tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

03/02/2014 : SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS - Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

SOL 19 , TRUE ZEBRA , HYBRYDS

Antwerpen, JH Wommel (1/02/2014)

Concert
Ambient PopDark ElectroElectro PopElectro RockExperimentalNew waveSynthpop

[90/100]   
03/02/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Saturday, February 1st, a very special venue, a kind of old strengthened fort in Wommelgem, Antwerp. This line up was an organization from ‘VZW Monotone’, a supporting platform for alternative musical and artistic bands.

First band on stage was SOL 19 , an electropop band with some new wave influences. Saw this band already in 2009, and directly saw some potential in them. Now finally they released the album ‘ From the inside out’, with some very nice new tracks and all quite danceable. Their gig was a mix of older tracks, like their classic 'Never Again' and some new ones, which i really liked.Here’s the opening track from their gig 'Another December', a very nice instrumental piece, really enjoyed this new one, reminded me a bit at Gary Numans’ instrumental tracks begin 80’s, like Random or Airline. The audience gave a very positive response to the band, and a fantastic opening act from the evening. Here's the video I made. Rating : 90/100

Setlist : Another December / Killjoy / By The Law / Distress / Tragic / Selection / Never Again / Push / War Drums / Stop Making Me Cry

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b8qMwmRD50M&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share

Second band was ‘True Zebra’, or better to say Kevin Strauwen. This band is a one man project, and he transmutes an alternative view into the electro rock and dance scenes. Already saw this band last year as opening act at the ‘BIM Festival’, and at that time for me the discovery of the festival. True Zebra has developed into a fantastic act, and was certainly the highlight of the evening. Not only does his voice sounds like Trent Reznor, also his music is comparable with NIN. But Kevin’s project is even more deeper, more electronic and danceable. Together with Glenn Keteleer (Radical G), who has a more thechno style, this guy is really going to make it in the future (I hope). Here’s a video I made from his show (more on my youtube channel, numanoid65). Rating : 95/100

Setlist : Revelation / Sounds easy / Get Out / The Silence / Happen / Under Control / Transition / Delirious / Shame / Push.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pXwksB28ROA&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&index=2

Last band of the evening was the mind – expanding sound from Hybryds. They are internationally known in the mythical – industrial and magical scene. Quite a change after two more up tempo bands. Hybryds, or Sandy Nijs, played some new tracks from their album ‘The Silent Whisper’. And so the lovers of tribal and ambient music saw a very nice gig. A great way to end , and I really had a superb evening with this 3 Belgian bands. Rating : 85/100

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNn3i0h2zn0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=3

Peter HESELMANS
03/02/2014






 

Next reviews
ALIO DIE & SYLVI ALLI • Amidst The Circling Spires
MARIO GARIAZZO • Amazonia (The Catherine Miles Story)
MODEL DEPOSE • Nightwatch
FREDERIC BERTHE • Les Invincibles
SOL 19 • From The Inside Out
TERROLOKAUST • Scars that never heal ep
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • 'Till Death
MARC ROTHEMUND • Heute Bin Ich Blond
HALO EFFECT • Code Mixing - Recoding Remix Album
ARNAUD DESPLECHIN • Jimmy P.

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
FEU FOLLET • Le champ des morts
OCTOLAB • Mystery Park
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Melancholic Disposition
MISERIA ULTIMA • Graygarden
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
6TH CROWD • Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)
MASSIVE EGO • Church For The Malfunctioned
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
UMMAGMA • Caravan -Backed With Ty i Ya
LADYTRON • Ladytron
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
DAGEIST • Sexy
NEW MODEL ARMY • From Here
A CERTAIN RATIO • ACR-Box
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DER KLINKE • Decade
JAPAN • Cries And Whispers (1983-1991)
XTC • What Do You Call That Noise?
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES • Juju
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition
13
03
STEREOSEAT
Heavenly Creatures
06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa
20
03
Today it’s exactly 30 years ago that Nitzer Ebb released their third studio album Showtime!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.
17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal
23
03
A;GRUMH
Danger Zone