tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

03/02/2014 : SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS - Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS

Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

Concert
Ambient PopDark ElectroElectro PopElectro RockExperimentalNew waveSynthpop

[90/100]   
03/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Saturday, February 1st, a very special venue, a kind of old strengthened fort in Wommelgem, Antwerp. This line up was an organization from ‘VZW Monotone’, a supporting platform for alternative musical and artistic bands.

First band on stage was SOL 19 , an electropop band with some new wave influences. Saw this band already in 2009, and directly saw some potential in them. Now finally they released the album ‘ From the inside out’, with some very nice new tracks and all quite danceable. Their gig was a mix of older tracks, like their classic 'Never Again' and some new ones, which i really liked.Here’s the opening track from their gig 'Another December', a very nice instrumental piece, really enjoyed this new one, reminded me a bit at Gary Numans’ instrumental tracks begin 80’s, like Random or Airline. The audience gave a very positive response to the band, and a fantastic opening act from the evening. Here's the video I made. Rating : 90/100

Setlist : Another December / Killjoy / By The Law / Distress / Tragic / Selection / Never Again / Push / War Drums / Stop Making Me Cry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8qMwmRD50M&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share

Second band was ‘True Zebra’, or better to say Kevin Strauwen. This band is a one man project, and he transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock and dance scenes. Already saw this band last year as opening act at the ‘BIM Festival’, and at that time for me the discovery of the festival. True Zebra has developed into a fantastic act, and was certainly the highlight of the evening. Not only does his voice sounds like Trent Reznor, also his music is comparable with NIN. But Kevin’s project is even more deeper, more electronic and danceable. Together with Glenn Keteleer (Radical G), who has a more thechno style, this guy is really going to make it in the future (I hope). Here’s a video I made from his show (more on my youtube channel, numanoid65). Rating : 95/100

Setlist : Revelation / Sounds easy / Get Out / The Silence / Happen / Under Control / Transition / Delirious / Shame / Push.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXwksB28ROA&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&index=2

Last band of the evening was the mind – expanding sound from Hybryds. They are internationally known in the mythical – industrial and magical scene. Quite a change after two more up tempo bands. Hybryds, or Sandy Nijs, played some new tracks from their album ‘The Silent Whisper’. And so the lovers of tribal and ambient music saw a very nice gig. A great way to end , and I really had a superb evening with this 3 Belgian bands. Rating : 85/100

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNn3i0h2zn0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=3

Peter HESELMANS
03/02/2014






 

Next reviews
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • 'Till Death
MARC ROTHEMUND • Heute Bin Ich Blond
HALO EFFECT • Code Mixing - Recoding Remix Album
ARNAUD DESPLECHIN • Jimmy P.

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
HOCICO • HyperViolent
MATT HART • Decimate
COMBICHRIST • Compliance
MILDREDA • I was never really there
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
300 000VK • Peter Paradox
PYRROLINE • Struggling
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIX8:SED8 • The Inevitable Relapse (Limited Edition)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
MAGNETIC RUST • Multicolor
STAATSEINDE • Crazy Earthlings Collab Tape - Episode II
IMPERATIVE REACTION • Mirror
ERASURE • THE NEON
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
07
05
This month it’s been 44 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'
06
04
MARROWVOLTAGE
There is always a strong, dominating motif behind any of our songs. A feeling, a powerful association. For example, the gravitational force of an abyss underneath you. The movement of mighty and elegant creatures in the
05
04
LACRIMOSA
There were times when I could hardly believe that I would ever be able to finish the album.
10
03
ADULT.
'We have worked and risked so much to make this tour happen, so pleeeeeease come get wild!!!'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf
11
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Great God