tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

JIM MICKLE

Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
CrimeThriller
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Don Johnson at FilmFest Ghent? I never thought that this would happen. Sadly enough, we didn’t see Sonny Crockett arriving with his Ferrari at the entrance of Kinepolis, but he was featured in the newest movie by Jim Mickle. Agreed, it sounds less spectacular to say, but it’s ace though! Especially because you can say that Cold In July is the revelation of this year in the indiethriller circuit, just like Blue Ruin was last year.

This young American director has caught Michael C. Hall (of course that’s Dexter) to take part in this impressive cast. Hall performs a normal housefather who shoots (without wanting it) a burglar. The local police felicitates the man, but once the dad from the crook (Sam Shepard) and sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in an amazing cowboy outfit) show up, things turn out to be totally different.

Saying more about the adaption from this Joe R. Landsdale-book would be a total sin. Mickle knows very well how to make an ingenious thriller and it shows that artists like William Friedkin were his inspiration. The acting is sublime and even if it’s hard to understand the mumbling from Don Johnson, you can see what an underrated actor this man is. We love (no we adore!) Miami Vice, but in a honest world there should be more for Don than just that! So yes, Cold In July belongs to the top of 2014 and is an absolute must see!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Don Johnson op FilmFest Gent? Dat we dat nog mogen meemaken! Neen, jammer genoeg kwam Sonny Crockett niet in levende lijve met een Ferrari op de rode loper afgestormd, maar we zagen hem wel aan het werk in één van de knapste thrillers van dit jaar. Was verleden jaar Blue Ruin de indierevelatie in Gent dan is dat deze keer ongetwijfeld Cold In July: de nieuwe Jim Mickle.

Deze jonge Amerikaanse regisseur kon Michael C. Hall (Dexter, natuurlijk!) strikken voor een heel andere soort rol. Een brave huisvader die plots zonder dat hij het wil een inbreker omver maait. De lokale politie feliciteert hem met de vangst, maar wanneer zowel de vader van de overleden boef (Sam Shepard) als sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in cowboyoutfit) op de proppen komen lijkt het verhaal een heel andere wending te krijgen.

Meer vertellen over deze verfilming van het Joe R. Landsdale-boek zou zonde zijn. Mickle weet perfect wat een goede thriller inhoudt en grijpt graag terug naar de grote voorbeelden uit de jaren 70 en 80. William Friedkin is dus nooit ver weg. De acteerprestaties zijn schitterend en ook al kun je niet altijd het gemompel van Don Johnson begrijpen zet hij alweer een staaltje acteerkunst van de bovenste plank neer. Een film die je in de gaten moet houden als hij in roulatie komt, want Cold In July behoort tot de top van 2014.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt
23
08
LA SCALTRA
Cabaret
14
08
MATT HART
TALES OF TERRA & CHAOS RETOLD
02
08
IMPERATIVE REACTION
Mirror

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
09
Today, exactly 34 years ago The Klinik released 'Plague'!
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 29 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
12
09
Goth/Industrial Artist NUDA Brings Light To Mental Health Struggles With New Video
10
09
Industrial Metal Band DERISION CULT Drops Fifteenth Album, 'Charlatans Inc.'
04
09
40 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
02
09
Czech Gothic Rock Band CATHEDRAL IN FLAMES Bring Darkness & Hope With New Album

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.
02
08
BLACK ANGEL
Interview With BLACK ANGEL
31
07
ERASURE
'I'm preparing tracks for our up and coming tour' - An exclusive Interview with Vince Clarke
06
06
THE LOST INTERVIEW WITH KELLEY DEAL ( THE BREEDERS )
Peek-a-Boo publishes the interview with Kelley Deal that seemed to get lost for a long period of time - since it was made in 2018...

PHOTOS

21
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Hafensommer 21 Am Speicher 2 Osnabrück
12
09
PRAGA KHAN
Rock Monsieur Hamont
12
09
RED ZEBRA
Rock Monsieur Hamont
03
09
JUSTIN SULLIVAN NEW MODEL ARMY SOLO TOUR
Fzw Dortmund Germany
31
08
CLAN OF XYMOX
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
DEAR WOLF
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany
30
08
THEN COMES SILENCE
Live am See Meschede Hennesee Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
09
3TEETH
Atrophy
24
09
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Hide
23
09
SIEBEN
Sell Your Future
22
09
THE KLINIK
Go Back
21
09
ADAM AND THE ANTS
Stand And Deliver
20
09
VARSOVIE
Killing Anna
19
09
RASTABAN
Hore Dolom