tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

30/11/2017 : LAU NAU - Poseidon

LAU NAU

Poseidon

MusicVinyl
AcousticAmbient PopSoundtrack

[95/100]   

Beacon Sound
30/11/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

'Poseidon', Lau Nau's fifth album, is "an album that was intended to be small but which grew big and bright", according to her own words. The Finnish musician that started making a very weird and very Scandinavian form of "experimental folk music" back in the mid-00s has managed to create a universe of her own, where she develops and presents her songs in a way that's half traditional songwriting, half soundtrack to an imaginary film.

Although we can hear some electronics here and there (and no guitars whatsoever), the album is built around piano, strings, and other acoustic instruments, though not always played in the way they are expected to, so for example sometimes the piano is played like a synth (Caligari, Xyza, Pianopilvi). The string arrangements are simple, with some extra instrumentation like woodwind and something that sounds like a glockenspiel adding to the overall otherwordly effect. The instrumentation is a vital part of the amazing songwriting, instead of being treated just as an embellishment.

Some album highlights are Elina, Tunti, Lydia, and the breathtaking title track Poseidon, although the LP is best enjoyed as a whole. It kind of sounds like the soundtrack to that part of a fantasy movie when something magical is about to happen. The perfect music for a cold winter morning

Available on vinyl from Beacon Sound, and on CD from Fonal.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
30/11/2017


30/11/2017 : LAU NAU - Poseidon 30/11/2017 : LAU NAU - Poseidon

 

Next reviews
SALLY DIGE • Holding On
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF • Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl

 

Same genre: ACOUSTIC
DAVID J • Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind
FROM THE FIRE • Through The Oceans Of Time
SOPHIA • As We Make Our Way (Unknown Harbours)
THE UNDERGROUND YOUTH • Mademoiselle

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
ZERO DEGREE • Stasis
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
BOWRAIN • Far Out

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST
ARMONITE • The Sun is New Each Day

Music reviews

20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
19
11
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
First And Last And Always
18
11
THE COCKY BITCHES
MERCY
17
11
ALIEN VAMPIRES
Evil Twin Ep
16
11
DAVID J
Crocodile Tears And The Velvet Cosh (Reissue)
15
11
KLANGWELT
The Incident

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
11
Dark Entity | In The Flat Field At Thirty-Eight
20
11
Artificial Adolescents | The X-Ray Spex Masterpiece Turns 40
19
11
New PALAIS IDEAL single and video clip with unique choreography by Burning Bridges!
19
11
'Write When You Get Work' in theaters this weekend!
18
11
New album by BORGHESIA - Proti kapitulaciji (Against Capitulation) - Out now!
17
11
Rise Of The Robots | Autobahn Reaches 44-Years

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.
17
11
DAVE INOX
I Am Never One Hundred Percent Happy With The Result Of My Works
15
11
RUSSIAN DARK COMMUNITY
New groups are always good, it is better to discover something new than to listen to what is already advertised on every site for the hundredth time.
13
11
HIDDEN FIGURES
Interview with the US newcomers 'Hidden Figures'
11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
11
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Halloween
20
11
JO QUAIL
Gold
19
11
DARKHER
Ghost Tears
18
11
BLEIB MODERN
Paper Skin
17
11
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA)
To Replace My Sadness (preview 2016)
16
11
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
15
11
SRSQ
Permission