tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/01/2014 : LA LUNE NOIRE - ECHOLAND

LA LUNE NOIRE

ECHOLAND

MusicCD
Electro Pop

[85/100]   

Self-released
22/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Echoland is the third album from Victor Verzijl and Sven Volgelzang, known as La Lune Noire, from Dordrecht, Holland.

I saw this band last year in Utrecht, during the Summer Darkness Festival, and I really looked forward to this album.

Echoland is really refreshing and variable in styles: some up-tempo, some very moody. The cd opens directly with the most danceable track of the album ‘Bring out your dead’. A real dance floor killer with nice pumping beats, and very hard to sit still. The track reminds me at the ‘Scapegoat’ from Fad Gadget, don’t know why. I think it’s the intro voice from Anges d’Angnoir that does it.

The lyrics on the track ‘Bodian’ are very spooky, and is about ghosts, and especially the question: if we really can talk or feel ghosts. Heavy stuff, but packed with very nice synth loops and some special effects.

Lots of lyrics on this album are about ‘Is there life after death?’. The band calls this the ‘Echoland’.

In this balance of danceable and intimate, I really like the track ‘Whispers of the haunted’, a slow electro pop track with lyrics that really have something to say.

My personal favorite is ‘The silence in me’, it has that typical Dutch sound that I also find in Clan of Xymox. Here is also some choir singing sampled at the end, really like this one.

There's a lot of inspiration on this album,you can spot some Depeche mode, Xymox, Numan, The Cassandra Complex…, but yet an authentic style from this Dutch duo. Call it electrowave or whatever, but it works.

The first complete new cd from 2014, and a very fine opener for hopefully a nice musical year

 

Tracklist :

1. Bring out your dead

2.Bodiam

3.If not in this world

4.Whispers of the haunted

5.Nothing to fear

6.The silence in me

7.In love with a ghost

8.Lust

9.The waiting game

10.The chosen one

11.Footsteps in the dark

12.Almost slipped away

13.Vidu

Peter HESELMANS
22/01/2014


Music reviews

31
03
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Armèn
29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes