, maar voor Harbours Of Soul is dat allesbehalve een nadeel.

De ep heeft een stevige productie en met de zang, die doet denken aan de jonge Bruce Dickinson of David Lee Roth, zit alles goed! Vier lekkere songs met een ruig geluid als basis.

Indien je van nostalgie of gewoon oerdegelijke hardrock/metal houdt, dan zal deze ep je ongetwijfeld plezier bezorgen. Ik weet niet hoe ze live klinken, maar met deze muziek kunnen ze wellicht voor een feestje zorgen!

Wim GUILLEMYN
16/12/2015


 

Next reviews
MAUTIV • 1
THE GRAND GESTURES • Happy Holidays
ZOE ZANIAS (KELUAR) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
HELLHUMM • Random Damage Industry
ORANGE SECTOR • Monoton
SEIJ MINUS AÇ • Black Acuity Suddenly Diagonal
DEATH IN ROME • Barbie Girl/Pump Up The Jam
KRISTOFFER BOLANDER • I Forgive Nothing
ANDREW PETTIT • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
NOVEMBRE • Novembre

 

Other reviews from HARBOUR OF SOULS
HARBOUR OF SOULS • Mountain Of Fire

 

Same combination of genres: HARD ROCK + METAL
SWITCHBLADE • “2016”
HIGHRIDER • Armageddon Rock
FIELDS OF TROY • Hardship
HEART ATTACK • Heart Revolution
DIEMONDS • Never Wanna Die
HUNTRESS • Static
CRUCIFIED BARBARA • In The Red

 

Same genre: HARD ROCK
SCORPIONS • Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
DARKWALKER • The Wastelands
RED FANG • Only Ghosts
STELLAR TEMPLE • Domestic Monster
CATHUBODUA • Opus I: Dawn
DEEP PURPLE • Tienen, Suikerrock (29/07/2016)
GUTTERDAMMERUNG • Werchter, The Barn, Rock Werchter (30/06/2016)
ALICE COOPER • Brussel, Koninklijk Circus/ Cirque Royal (21/06/2016)
STEVE VAI • Leuven, Het Depot (17/06/2016)
JENNA JACOB • No Turning Back

 

Same genre: METAL
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
COMBICHRIST • Hate Like Me
FROSTTIDE • Decedents – Enshrined
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
VARIOUS • ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
GHOST • Popestar
WILDHEART • WILDHEART
NERVOSA • Agony
ASP • Verfallen Folge 2: Fassaden
PSYCHO GENERATION + OST+FRONT • Eernegem, B52 (22/04/2016)

Music reviews

03
12
THE HERESY GENE
La Luz Del Padre
28
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
Structures and Downfall
27
11
PLASTIKSTROM
Beton Gegen Angst
23
11
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES
AESTUARIUM
19
11
PSY'AVIAH
Soul Searching
17
11
DAGEIST
Sexy

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
12
On this day, 42 years ago, Joy Division recorded their very first EP, 'An Ideal for Living'!
14
12
London Calling | The Clash Masterpiece Is 40 Today!
11
12
The Mission - The United European Party Tour 2020
10
12
Postpunk pioneers The Membranes and Kitty Lectro team up for stunning 'Nocturnal' EP
10
12
Los Angeles Synth Act More Ephemerol Debuts New Single, 'Cult Classics'
10
12
On this day, 40 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!

Concert reviews

25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

09
12
FIX8:SED8
I Could Talk About The Wonder That Is Skinny Puppy For Hours
29
11
TREVOR DUNN (MR.BUNGLE,FANTOMAS, TRIO-CONVULSANT...)
'The hard thing to do is to keep it simple.'
24
11
DEAD HIGH WIRE
‘Dead High Wire Did Not Like To Be Categorized In One Box’
02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!

PHOTOS

09
12
MARK E MOON
Sportkafee Waregem
06
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
04
12
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
DASSWAT
C.C. Palethe Pelt
03
12
DIVE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
THE DEVIL AND THE UNIVERSE
Poppodium Nieuwe Nor Heerlen
03
12
CLAN OF XYMOX
Gleiss 22 Münster Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

14
12
ME THE TIGER
Hollow
13
12
THE HUMAN LEAGUE
Open Your heart
12
12
AN PIERLE
The Golden Dawn
11
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE
Death by completion
10
12
A SPLIT-SECOND
Mambo Witch
09
12
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
08
12
REVOLTING COCKS (THE)
Beer, Steers and Queers