tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this concert review

16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

THE G-O-D

Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Concert
16/12/2015, Karen CLARKE

EN

The G-O-D is a new three piece band from Manchester made up of guitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) and bassist Karl Hildebrandt.

The performance at Gullivers (Manchester) was only the second gig since forming a few months ago, following a shared desire to get back to the raw power of the punk legacy ,combined with some Manchester magic.

The gig was a sell out and they were the main support for Heavy On The Magic. In an era of bands involving numerous members and all sorts of gadgetry and gizmos on stage, I couldn’t wait to hear what this three piece band would deliver.

The G-O-D did not disappoint. The opener 20 Years Ago was a clear statement of intent. Bridgett’s beautifully fragile vocals overlaying the triple combo of instruments and belying the fact that there were only three of them on stage. The tempo picked up pace with the defiant Impulsive and through the rest of the set, until they briefly slowed things down with Barrel Of A Gun, a song imploring you to ignore regrets and seize life. They ended their eight song set with the newer tracks Going Over The Top and There Goes My Baby.

The musical message was clear. Keep it beautifully noisy, resonant of the punk era, yet enhanced by a level of musicianship which delivered on all fronts. Bridgett’s guitar spiralled and tumbled, leaving gaps in all the right places. Si’s drumming was beyond rhythm section and is central to the sound. Hildebrandt’s bass was gorgeously dirty. A three piece, huh? Put the right three together and you don’t need anything else.

Pictures by Debbie Ellis

This review is also published on Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


NL

The G-O-D is een nieuw trio uit Manchester dat uit zanger-gitarist Chris Bridgett (Dub Sex, Rude Club), drummer Si Wolstencroft (The Fall, Ian Brown) en bassist Karl Hildebrandt bestaat.

Sinds de groep een paar maanden geleden werd opgericht, was het concert in de Gullivers-zaal (Manchester) nog maar pas hun tweede optreden. Hun geluid is duidelijk: dit drietal wil terugkeren naar de rauwe energie van de vroegere punk, en dat in combinatie met wat Manchester-magie.

Het optreden was uitverkocht, maar eerlijkheidshalve waren ze het voorprogramma van Heavy On The Magic. Maar goed, in tijden waarin bands op een podium niet meer voorstellen dan het tonen van wat gadgets, kon ik niet wachten om te ontdekken wat dit trio zou brengen!

The G-O-D stelde niet teleur. De opener 20 Years Ago was een duidelijk statement. Bridgetts breekbare (maar wondermooie) zang overlapte de instrumenten waardoor je helemaal niet kon horen dat er slechts drie mensen op het podium stonden. Het tempo werd wat verhoogd in het uitdagende Impulsive, en dat ritme werd de hele set volgehouden tot er met Barrel Of A Gun een trager moment kwam. Een schitterend nummer waarin men je aanmant om geen spijt te hebben over dingen in het leven, maar gewoon van alles proberen te genieten. De band eindigde z'n korte set (8 nummers) met twee nieuwe tracks: Going Over The Top en There Goes My Baby.

De muzikale boodschap was duidelijk. Alles werd op een mooie wijze luidruchtig gehouden, versterkt met echo’s uit het punktijdperk en gebracht door muzikanten die op alle fronten hun mannetje staan. De gaten werden prachtig opgevuld door Bridgetts gitaarspel, het drumwerk van Sis ging lekker buiten de lijntjes en stond centraal, terwijl de basgitaar van Hildebrandt lekker vies klonk. Wat zeg je, gewoon maar een trio? Zet de juiste drie personen bij elkaar en je hebt niets anders nodig!

Debbie Ellis nam de foto’s.

Deze recensie verscheen ook op Luminous Dash.

Karen CLARKE
16/12/2015


16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15) 16/12/2015 : THE G-O-D - Manchester, Gullivers (12/12/15)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)