tempobet yeni adresi
like this concert review

27/01/2014 : PAS DE DEUX - Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

PAS DE DEUX

Brussels, AB (26/01/2014)

Concert
Electro PopMinimal

[90/100]   
27/01/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Pas de Deux was the headliner at this edition of The sound of the Belgian underground-festival. For the younger or non-Flemish readers, Pas De Deux is known for the fact that they were chosen to go to the Eurovision song contest in 1983. A very strange decision at that time, because this a minimalistic wave band. This all resulted in chaotic and angry scenes live on a Belgian TV-show.

After 30 years they made this unique reunion. The original members, Hilde Van Roy, Dett Peyskens, and the leading power behind this project, Walter Verdin, were still ready to perform this unique gig.

Tonight the band was completed with some very nice 'guest members': Karen Willems (Zita Swoon), Kevin Strauwen (True Zebra), Ciska Thomas (Bright Entity) and Peter Schneider (Leki)

I was a bit afraid that all songs would be on tape, and that it all would sound a bit dated, but luckily enough I was completely wrong as all songs sounded suprisingly fresh.

The opening was a new track 'Minimalize', with some nice visuals and lyrics from the video artist himsef, Walter Verdin. Then starting to play almost the whole vinyl album from 1983, minimal wave.

Very early in the setlist, one of my favorite Pas De Deux tracks, 'Lonely Guys'. Hilde and Dett sounded just the same as 30 years ago and really enjoyed themselves. Sometimes they acted like two schoolgirls. And I have to say, not only on this song, but an overall very strong performance from all guest musicians, drums, synths, guitar, percussions, all very well and enthusiastically played

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cffjrCyu7K0&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg&feature=share&index=1

As they were headlining this underground festival, and most bands and audience were very young, it was a little strange with this mixed up audience. The 'young ones' looked a bit surprised, because most of them, didn't know the band, and were not even born when Pas De Deux formed. And for the 'not so young ones', like me, this was realy great to hear this back, I could even feel some nostalgia.

In the middle of the set came the song that everybody was waiting for: 'Rendez Vous'. The band had a very nice surprise for us by playing the original video from the Eurovision song contest from 1983 at the background. It was really something special, and the audience really went mad. Here's the video I made

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X2UVS0-YL0E&feature=share&list=UUmblBxkvwa4--r3Ay-QaCMg

Not only is this song one of the most controversial tracks ever in Belgium, it was also the first track ever played on our national Belgian pop radiostation Studio Brussel.

Other underground club classics were 'Cardiocleptomanie', and 'Mani Meme' (Flemish phonetic for 'Not with me') ended this great concert. I was very glad to be part of this reunion gig, for most this was pure nostalgia, and for some a nice discovery of this fantastic minimal 80's project.

Some more vids can be found on my youtube channel, numanoid65

Setlist : Minimalize / A Million Miles / Little Danny / Lonely Guys / Lits Jumeaux / Take A Cigarette / Rendeze Vous / Cardiocleptomanie / Iedereen Is Zot / Mani Meme.

Peter HESELMANS
27/01/2014


Music reviews

18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold