tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

03/02/2014 : SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS - Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS

Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

Concert
Ambient PopDark ElectroElectro PopElectro RockExperimentalNew waveSynthpop

[90/100]   
03/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Saturday, February 1st, a very special venue, a kind of old strengthened fort in Wommelgem, Antwerp. This line up was an organization from ‘VZW Monotone’, a supporting platform for alternative musical and artistic bands.

First band on stage was SOL 19 , an electropop band with some new wave influences. Saw this band already in 2009, and directly saw some potential in them. Now finally they released the album ‘ From the inside out’, with some very nice new tracks and all quite danceable. Their gig was a mix of older tracks, like their classic 'Never Again' and some new ones, which i really liked.Here’s the opening track from their gig 'Another December', a very nice instrumental piece, really enjoyed this new one, reminded me a bit at Gary Numans’ instrumental tracks begin 80’s, like Random or Airline. The audience gave a very positive response to the band, and a fantastic opening act from the evening. Here's the video I made. Rating : 90/100

Setlist : Another December / Killjoy / By The Law / Distress / Tragic / Selection / Never Again / Push / War Drums / Stop Making Me Cry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8qMwmRD50M&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share

Second band was ‘True Zebra’, or better to say Kevin Strauwen. This band is a one man project, and he transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock and dance scenes. Already saw this band last year as opening act at the ‘BIM Festival’, and at that time for me the discovery of the festival. True Zebra has developed into a fantastic act, and was certainly the highlight of the evening. Not only does his voice sounds like Trent Reznor, also his music is comparable with NIN. But Kevin’s project is even more deeper, more electronic and danceable. Together with Glenn Keteleer (Radical G), who has a more thechno style, this guy is really going to make it in the future (I hope). Here’s a video I made from his show (more on my youtube channel, numanoid65). Rating : 95/100

Setlist : Revelation / Sounds easy / Get Out / The Silence / Happen / Under Control / Transition / Delirious / Shame / Push.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXwksB28ROA&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&index=2

Last band of the evening was the mind – expanding sound from Hybryds. They are internationally known in the mythical – industrial and magical scene. Quite a change after two more up tempo bands. Hybryds, or Sandy Nijs, played some new tracks from their album ‘The Silent Whisper’. And so the lovers of tribal and ambient music saw a very nice gig. A great way to end , and I really had a superb evening with this 3 Belgian bands. Rating : 85/100

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNn3i0h2zn0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=3

Peter HESELMANS
03/02/2014






 

Next reviews
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • 'Till Death
MARC ROTHEMUND • Heute Bin Ich Blond
HALO EFFECT • Code Mixing - Recoding Remix Album
ARNAUD DESPLECHIN • Jimmy P.

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
WANT/ED • Unthinkable
LEDERMAN / DE MEYER • A Tribe Of My Own
MISERIA ULTIMA • Phospor
METAL DISCO • Devil Explicit
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors
THE INVINCIBLE SPIRIT • NEIN! (Single)
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)
THE BIPOLAR • Tomorrow everything will get better
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
SCHEUBER • The Me I See
DEF NEON • Def Neon
CHROM • Peak And Decay

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
PIG • The Gospel
STRUGG • Flood
THE BEAUTY OF GEMINA • Minor Sun
RUINED CONFLICT • A Voice For The Voiceless
PLEXIPHONES • Electric
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Transmission Wave-West
GARY NUMAN • Here In The Black (Live at Hollywood Forever Cemetery)
RABIA SORDA • King Of The Wasteland
SOUNDGAZER • Two Graves

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
RITUAL VEIL • Wolf In The Night
CRYING VESSEL • A Beautiful Curse
THE NAMES • German Nights
SPREADING POINT • MOMENTUM - PART II
SHE PLEASURES HERSELF • Fetish
XTC • Skylarking
KILLING JOKE • Live at Muziek-o-Droom - Hasselt - Belgium 05.12.2016
KILLING JOKE • London, Brixton O2 Academy (04/11/2016)
NEW MODEL ARMY • Live at the Muziekgieterij, Maastricht, NL - 30.09.2016 - Photo Hub Dautzenberg
PAUL HAIG • Metamorphosis

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
STACIAN • Person L
HEXHEART • Midnight on a Moonless Night

Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery
11
06
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down