tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/01/2014 : LA LUNE NOIRE - ECHOLAND

LA LUNE NOIRE

ECHOLAND

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Echoland is the third album from Victor Verzijl and Sven Volgelzang, known as La Lune Noire, from Dordrecht, Holland.

I saw this band last year in Utrecht, during the Summer Darkness Festival, and I really looked forward to this album.

Echoland is really refreshing and variable in styles: some up-tempo, some very moody. The cd opens directly with the most danceable track of the album ‘Bring out your dead’. A real dance floor killer with nice pumping beats, and very hard to sit still. The track reminds me at the ‘Scapegoat’ from Fad Gadget, don’t know why. I think it’s the intro voice from Anges d’Angnoir that does it.

The lyrics on the track ‘Bodian’ are very spooky, and is about ghosts, and especially the question: if we really can talk or feel ghosts. Heavy stuff, but packed with very nice synth loops and some special effects.

Lots of lyrics on this album are about ‘Is there life after death?’. The band calls this the ‘Echoland’.

In this balance of danceable and intimate, I really like the track ‘Whispers of the haunted’, a slow electro pop track with lyrics that really have something to say.

My personal favorite is ‘The silence in me’, it has that typical Dutch sound that I also find in Clan of Xymox. Here is also some choir singing sampled at the end, really like this one.

There's a lot of inspiration on this album,you can spot some Depeche mode, Xymox, Numan, The Cassandra Complex…, but yet an authentic style from this Dutch duo. Call it electrowave or whatever, but it works.

The first complete new cd from 2014, and a very fine opener for hopefully a nice musical year

 

Tracklist :

1. Bring out your dead

2.Bodiam

3.If not in this world

4.Whispers of the haunted

5.Nothing to fear

6.The silence in me

7.In love with a ghost

8.Lust

9.The waiting game

10.The chosen one

11.Footsteps in the dark

12.Almost slipped away

13.Vidu

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2014


Music reviews

25
09
THE EXPLODING BOY
Alarms!
01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 31 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
First new Empirion material in almost a decade - I Am Electronic / Red Noise (12'/CD)
23
09
The electronic einzelgänger TRUE ZEBRA releases 123
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!

Concert reviews

24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
CLOCK DVA
The Hacker
24
09
FATAL CASUALTIES
Tankevurpa
23
09
KRANKLAND
Summer Avalanche
22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway