tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

01/02/2014 : AESTHETIC PERFECTION - 'Till Death

AESTHETIC PERFECTION

'Till Death

MusicCD
Dark ElectroElectro RockGothic RockIDM (Intelligent Dance Music)Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[90/100]   

Metropolis Records
01/02/2014, Filip VAN MUYLEM

Finally, a time to review their newest one! Just before the start of their European tour. So a good time to find out about the mix between Trent Reznor and Depeche Mode... just read further...

'Happily ever after' starts like a neo folk song, including drums, bells and a scary voice! This one doesn't sound at all like a wedding song, more like one is announcing his death... The nice electro tunes come back with 'Antibody' a song that most of the fans already know. It’s a great song that will start the party! I love the sound and the computer voice! This one is just a smashing hit! Love the melancholic voice and the sing a long moments! This is somehow how Trent Reznor could sound like anno 2014 (without his actual bad attitude)!

'Lights out (ready to go)' sounds also like a party song with nice and very creative little noises (gives it a nice retro 80's sound)! Once again the vocals are really great! This song might become the one song you listen to before going out and have fun for the night! It might also be the party starter... dadada (just as the last tune is presuming, taken from that song …).

'Death Rattle' starts with some high tone vocals, not what I expected when I read the title. After a while the outburst comes and gives it a higher potential!

Who doesn't already know the great roaring of 'Big Bad Wolf'? It has already reached a lot of people! Love the melancholic voice and the roaring guitars with the nice spooky effects and the high tone in the voice at some point! The vocals are really great on this one, just as the vocal exercises on this one! One thing is very clear: this is a very well worked out song with big hit potential (and has already been proven) Yeah, yeah, yeah!!!

'Showtime' is in a weird way some kind of an electronic ballad/waltz, filled with anger and some Depeche Mode influences (including the trembling voice)... Love the little organ-like sound and was there even a harp in it? Love the more eclectic end!

'Oh, Gloria' starts a bit like a Manson hit, but soon turns into a more electro minded song. Somehow this one is the one I like the least as I tend to forget fast about this song. Somehow it gets better after some more of listening to it... After a while I even think it might be a great song for a concert...

There is no bigger difference than listening afterwards to the bumping and roaring beats of 'The Dark Half', this is really my style and will rock a lot of people out of their socks! This is great IDM! Listening to it with your headphones on makes you want to get them off and dance! It's really impossible to stand still during this one! What a killer song!

'The New Black' is a great end song! Love the beats, love the vibe! It has the pathos needed to bring it in the perfect way! It's a short cd, but I absolutely adore it and can't wait to see them back on tour! Love the little tunes in between, just as the computer voice and the nice chorus! In the end one could almost get tears in the eyes, don't ask me why! It's just so good! Pure gold!

But 'Lovesick' is the last song, a dark ballad and again with some Depeche Mode influences (for sure on the vocals). The title is a bit strange if you think this is a romantic cd, but it isn’t, right? Love ain't forever... One day it dies... and you have to hold on to this last grasp... At least, I think that is the message coming from this song...

After the bad behavior of Trent Reznor lately, I'm pretty sure that we have a new GOD in the swimming pool! So kick Trent out and let Aesthetic Perfection Reign! I also know that some fans hate it, but I also know that some bands keep on producing the same fat beats, so I can only say in a very humble way: thumbs up! This is really first class!

Your Kingdom has come!

review of their gig at the last VP live:

http://www.peek-a-boo-magazine.be/en/reviews/suicide-commando-soman-aesthetic-perfection-sam-xp8-c-lekktor-surgyn-vampireparty-live-6-4-2013-petrol-antwerpen-belgium/

and here's the link to listen to the new cd:

http://www.revolvermag.com/news/exclusive-aesthetic-perfection-premiere-new-album-til-death.html

or on YouTube:

http://youtu.be/k4OaH_009_U

Filip VAN MUYLEM
01/02/2014


 

