tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

27/01/2014 : PAS DE DEUX - Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

PAS DE DEUX

Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

Concert
Electro PopMinimal

[90/100]   
27/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Pas de Deux was the headliner at this edition of The sound of the Belgian underground-festival. For the younger or non-Flemish readers, Pas De Deux is known for the fact that they were chosen to go to the Eurovision song contest in 1983. A very strange decision at that time, because this a minimalistic wave band. This all resulted in chaotic and angry scenes live on a Belgian TV-show.

After 30 years they made this unique reunion. The original members, Hilde Van Roy, Dett Peyskens, and the leading power behind this project, Walter Verdin, were still ready to perform this unique gig.

Tonight the band was completed with some very nice 'guest members': Karen Willems (Zita Swoon), Kevin Strauwen (True Zebra), Ciska Thomas (Bright Entity) and Peter Schneider (Leki)

I was a bit afraid that all songs would be on tape, and that it all would sound a bit dated, but luckily enough I was completely wrong as all songs sounded suprisingly fresh.

The opening was a new track 'Minimalize', with some nice visuals and lyrics from the video artist himsef, Walter Verdin. Then starting to play almost the whole vinyl album from 1983, minimal wave.

Very early in the setlist, one of my favorite Pas De Deux tracks, 'Lonely Guys'. Hilde and Dett sounded just the same as 30 years ago and really enjoyed themselves. Sometimes they acted like two schoolgirls. And I have to say, not only on this song, but an overall very strong performance from all guest musicians, drums, synths, guitar, percussions, all very well and enthusiastically played

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cffjrCyu7K0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=1

As they were headlining this underground festival, and most bands and audience were very young, it was a little strange with this mixed up audience. The 'young ones' looked a bit surprised, because most of them, didn't know the band, and were not even born when Pas De Deux formed. And for the 'not so young ones', like me, this was realy great to hear this back, I could even feel some nostalgia.

In the middle of the set came the song that everybody was waiting for: 'Rendez Vous'. The band had a very nice surprise for us by playing the original video from the Eurovision song contest from 1983 at the background. It was really something special, and the audience really went mad. Here's the video I made

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2UVS0-YL0E&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg

Not only is this song one of the most controversial tracks ever in Belgium, it was also the first track ever played on our national Belgian pop radiostation Studio Brussel.

Other underground club classics were 'Cardiocleptomanie', and 'Mani Meme' (Flemish phonetic for 'Not with me') ended this great concert. I was very glad to be part of this reunion gig, for most this was pure nostalgia, and for some a nice discovery of this fantastic minimal 80's project.

Some more vids can be found on my youtube channel, numanoid65

Setlist : Minimalize / A Million Miles / Little Danny / Lonely Guys / Lits Jumeaux / Take A Cigarette / Rendeze Vous / Cardiocleptomanie / Iedereen Is Zot / Mani Meme.

Peter HESELMANS
27/01/2014


 

Next reviews
ATTRITION • Demonstro - 1982 - 85
RON HOWARD • Rush
MOLLY NILSSON • The Travels
EMOTIKON • Remixes
FIREMEN OF DEATH, XMH, IMPLANT, K-BEREIT & SYNTHETICA • Terra Gotha XXI, Vlissingen, The Netherlands, 25/01/2014
METSATÖLL • Tõrrede Kõhtudes (In the Bellies of Barrels) - Single
RONNY YU • Saving General Yang
STEREO SIN • Monochrom
SALLY DIGE • Forget me / Losing you
THE TWINS • You've Got a Twin in the Attic (You Lunatic)

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRO POP + MINIMAL
STURM CAFE • Fernes Land
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
ALLES • Post
SCHLEIMER K • Schleimer K
SIXTH JUNE • Pleasure EP
POSITION PARALLELE • Néons Blancs
JUNKSISTA • Naked wet hot EP
OPPENHEIMER MKII • The Presence Of The Abnormal
DEPECHE MODE • Delta Machine

 

Same genre: ELECTRO POP
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • Space and time
SJOBLOM • Tape
NUOVO TESTAMENTO • New Earth
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
J:DEAD • A Complicated Genocide
J:DEAD • Feeding on me
TORTURETEKK • Nightfall
ERASURE • THE NEON

 

Same genre: MINIMAL
PARADOX OBSCUR • Intercourse
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
RADERKRAFT • Dust & Debris
THE RORSCHACH GARDEN • Dangerous Isolation Site
ABSOLUTE BODY CONTROL • A New Dawn
NICHOLAS LENS & NICK CAVE • L.I.T.A.N.I.E.S
MARTIN L. GORE • The Third Chimpanzee E.P.
SYNTET • Hjärtats slag
RUE OBERKAMPF • Negativraum
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN

Music reviews

28
09
THIS VALE OF TEARS
This Vale Of Tears
24
09
KMFDM
Hyena
23
09
DEMI LOVATO
HOLY FVCK
22
09
MISERIA ULTIMA
Witch Heart Apparition
20
09
SYGO CRIES
In Outside Places
19
09
PARADOX OBSCUR
Intercourse

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 35 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
24
09
DIE KRUPPS members' side project, DIE ROBO SAPIENS, launches debut album in October!
23
09
Dark electronic artist SINE addresses alternate reality with new EP, Mantis 2
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 30 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
18
09
Industrial Band 40 Octaves Below Brings Retribution In 'Splintered'
07
09
A Slice Of Life releases new album Tabula Rasa on 23rd September

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
09
KEVORKIAN DEATH CYCLE
An interview with Kevorkian Death Cycle
28
09
SHE 1 - HIM 2
Interview with electronic duo, She 1 - Him 2
14
09
LIA HIDE
Lia Hide & The Plato-Inspired New Album - An Interview
08
09
JOSIE PACE
Interview with Josie Pace
05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music

PHOTOS

01
10
SHE WANTS REVENGE
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
KORINTHIANS
Into the Dark - Zonhoven
01
10
THE STRANGLERS
Depot Leuven
01
10
SOVJET WAR
Depot Leuven
01
10
PETER HOOK AND THE LIGHT
La Madeleine Brussel
01
10
A SLICE OF LIFE
Djingel Djangel
01
10
CLAN OF XYMOX
Kulttempel Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

03
10
OAKTREE
La Fin
02
10
SHADOW TAMER
Shadow Tamer
01
10
INNERWOUD
Grashelm
30
09
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Titanes
29
09
MYSTERY ART ORCHESTRA
Enjoy The Violence
28
09
BLANCMANGE
Don't Tell Me
27
09
DOWNLOAD
Glassblower (Official music video)