tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/01/2014 : LA LUNE NOIRE - ECHOLAND

LA LUNE NOIRE

ECHOLAND

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Echoland is the third album from Victor Verzijl and Sven Volgelzang, known as La Lune Noire, from Dordrecht, Holland.

I saw this band last year in Utrecht, during the Summer Darkness Festival, and I really looked forward to this album.

Echoland is really refreshing and variable in styles: some up-tempo, some very moody. The cd opens directly with the most danceable track of the album ‘Bring out your dead’. A real dance floor killer with nice pumping beats, and very hard to sit still. The track reminds me at the ‘Scapegoat’ from Fad Gadget, don’t know why. I think it’s the intro voice from Anges d’Angnoir that does it.

The lyrics on the track ‘Bodian’ are very spooky, and is about ghosts, and especially the question: if we really can talk or feel ghosts. Heavy stuff, but packed with very nice synth loops and some special effects.

Lots of lyrics on this album are about ‘Is there life after death?’. The band calls this the ‘Echoland’.

In this balance of danceable and intimate, I really like the track ‘Whispers of the haunted’, a slow electro pop track with lyrics that really have something to say.

My personal favorite is ‘The silence in me’, it has that typical Dutch sound that I also find in Clan of Xymox. Here is also some choir singing sampled at the end, really like this one.

There's a lot of inspiration on this album,you can spot some Depeche mode, Xymox, Numan, The Cassandra Complex…, but yet an authentic style from this Dutch duo. Call it electrowave or whatever, but it works.

The first complete new cd from 2014, and a very fine opener for hopefully a nice musical year

 

Tracklist :

1. Bring out your dead

2.Bodiam

3.If not in this world

4.Whispers of the haunted

5.Nothing to fear

6.The silence in me

7.In love with a ghost

8.Lust

9.The waiting game

10.The chosen one

11.Footsteps in the dark

12.Almost slipped away

13.Vidu

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2014


Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete