tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

JIM MICKLE

Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
CrimeThriller
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Don Johnson at FilmFest Ghent? I never thought that this would happen. Sadly enough, we didn’t see Sonny Crockett arriving with his Ferrari at the entrance of Kinepolis, but he was featured in the newest movie by Jim Mickle. Agreed, it sounds less spectacular to say, but it’s ace though! Especially because you can say that Cold In July is the revelation of this year in the indiethriller circuit, just like Blue Ruin was last year.

This young American director has caught Michael C. Hall (of course that’s Dexter) to take part in this impressive cast. Hall performs a normal housefather who shoots (without wanting it) a burglar. The local police felicitates the man, but once the dad from the crook (Sam Shepard) and sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in an amazing cowboy outfit) show up, things turn out to be totally different.

Saying more about the adaption from this Joe R. Landsdale-book would be a total sin. Mickle knows very well how to make an ingenious thriller and it shows that artists like William Friedkin were his inspiration. The acting is sublime and even if it’s hard to understand the mumbling from Don Johnson, you can see what an underrated actor this man is. We love (no we adore!) Miami Vice, but in a honest world there should be more for Don than just that! So yes, Cold In July belongs to the top of 2014 and is an absolute must see!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Don Johnson op FilmFest Gent? Dat we dat nog mogen meemaken! Neen, jammer genoeg kwam Sonny Crockett niet in levende lijve met een Ferrari op de rode loper afgestormd, maar we zagen hem wel aan het werk in één van de knapste thrillers van dit jaar. Was verleden jaar Blue Ruin de indierevelatie in Gent dan is dat deze keer ongetwijfeld Cold In July: de nieuwe Jim Mickle.

Deze jonge Amerikaanse regisseur kon Michael C. Hall (Dexter, natuurlijk!) strikken voor een heel andere soort rol. Een brave huisvader die plots zonder dat hij het wil een inbreker omver maait. De lokale politie feliciteert hem met de vangst, maar wanneer zowel de vader van de overleden boef (Sam Shepard) als sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in cowboyoutfit) op de proppen komen lijkt het verhaal een heel andere wending te krijgen.

Meer vertellen over deze verfilming van het Joe R. Landsdale-boek zou zonde zijn. Mickle weet perfect wat een goede thriller inhoudt en grijpt graag terug naar de grote voorbeelden uit de jaren 70 en 80. William Friedkin is dus nooit ver weg. De acteerprestaties zijn schitterend en ook al kun je niet altijd het gemompel van Don Johnson begrijpen zet hij alweer een staaltje acteerkunst van de bovenste plank neer. Een film die je in de gaten moet houden als hij in roulatie komt, want Cold In July behoort tot de top van 2014.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
FEUERSCHWANZ
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
15
08
UNZUCHT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper