tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

22/10/2014 : ZERO DEGREE - Stasis

ZERO DEGREE

Stasis

MusicCD
AmbientAmbient PopExperimentalIndustrial

[95/100]   

Ant-Zen
22/10/2014, Peter HESELMANS

Zero Degree was founded in 2004 by Matthias Erhard who already had a long background in experimental music. During the two years he stayed in Canada from 1999 to 2001 he discovered minimal and idm, which opened a whole new perspective of ways to express his creativity for him. In 2007 he met Bernhard Korth, whose main attention was creating ambient soundscapes that are influenced by synthesizer pioneers like Klaus Schulze. While Matthias' emphasis is focused on programming complex rhythmical structures, Bernhard loves to create endless evolving pads and dreamy spheres to get lost in between time and space. Together they create a very atmospheric mixture of minimalistic rhythmical structures and lush ambient sounds.

With his seventh album 'Stasis', Zero Degree presents their relaxing and sensual sounds which they’re known for, but this time they even go further, the tracks have more elements of down tempo and psybient then in the past, offering new facets of Mathias Erhard's aural cosmos.

Opening with the track 'Cocoon', nice ambient tunes, atmospheric pads, and a perfect bass line. Like most other tracks on this album there is a big focus on analogue synth equipment. Stasis, one of my favorite tracks, brings us more tempo, and some nice samples, even some didgeridoo tunes, a perfect example of percussive ambient and subtle electronics.

The whole album has a spacy and enjoyable sound that will carry you away, and motivate your brainwaves. Zero Degree have the talent to abduct the listener into a distinct sonic universe, as calm and dark as outer space at the same time. Ethereal key sequences are combined with deliberate minimalistic grooves.

Some more up-tempo sounds can be found on the tracks 'Connecting Dots'. 'Tides of Time', my favorite on this very nice album, can even be classified as danceable with the mighty bass lines and some nice rhythmic beats.

I saw Zero Degree at the biggest festival for industrial bands, Maschinenfest, and Matthias surprised me in a very positive way, and now he does it again with his Stasis-album.

Tracklist 01. Cocoon 02. Stasis 03. Beacon 04. Distance 05. Parsec 06. Connecting Dots 07. Tides of Time

Zero Degree - Stasis (Ant Zen)

Peter HESELMANS
22/10/2014


 

Next reviews
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Peepshow
NOEL CLARKE • The Anomaly
DAVID DOBKIN • The Judge (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
• NIKITA Season 4
MARINA DE VAN • Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES • CLASSICS: Through The Looking Glass
ROBERT FANTINATTO • I Dream of Wires - Hardcore Edition
METAL FEMALE VOICES FEST • Day 1, 17/10/2014 | MFV United, Ayin Aleph and more...
PROPAGANDA • CLASSICS: Wishful Thinking
KORNEL MUNDRUCZO • White God (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT
COLIN EDWIN • POINTS OF ORIGIN
LUKE LUND • Hopium
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
PETER GUNDRY • V Ö L U R
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
UMMAGMA • Compass (Leonard Skully Records)

 

Same genre: AMBIENT POP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LAU NAU • Poseidon
THORN 1 • The Leave of Leaves
MAQUINA TOTAL • Maquina Total
ONUS • Proslambanomenos
RICARDO DONOSO • Symmetry
KIRSTEN MORRISON • Proserpine’s Gold
DED PIXEL • Form. Follow. Function
DIRK GEIGER • Connected Worlds

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger

 

Same genre: INDUSTRIAL
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Mechanical Soul
IMPLANT • Phantom Pain
HA:PEOPLE.3.55 • El Dia de la Bestia, Part 2 : WAR!
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP 2
DIVE • Where do we go from here
SUICIDE COMMANDO • Mindstrip Redux
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP1
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM • Phoenix
PORTION CONTROL • Head Buried
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Seed of Evil

Music reviews

25
01
POUPPEE FABRIKK
Burn Forever
23
01
STURM CAFE
Fernes Land
18
01
DISTANT VOICES
Long Road to Home
17
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mechanical Soul
16
01
IMPLANT
Phantom Pain
15
01
DD SANCHEZ
StRaNgE

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 43 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Today, exactly 30 years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 3 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
22
01
On this day, 11 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
Today, exactly 28 years ago, Ministry released Just One Fix!
19
01
On this day, 30 years ago (19 January 1991), The Cure performed at The Great British Music Awards!

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'
05
12
CEVIN KEY (SKINNY PUPPY, DOWNLOAD)
'It really has been like the formation of a new band in a lot of ways...'
03
12
ALEX SKOLNICK (TESTAMENT, ALEX SKOLNICK TRIO)
'I was as knocked out as I was hearing Van Halen...'
14
11
PROYECTO MIRAGE
I Think We Needed A Break

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
01
STRONG PRODUCT
Trolleybus Park
24
01
BUZZ KULL
Last in the club
23
01
KALTE NACHT
Voices in silence
22
01
SYNAPTIC DEFECT
Tacky games
21
01
ROB ZOMBIE
The Triumph of King Freak (A Crypt of Preservation and Superstition)
20
01
NEW ORDER
True Faith
19
01
CORDE OBLIQUE
Suono su tela