tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/10/2014 : ZERO DEGREE - Stasis

ZERO DEGREE

Stasis

MusicCD
AmbientAmbient PopExperimentalIndustrial

[95/100]   

Ant-Zen
22/10/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Zero Degree was founded in 2004 by Matthias Erhard who already had a long background in experimental music. During the two years he stayed in Canada from 1999 to 2001 he discovered minimal and idm, which opened a whole new perspective of ways to express his creativity for him. In 2007 he met Bernhard Korth, whose main attention was creating ambient soundscapes that are influenced by synthesizer pioneers like Klaus Schulze. While Matthias' emphasis is focused on programming complex rhythmical structures, Bernhard loves to create endless evolving pads and dreamy spheres to get lost in between time and space. Together they create a very atmospheric mixture of minimalistic rhythmical structures and lush ambient sounds.

With his seventh album 'Stasis', Zero Degree presents their relaxing and sensual sounds which they’re known for, but this time they even go further, the tracks have more elements of down tempo and psybient then in the past, offering new facets of Mathias Erhard's aural cosmos.

Opening with the track 'Cocoon', nice ambient tunes, atmospheric pads, and a perfect bass line. Like most other tracks on this album there is a big focus on analogue synth equipment. Stasis, one of my favorite tracks, brings us more tempo, and some nice samples, even some didgeridoo tunes, a perfect example of percussive ambient and subtle electronics.

The whole album has a spacy and enjoyable sound that will carry you away, and motivate your brainwaves. Zero Degree have the talent to abduct the listener into a distinct sonic universe, as calm and dark as outer space at the same time. Ethereal key sequences are combined with deliberate minimalistic grooves.

Some more up-tempo sounds can be found on the tracks 'Connecting Dots'. 'Tides of Time', my favorite on this very nice album, can even be classified as danceable with the mighty bass lines and some nice rhythmic beats.

I saw Zero Degree at the biggest festival for industrial bands, Maschinenfest, and Matthias surprised me in a very positive way, and now he does it again with his Stasis-album.

Tracklist 01. Cocoon 02. Stasis 03. Beacon 04. Distance 05. Parsec 06. Connecting Dots 07. Tides of Time

Zero Degree - Stasis (Ant Zen)

Peter HESELMANS
22/10/2014


 

Next reviews
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
NOEL CLARKE • The Anomaly
DAVID DOBKIN • The Judge (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
• NIKITA Season 4
MARINA DE VAN • Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
ROBERT FANTINATTO • I Dream of Wires - Hardcore Edition
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
PROPAGANDA • CLASSICS: Wishful Thinking
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
UNIDENTIFIED MAN • Memento Mori
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
PIETER VERMEYEN • Inuit
ALICE IN NEVERLAND • L'ile aux Trésors
GLERAKUR • Can't You Wait

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds
PIETER NOOTEN • CLASSICS: Sleeps with the fishes
BOWRAIN • Far Out

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
GROOVENOM • Wir müssen reden
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
DIVE • Live Maschinenfest 2017
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Eye On You (Feat. Robert Görl)
KLANGWELT • The Incident
FOXXXY MULDER • Heretic
KAISER IMAGO • The Whisper Of Darkness
KNK • Dead Body Music III

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'

PHOTOS

25
05
LARVA
Dame C Rijsel
25
05
MIREXXX
Dam C Rijsel
21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
KNK
Darling
24
05
TUXEDOMOON
In a manner of speaking
23
05
THE CURE
One Hundred Years, Live in Antwerp, 2016
22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl