tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARINA DE VAN

Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Horror
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You can’t avoid it, but at every film festival you’re always having some light weights around. Strange enough I must admit that I have to say this about the latest movie by Marina De Van: a student from François Ozon who impressed before with Ne Te Retourne Pas: a weird psychological drama in where Sophie Marceau transforms to Monica Bellucci.

With her newest production, the French film maker went to Ireland to shoot the story from the little Niamh (Missy Keating). The child is abused, but she can protect herself with telekinetic gifts that make furniture deadly weapons.

The main reason is of course the story, but you can’t help it thinking of Carrie. Especially the way Brian De Palma has shot this picture. De Van uses a boring style that makes you almost fall asleep, even if the blood drips from the silver screen. Don’t let us be misunderstood, as Dark Touch is certainly not a disaster. A lot is saved by the stunning performance by the young Missy Keating who reminds us of Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena by Dario Argento. Mediocre, that’s all, especially because today there’s more exciting stuff to find in the horror genre.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

Op een filmfestival heb je natuurlijk ook, hoe kan het anders, pluimgewichten en deze twijfelachtige eer viel raar genoeg in de handen van Marina De Van. De verwachtingen waren nochtans hooggespannen, want deze leerlinge van François Ozon maakte eerder indruk met Ne Te Retourne Pas: een vreemd psychologisch drama waarin Sophie Marceau in Monica Bellucci verandert.

Met haar nieuwste film trok de Française naar Ierland om er het verhaal van het meisje Niamh (Missy Keating) te vertellen. Het meisje wordt op schandalige wijze mishandeld, maar kan zich verzetten door haar telekinetische krachten waardoor meubelstukken opeens dodende objecten worden.

De hoofdreden is natuurlijk het verhaal, maar automatisch kom je bij Carrie terecht en dan herinner je je vooral op wat voor een voortreffelijke wijze Brian De Palma dit in beeld heeft gebracht. De Van doet dat niet, maar opteert voor een zeer saaie werkwijze waardoor je bijna in slaap dommelt, ofschoon het bloed van het scherm afdruipt. Echt slecht is het niet en dat is vooral te danken aan de bijzondere vertolking van de jonge Missy Keating die ons doet denken aan Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena van Dario Argento. Geen verschrikking, dat niet, maar in het horrorwereldje vind je tegenwoordig toch heel wat beter dan dat.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

08
12
NEON TZIGANE
Del Wesh
07
12
FROSTTIDE
Decedents – Enshrined
06
12
MIREXXX
Vault
23
11
JO QUAIL
Exsolve
22
11
SADOMANCER
Dystopian Dawn
20
11
METROLAND
Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
12
Out Of Line weekender line-up almost complete!
12
12
British enfant terrible Raymond Watts / PIG releases his BLACK MASS EP, covering WHAM!, Elvis Presley and John Lennon!
10
12
On this day, 39 years ago John Peel broadcasted Joy Division's 2nd Peel Sessions!
09
12
SID VICIOUS, A Christmas Story | 41-Years Ago The Pistols Deliver Christmas
08
12
Today, 40 years ago, Public Image released its debut album First issue!
08
12
Celebration Of The Lizard | Today Is Jim Morrison’s 75th-Birthday

Concert reviews

16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
12
THE BLADES
Too Late To Stop Now! | The Return Of The Blades - An Interview With Paul Cleary
05
12
NOIRE ANTIDOTE
'Negative etiquette' resemblance the negative sides of human behaviour but more translated into a feeling.
24
11
DOPPELGANGER
'We are goths, and we only remember the sad stories :)'
22
11
PAUL LEARY (THE COCKY BITCHES,BUTTHOLE SURFERS)
'My mind has a jukebox that I cannot unplug.'
19
11
THE NAMES
We're lucky to have everyone still alive and well, unlike many of our friends of Factory records.

PHOTOS

03
12
WHISPERING SONS
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
JOHN CALE
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
RED ZEBRA
Sinner's Day Genk
03
12
GANG OF FOUR
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
FISCHER Z
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
COCAINE PISS
Sinner's Day Genk
02
12
DE BRASSERS
Sinner's Day Genk

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
12
E-SOCIETY
E-Society
11
12
FUNKER VOGT
Feel the Pain
10
12
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
09
12
0KONTROL
Lullaby
08
12
DICEPEOPLE
Somebody to Love
08
12
RAMPLINGG
Set My Heart
07
12
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls