tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

THE G-O-D

Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Concert
16/12/2015, Karen CLARKE

EN

The G-O-D is a new three piece band from Manchester made up of guitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) and bassist Karl Hildebrandt.

The performance at Gullivers (Manchester) was only the second gig since forming a few months ago, following a shared desire to get back to the raw power of the punk legacy ,combined with some Manchester magic.

The gig was a sell out and they were the main support for Heavy On The Magic. In an era of bands involving numerous members and all sorts of gadgetry and gizmos on stage, I couldn’t wait to hear what this three piece band would deliver.

The G-O-D did not disappoint. The opener 20 Years Ago was a clear statement of intent. Bridgett’s beautifully fragile vocals overlaying the triple combo of instruments and belying the fact that there were only three of them on stage. The tempo picked up pace with the defiant Impulsive and through the rest of the set, until they briefly slowed things down with Barrel Of A Gun, a song imploring you to ignore regrets and seize life. They ended their eight song set with the newer tracks Going Over The Top and There Goes My Baby.

The musical message was clear. Keep it beautifully noisy, resonant of the punk era, yet enhanced by a level of musicianship which delivered on all fronts. Bridgett’s guitar spiralled and tumbled, leaving gaps in all the right places. Si’s drumming was beyond rhythm section and is central to the sound. Hildebrandt’s bass was gorgeously dirty. A three piece, huh? Put the right three together and you don’t need anything else.

Pictures by Debbie Ellis

This review is also published on Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


NL

The G-O-D is een nieuw trio uit Manchester dat uit zanger-gitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) en bassist Karl Hildebrandt bestaat.

Sinds de groep een paar maanden geleden werd opgericht, was het concert in de Gullivers-zaal (Manchester) nog maar pas hun tweede optreden. Hun geluid is duidelijk: dit drietal wil terugkeren naar de rauwe energie van de vroegere punk, en dat in combinatie met wat Manchester-magie.

Het optreden was uitverkocht, maar eerlijkheidshalve waren ze het voorprogramma van Heavy On The Magic. Maar goed, in tijden waarin bands op een podium niet meer voorstellen dan het tonen van wat gadgets, kon ik niet wachten om te ontdekken wat dit trio zou brengen!

The G-O-D stelde niet teleur. De opener 20 Years Ago was een duidelijk statement. Bridgetts breekbare (maar wondermooie) zang overlapte de instrumenten waardoor je helemaal niet kon horen dat er slechts drie mensen op het podium stonden. Het tempo werd wat verhoogd in het uitdagende Impulsive, en dat ritme werd de hele set volgehouden tot er met Barrel Of A Gun een trager moment kwam. Een schitterend nummer waarin men je aanmant om geen spijt te hebben over dingen in het leven, maar gewoon van alles proberen te genieten. De band eindigde z'n korte set (8 nummers) met twee nieuwe tracks: Going Over The Top en There Goes My Baby.

De muzikale boodschap was duidelijk. Alles werd op een mooie wijze luidruchtig gehouden, versterkt met echo’s uit het punktijdperk en gebracht door muzikanten die op alle fronten hun mannetje staan. De gaten werden prachtig opgevuld door Bridgetts gitaarspel, het drumwerk van Sis ging lekker buiten de lijntjes en stond centraal, terwijl de basgitaar van Hildebrandt lekker vies klonk. Wat zeg je, gewoon maar een trio? Zet de juiste drie personen bij elkaar en je hebt niets anders nodig!

Debbie Ellis nam de foto’s.

Deze recensie verscheen ook op Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
11
06
29 years of Kraftwerk in The Mix

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis