tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARINA DE VAN

Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Horror
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You can’t avoid it, but at every film festival you’re always having some light weights around. Strange enough I must admit that I have to say this about the latest movie by Marina De Van: a student from François Ozon who impressed before with Ne Te Retourne Pas: a weird psychological drama in where Sophie Marceau transforms to Monica Bellucci.

With her newest production, the French film maker went to Ireland to shoot the story from the little Niamh (Missy Keating). The child is abused, but she can protect herself with telekinetic gifts that make furniture deadly weapons.

The main reason is of course the story, but you can’t help it thinking of Carrie. Especially the way Brian De Palma has shot this picture. De Van uses a boring style that makes you almost fall asleep, even if the blood drips from the silver screen. Don’t let us be misunderstood, as Dark Touch is certainly not a disaster. A lot is saved by the stunning performance by the young Missy Keating who reminds us of Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena by Dario Argento. Mediocre, that’s all, especially because today there’s more exciting stuff to find in the horror genre.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

Op een filmfestival heb je natuurlijk ook, hoe kan het anders, pluimgewichten en deze twijfelachtige eer viel raar genoeg in de handen van Marina De Van. De verwachtingen waren nochtans hooggespannen, want deze leerlinge van François Ozon maakte eerder indruk met Ne Te Retourne Pas: een vreemd psychologisch drama waarin Sophie Marceau in Monica Bellucci verandert.

Met haar nieuwste film trok de Française naar Ierland om er het verhaal van het meisje Niamh (Missy Keating) te vertellen. Het meisje wordt op schandalige wijze mishandeld, maar kan zich verzetten door haar telekinetische krachten waardoor meubelstukken opeens dodende objecten worden.

De hoofdreden is natuurlijk het verhaal, maar automatisch kom je bij Carrie terecht en dan herinner je je vooral op wat voor een voortreffelijke wijze Brian De Palma dit in beeld heeft gebracht. De Van doet dat niet, maar opteert voor een zeer saaie werkwijze waardoor je bijna in slaap dommelt, ofschoon het bloed van het scherm afdruipt. Echt slecht is het niet en dat is vooral te danken aan de bijzondere vertolking van de jonge Missy Keating die ons doet denken aan Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena van Dario Argento. Geen verschrikking, dat niet, maar in het horrorwereldje vind je tegenwoordig toch heel wat beter dan dat.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life