tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

JIM MICKLE

Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
CrimeThriller
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Don Johnson at FilmFest Ghent? I never thought that this would happen. Sadly enough, we didn’t see Sonny Crockett arriving with his Ferrari at the entrance of Kinepolis, but he was featured in the newest movie by Jim Mickle. Agreed, it sounds less spectacular to say, but it’s ace though! Especially because you can say that Cold In July is the revelation of this year in the indiethriller circuit, just like Blue Ruin was last year.

This young American director has caught Michael C. Hall (of course that’s Dexter) to take part in this impressive cast. Hall performs a normal housefather who shoots (without wanting it) a burglar. The local police felicitates the man, but once the dad from the crook (Sam Shepard) and sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in an amazing cowboy outfit) show up, things turn out to be totally different.

Saying more about the adaption from this Joe R. Landsdale-book would be a total sin. Mickle knows very well how to make an ingenious thriller and it shows that artists like William Friedkin were his inspiration. The acting is sublime and even if it’s hard to understand the mumbling from Don Johnson, you can see what an underrated actor this man is. We love (no we adore!) Miami Vice, but in a honest world there should be more for Don than just that! So yes, Cold In July belongs to the top of 2014 and is an absolute must see!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Don Johnson op FilmFest Gent? Dat we dat nog mogen meemaken! Neen, jammer genoeg kwam Sonny Crockett niet in levende lijve met een Ferrari op de rode loper afgestormd, maar we zagen hem wel aan het werk in één van de knapste thrillers van dit jaar. Was verleden jaar Blue Ruin de indierevelatie in Gent dan is dat deze keer ongetwijfeld Cold In July: de nieuwe Jim Mickle.

Deze jonge Amerikaanse regisseur kon Michael C. Hall (Dexter, natuurlijk!) strikken voor een heel andere soort rol. Een brave huisvader die plots zonder dat hij het wil een inbreker omver maait. De lokale politie feliciteert hem met de vangst, maar wanneer zowel de vader van de overleden boef (Sam Shepard) als sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in cowboyoutfit) op de proppen komen lijkt het verhaal een heel andere wending te krijgen.

Meer vertellen over deze verfilming van het Joe R. Landsdale-boek zou zonde zijn. Mickle weet perfect wat een goede thriller inhoudt en grijpt graag terug naar de grote voorbeelden uit de jaren 70 en 80. William Friedkin is dus nooit ver weg. De acteerprestaties zijn schitterend en ook al kun je niet altijd het gemompel van Don Johnson begrijpen zet hij alweer een staaltje acteerkunst van de bovenste plank neer. Een film die je in de gaten moet houden als hij in roulatie komt, want Cold In July behoort tot de top van 2014.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland
04
07
LORDS OF ACID
I Sit On Acid
03
07
DEAD CAN DANCE
Eleusis