tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/01/2014 : LA LUNE NOIRE - ECHOLAND

LA LUNE NOIRE

ECHOLAND

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Echoland is the third album from Victor Verzijl and Sven Volgelzang, known as La Lune Noire, from Dordrecht, Holland.

I saw this band last year in Utrecht, during the Summer Darkness Festival, and I really looked forward to this album.

Echoland is really refreshing and variable in styles: some up-tempo, some very moody. The cd opens directly with the most danceable track of the album ‘Bring out your dead’. A real dance floor killer with nice pumping beats, and very hard to sit still. The track reminds me at the ‘Scapegoat’ from Fad Gadget, don’t know why. I think it’s the intro voice from Anges d’Angnoir that does it.

The lyrics on the track ‘Bodian’ are very spooky, and is about ghosts, and especially the question: if we really can talk or feel ghosts. Heavy stuff, but packed with very nice synth loops and some special effects.

Lots of lyrics on this album are about ‘Is there life after death?’. The band calls this the ‘Echoland’.

In this balance of danceable and intimate, I really like the track ‘Whispers of the haunted’, a slow electro pop track with lyrics that really have something to say.

My personal favorite is ‘The silence in me’, it has that typical Dutch sound that I also find in Clan of Xymox. Here is also some choir singing sampled at the end, really like this one.

There's a lot of inspiration on this album,you can spot some Depeche mode, Xymox, Numan, The Cassandra Complex…, but yet an authentic style from this Dutch duo. Call it electrowave or whatever, but it works.

The first complete new cd from 2014, and a very fine opener for hopefully a nice musical year

 

Tracklist :

1. Bring out your dead

2.Bodiam

3.If not in this world

4.Whispers of the haunted

5.Nothing to fear

6.The silence in me

7.In love with a ghost

8.Lust

9.The waiting game

10.The chosen one

11.Footsteps in the dark

12.Almost slipped away

13.Vidu

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2014


Music reviews

15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music
05
05
CONSPIRACY COVEN
Conspiracy Coven
03
05
PAULINA CASSIDY
Drawing Up A Storm
25
04
RITUAL VEIL
Wolf In The Night

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
LOW FACTOR releases new album 'L'Oiseau du Désespoir'
17
05
'Worlds Left Behind', first full-length album by NEW HAUNTS
13
05
Adam & Eve release new song 'Unlucky Señor'
13
05
Today it’s exactly 21 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Classic Pop publishes special issue on the career of Pet Shop Boys!
07
05
This month it is 30 years ago that Front Line Assembly released their Disorder EP

Concert reviews

19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK
10
03
DRAB MAJESTY
Drab Majesty London show review

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
05
PERSEPHONE
Maybe You Can Describe The Production Like A Puzzle: You Have To Find Each And Every Piece And Put It Together
08
05
ELECTRO SYNTHETIC REBELLION (ESR)
‘My Work Has Never Been Driven By The Trends Or The Dancefloor/Club Appeal’
04
05
MARTYRIA
The Process Of Creating Our Music Is A Way Of Expressing This Spiritual Transformation
02
05
WARM BODIES
Live - 27th of March - Antwerp Music City
21
04
SHEDIR
‘I Always Think I’m Gonna Die Tomorrow’

PHOTOS

20
05
PLASTIC NOICE EXPERIENCE
WGT
20
05
WULFBAND
WGT
20
05
FULL CONTACT
WGT
20
05
AMNISTIA
WGT
10
05
ROSA CRVX
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
10
05
MORTIIS
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium
10
05
ASHTORETH
De Kreun, Kortrijk, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
05
ATTRITION
Dante's Kitchen
20
05
COCTEAU TWINS
Carolyn's Fingers
19
05
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa
18
05
THE ARCH
Cocks Populi
17
05
VNV NATION
Nova
16
05
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
15
05
NITZER EBB
Control I’m Here