tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARINA DE VAN

Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Horror
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You can’t avoid it, but at every film festival you’re always having some light weights around. Strange enough I must admit that I have to say this about the latest movie by Marina De Van: a student from François Ozon who impressed before with Ne Te Retourne Pas: a weird psychological drama in where Sophie Marceau transforms to Monica Bellucci.

With her newest production, the French film maker went to Ireland to shoot the story from the little Niamh (Missy Keating). The child is abused, but she can protect herself with telekinetic gifts that make furniture deadly weapons.

The main reason is of course the story, but you can’t help it thinking of Carrie. Especially the way Brian De Palma has shot this picture. De Van uses a boring style that makes you almost fall asleep, even if the blood drips from the silver screen. Don’t let us be misunderstood, as Dark Touch is certainly not a disaster. A lot is saved by the stunning performance by the young Missy Keating who reminds us of Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena by Dario Argento. Mediocre, that’s all, especially because today there’s more exciting stuff to find in the horror genre.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

Op een filmfestival heb je natuurlijk ook, hoe kan het anders, pluimgewichten en deze twijfelachtige eer viel raar genoeg in de handen van Marina De Van. De verwachtingen waren nochtans hooggespannen, want deze leerlinge van François Ozon maakte eerder indruk met Ne Te Retourne Pas: een vreemd psychologisch drama waarin Sophie Marceau in Monica Bellucci verandert.

Met haar nieuwste film trok de Française naar Ierland om er het verhaal van het meisje Niamh (Missy Keating) te vertellen. Het meisje wordt op schandalige wijze mishandeld, maar kan zich verzetten door haar telekinetische krachten waardoor meubelstukken opeens dodende objecten worden.

De hoofdreden is natuurlijk het verhaal, maar automatisch kom je bij Carrie terecht en dan herinner je je vooral op wat voor een voortreffelijke wijze Brian De Palma dit in beeld heeft gebracht. De Van doet dat niet, maar opteert voor een zeer saaie werkwijze waardoor je bijna in slaap dommelt, ofschoon het bloed van het scherm afdruipt. Echt slecht is het niet en dat is vooral te danken aan de bijzondere vertolking van de jonge Missy Keating die ons doet denken aan Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena van Dario Argento. Geen verschrikking, dat niet, maar in het horrorwereldje vind je tegenwoordig toch heel wat beter dan dat.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum
07
05
STRUCK9
Ritual Body Music

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!
24
05
Covenant to play exclusive vintage and full clubshow at BIMFEST 2018

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…
29
05
FIRST AID 4 SOULS
Composing Songs Begins By Reading A Lot Of Books
25
05
ERIC BILITCH
'I WOULD NEVER WANT TO MAKE A MOVIE FOR EVERYONE!'

PHOTOS

10
06
VV303
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
STRUGGLER
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
10
06
O VEUX
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
APPARAAT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ENZO KREFT
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf
10
06
ROSA PARKS
Judgement Fest. Landgraaf

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On
16
06
GOLDFRAPP
Ocean Feat. Dave Gahan
15
06
THE KVB
Never Enough
14
06
ADULT.
Nite Life
13
06
HA;PEOPLE 3 55
Infierno
12
06
THE EDEN HOUSE
Misery
11
06
LEATHER STRIP
Strap me down