tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day

ARMONITE

The Sun is New Each Day

MusicDigital
Alternative RockExperimentalSoundtrack

[90/100]   

Self-released
14/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Armonite is a new band that aims high. The material is produced by Paul Reeve ( Muse etc…) and mastered by Geoff Pesche at the Abbey Road Studios. On bass Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), drums by Jasper Barendregt, violin by Jacopo Bigi and composer Paolo Fosso.

The music is a mixture of violins, keys, guitars and percussion. All instrumental pieces have a rich palet of sounds and styles. All fits well together. On ‘G as in Gears’ we hear a spoken sample of Samuel Gompers speech ‘What Does the working man want?’ Some songs, like ‘Sandstorm’ and ‘Suitcase War’, have a bit of an oriental sound. Probably because of the use of the violin. ‘Connect Four’ begins with a synth that sounds like that of older progbands (Yes, Steve Miller Band…). Thereafter the song changes back to a more oriental sounding track. Sometimes the tracks are like music for a soundtrack and on other occassions we hear a more rock-like style. So we walk through ten songs.

Very professional and enriching CD that you can download for free on their website, armonite.com

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/08/2015


NL

Armonite is een nieuwe band die de lat meteen hoog legt. Het materiaal is geproducet door Paul Reeve en de mastering is van de hand van Geoff Pesche in de Abbey Road Studios. Bassist is Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), drummer is Jasper Barendregt, violist Jacopo Bigi en composer Paolo Fosso.

De muziek is een mengeling van violen, keyboards, gitaren en percussie. Instrumentale stukjes die uitblinken in een rijk palet van geluiden en stijlen. Dit alles vormt toch een mooi geheel. In ‘G as in Gears’ horen we een gesproken sample van Samuel Gompers' speech ‘What Does the working man want?’ Sommige songs, o.a. Sandstorm, Suitcase War, doen wat oosters aan vanwege de toegevoegde viool. ‘Connect Four’ begint met een synth zoals men die in vroegere progbands gebruikte (Yes, Steve Miller Band…) om dan opnieuw over te schakelen op een meer oosters geluid. Soms klinken de nummers als een soundtrack en soms neigen ze dan weer meer naar rock. Zo wandelen we door 10 songs.

Heel vakkundige en verrijkende CD die je gratis kan afhalen via hun website, armonite.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/08/2015


14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day 14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day

 

Next reviews
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
• SQUADRA ANTIMAFIA - PALERMO OGGI SEASON 4
ANDY JULIA (SOROR DOLOROSA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOHN FOXX • 20th Century - The Noise
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sam Records Anthology
THE BLEEDING PEASANT ORCHESTRA • Edits At Depth
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
ROBERT SCHWENTKE • Insurgent
DJ WILDHONEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE NATIONAL • Trouble Will Find Me

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete