tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

THE G-O-D

Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Concert
16/12/2015, Karen CLARKE

EN

The G-O-D is a new three piece band from Manchester made up of guitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) and bassist Karl Hildebrandt.

The performance at Gullivers (Manchester) was only the second gig since forming a few months ago, following a shared desire to get back to the raw power of the punk legacy ,combined with some Manchester magic.

The gig was a sell out and they were the main support for Heavy On The Magic. In an era of bands involving numerous members and all sorts of gadgetry and gizmos on stage, I couldn’t wait to hear what this three piece band would deliver.

The G-O-D did not disappoint. The opener 20 Years Ago was a clear statement of intent. Bridgett’s beautifully fragile vocals overlaying the triple combo of instruments and belying the fact that there were only three of them on stage. The tempo picked up pace with the defiant Impulsive and through the rest of the set, until they briefly slowed things down with Barrel Of A Gun, a song imploring you to ignore regrets and seize life. They ended their eight song set with the newer tracks Going Over The Top and There Goes My Baby.

The musical message was clear. Keep it beautifully noisy, resonant of the punk era, yet enhanced by a level of musicianship which delivered on all fronts. Bridgett’s guitar spiralled and tumbled, leaving gaps in all the right places. Si’s drumming was beyond rhythm section and is central to the sound. Hildebrandt’s bass was gorgeously dirty. A three piece, huh? Put the right three together and you don’t need anything else.

Pictures by Debbie Ellis

This review is also published on Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


NL

The G-O-D is een nieuw trio uit Manchester dat uit zanger-gitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) en bassist Karl Hildebrandt bestaat.

Sinds de groep een paar maanden geleden werd opgericht, was het concert in de Gullivers-zaal (Manchester) nog maar pas hun tweede optreden. Hun geluid is duidelijk: dit drietal wil terugkeren naar de rauwe energie van de vroegere punk, en dat in combinatie met wat Manchester-magie.

Het optreden was uitverkocht, maar eerlijkheidshalve waren ze het voorprogramma van Heavy On The Magic. Maar goed, in tijden waarin bands op een podium niet meer voorstellen dan het tonen van wat gadgets, kon ik niet wachten om te ontdekken wat dit trio zou brengen!

The G-O-D stelde niet teleur. De opener 20 Years Ago was een duidelijk statement. Bridgetts breekbare (maar wondermooie) zang overlapte de instrumenten waardoor je helemaal niet kon horen dat er slechts drie mensen op het podium stonden. Het tempo werd wat verhoogd in het uitdagende Impulsive, en dat ritme werd de hele set volgehouden tot er met Barrel Of A Gun een trager moment kwam. Een schitterend nummer waarin men je aanmant om geen spijt te hebben over dingen in het leven, maar gewoon van alles proberen te genieten. De band eindigde z'n korte set (8 nummers) met twee nieuwe tracks: Going Over The Top en There Goes My Baby.

De muzikale boodschap was duidelijk. Alles werd op een mooie wijze luidruchtig gehouden, versterkt met echo’s uit het punktijdperk en gebracht door muzikanten die op alle fronten hun mannetje staan. De gaten werden prachtig opgevuld door Bridgetts gitaarspel, het drumwerk van Sis ging lekker buiten de lijntjes en stond centraal, terwijl de basgitaar van Hildebrandt lekker vies klonk. Wat zeg je, gewoon maar een trio? Zet de juiste drie personen bij elkaar en je hebt niets anders nodig!

Debbie Ellis nam de foto’s.

Deze recensie verscheen ook op Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
ISOLATED YOUTH
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
PORNO KARAOKE
Porta Nigra
25
09
NACHTMAHR
Porta Nigra
25
09
THE PSYCHIC FORCE
Porta Nigra

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
09
CRYSTAL SODA CREAM
Command Control
27
09
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
Mag 7
26
09
DULAC
Nocturne (Official Music Video)
25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back