tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/09/2015 : HARBOUR OF SOULS - Mountain Of Fire

HARBOUR OF SOULS

Mountain Of Fire

MusicCD
Hard Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
25/09/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Mountain Of Fire is the debut EP of the Dutch hard rock band Harbour Of Souls. What started as two friends making music, evolved into a five-piece band. After some gigs, the demand increased and resulted in this EP, that has four solid hard rock songs. The hard rock and metal planet is a large one and it is very diverse. These guys are trying to find their place with a style that is mainly old school.

The opening song Mountain Of Fire immediately is a straightforward one. The pounding drums of In For The Night make you realize that this will be the path they walk on. The vocals sound good and convincing, just like the guitar solos that metal fans will adore. In Free The Children they point a finger at those who destroy our world. The message is clear, give the children what they are entitled to: a world they can live in!. This track is very cleverly built with a solid base pattern that has some nice tempo changes, and the vocals are decent too. The EP ends with Safe, stuff as solid as concrete!

I think these guys will have a lot to offer in the future. With this debut EP, they leave their footprint on the metal planet. It is only logical that they have their influences and I could name a few, but why not discover them yourself on Soundcloud, Spotify or YouTube?

Ruben SAEY
25/09/2015


NL

Mountain Of Fire is de debuut-ep van de Nederlandse hardrockformatie Harbour Of Souls. Wat begon als twee musicerende vrienden, groeide uit tot een vijfkoppige formatie. Na enkele optredens werd de vraag steeds groter en dit resulteerde in deze ep, waarop vier degelijke hardrocksongs staan. De hardrock- en metalplaneet is groot en heel divers. Deze jongens proberen met hun old school-sound en onvervalste metalelementen hun plaats op deze planeet te veroveren.

Met het openingsnummer Mountain Of Fire geeft de band meteen de te varen koers aan en die is straight forward. Bij het horen van de beukende drums in In For The Night besef je meteen dat hier tempo zal gemaakt worden. Ook de zangpartijen klinken goed en overtuigend, net zoals de gitaarsolo’s die weinig metalfans onberoerd zullen laten. Met Set The Children Free wordt met een vinger gewezen naar zij die onze wereld naar de haaien helpen. De boodschap is duidelijk, Geef de kinderen waar ze recht op hebben, een leefbare wereld. Deze track is heel knap opgebouwd, een vast basis stramien dat wordt aangevuld met mooie tempowisselingen, en ook hier weer heel degelijke vocalen. De ep wordt afgesloten met het nummer Safe, ook hier hoor je weer degelijk werk dat zo solide is als beton.

 Ik denk dat deze jongens nog heel wat in hun mars hebben. Met deze debuut-ep hebben ze alvast hun voetafdruk op de metalplaneet achtergelaten. Het is niet meer dan logisch dat ook ze ook hun invloeden hebben en ik zou er hier enkele kunnen opnoemen, maar wat houdt je tegen dit alles zelf te ontdekken op Soundcloud, Spotify of YouTube.

Ruben SAEY
25/09/2015


Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
06
PSYCHE
The Things That Dreams Are Made Of (Party Monster Mix)
05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE