tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/01/2014 : EMOTIKON - Remixes

EMOTIKON

Remixes

MusicCD
Synthpop
Self-released
26/01/2014, Didier BECU

Emotikon are a duo from Germany. Singer-actress Mine Voss and Tom Tron are claiming to make synthpop and be influenced by the likes of Eurythmics, Kraftwerk and Erasure. On their newest album Remixes you definitely can hear that these two musicians have lots of different roots. It graces them that they’re open-minded, but at the same time there’s also a danger involved that in the end their album is just too varied. I mean, not all synthpop fans are thrilling to hear Brazilian bossa nova beats or 90’s soul music.

There are ten songs includes and they’re all, just as the title suggests, remixes. In honesty, I haven’t heard the original tracks, so I can’t tell you which versions are better. But judging on the titles (Bossa Nova Remix, Spâce Remix, Rock Remix,…), I guess they got huge transformations.

For the band this album was an ideal tool to broaden their musical horizons. I guess mine are just too limited as some tracks were (at least for my ears) over the top. Too Old for instance has a 1990 party remix-treatment and it’s indeed (dated, included with horrible rap-interludes) 90’s-stuff like Soul II Soul for instance. I never was that much in Brazilian beats either. But why summing up just those tracks I don’t like? You are for instance has an irresistible disco-makeover. You can definitely hear the sound of Giorgio Moroder in this (and that’s a good thing!). Or what about the Robotik-remix from Where Does My Love Begin? Which sounds very Kraftwerk-like!

The band is already in the studio working on their next album. They will use synthesizers like the Korg Monotron and the Commodore 64. Exciting indeed. Those with a very wide range in music can listen to Remixes, but narrow-minded synthpop fans like me (you have to blame someone!) better listen first before buy.

Here is the website from Emotikon.

Didier BECU
26/01/2014


Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday
06
12
Ever Fallen In love? | A Tribute To Pete Shelley (17/4/1955-06/12/18)
06
12
BodyBeats announces complete and 100% Swedish line-up for International EBM day!

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
06
12
ZANIAS
Aletheia (Official Video)
05
12
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked