tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

27/01/2014 : PAS DE DEUX - Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

PAS DE DEUX

Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

Concert
Electro PopMinimal

[90/100]   
27/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Pas de Deux was the headliner at this edition of The sound of the Belgian underground-festival. For the younger or non-Flemish readers, Pas De Deux is known for the fact that they were chosen to go to the Eurovision song contest in 1983. A very strange decision at that time, because this a minimalistic wave band. This all resulted in chaotic and angry scenes live on a Belgian TV-show.

After 30 years they made this unique reunion. The original members, Hilde Van Roy, Dett Peyskens, and the leading power behind this project, Walter Verdin, were still ready to perform this unique gig.

Tonight the band was completed with some very nice 'guest members': Karen Willems (Zita Swoon), Kevin Strauwen (True Zebra), Ciska Thomas (Bright Entity) and Peter Schneider (Leki)

I was a bit afraid that all songs would be on tape, and that it all would sound a bit dated, but luckily enough I was completely wrong as all songs sounded suprisingly fresh.

The opening was a new track 'Minimalize', with some nice visuals and lyrics from the video artist himsef, Walter Verdin. Then starting to play almost the whole vinyl album from 1983, minimal wave.

Very early in the setlist, one of my favorite Pas De Deux tracks, 'Lonely Guys'. Hilde and Dett sounded just the same as 30 years ago and really enjoyed themselves. Sometimes they acted like two schoolgirls. And I have to say, not only on this song, but an overall very strong performance from all guest musicians, drums, synths, guitar, percussions, all very well and enthusiastically played

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cffjrCyu7K0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=1

As they were headlining this underground festival, and most bands and audience were very young, it was a little strange with this mixed up audience. The 'young ones' looked a bit surprised, because most of them, didn't know the band, and were not even born when Pas De Deux formed. And for the 'not so young ones', like me, this was realy great to hear this back, I could even feel some nostalgia.

In the middle of the set came the song that everybody was waiting for: 'Rendez Vous'. The band had a very nice surprise for us by playing the original video from the Eurovision song contest from 1983 at the background. It was really something special, and the audience really went mad. Here's the video I made

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2UVS0-YL0E&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg

Not only is this song one of the most controversial tracks ever in Belgium, it was also the first track ever played on our national Belgian pop radiostation Studio Brussel.

Other underground club classics were 'Cardiocleptomanie', and 'Mani Meme' (Flemish phonetic for 'Not with me') ended this great concert. I was very glad to be part of this reunion gig, for most this was pure nostalgia, and for some a nice discovery of this fantastic minimal 80's project.

Some more vids can be found on my youtube channel, numanoid65

Setlist : Minimalize / A Million Miles / Little Danny / Lonely Guys / Lits Jumeaux / Take A Cigarette / Rendeze Vous / Cardiocleptomanie / Iedereen Is Zot / Mani Meme.

Peter HESELMANS
27/01/2014


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!
21
01
Today, exactly 27 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
20
01
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS 40th ANNIVERSARY EUROPEAN TOUR
20
01
Peek-a-Boo Magazine # 36 - Out Now!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)
17
01
CAPITAL X
Majesty