tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this movie review

21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

JIM MICKLE

Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Movie
CrimeThriller
Filmfest Gent
21/10/2014, Didier BECU

EN

Don Johnson at FilmFest Ghent? I never thought that this would happen. Sadly enough, we didn’t see Sonny Crockett arriving with his Ferrari at the entrance of Kinepolis, but he was featured in the newest movie by Jim Mickle. Agreed, it sounds less spectacular to say, but it’s ace though! Especially because you can say that Cold In July is the revelation of this year in the indiethriller circuit, just like Blue Ruin was last year.

This young American director has caught Michael C. Hall (of course that’s Dexter) to take part in this impressive cast. Hall performs a normal housefather who shoots (without wanting it) a burglar. The local police felicitates the man, but once the dad from the crook (Sam Shepard) and sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in an amazing cowboy outfit) show up, things turn out to be totally different.

Saying more about the adaption from this Joe R. Landsdale-book would be a total sin. Mickle knows very well how to make an ingenious thriller and it shows that artists like William Friedkin were his inspiration. The acting is sublime and even if it’s hard to understand the mumbling from Don Johnson, you can see what an underrated actor this man is. We love (no we adore!) Miami Vice, but in a honest world there should be more for Don than just that! So yes, Cold In July belongs to the top of 2014 and is an absolute must see!

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


NL

Don Johnson op FilmFest Gent? Dat we dat nog mogen meemaken! Neen, jammer genoeg kwam Sonny Crockett niet in levende lijve met een Ferrari op de rode loper afgestormd, maar we zagen hem wel aan het werk in één van de knapste thrillers van dit jaar. Was verleden jaar Blue Ruin de indierevelatie in Gent dan is dat deze keer ongetwijfeld Cold In July: de nieuwe Jim Mickle.

Deze jonge Amerikaanse regisseur kon Michael C. Hall (Dexter, natuurlijk!) strikken voor een heel andere soort rol. Een brave huisvader die plots zonder dat hij het wil een inbreker omver maait. De lokale politie feliciteert hem met de vangst, maar wanneer zowel de vader van de overleden boef (Sam Shepard) als sheriff Jim Bob (Don Johnson in cowboyoutfit) op de proppen komen lijkt het verhaal een heel andere wending te krijgen.

Meer vertellen over deze verfilming van het Joe R. Landsdale-boek zou zonde zijn. Mickle weet perfect wat een goede thriller inhoudt en grijpt graag terug naar de grote voorbeelden uit de jaren 70 en 80. William Friedkin is dus nooit ver weg. De acteerprestaties zijn schitterend en ook al kun je niet altijd het gemompel van Don Johnson begrijpen zet hij alweer een staaltje acteerkunst van de bovenste plank neer. Een film die je in de gaten moet houden als hij in roulatie komt, want Cold In July behoort tot de top van 2014.

Didier BECU
21/10/2014


21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014) 21/10/2014 : JIM MICKLE - Cold in July (FilmFest Ghent 2014)

Music reviews

05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP
23
02
PIG
Pain Is God
22
02
ANTHONY JONES
Farewell To Flesh

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world
02
04
42 years of Replicas, unleashed by Gary Numan's Tubeway Army!
01
04
LMX releases CTRL+S

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO
08
04
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
07
04
CLOCK DVA
Sound Mirror
06
04
ASH CODE
Nite Rite
05
04
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
04
04
ADULT.
Nite Life