tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

THE G-O-D

Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Concert
16/12/2015, Karen CLARKE

EN

The G-O-D is a new three piece band from Manchester made up of guitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) and bassist Karl Hildebrandt.

The performance at Gullivers (Manchester) was only the second gig since forming a few months ago, following a shared desire to get back to the raw power of the punk legacy ,combined with some Manchester magic.

The gig was a sell out and they were the main support for Heavy On The Magic. In an era of bands involving numerous members and all sorts of gadgetry and gizmos on stage, I couldn’t wait to hear what this three piece band would deliver.

The G-O-D did not disappoint. The opener 20 Years Ago was a clear statement of intent. Bridgett’s beautifully fragile vocals overlaying the triple combo of instruments and belying the fact that there were only three of them on stage. The tempo picked up pace with the defiant Impulsive and through the rest of the set, until they briefly slowed things down with Barrel Of A Gun, a song imploring you to ignore regrets and seize life. They ended their eight song set with the newer tracks Going Over The Top and There Goes My Baby.

The musical message was clear. Keep it beautifully noisy, resonant of the punk era, yet enhanced by a level of musicianship which delivered on all fronts. Bridgett’s guitar spiralled and tumbled, leaving gaps in all the right places. Si’s drumming was beyond rhythm section and is central to the sound. Hildebrandt’s bass was gorgeously dirty. A three piece, huh? Put the right three together and you don’t need anything else.

Pictures by Debbie Ellis

This review is also published on Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


NL

The G-O-D is een nieuw trio uit Manchester dat uit zanger-gitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) en bassist Karl Hildebrandt bestaat.

Sinds de groep een paar maanden geleden werd opgericht, was het concert in de Gullivers-zaal (Manchester) nog maar pas hun tweede optreden. Hun geluid is duidelijk: dit drietal wil terugkeren naar de rauwe energie van de vroegere punk, en dat in combinatie met wat Manchester-magie.

Het optreden was uitverkocht, maar eerlijkheidshalve waren ze het voorprogramma van Heavy On The Magic. Maar goed, in tijden waarin bands op een podium niet meer voorstellen dan het tonen van wat gadgets, kon ik niet wachten om te ontdekken wat dit trio zou brengen!

The G-O-D stelde niet teleur. De opener 20 Years Ago was een duidelijk statement. Bridgetts breekbare (maar wondermooie) zang overlapte de instrumenten waardoor je helemaal niet kon horen dat er slechts drie mensen op het podium stonden. Het tempo werd wat verhoogd in het uitdagende Impulsive, en dat ritme werd de hele set volgehouden tot er met Barrel Of A Gun een trager moment kwam. Een schitterend nummer waarin men je aanmant om geen spijt te hebben over dingen in het leven, maar gewoon van alles proberen te genieten. De band eindigde z'n korte set (8 nummers) met twee nieuwe tracks: Going Over The Top en There Goes My Baby.

De muzikale boodschap was duidelijk. Alles werd op een mooie wijze luidruchtig gehouden, versterkt met echo’s uit het punktijdperk en gebracht door muzikanten die op alle fronten hun mannetje staan. De gaten werden prachtig opgevuld door Bridgetts gitaarspel, het drumwerk van Sis ging lekker buiten de lijntjes en stond centraal, terwijl de basgitaar van Hildebrandt lekker vies klonk. Wat zeg je, gewoon maar een trio? Zet de juiste drie personen bij elkaar en je hebt niets anders nodig!

Debbie Ellis nam de foto’s.

Deze recensie verscheen ook op Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Music reviews

23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh
18
02
WULF7
Dark Hate
17
02
DEAR DEER / EMBERS
Split
06
02
J:DEAD
A Complicated Genocide

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

05
03
44 years ago Kraftwerk released Trans Europe Express!
04
03
Electro/Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Unleashes New Single & Video, 'Out Of Order'
04
03
Firestarter | Celebrating The Sound Of The Prodigy And The Impact Of Keith Flint who past away 2 years ago.
03
03
MATHLOVSKY ANNOUNCES NEWEST SINGLE AND LP
02
03
DINOSAUR JR. ANNOUCE NEWEST LP TO BE RELEASED IN APRIL
02
03
Through The Looking Glass | The Siouxsie & The Banshees Masterpiece Released 34 Years Ago Today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
03
ECHO BEATTY
SOLDIER ON FURLOUGH
05
03
THE ARCH
Alien Ann
04
03
MERCIFUL NUNS
Broken Column
03
03
BLOODY KNIVES
Reflection Lies
02
03
GAVIN FRIDAY
It's All Ahead Of You
01
03
THE BREATH OF LIFE
CRIME PASSIONNEL
28
02
LCN (LE CHOCOLAT NOIR)
N'Écoutez Pas Tous Les Conseils De Vos Amis (Official Music Video)