tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/09/2015 : NO MORE - Silence & Revolt

NO MORE

Silence & Revolt

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Rent A Dog
24/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Suicide Commando is a timeless classic, the only question is whether this hit is a blessing or a curse for No More. Because of that song, a lot of music fans consider the duo from Kiel as a one-hit wonder. Completely wrong, as Andy A. Schwarz and Tina Sanudakura have in 35 years (yes!) recorded a lot of albums and their music was used everywhere, even in the German crime series Tatort.

With their latest album Silence & Revolt the two choose again the genre that fits them best: new wave with some experiment without forgetting (and the two consider this as a very important factor!) that there is something like pop! Well, perhaps you can hum their songs in the bathroom, nonetheless No More remains alternative!

The CD contains 12 songs and opener The Man Outside is a wonderfully upbeat song with a nod to the post-punk sound of the 80s. If there is a perfect pop song (and they do exist!), then Turnaround can be one. The digital single Stardust Youth shows the diversity of these two musicians, because the song would fit without problems in the repertoire of glam king Marc Bolan. Rope A Dope proofs that No More comes from Germany, as there are a lot of Neue Deutsche Welle influences on this track. One of the strongest tracks on the album is After The Rain, which is almost the bastard child of Der Räuber Und Der Prinz by DAF and Lady D'Arbanville of Cat Stevens. Indeed, an almost impossible combination, but No More does it!

The second part of the album is a little more experimental and we hear more strange sounds that Tina Sanudakura conjures out of her synthesizer. 1816 (which refers to the year in which Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein) has a high Pink Floyd content, although the band thinks that this song is the first goth song in its repertoire. Even a weirder track is Give My Compliments To The Girls.

With Silence & Revolt we hear again that there is life after Suicide Commando. The only thing left is to convince the world of that!

Didier BECU
24/09/2015


NL

Suicide Commando werd een tijdloze klassieker, de vraag is alleen of deze hit voor No More een zegen of een vloek is, want heel wat muziekfanaten beschouwen het duo uit Kiel daardoor als een one-hit-wonder. Compleet fout, want Andy A. Schwarz en Tina Sanudakura hebben in 35 jaar (tja) al heel wat albums uitgebracht en hun muziek werd zo wat overal gebruikt, zelfs in de Duitse crimiserie Tatort.

Met hun nieuwste plaat Silence & Revolt bewandelen ze opnieuw de voor hun vertrouwelijke weg: new wave met een vleugje experiment, zonder (en dat vinden de twee een heel belangrijke factor!) te vergeten dat er nog zoiets als pop bestaat. Maar troost je, je kan de nummertjes misschien lekker in de badkamer mee neuriën, desalniettemin blijft No More een behoorlijke alternatieve brok!

De cd bevat 12 nummers, en opener The Man Outside is meteen een heerlijk uptemponummer met een knipoog naar de postpunk uit de jaren 80. Als er een perfecte popsong bestaat (en dat is wel degelijk het geval!), dan zou die wel eens Turnaround kunnen zijn. De digitale single Stardust Youth toont de diversiteit aan van deze twee muzikanten, want het nummer zou zonder problemen in het repertoire van glamkoning Marc Bolan kunnen passen. Rope A Dope is een mooi bewijs dat No More uit Duitsland komt, want er zit behoorlijk wat Neue Deutsche Welle in dit nummer verwerkt. Een van de sterkste tracks op deze plaat is After The Rain, dat bijna het bastaardkind is van Der Räuber Und Der Prinz van DAF en Lady D’Arbanville van Cat Stevens. Inderdaad, een bijna onmogelijke combinatie maar No More doet het wel.

Het tweede deel van de plaat is iets meer experimenteel en daarop horen we wat meer de vreemde klanken die Tina Sanudakura uit haar synthesizer tovert. 1816 (wat refereert naar het jaar waarin Mary Shelley Frankenstein schreef) heeft een hoog Pink Floyd-gehalte, ook al vindt de band dat dit nummer de allereerste gothsong in z'n repertoire is. Nog vreemder is Give My Compliments To The Girls.

Met Silence & Revolt horen we nog maar eens dat er leven na Suicide Commando is. Het enige wat nu nog rest is de wereld daarvan te overtuigen!

Didier BECU
24/09/2015


 

Next reviews
TRUPA TRUPA • Headache
IN THE NURSERY • The Fall of the House of Usher
SCOTT WALKER • Climate Of Hunter
PAUL HAIG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
SOLSTICE COIL • Commute
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right

 

Other reviews from NO MORE
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + PSYCHEDELIC
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
UNDERTHESKIN • Negative
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
FAUST PROJECT • Somewhere between the shadows there’s a place called us
DAVID J • Thoughts And Prayers
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DOUBLE EYELID
An Interview With Toronto's DOUBLE EYELID
20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'

PHOTOS

24
06
MANGELEXEMPLAR SUPPORT SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
SIGLO XX
Kulttempel Oberhausen Germany
24
06
ROB ZOMBIE
Graspop, Dessel
24
06
MINISTRY
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
STONE TEMPLE PILOTS
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
COMBICHRIST
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
EISBRECHER
Graspop, Dessel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

27
06
TOOL
Schism
26
06
EDITORS
Frankenstein
25
06
REIN
Can't Handle Me
25
06
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
24
06
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
L'Offrande
23
06
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Israel - Live 1981
22
06
KRAFTWERK
The Robots