tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/09/2015 : NO MORE - Silence & Revolt

NO MORE

Silence & Revolt

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Rent A Dog
24/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Suicide Commando is a timeless classic, the only question is whether this hit is a blessing or a curse for No More. Because of that song, a lot of music fans consider the duo from Kiel as a one-hit wonder. Completely wrong, as Andy A. Schwarz and Tina Sanudakura have in 35 years (yes!) recorded a lot of albums and their music was used everywhere, even in the German crime series Tatort.

With their latest album Silence & Revolt the two choose again the genre that fits them best: new wave with some experiment without forgetting (and the two consider this as a very important factor!) that there is something like pop! Well, perhaps you can hum their songs in the bathroom, nonetheless No More remains alternative!

The CD contains 12 songs and opener The Man Outside is a wonderfully upbeat song with a nod to the post-punk sound of the 80s. If there is a perfect pop song (and they do exist!), then Turnaround can be one. The digital single Stardust Youth shows the diversity of these two musicians, because the song would fit without problems in the repertoire of glam king Marc Bolan. Rope A Dope proofs that No More comes from Germany, as there are a lot of Neue Deutsche Welle influences on this track. One of the strongest tracks on the album is After The Rain, which is almost the bastard child of Der Räuber Und Der Prinz by DAF and Lady D'Arbanville of Cat Stevens. Indeed, an almost impossible combination, but No More does it!

The second part of the album is a little more experimental and we hear more strange sounds that Tina Sanudakura conjures out of her synthesizer. 1816 (which refers to the year in which Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein) has a high Pink Floyd content, although the band thinks that this song is the first goth song in its repertoire. Even a weirder track is Give My Compliments To The Girls.

With Silence & Revolt we hear again that there is life after Suicide Commando. The only thing left is to convince the world of that!

Didier BECU
24/09/2015


NL

Suicide Commando werd een tijdloze klassieker, de vraag is alleen of deze hit voor No More een zegen of een vloek is, want heel wat muziekfanaten beschouwen het duo uit Kiel daardoor als een one-hit-wonder. Compleet fout, want Andy A. Schwarz en Tina Sanudakura hebben in 35 jaar (tja) al heel wat albums uitgebracht en hun muziek werd zo wat overal gebruikt, zelfs in de Duitse crimiserie Tatort.

Met hun nieuwste plaat Silence & Revolt bewandelen ze opnieuw de voor hun vertrouwelijke weg: new wave met een vleugje experiment, zonder (en dat vinden de twee een heel belangrijke factor!) te vergeten dat er nog zoiets als pop bestaat. Maar troost je, je kan de nummertjes misschien lekker in de badkamer mee neuriën, desalniettemin blijft No More een behoorlijke alternatieve brok!

De cd bevat 12 nummers, en opener The Man Outside is meteen een heerlijk uptemponummer met een knipoog naar de postpunk uit de jaren 80. Als er een perfecte popsong bestaat (en dat is wel degelijk het geval!), dan zou die wel eens Turnaround kunnen zijn. De digitale single Stardust Youth toont de diversiteit aan van deze twee muzikanten, want het nummer zou zonder problemen in het repertoire van glamkoning Marc Bolan kunnen passen. Rope A Dope is een mooi bewijs dat No More uit Duitsland komt, want er zit behoorlijk wat Neue Deutsche Welle in dit nummer verwerkt. Een van de sterkste tracks op deze plaat is After The Rain, dat bijna het bastaardkind is van Der Räuber Und Der Prinz van DAF en Lady D’Arbanville van Cat Stevens. Inderdaad, een bijna onmogelijke combinatie maar No More doet het wel.

Het tweede deel van de plaat is iets meer experimenteel en daarop horen we wat meer de vreemde klanken die Tina Sanudakura uit haar synthesizer tovert. 1816 (wat refereert naar het jaar waarin Mary Shelley Frankenstein schreef) heeft een hoog Pink Floyd-gehalte, ook al vindt de band dat dit nummer de allereerste gothsong in z'n repertoire is. Nog vreemder is Give My Compliments To The Girls.

Met Silence & Revolt horen we nog maar eens dat er leven na Suicide Commando is. Het enige wat nu nog rest is de wereld daarvan te overtuigen!

Didier BECU
24/09/2015


 

Next reviews
TRUPA TRUPA • Headache
IN THE NURSERY • The Fall of the House of Usher
SCOTT WALKER • Climate Of Hunter
PAUL HAIG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
SOLSTICE COIL • Commute
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right

 

Other reviews from NO MORE
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + PSYCHEDELIC
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Gift For You
SYGO CRIES • Talking about walls
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
DARK • Nightmare
SJOBLOM • Tape
PINK TURNS BLUE • There Must Be So Much More
TERMINAL SERIOUS • Love Was Lies
THE MARS MODEL • Sister Glory / Frozen in Time
STRUGGLER • Wilma (Determinated Protector)
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)