tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

19/11/2012 : SKYLA VERTEX - Urwerk

SKYLA VERTEX

Urwerk

MusicCD
CybergothHarshHellelectroIndustrial

[87/100]   

Infacted Recordings
19/11/2012, Peter DOLPHEN

It has been a while since I have been 'enchanted' by a new band. It is no surprise that the sound which succeeds is coming from the stables of Torben Schmidt's Infacted Recordings. It seems Torben has a nose for great music and proves us once again the quality of 'new' bands.

Skyla Vertex is a project from Greg (Modulate, Reaper) and Alex, two enthousiast musicians from Germany with a mission (and I quote their own Facebook page): Their self-proclaimed task is to combine an intellectual claim with hard electronic dance music - to assimilate the dancefloors of the world.

The music seems to reach further than the cyber-like electro you should expect from Greg (knowing his other projects). The intellectual claim really seems to drip through, not only in the lyrics, but also very much in the way the music is produced. Sparks of genious reflect in the lyrics which sometimes handle almost devine themes, bringing us back to the 'gothic' I used to know some 10 - 15 years ago. I must admit, the voice, quite similar to the Das Ich-sound, will surely play it's part in this nostalgic feeling. But I'm convinced this band can be more than just a Modulate spin-off!

Peter DOLPHEN
19/11/2012


 

Next reviews
UNITARY • Misanthropy
TERMINAL GODS • Lessons in fire
RESTRICTED AREA • Underdog E.P.
SIBYL VANE • Love, Holy Water and TV
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état
X-MARKS THE PEDWALK • The Sun, The Cold And My Underwater Fear
THE BREATH OF LIFE • Whispering Fields
NORTH ATLANTIC OSCILLATION • Fog Electric
EXPONENTIA • Allein
EMOTIKON • Emotikon

 

Other reviews from SKYLA VERTEX
SKYLA VERTEX • Blut

 

Same genre: CYBERGOTH
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Seminar1sts, The Agnost1k Era
HELALYN FLOWERS • Beware Of Light (feat. Chris Pohl) EP
VARIOUS ARISTS • Cultural Differences Vol 1
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
VARIOUS ARTISTS • MATRIX DOWNLOADED 02
DR. KRANCK • Aus der Dunkelheit kommt das Licht
ICON OF COIL • Review of the concert and interview at the BIM Fest in Antwerp on 14 December 2012
GRENDEL • Timewave : Zero
DETROIT DIESEL • Coup d'état

 

Same genre: HARSH
HOCICO • HyperViolent
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
REACTOR7X • And Chaos Bacame The New Order
AMBASSADOR21 • Human Rage
REACTOR7X • Illusion Of Chaos
AMBASSADOR 21 • Revelation
PSYKOXYDE • Borderline
SYNAPSYCHE • The Abyss Effect
MILDREDA • Coward Philosophy

 

Same genre: HELLELECTRO
NOISUF-X • Kicksome (B)Ass
EDEN SYNTHETIC CORPS • Sandwalkers
GOD MODULE • Prophecy
HOCICO • In The Name Of Violence
RABIA SORDA • Animales Salvajes
AGONOIZE • Apokalypse
OBSIDIAN FX • Illusions of Darkness
DEVIL-M • Revenge of the Antichrist
BLEEDING CORP • THE BLACK HEART (Single)
FUNKER VOGT • Survivors Collector's Edition

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
MATT HART • Decimate
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
MATT HART • TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide