tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/01/2014 : COIL - Nine Inch Nails 'Recoiled'

COIL

Nine Inch Nails 'Recoiled'

MusicCD
Electro RockExperimental

[75/100]   

Cold Spring
29/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Coil was an English experimental music group formed in 1982 by John Balance and Peter Christopherson (Throbbing Gristle), later joined by Danny Hyde (Black Light District). Although John (2004) and Peter (2010) already died, Coil remains one of the most influential and best known industrial music groups ever. Coil's distribution and marketing techniques somtimes included releasing a limited number of albums for collections among devotees, like this one.

This album 'Recoiled', is the result from the special mixing techniques Coil had in the 90's. Lots of special effects and percussions are used, even the use of baby alarms and other strange objects.

Trent Reznor, who was a big admirer, asked Coil te remix some of his tracks, with as a result these 5 lenght compositions. These legendary tracks were always rumoured to exist, and thanks to a dedicated NIN forum, they were found and released.

'Recoiled' also includes a fuller, more opulent version of the famous track 'Closer', wich even made it at that time onto the opening credits of the brillant movie 'SE7EN'.

In 2010 Trent Reznor started a sideproject with a band called How To Destroy Angels, this was the same title as Coil's first single, and so an ultimate tribute to this band.

This album is a must have for the real Coil and NIN fans, but for most people it might all sound a little to experimental.

Track Listing :

1. Gave up (Open My Eyes)

2. Closer (Ubrecalled)

3. The Downward Spiral (A Gilded Sickness)

4. Eraser (Reduction)

5. Eraser (Baby Alarm Remix)

Peter HESELMANS
29/01/2014


 

Next reviews
• THE WHITE QUEEN
AL_X • Shunt
FIGURE STUDY • Figure Study
• HANNIBAL SEASON 1
PAS DE DEUX • Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)
ATTRITION • Demonstro - 1982 - 85
RON HOWARD • Rush
MOLLY NILSSON • The Travels
EMOTIKON • Remixes
FIREMEN OF DEATH, XMH, IMPLANT, K-BEREIT & SYNTHETICA • Terra Gotha XXI, Vlissingen, The Netherlands, 25/01/2014

 

Other reviews from COIL
COIL • Backwards

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO ROCK + EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels
VS • Just a sigh part1
EMILIE AUTUMN • Fight Like A Girl
GRINDERMAN • Grinderman 2 RMX

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain