tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

26/01/2014 : EMOTIKON - Remixes

EMOTIKON

Remixes

MusicCD
Synthpop
Self-released
26/01/2014, Didier BECU

Emotikon are a duo from Germany. Singer-actress Mine Voss and Tom Tron are claiming to make synthpop and be influenced by the likes of Eurythmics, Kraftwerk and Erasure. On their newest album Remixes you definitely can hear that these two musicians have lots of different roots. It graces them that they’re open-minded, but at the same time there’s also a danger involved that in the end their album is just too varied. I mean, not all synthpop fans are thrilling to hear Brazilian bossa nova beats or 90’s soul music.

There are ten songs includes and they’re all, just as the title suggests, remixes. In honesty, I haven’t heard the original tracks, so I can’t tell you which versions are better. But judging on the titles (Bossa Nova Remix, Spâce Remix, Rock Remix,…), I guess they got huge transformations.

For the band this album was an ideal tool to broaden their musical horizons. I guess mine are just too limited as some tracks were (at least for my ears) over the top. Too Old for instance has a 1990 party remix-treatment and it’s indeed (dated, included with horrible rap-interludes) 90’s-stuff like Soul II Soul for instance. I never was that much in Brazilian beats either. But why summing up just those tracks I don’t like? You are for instance has an irresistible disco-makeover. You can definitely hear the sound of Giorgio Moroder in this (and that’s a good thing!). Or what about the Robotik-remix from Where Does My Love Begin? Which sounds very Kraftwerk-like!

The band is already in the studio working on their next album. They will use synthesizers like the Korg Monotron and the Commodore 64. Exciting indeed. Those with a very wide range in music can listen to Remixes, but narrow-minded synthpop fans like me (you have to blame someone!) better listen first before buy.

Here is the website from Emotikon.

Didier BECU
26/01/2014


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books

PHOTOS

19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough