tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

25/09/2015 : HARBOUR OF SOULS - Mountain Of Fire

HARBOUR OF SOULS

Mountain Of Fire

MusicCD
Hard Rock

[70/100]   

Self-released
25/09/2015, Ruben SAEY

EN

Mountain Of Fire is the debut EP of the Dutch hard rock band Harbour Of Souls. What started as two friends making music, evolved into a five-piece band. After some gigs, the demand increased and resulted in this EP, that has four solid hard rock songs. The hard rock and metal planet is a large one and it is very diverse. These guys are trying to find their place with a style that is mainly old school.

The opening song Mountain Of Fire immediately is a straightforward one. The pounding drums of In For The Night make you realize that this will be the path they walk on. The vocals sound good and convincing, just like the guitar solos that metal fans will adore. In Free The Children they point a finger at those who destroy our world. The message is clear, give the children what they are entitled to: a world they can live in!. This track is very cleverly built with a solid base pattern that has some nice tempo changes, and the vocals are decent too. The EP ends with Safe, stuff as solid as concrete!

I think these guys will have a lot to offer in the future. With this debut EP, they leave their footprint on the metal planet. It is only logical that they have their influences and I could name a few, but why not discover them yourself on Soundcloud, Spotify or YouTube?

Ruben SAEY
25/09/2015


NL

Mountain Of Fire is de debuut-ep van de Nederlandse hardrockformatie Harbour Of Souls. Wat begon als twee musicerende vrienden, groeide uit tot een vijfkoppige formatie. Na enkele optredens werd de vraag steeds groter en dit resulteerde in deze ep, waarop vier degelijke hardrocksongs staan. De hardrock- en metalplaneet is groot en heel divers. Deze jongens proberen met hun old school-sound en onvervalste metalelementen hun plaats op deze planeet te veroveren.

Met het openingsnummer Mountain Of Fire geeft de band meteen de te varen koers aan en die is straight forward. Bij het horen van de beukende drums in In For The Night besef je meteen dat hier tempo zal gemaakt worden. Ook de zangpartijen klinken goed en overtuigend, net zoals de gitaarsolo’s die weinig metalfans onberoerd zullen laten. Met Set The Children Free wordt met een vinger gewezen naar zij die onze wereld naar de haaien helpen. De boodschap is duidelijk, Geef de kinderen waar ze recht op hebben, een leefbare wereld. Deze track is heel knap opgebouwd, een vast basis stramien dat wordt aangevuld met mooie tempowisselingen, en ook hier weer heel degelijke vocalen. De ep wordt afgesloten met het nummer Safe, ook hier hoor je weer degelijk werk dat zo solide is als beton.

 Ik denk dat deze jongens nog heel wat in hun mars hebben. Met deze debuut-ep hebben ze alvast hun voetafdruk op de metalplaneet achtergelaten. Het is niet meer dan logisch dat ook ze ook hun invloeden hebben en ik zou er hier enkele kunnen opnoemen, maar wat houdt je tegen dit alles zelf te ontdekken op Soundcloud, Spotify of YouTube.

Ruben SAEY
25/09/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap