tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

ABEL FERRARA

Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ArthouseBiography
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Directing the life from a controversial filmmaker by an experimental director of course doesn’t lead to a traditional biography. Anyone who except this better stay at home as otherwise you will probably belong to the huge part of the audience that gave up after 15 minutes during the screening of FilmFest Ghent.

Abel Ferrara creates a touching, but also pretentious portrait of the last days from Pier Paolo Pasolini (Willem Dafoe): the Italian artist no one could handle with. Ferrara mixes everything: for him a subject like time doesn’t exist, and dreams and reality are just one unity. So yes, this is a quite difficult movie. We can even say that it is almost impossible for those who are not familiar with Pasolini’s oeuvre, but then again you can ask yourself if others will buy a ticket for this. This is all about atmosphere with an excellent Willem Dafoe who even resembles to the Italian cinematographer. You learn nothing new about him: he was fond of boys (which was fatal for him) and wasn’t loved by Italian journalist. So all things we know about the enfant terrible.

Pasolini is not the type of movie that will make many friends. It is daring, original, bombastic, but by times a bit boring and confusing. To be short, it is a typical Abel Ferrara-film: made with lots of laughter, but in the end nobody will care about, and maybe later we will agree that it isn’t that bad after all!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Het leven van een controversiële filmmaker laten regisseren door een experimentele regisseur levert natuurlijk geen traditionele biografie op. Wie dat denkt blijft sowieso beter thuis, want anders zou je wel eens tot de grote hoop kunnen behoren die het reeds na een kwartiertje tijdens deze vertoning op FilmFest Ghent opgaven.

Abel Ferrara schetst op een tegelijkertijd rakende, maar tevens pretentieuze manier de laatste dagen van Pier Paolo Pasolini (Willem Dafoe): de excentrieke Italiaanse kunstenaar waarmee de media geen raad wist. Ferrara hecht geen enkel belang aan de begrippen tijd en realiteit. Alles loopt door elkaar. Toegegeven, wie niet vertrouwd is met Pasolini’s werk zal het bijzonder moeilijk hebben om deze prent te volgen, alhoewel je je ook de vraag kan stellen of andere mensen deze prent überhaupt zullen willen zien. Veel kom je trouwens over de cineast niet te weten. Hij speelde graag met jongens (wat hem uiteindelijk ook fataal is geworden) en lag overhoop met de journalisten. Maar dat wisten we al. Dafoe speelt Pasolini op treffende wijze en met zijn zonnebril die hij zelden afzet lijkt hij zelfs enorm sterk op het Italiaanse enfant terrible.

Pasolini is zeker niet het soort film dat iedereen zal bekoren. Het is gewaagd, origineel, bombastisch, maar bij momenten gewoon saai en nodeloos verwarrend. Kortom het is een Abel Ferrara-film: met veel poeha gemaakt en waar wellicht geen haan naar zal kraaien om achteraf te beseffen dat het toch allemaal niet zo slecht is.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
UK Electro-Industrial band BIOMECHANIMAL announces the release of 'Waves': split single with MECHANICAL VEIN
29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

30
03
JOE BOYD
Producer of Pink Floyd, Nick Drake, Nico, R.E.M, talks about the years of experience and his coming book.
29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

31
03
DIVE
Underneath
30
03
NEAR EARTH ORBIT
INTERSTELLAR
29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes