tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/09/2015 : HARBOUR OF SOULS - Mountain Of Fire

HARBOUR OF SOULS

Mountain Of Fire

MusicCD
Hard Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
25/09/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Mountain Of Fire is the debut EP of the Dutch hard rock band Harbour Of Souls. What started as two friends making music, evolved into a five-piece band. After some gigs, the demand increased and resulted in this EP, that has four solid hard rock songs. The hard rock and metal planet is a large one and it is very diverse. These guys are trying to find their place with a style that is mainly old school.

The opening song Mountain Of Fire immediately is a straightforward one. The pounding drums of In For The Night make you realize that this will be the path they walk on. The vocals sound good and convincing, just like the guitar solos that metal fans will adore. In Free The Children they point a finger at those who destroy our world. The message is clear, give the children what they are entitled to: a world they can live in!. This track is very cleverly built with a solid base pattern that has some nice tempo changes, and the vocals are decent too. The EP ends with Safe, stuff as solid as concrete!

I think these guys will have a lot to offer in the future. With this debut EP, they leave their footprint on the metal planet. It is only logical that they have their influences and I could name a few, but why not discover them yourself on Soundcloud, Spotify or YouTube?

Ruben SAEY
25/09/2015


NL

Mountain Of Fire is de debuut-ep van de Nederlandse hardrockformatie Harbour Of Souls. Wat begon als twee musicerende vrienden, groeide uit tot een vijfkoppige formatie. Na enkele optredens werd de vraag steeds groter en dit resulteerde in deze ep, waarop vier degelijke hardrocksongs staan. De hardrock- en metalplaneet is groot en heel divers. Deze jongens proberen met hun old school-sound en onvervalste metalelementen hun plaats op deze planeet te veroveren.

Met het openingsnummer Mountain Of Fire geeft de band meteen de te varen koers aan en die is straight forward. Bij het horen van de beukende drums in In For The Night besef je meteen dat hier tempo zal gemaakt worden. Ook de zangpartijen klinken goed en overtuigend, net zoals de gitaarsolo’s die weinig metalfans onberoerd zullen laten. Met Set The Children Free wordt met een vinger gewezen naar zij die onze wereld naar de haaien helpen. De boodschap is duidelijk, Geef de kinderen waar ze recht op hebben, een leefbare wereld. Deze track is heel knap opgebouwd, een vast basis stramien dat wordt aangevuld met mooie tempowisselingen, en ook hier weer heel degelijke vocalen. De ep wordt afgesloten met het nummer Safe, ook hier hoor je weer degelijk werk dat zo solide is als beton.

 Ik denk dat deze jongens nog heel wat in hun mars hebben. Met deze debuut-ep hebben ze alvast hun voetafdruk op de metalplaneet achtergelaten. Het is niet meer dan logisch dat ook ze ook hun invloeden hebben en ik zou er hier enkele kunnen opnoemen, maar wat houdt je tegen dit alles zelf te ontdekken op Soundcloud, Spotify of YouTube.

Ruben SAEY
25/09/2015


Music reviews

24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse
07
09
KILL SHELTER
Asylum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.

PHOTOS

24
09
THE LEATHER STRIP
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
A SPLIT - SECOND
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
KNK
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
ELM
Not just another EBM day! De Casino
24
09
PRAGA KHAN
AB Brussel
24
09
CHRISTIAN DEATH
South of Heaven Bilzen
24
09
FACTHEORY
South of Heaven Bilzen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
RAMMSTEIN
Sonne
24
09
KRAFTWERK
The Robots (Live, 2004)
23
09
TEARS & MARBLE
Outsiders
22
09
ESCAPE TO WHAT
Fake Messiah Syndrome
21
09
GOETHES ERBEN
Making Of Menschenstille
20
09
DRAB MAJESTY
Too Soon To Tell
19
09
STORY OFF
Life On Other Planets