tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

THE G-O-D

Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Concert
16/12/2015, Karen CLARKE

EN

The G-O-D is a new three piece band from Manchester made up of guitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) and bassist Karl Hildebrandt.

The performance at Gullivers (Manchester) was only the second gig since forming a few months ago, following a shared desire to get back to the raw power of the punk legacy ,combined with some Manchester magic.

The gig was a sell out and they were the main support for Heavy On The Magic. In an era of bands involving numerous members and all sorts of gadgetry and gizmos on stage, I couldn’t wait to hear what this three piece band would deliver.

The G-O-D did not disappoint. The opener 20 Years Ago was a clear statement of intent. Bridgett’s beautifully fragile vocals overlaying the triple combo of instruments and belying the fact that there were only three of them on stage. The tempo picked up pace with the defiant Impulsive and through the rest of the set, until they briefly slowed things down with Barrel Of A Gun, a song imploring you to ignore regrets and seize life. They ended their eight song set with the newer tracks Going Over The Top and There Goes My Baby.

The musical message was clear. Keep it beautifully noisy, resonant of the punk era, yet enhanced by a level of musicianship which delivered on all fronts. Bridgett’s guitar spiralled and tumbled, leaving gaps in all the right places. Si’s drumming was beyond rhythm section and is central to the sound. Hildebrandt’s bass was gorgeously dirty. A three piece, huh? Put the right three together and you don’t need anything else.

Pictures by Debbie Ellis

This review is also published on Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


NL

The G-O-D is een nieuw trio uit Manchester dat uit zanger-gitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) en bassist Karl Hildebrandt bestaat.

Sinds de groep een paar maanden geleden werd opgericht, was het concert in de Gullivers-zaal (Manchester) nog maar pas hun tweede optreden. Hun geluid is duidelijk: dit drietal wil terugkeren naar de rauwe energie van de vroegere punk, en dat in combinatie met wat Manchester-magie.

Het optreden was uitverkocht, maar eerlijkheidshalve waren ze het voorprogramma van Heavy On The Magic. Maar goed, in tijden waarin bands op een podium niet meer voorstellen dan het tonen van wat gadgets, kon ik niet wachten om te ontdekken wat dit trio zou brengen!

The G-O-D stelde niet teleur. De opener 20 Years Ago was een duidelijk statement. Bridgetts breekbare (maar wondermooie) zang overlapte de instrumenten waardoor je helemaal niet kon horen dat er slechts drie mensen op het podium stonden. Het tempo werd wat verhoogd in het uitdagende Impulsive, en dat ritme werd de hele set volgehouden tot er met Barrel Of A Gun een trager moment kwam. Een schitterend nummer waarin men je aanmant om geen spijt te hebben over dingen in het leven, maar gewoon van alles proberen te genieten. De band eindigde z'n korte set (8 nummers) met twee nieuwe tracks: Going Over The Top en There Goes My Baby.

De muzikale boodschap was duidelijk. Alles werd op een mooie wijze luidruchtig gehouden, versterkt met echo’s uit het punktijdperk en gebracht door muzikanten die op alle fronten hun mannetje staan. De gaten werden prachtig opgevuld door Bridgetts gitaarspel, het drumwerk van Sis ging lekker buiten de lijntjes en stond centraal, terwijl de basgitaar van Hildebrandt lekker vies klonk. Wat zeg je, gewoon maar een trio? Zet de juiste drie personen bij elkaar en je hebt niets anders nodig!

Debbie Ellis nam de foto’s.

Deze recensie verscheen ook op Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Music reviews

26
11
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
The Dread Files
25
11
FIRST
Restless
18
11
AD:KEY
Resonanz
17
11
SWANS
Children Of GodFeel Good Now
16
11
ERASURE
THE NEON
14
11
ASSEMBLAGE 23
Mourn

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

27
11
39 years of Don't You Want Me by The Human League
27
11
Non-Stop Erotic Cabaret | Untainted With Time - Released 39 years ago!
26
11
38 years of Melting with Siouxsie and the Banshees!
26
11
29 years ‘Fear (of the Unknown)’... by Siouxsie and the Banshees!
25
11
Nocturnal Rapture | Nocturne Is 37 Years Old Today
24
11
From Human To Numan | Tubeway Army at 42

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing
31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break
21
10
DELERITAS
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... Deleritas!
20
10
WULF7
EBM-Indus Night Liège : The bands presented... WÜLF7!
19
10
LISA GERRARD (DEAD CAN DANCE)
'I love the innocent dangers that can be experienced in musical performance...'
18
10
SERAPHIM SYSTEM
A Glorious Return To Form

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

27
11
LYAPIS TRUBETSKOY
Lights
26
11
PIG
Rock n Roll Refugee
25
11
TRISOMIE 21
The Last Song
24
11
BAUHAUS
Ziggy Stardust
23
11
FOETUS
Here Comes The Rain
22
11
A SPLIT-SECOND
Flesh
21
11
LIEF HALL
Roses for Ruins