tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

MARINA DE VAN

Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
Horror
Filmfest Gent
22/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

You can’t avoid it, but at every film festival you’re always having some light weights around. Strange enough I must admit that I have to say this about the latest movie by Marina De Van: a student from François Ozon who impressed before with Ne Te Retourne Pas: a weird psychological drama in where Sophie Marceau transforms to Monica Bellucci.

With her newest production, the French film maker went to Ireland to shoot the story from the little Niamh (Missy Keating). The child is abused, but she can protect herself with telekinetic gifts that make furniture deadly weapons.

The main reason is of course the story, but you can’t help it thinking of Carrie. Especially the way Brian De Palma has shot this picture. De Van uses a boring style that makes you almost fall asleep, even if the blood drips from the silver screen. Don’t let us be misunderstood, as Dark Touch is certainly not a disaster. A lot is saved by the stunning performance by the young Missy Keating who reminds us of Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena by Dario Argento. Mediocre, that’s all, especially because today there’s more exciting stuff to find in the horror genre.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


NL

Op een filmfestival heb je natuurlijk ook, hoe kan het anders, pluimgewichten en deze twijfelachtige eer viel raar genoeg in de handen van Marina De Van. De verwachtingen waren nochtans hooggespannen, want deze leerlinge van François Ozon maakte eerder indruk met Ne Te Retourne Pas: een vreemd psychologisch drama waarin Sophie Marceau in Monica Bellucci verandert.

Met haar nieuwste film trok de Française naar Ierland om er het verhaal van het meisje Niamh (Missy Keating) te vertellen. Het meisje wordt op schandalige wijze mishandeld, maar kan zich verzetten door haar telekinetische krachten waardoor meubelstukken opeens dodende objecten worden.

De hoofdreden is natuurlijk het verhaal, maar automatisch kom je bij Carrie terecht en dan herinner je je vooral op wat voor een voortreffelijke wijze Brian De Palma dit in beeld heeft gebracht. De Van doet dat niet, maar opteert voor een zeer saaie werkwijze waardoor je bijna in slaap dommelt, ofschoon het bloed van het scherm afdruipt. Echt slecht is het niet en dat is vooral te danken aan de bijzondere vertolking van de jonge Missy Keating die ons doet denken aan Jennifer Connelly in Phenomena van Dario Argento. Geen verschrikking, dat niet, maar in het horrorwereldje vind je tegenwoordig toch heel wat beter dan dat.

Didier BECU
22/10/2014


22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 22/10/2014 : MARINA DE VAN - Dark Touch (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

05
06
GOOD CO
So Pretty
30
05
THIS ETERNAL DECAY
Silence
29
05
THE MIDNIGHT COMPUTERS
Anxious
03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

03
06
Today, 42 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
28
05
Electro/Synthwave act GIANT MONSTERS ON THE HORIZON unleash new studio album - Live From Night City
26
05
Happy birthday Wayne Hussey!
24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

26
05
MARK E MOON
We Know We’re Not Re-Inventing The Wheel!
23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

05
06
PLASTIC NOISE EXPERIENCE
CONTROL
04
06
SUFFOCATING MINDS
Second Life
03
06
DARKH
Bury Our Bones
02
06
THE 69 EYES
Jet Fighter Plane
01
06
AEVERIUM
Hunted
31
05
THE JUGGERNAUTS
PURGE
30
05
MERCIFUL NUNS
Live at Amphi, Cologne 23-07-2017