tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

29/01/2014 : COIL - Nine Inch Nails 'Recoiled'

COIL

Nine Inch Nails 'Recoiled'

MusicCD
Electro RockExperimental

[75/100]   

Cold Spring
29/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Coil was an English experimental music group formed in 1982 by John Balance and Peter Christopherson (Throbbing Gristle), later joined by Danny Hyde (Black Light District). Although John (2004) and Peter (2010) already died, Coil remains one of the most influential and best known industrial music groups ever. Coil's distribution and marketing techniques somtimes included releasing a limited number of albums for collections among devotees, like this one.

This album 'Recoiled', is the result from the special mixing techniques Coil had in the 90's. Lots of special effects and percussions are used, even the use of baby alarms and other strange objects.

Trent Reznor, who was a big admirer, asked Coil te remix some of his tracks, with as a result these 5 lenght compositions. These legendary tracks were always rumoured to exist, and thanks to a dedicated NIN forum, they were found and released.

'Recoiled' also includes a fuller, more opulent version of the famous track 'Closer', wich even made it at that time onto the opening credits of the brillant movie 'SE7EN'.

In 2010 Trent Reznor started a sideproject with a band called How To Destroy Angels, this was the same title as Coil's first single, and so an ultimate tribute to this band.

This album is a must have for the real Coil and NIN fans, but for most people it might all sound a little to experimental.

Track Listing :

1. Gave up (Open My Eyes)

2. Closer (Ubrecalled)

3. The Downward Spiral (A Gilded Sickness)

4. Eraser (Reduction)

5. Eraser (Baby Alarm Remix)

Peter HESELMANS
29/01/2014


 

Next reviews
• THE WHITE QUEEN
AL_X • Shunt
FIGURE STUDY • Figure Study
• HANNIBAL SEASON 1
PAS DE DEUX • Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)
ATTRITION • Demonstro - 1982 - 85
RON HOWARD • Rush
MOLLY NILSSON • The Travels
EMOTIKON • Remixes
FIREMEN OF DEATH, XMH, IMPLANT, K-BEREIT & SYNTHETICA • Terra Gotha XXI, Vlissingen, The Netherlands, 25/01/2014

 

Other reviews from COIL
COIL • Backwards

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO ROCK + EXPERIMENTAL
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
VARIOUS ARTISTS • LABEL NOIR VOL.2 SAMPLER
SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS • Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)
ATTRITION • The unraveller of Angels
VS • Just a sigh part1
EMILIE AUTUMN • Fight Like A Girl
GRINDERMAN • Grinderman 2 RMX

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down