tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/01/2014 : EMOTIKON - Remixes

EMOTIKON

Remixes

MusicCD
Synthpop
Self-released
26/01/2014, Didier BECU

Emotikon are a duo from Germany. Singer-actress Mine Voss and Tom Tron are claiming to make synthpop and be influenced by the likes of Eurythmics, Kraftwerk and Erasure. On their newest album Remixes you definitely can hear that these two musicians have lots of different roots. It graces them that they’re open-minded, but at the same time there’s also a danger involved that in the end their album is just too varied. I mean, not all synthpop fans are thrilling to hear Brazilian bossa nova beats or 90’s soul music.

There are ten songs includes and they’re all, just as the title suggests, remixes. In honesty, I haven’t heard the original tracks, so I can’t tell you which versions are better. But judging on the titles (Bossa Nova Remix, Spâce Remix, Rock Remix,…), I guess they got huge transformations.

For the band this album was an ideal tool to broaden their musical horizons. I guess mine are just too limited as some tracks were (at least for my ears) over the top. Too Old for instance has a 1990 party remix-treatment and it’s indeed (dated, included with horrible rap-interludes) 90’s-stuff like Soul II Soul for instance. I never was that much in Brazilian beats either. But why summing up just those tracks I don’t like? You are for instance has an irresistible disco-makeover. You can definitely hear the sound of Giorgio Moroder in this (and that’s a good thing!). Or what about the Robotik-remix from Where Does My Love Begin? Which sounds very Kraftwerk-like!

The band is already in the studio working on their next album. They will use synthesizers like the Korg Monotron and the Commodore 64. Exciting indeed. Those with a very wide range in music can listen to Remixes, but narrow-minded synthpop fans like me (you have to blame someone!) better listen first before buy.

Here is the website from Emotikon.

Didier BECU
26/01/2014


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway