tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

24/09/2015 : NO MORE - Silence & Revolt

NO MORE

Silence & Revolt

MusicCD
New wavePost PunkPsychedelic

[79/100]   

Rent A Dog
24/09/2015, Didier BECU

EN

Suicide Commando is a timeless classic, the only question is whether this hit is a blessing or a curse for No More. Because of that song, a lot of music fans consider the duo from Kiel as a one-hit wonder. Completely wrong, as Andy A. Schwarz and Tina Sanudakura have in 35 years (yes!) recorded a lot of albums and their music was used everywhere, even in the German crime series Tatort.

With their latest album Silence & Revolt the two choose again the genre that fits them best: new wave with some experiment without forgetting (and the two consider this as a very important factor!) that there is something like pop! Well, perhaps you can hum their songs in the bathroom, nonetheless No More remains alternative!

The CD contains 12 songs and opener The Man Outside is a wonderfully upbeat song with a nod to the post-punk sound of the 80s. If there is a perfect pop song (and they do exist!), then Turnaround can be one. The digital single Stardust Youth shows the diversity of these two musicians, because the song would fit without problems in the repertoire of glam king Marc Bolan. Rope A Dope proofs that No More comes from Germany, as there are a lot of Neue Deutsche Welle influences on this track. One of the strongest tracks on the album is After The Rain, which is almost the bastard child of Der Räuber Und Der Prinz by DAF and Lady D'Arbanville of Cat Stevens. Indeed, an almost impossible combination, but No More does it!

The second part of the album is a little more experimental and we hear more strange sounds that Tina Sanudakura conjures out of her synthesizer. 1816 (which refers to the year in which Mary Shelley wrote Frankenstein) has a high Pink Floyd content, although the band thinks that this song is the first goth song in its repertoire. Even a weirder track is Give My Compliments To The Girls.

With Silence & Revolt we hear again that there is life after Suicide Commando. The only thing left is to convince the world of that!

Didier BECU
24/09/2015


NL

Suicide Commando werd een tijdloze klassieker, de vraag is alleen of deze hit voor No More een zegen of een vloek is, want heel wat muziekfanaten beschouwen het duo uit Kiel daardoor als een one-hit-wonder. Compleet fout, want Andy A. Schwarz en Tina Sanudakura hebben in 35 jaar (tja) al heel wat albums uitgebracht en hun muziek werd zo wat overal gebruikt, zelfs in de Duitse crimiserie Tatort.

Met hun nieuwste plaat Silence & Revolt bewandelen ze opnieuw de voor hun vertrouwelijke weg: new wave met een vleugje experiment, zonder (en dat vinden de twee een heel belangrijke factor!) te vergeten dat er nog zoiets als pop bestaat. Maar troost je, je kan de nummertjes misschien lekker in de badkamer mee neuriën, desalniettemin blijft No More een behoorlijke alternatieve brok!

De cd bevat 12 nummers, en opener The Man Outside is meteen een heerlijk uptemponummer met een knipoog naar de postpunk uit de jaren 80. Als er een perfecte popsong bestaat (en dat is wel degelijk het geval!), dan zou die wel eens Turnaround kunnen zijn. De digitale single Stardust Youth toont de diversiteit aan van deze twee muzikanten, want het nummer zou zonder problemen in het repertoire van glamkoning Marc Bolan kunnen passen. Rope A Dope is een mooi bewijs dat No More uit Duitsland komt, want er zit behoorlijk wat Neue Deutsche Welle in dit nummer verwerkt. Een van de sterkste tracks op deze plaat is After The Rain, dat bijna het bastaardkind is van Der Räuber Und Der Prinz van DAF en Lady D’Arbanville van Cat Stevens. Inderdaad, een bijna onmogelijke combinatie maar No More doet het wel.

Het tweede deel van de plaat is iets meer experimenteel en daarop horen we wat meer de vreemde klanken die Tina Sanudakura uit haar synthesizer tovert. 1816 (wat refereert naar het jaar waarin Mary Shelley Frankenstein schreef) heeft een hoog Pink Floyd-gehalte, ook al vindt de band dat dit nummer de allereerste gothsong in z'n repertoire is. Nog vreemder is Give My Compliments To The Girls.

Met Silence & Revolt horen we nog maar eens dat er leven na Suicide Commando is. Het enige wat nu nog rest is de wereld daarvan te overtuigen!

Didier BECU
24/09/2015


 

Next reviews
TRUPA TRUPA • Headache
IN THE NURSERY • The Fall of the House of Usher
SCOTT WALKER • Climate Of Hunter
PAUL HAIG • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
TROUM & RAISON D’ÊTRE • De Aeris in Sublunario Influxu
SOLSTICE COIL • Commute
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Haunted
ADRIAN BORLAND • The Amsterdam Tapes
DE DOOD • De Titelloze Eerste
JOHN MILK • Treat Me Right

 

Other reviews from NO MORE
NO MORE • Ten Albums That Changed Our Life

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POST PUNK + PSYCHEDELIC
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: POST PUNK
THE MARS MODEL • FrancoBelga
RINGFINGER • Pressure
CABARET VOLTAIRE • Chance Versus Causality
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
VEIL OF LIGHT • Inflict
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
SUBMOTILE • Ghosts Fade On Skylines
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West
DURAN DURAN • Pop Trash

Music reviews

02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires
18
06
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE
Seed of Evil
17
06
DEATH IN JUNE
THE CORN YEARS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix
11
06
Sieben covering David Bowie's Heroes live + new CD album 2020 VISION releases this Friday, 12th June!
10
06
29 years of Family Man!
03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It
13
06
LAST INFLUENCE OF BRAIN
L.I.O.B. Has Always Been Such A Distraction For Us
10
06
THE JUGGERNAUTS
It's striking, in 'mainstream' genres no-one is making a big deal about band's similarities and their possible influences... But oh dear if you dare make EBM!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis
02
07
LIAISONS DANGEREUSES
Los niños del parque
01
07
HORD
Lines
30
06
U.R.A.N.
Geo Logo
29
06
MISS KITTIN
Bassline
28
06
HOCICO
I Abomination
27
06
BOY HARSHER
Motion