tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/01/2014 : EMOTIKON - Remixes

EMOTIKON

Remixes

MusicCD
Synthpop
Self-released
26/01/2014, Didier BECU

Emotikon are a duo from Germany. Singer-actress Mine Voss and Tom Tron are claiming to make synthpop and be influenced by the likes of Eurythmics, Kraftwerk and Erasure. On their newest album Remixes you definitely can hear that these two musicians have lots of different roots. It graces them that they’re open-minded, but at the same time there’s also a danger involved that in the end their album is just too varied. I mean, not all synthpop fans are thrilling to hear Brazilian bossa nova beats or 90’s soul music.

There are ten songs includes and they’re all, just as the title suggests, remixes. In honesty, I haven’t heard the original tracks, so I can’t tell you which versions are better. But judging on the titles (Bossa Nova Remix, Spâce Remix, Rock Remix,…), I guess they got huge transformations.

For the band this album was an ideal tool to broaden their musical horizons. I guess mine are just too limited as some tracks were (at least for my ears) over the top. Too Old for instance has a 1990 party remix-treatment and it’s indeed (dated, included with horrible rap-interludes) 90’s-stuff like Soul II Soul for instance. I never was that much in Brazilian beats either. But why summing up just those tracks I don’t like? You are for instance has an irresistible disco-makeover. You can definitely hear the sound of Giorgio Moroder in this (and that’s a good thing!). Or what about the Robotik-remix from Where Does My Love Begin? Which sounds very Kraftwerk-like!

The band is already in the studio working on their next album. They will use synthesizers like the Korg Monotron and the Commodore 64. Exciting indeed. Those with a very wide range in music can listen to Remixes, but narrow-minded synthpop fans like me (you have to blame someone!) better listen first before buy.

Here is the website from Emotikon.

Didier BECU
26/01/2014


Music reviews

05
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Tabula Rasa
28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

06
10
CHRISTIAN DEATH
deathwish
05
10
THE AMATORY MURDER
The Deadliest Rose
04
10
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND
O Lord
03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes