tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/02/2014 : SOL 19 - From The Inside Out

SOL 19

From The Inside Out

MusicCD
Cold WaveElectroNew wave

[80/100]   

Self-released
02/02/2014, Chris KONINGS

An album that has been on the Sol 19 shelves for a few years, but they now opened its cage and let it soar through the clouds. Not that it's such a wild beast that they needed to cage it, but soaring music it is. Lots of variety too, it goes from loopy synthpop to coldwave and from ebm/electro to goth rock in true Sisters style...

It starts with a pacy and energetic song, "Circulus Vitiosus" is nervous and anxious, his voice and the words are restless... the anguish of unrequited love. Then you can all do the standing still, "Target One" sounds like it comes from an early Sisters demo, yes when they were still great! The trumpet sounds of "Cry Of Distress" recall a certain Front 242 song... and it's got just as much rhythm and drive. "Natural Circuits", "Starfish" and "Fatal Incorporation" have beautiful analog synth loops.

A song that could well come from "Amor & Psyche", one of their previous album. A return to their trademark sound and I happen to love that too. I just wish he would try singing without effects, I'm sure it would sound good too... I like his vocals, buried in there it's got this very reassuring pitch. "Legislature" is another highlight with a very funky and 80's sounding synth melody, like Harold Faltermeyer going ape. The last song is an introspective one, an instrumental silk cushion in which to drown. So they chose the album name wisely, it's a lot more about their feelings then the previous albums...

Conclusion: A very nice album, maybe no real hit material like "The Real You" or "My Belong" and also a bit unbalanced with the many styles. But you recognise their sound immediately, so again they put a strong foot through the door. Just let 'em in and enjoy the ride!

(Youtube film by Numanoid65)

Chris KONINGS
02/02/2014


 

Next reviews
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • 'Till Death
MARC ROTHEMUND • Heute Bin Ich Blond
HALO EFFECT • Code Mixing - Recoding Remix Album
ARNAUD DESPLECHIN • Jimmy P.
ALCEST • Shelter
SUNDOZE • Closure
DARIO ARGENTO • FILM: Tenebrae
COIL • Nine Inch Nails 'Recoiled'
• THE WHITE QUEEN

 

Other reviews from SOL 19
SOL 19 • SOL 19

 

Same combination of genres: COLD WAVE + ELECTRO + NEW WAVE
SUMERIAN FLEET • Just Pressure

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SYGO CRIES • End Of A Century
FAUST PROJECT • The Future Comes On Sleeping Pills
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS • Anxious
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg

 

Same genre: ELECTRO
STAATSEINDE • Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
SAMHAIN • Experiment
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS • Desctruction
RHYS FULBER • Brutal Nature
J:DEAD • Tearing me apart
HERRNIA • Takkewereld
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
JIHAD • Retrospekt

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide