tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

ABEL FERRARA

Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
ArthouseBiography
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Directing the life from a controversial filmmaker by an experimental director of course doesn’t lead to a traditional biography. Anyone who except this better stay at home as otherwise you will probably belong to the huge part of the audience that gave up after 15 minutes during the screening of FilmFest Ghent.

Abel Ferrara creates a touching, but also pretentious portrait of the last days from Pier Paolo Pasolini (Willem Dafoe): the Italian artist no one could handle with. Ferrara mixes everything: for him a subject like time doesn’t exist, and dreams and reality are just one unity. So yes, this is a quite difficult movie. We can even say that it is almost impossible for those who are not familiar with Pasolini’s oeuvre, but then again you can ask yourself if others will buy a ticket for this. This is all about atmosphere with an excellent Willem Dafoe who even resembles to the Italian cinematographer. You learn nothing new about him: he was fond of boys (which was fatal for him) and wasn’t loved by Italian journalist. So all things we know about the enfant terrible.

Pasolini is not the type of movie that will make many friends. It is daring, original, bombastic, but by times a bit boring and confusing. To be short, it is a typical Abel Ferrara-film: made with lots of laughter, but in the end nobody will care about, and maybe later we will agree that it isn’t that bad after all!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Het leven van een controversiële filmmaker laten regisseren door een experimentele regisseur levert natuurlijk geen traditionele biografie op. Wie dat denkt blijft sowieso beter thuis, want anders zou je wel eens tot de grote hoop kunnen behoren die het reeds na een kwartiertje tijdens deze vertoning op FilmFest Ghent opgaven.

Abel Ferrara schetst op een tegelijkertijd rakende, maar tevens pretentieuze manier de laatste dagen van Pier Paolo Pasolini (Willem Dafoe): de excentrieke Italiaanse kunstenaar waarmee de media geen raad wist. Ferrara hecht geen enkel belang aan de begrippen tijd en realiteit. Alles loopt door elkaar. Toegegeven, wie niet vertrouwd is met Pasolini’s werk zal het bijzonder moeilijk hebben om deze prent te volgen, alhoewel je je ook de vraag kan stellen of andere mensen deze prent überhaupt zullen willen zien. Veel kom je trouwens over de cineast niet te weten. Hij speelde graag met jongens (wat hem uiteindelijk ook fataal is geworden) en lag overhoop met de journalisten. Maar dat wisten we al. Dafoe speelt Pasolini op treffende wijze en met zijn zonnebril die hij zelden afzet lijkt hij zelfs enorm sterk op het Italiaanse enfant terrible.

Pasolini is zeker niet het soort film dat iedereen zal bekoren. Het is gewaagd, origineel, bombastisch, maar bij momenten gewoon saai en nodeloos verwarrend. Kortom het is een Abel Ferrara-film: met veel poeha gemaakt en waar wellicht geen haan naar zal kraaien om achteraf te beseffen dat het toch allemaal niet zo slecht is.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : ABEL FERRARA - Pasolini (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album
01
09
The Utimate Dreamers reveals new kinky synthwave/ebm video
28
08
44 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
28
08
THE NEON JUDGEMENT
Sinner's Day Special Oostende

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom
18
09
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
17
09
KIRLIAN CAMERA
Black August
16
09
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
15
09
DILK
Deprecated (Official Video)
15
09
THE VIOLENT YOUTH
Rabota (my life is a job)
14
09
AH CAMA-SOTZ
Hotel Odessa