tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

03/02/2014 : SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS - Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS

Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

Concert
Ambient PopDark ElectroElectro PopElectro RockExperimentalNew waveSynthpop

[90/100]   
03/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Saturday, February 1st, a very special venue, a kind of old strengthened fort in Wommelgem, Antwerp. This line up was an organization from ‘VZW Monotone’, a supporting platform for alternative musical and artistic bands.

First band on stage was SOL 19 , an electropop band with some new wave influences. Saw this band already in 2009, and directly saw some potential in them. Now finally they released the album ‘ From the inside out’, with some very nice new tracks and all quite danceable. Their gig was a mix of older tracks, like their classic 'Never Again' and some new ones, which i really liked.Here’s the opening track from their gig 'Another December', a very nice instrumental piece, really enjoyed this new one, reminded me a bit at Gary Numans’ instrumental tracks begin 80’s, like Random or Airline. The audience gave a very positive response to the band, and a fantastic opening act from the evening. Here's the video I made. Rating : 90/100

Setlist : Another December / Killjoy / By The Law / Distress / Tragic / Selection / Never Again / Push / War Drums / Stop Making Me Cry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8qMwmRD50M&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share

Second band was ‘True Zebra’, or better to say Kevin Strauwen. This band is a one man project, and he transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock and dance scenes. Already saw this band last year as opening act at the ‘BIM Festival’, and at that time for me the discovery of the festival. True Zebra has developed into a fantastic act, and was certainly the highlight of the evening. Not only does his voice sounds like Trent Reznor, also his music is comparable with NIN. But Kevin’s project is even more deeper, more electronic and danceable. Together with Glenn Keteleer (Radical G), who has a more thechno style, this guy is really going to make it in the future (I hope). Here’s a video I made from his show (more on my youtube channel, numanoid65). Rating : 95/100

Setlist : Revelation / Sounds easy / Get Out / The Silence / Happen / Under Control / Transition / Delirious / Shame / Push.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXwksB28ROA&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&index=2

Last band of the evening was the mind – expanding sound from Hybryds. They are internationally known in the mythical – industrial and magical scene. Quite a change after two more up tempo bands. Hybryds, or Sandy Nijs, played some new tracks from their album ‘The Silent Whisper’. And so the lovers of tribal and ambient music saw a very nice gig. A great way to end , and I really had a superb evening with this 3 Belgian bands. Rating : 85/100

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNn3i0h2zn0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=3

Peter HESELMANS
03/02/2014






 

Next reviews
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • 'Till Death
MARC ROTHEMUND • Heute Bin Ich Blond
HALO EFFECT • Code Mixing - Recoding Remix Album
ARNAUD DESPLECHIN • Jimmy P.

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 29 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 40 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 35 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
25 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 2 Year Anniversary
15
01
This month 48 years ago KRAFTWERK released their second studio album KRAFTWERK 2

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.
13
01
SYRENOMELIA
The drunk rural constable at the local pub.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty
17
01
GARBAGE
No Horses
16
01
SEVERED HEADS
All Saints Day
15
01
EURYTHMICS
Sweet Dreams
14
01
JANE'S ADDICTION
Been Caught Stealing