Next reviews
MARC ROTHEMUND • Heute Bin Ich Blond
HALO EFFECT • Code Mixing - Recoding Remix Album
ARNAUD DESPLECHIN • Jimmy P.
ALCEST • Shelter
SUNDOZE • Closure
DARIO ARGENTO • FILM: Tenebrae
COIL • Nine Inch Nails 'Recoiled'
• THE WHITE QUEEN
AL_X • Shunt
FIGURE STUDY • Figure Study

 

Other reviews from AESTHETIC PERFECTION
AESTHETIC PERFECTION • A nice place to destroy (EP)

 

Same genre: DARK ELECTRO
REACTOR7X • Are You My Bitch
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1 • Harbringer
ACRETONGUE • Ghost Nocturne
ENZO KREFT • Control
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
HOCICO • Artificial Extinction
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
REALITY'S DESPAIR • Human Transitions
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
MIREXXX • Vault

 

Same genre: ELECTRO ROCK
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
ARMY OF THE UNIVERSE • Resin EP
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
BROKEN EGO • Getting Higher
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!! • Shatter
DIRK DA DAVO / JEAN -MARIE AERTS • DDDJMX (EP)

 

Same genre: GOTHIC ROCK
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
WISBORG • From the Cradle to the Coffin
PALE BLUE MOON • Supernatural
THE SISTERS OF MERCY • First And Last And Always
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Finding Beauty In Chaos
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
LIZARD SMILE • Wandering in Mirrors
NAUT • Raise The Lights
WANT/ED • Unthinkable

 

Same genre: IDM (INTELLIGENT DANCE MUSIC)
LIEBKNECHT • ICE over Erfurt
ADORATION DESTROYED • Ritual Damage
DISPLACER • Curse of The Black Vinyl
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
DMX KREW • You Exist
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
CRONOS TITAN • Valium
ARCHITECT/SONIC AREA/HOLOGRAM_ • We Are the Alchemists
TYSKE LUDDER • Evolution
FRANK RIGGIO • Psychexcess II – Futurism

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP

Music reviews

12
11
TWIN TRIBES
Ceremony
31
10
BLAC KOLOR
Nephi
24
10
ROGER C.REALE & RUE MORGUE
The Collection
23
10
KIM GORDON
No Home Record
19
10
THE BLACK WATCH
Magic Johnson
19
10
FUTURE PILOT AKA
Orkestra Digitalis

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Exclusive Belgian NITZER EBB clubshow at De Casino - St-Niklaas - B
11
11
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX released GRENADE 2019 REMASTER
10
11
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2020 releases third band wave with Mesh, Zeromancer & many more
09
11
UK Gothic Rock Band HER DESPAIR Release Official Music Video for 'The Exorcism' - New EP, Exorcisms Of Eroticism due November 22nd
08
11
Bauhaus' David J announces 'Missive to an Angel from the Halls of Infamy and Allure' LP and Euro/UK tour!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

02
11
UNDERTHESKIN
Try To Leave The Listener In A Certain Reflection, And Maybe Bring Some Kind Of Relief
01
11
MIKE WATT(JUMPSTARTED PLOWHARDS)
In a way, the project is a total collaboration!
26
10
MICHAEL GIRA(SWANS)
'Having a strong presence of death in your mind all the time is very healthy thing!'
25
10
PAUL Q.KOLDERIE
'There has to be a song that I feel needs to be recorded…'
14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'

PHOTOS

11
11
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
11
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH!!
Magasin 4 Bruxelles
05
11
THEN COMES SILENCE
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
05
11
MODELE MARTIAL
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel
04
11
DATE AT MIDNIGHT
North Shadows Records Festival Auchel

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
STOCKHAUSSEN
Mi siniestro
11
11
FIGURE AND CODE PANDORUM
RedRum
10
11
JESUS AND MARY CHAIN
Happy When It Rains
09
11
3TEETH
Sell Your Face
08
11
MUSCLE AND MARROW
Ritual
07
11
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Electric Dreams
06
11
SOCIETY 1
It's Yours Now