tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day

ARMONITE

The Sun is New Each Day

MusicDigital
Alternative RockExperimentalSoundtrack

[90/100]   

Self-released
14/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Armonite is a new band that aims high. The material is produced by Paul Reeve ( Muse etc…) and mastered by Geoff Pesche at the Abbey Road Studios. On bass Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), drums by Jasper Barendregt, violin by Jacopo Bigi and composer Paolo Fosso.

The music is a mixture of violins, keys, guitars and percussion. All instrumental pieces have a rich palet of sounds and styles. All fits well together. On ‘G as in Gears’ we hear a spoken sample of Samuel Gompers speech ‘What Does the working man want?’ Some songs, like ‘Sandstorm’ and ‘Suitcase War’, have a bit of an oriental sound. Probably because of the use of the violin. ‘Connect Four’ begins with a synth that sounds like that of older progbands (Yes, Steve Miller Band…). Thereafter the song changes back to a more oriental sounding track. Sometimes the tracks are like music for a soundtrack and on other occassions we hear a more rock-like style. So we walk through ten songs.

Very professional and enriching CD that you can download for free on their website, armonite.com

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/08/2015


NL

Armonite is een nieuwe band die de lat meteen hoog legt. Het materiaal is geproducet door Paul Reeve en de mastering is van de hand van Geoff Pesche in de Abbey Road Studios. Bassist is Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), drummer is Jasper Barendregt, violist Jacopo Bigi en composer Paolo Fosso.

De muziek is een mengeling van violen, keyboards, gitaren en percussie. Instrumentale stukjes die uitblinken in een rijk palet van geluiden en stijlen. Dit alles vormt toch een mooi geheel. In ‘G as in Gears’ horen we een gesproken sample van Samuel Gompers' speech ‘What Does the working man want?’ Sommige songs, o.a. Sandstorm, Suitcase War, doen wat oosters aan vanwege de toegevoegde viool. ‘Connect Four’ begint met een synth zoals men die in vroegere progbands gebruikte (Yes, Steve Miller Band…) om dan opnieuw over te schakelen op een meer oosters geluid. Soms klinken de nummers als een soundtrack en soms neigen ze dan weer meer naar rock. Zo wandelen we door 10 songs.

Heel vakkundige en verrijkende CD die je gratis kan afhalen via hun website, armonite.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/08/2015


14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day 14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day

 

Next reviews
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
• SQUADRA ANTIMAFIA - PALERMO OGGI SEASON 4
ANDY JULIA (SOROR DOLOROSA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOHN FOXX • 20th Century - The Noise
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sam Records Anthology
THE BLEEDING PEASANT ORCHESTRA • Edits At Depth
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
ROBERT SCHWENTKE • Insurgent
DJ WILDHONEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE NATIONAL • Trouble Will Find Me

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST
AN PIERLE • Le Tout Nouveau Testament-OST

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

20
06
The Joy Thieves Sign To Armalyte Records And Announce ‘THIS WILL KILL THAT’ EP
19
06
Toronto Darkwave Act DOUBLE EYELID Announces The Release Of 'A Means To An End'
18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
06
TED PARSONS
'I got back into doing my artwork. And that makes me happy!'
17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

20
06
RUMOURS
Cover
19
06
MEAGER BENEFITS
No Regrets
19
06
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane