tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

30/01/2014 : ALCEST - Shelter

ALCEST

Shelter

MusicCD

Prophecy Productions
30/01/2014

‘Shelter’ is a sort of theme album. Niege, the founder and leader of Alcest, explains:” A shelter may be a location, outside or inside oneself; it may be a person, a passion, a vision, a melody. A safe place that allows us to escape reality for an instant, to reunite with what we really are, deep down. My own shelter turned out to be the sea, as well as the tracks of this album, all inspired by and dedicated to it. I've always had a special relationship to the sea and wanted to pay tribute to it; to celebrate the moments spent looking at it, immersing myself in its sound and movement, letting the waves cleanse my mind”….”

This is absolutely not for me, but I do believe that there is a market for Alceste’s fourth album ‘Shelter’. Older fans of Alcest[1] might get disappointed because this album is considerably lighter in musical texture and mood than their previous albums. It is a low intensity vision, with a metal edge to it inspired by their stay in Iceland...“the very experience of the country itself and of its landscapes were quite overwhelming, and certainly had an influence on our work. Iceland was the perfect framework to carve out the concept of "Shelter" during the recording process.” I believe their music is labelled ‘Blackgaze’ by the experts, and that is still Alcest’s trademark. If you like this kind of thing, go for it. I have respect for artists that tries to renew themselves. After all, wasn’t it Hitchcock, who said that style is nothing but self-plagiarism[2]

 The album is in a way formulaic, and in way not. Alcest build up the sound by adding layer by layer with voice[s] and instrument[s], most prominently multiple guitars. The songs grow almost organically, with a beginning, a middle and an end. The esoteric lyrics blend well with the multi layered sonority. Each to his own and to my ears, ‘Shelter’ is a bit like ‘Metal Tolkien Gazing By The Sea’. Not necessarily a bad thing, but just not my cup of tea.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 



 

[1]Alcest is French for Alcestis , who is a Greek mythological princess popularised in a tragedy by Euripides. I have been listening superficially to a couple of their albums and unless somebody explains it to me, there are absolutely no connotations, archetypes and influences of the world of Greek Antiquity, in the lyrics nor in the sound. Well, you can name yourself Diana after the Roman goddess or a Paul Anka song. Maybe, the choice of the name has a hidden meaning that escapes me.

 [2]Imagine to approach an artist who has been doing the same thing, more or less, for the last forty years, say, Iggy Pop. Oh yeah, there is raw power, but that’s that, and there is nothing more to say about it.

 

 

 

 

 

 


30/01/2014


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
ART OF EMPHATHY
Where Souls Shine Brightest
26
02
OUTPOST 11
Action
25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain