tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

03/02/2014 : SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS - Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS

Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

Concert
Ambient PopDark ElectroElectro PopElectro RockExperimentalNew waveSynthpop

[90/100]   
03/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Saturday, February 1st, a very special venue, a kind of old strengthened fort in Wommelgem, Antwerp. This line up was an organization from ‘VZW Monotone’, a supporting platform for alternative musical and artistic bands.

First band on stage was SOL 19 , an electropop band with some new wave influences. Saw this band already in 2009, and directly saw some potential in them. Now finally they released the album ‘ From the inside out’, with some very nice new tracks and all quite danceable. Their gig was a mix of older tracks, like their classic 'Never Again' and some new ones, which i really liked.Here’s the opening track from their gig 'Another December', a very nice instrumental piece, really enjoyed this new one, reminded me a bit at Gary Numans’ instrumental tracks begin 80’s, like Random or Airline. The audience gave a very positive response to the band, and a fantastic opening act from the evening. Here's the video I made. Rating : 90/100

Setlist : Another December / Killjoy / By The Law / Distress / Tragic / Selection / Never Again / Push / War Drums / Stop Making Me Cry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8qMwmRD50M&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share

Second band was ‘True Zebra’, or better to say Kevin Strauwen. This band is a one man project, and he transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock and dance scenes. Already saw this band last year as opening act at the ‘BIM Festival’, and at that time for me the discovery of the festival. True Zebra has developed into a fantastic act, and was certainly the highlight of the evening. Not only does his voice sounds like Trent Reznor, also his music is comparable with NIN. But Kevin’s project is even more deeper, more electronic and danceable. Together with Glenn Keteleer (Radical G), who has a more thechno style, this guy is really going to make it in the future (I hope). Here’s a video I made from his show (more on my youtube channel, numanoid65). Rating : 95/100

Setlist : Revelation / Sounds easy / Get Out / The Silence / Happen / Under Control / Transition / Delirious / Shame / Push.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXwksB28ROA&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&index=2

Last band of the evening was the mind – expanding sound from Hybryds. They are internationally known in the mythical – industrial and magical scene. Quite a change after two more up tempo bands. Hybryds, or Sandy Nijs, played some new tracks from their album ‘The Silent Whisper’. And so the lovers of tribal and ambient music saw a very nice gig. A great way to end , and I really had a superb evening with this 3 Belgian bands. Rating : 85/100

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNn3i0h2zn0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=3

Peter HESELMANS
03/02/2014






 

Next reviews
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • 'Till Death
MARC ROTHEMUND • Heute Bin Ich Blond
HALO EFFECT • Code Mixing - Recoding Remix Album
ARNAUD DESPLECHIN • Jimmy P.

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
PLACEBO EFFECT • Shattered Souls
CAUSENATION • Promises of hope and fear
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electrostorm vol. 9
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • The Dread Files
ASSEMBLAGE 23 • Mourn
DREADFOOL • Atoms for peace
TECHNOLORGY • Carnivore
HER OWN WORLD • A Different Kind Of Reality

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON
TRUE ZEBRA • Idiorhythmic
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
BOYTRONIC • The Robot Treatment
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
TUKT • Tukt
COLD IN MAY • Isolation songs
DARK-O-MATIC • A cage with the door wide open
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

Music reviews

18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE
10
01
BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Lost Feelings
09
01
CAUSENATION
Promises of hope and fear

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!
18
01
On this day, 41 ago, John Foxx released his first solo project album Metamatic!
17
01
Today, 36 years ago, Alien Sex Fiend recorded Liquid Head in Tokyo!
16
01
26 years Divine Rapture | Celebrating The Siouxsie and the Banshees 1995 and final album!
15
01
Brand new Front Line Assembly album 'Mechanical Soul' out today!
15
01
The Dreams Will Always Linger | Remembering Dolores O’Riordan - 3 Year Anniversary

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela
18
01
KAI SCHUMACHER
The Hug (Rework by Illuminine)
17
01
ELSJE HELEWAUT & RUDOLF HECKE
Let's Not Give A Damn
16
01
PSY'AVIAH
Not What I Expected
15
01
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down
14
01
ANATOMIA HUMANA DESMONTABLE
Enfermedad
13
01
MOLLY NILSSON
1995