tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this digital review

14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day

ARMONITE

The Sun is New Each Day

MusicDigital
Alternative RockExperimentalSoundtrack

[90/100]   

Self-released
14/08/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Armonite is a new band that aims high. The material is produced by Paul Reeve ( Muse etc…) and mastered by Geoff Pesche at the Abbey Road Studios. On bass Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), drums by Jasper Barendregt, violin by Jacopo Bigi and composer Paolo Fosso.

The music is a mixture of violins, keys, guitars and percussion. All instrumental pieces have a rich palet of sounds and styles. All fits well together. On ‘G as in Gears’ we hear a spoken sample of Samuel Gompers speech ‘What Does the working man want?’ Some songs, like ‘Sandstorm’ and ‘Suitcase War’, have a bit of an oriental sound. Probably because of the use of the violin. ‘Connect Four’ begins with a synth that sounds like that of older progbands (Yes, Steve Miller Band…). Thereafter the song changes back to a more oriental sounding track. Sometimes the tracks are like music for a soundtrack and on other occassions we hear a more rock-like style. So we walk through ten songs.

Very professional and enriching CD that you can download for free on their website, armonite.com

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/08/2015


NL

Armonite is een nieuwe band die de lat meteen hoog legt. Het materiaal is geproducet door Paul Reeve en de mastering is van de hand van Geoff Pesche in de Abbey Road Studios. Bassist is Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree), drummer is Jasper Barendregt, violist Jacopo Bigi en composer Paolo Fosso.

De muziek is een mengeling van violen, keyboards, gitaren en percussie. Instrumentale stukjes die uitblinken in een rijk palet van geluiden en stijlen. Dit alles vormt toch een mooi geheel. In ‘G as in Gears’ horen we een gesproken sample van Samuel Gompers' speech ‘What Does the working man want?’ Sommige songs, o.a. Sandstorm, Suitcase War, doen wat oosters aan vanwege de toegevoegde viool. ‘Connect Four’ begint met een synth zoals men die in vroegere progbands gebruikte (Yes, Steve Miller Band…) om dan opnieuw over te schakelen op een meer oosters geluid. Soms klinken de nummers als een soundtrack en soms neigen ze dan weer meer naar rock. Zo wandelen we door 10 songs.

Heel vakkundige en verrijkende CD die je gratis kan afhalen via hun website, armonite.com

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/08/2015


14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day 14/08/2015 : ARMONITE - The Sun is New Each Day

 

Next reviews
ENTRZELLE, STUDIO-X VS SIMON CARTER, THE PSYCHIC FORCE, XMH, ZOMBIE GIRL • EP
• SQUADRA ANTIMAFIA - PALERMO OGGI SEASON 4
ANDY JULIA (SOROR DOLOROSA) • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
JOHN FOXX • 20th Century - The Noise
VARIOUS ARTISTS • Sam Records Anthology
THE BLEEDING PEASANT ORCHESTRA • Edits At Depth
FEDERICO FELLINI • Il Casanova
ROBERT SCHWENTKE • Insurgent
DJ WILDHONEY • Ten Albums That Changed My Life
THE NATIONAL • Trouble Will Find Me

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
KIM GORDON • No Home Record
FUTURE PILOT AKA • Orkestra Digitalis

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: SOUNDTRACK
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK • Far From The Apple Tree
LAU NAU • Poseidon
JO QUAIL • Jo Quail meets Barbara Hepworth in Remagen, 11.08.2016
MIKE OLDFIELD • The 1984 Suite
PERTURBATOR • The Uncanny Valley
CLAUDIO SIMONETTI • Profondo Rosso (Deep Red)
ÆMAETH • The Roman
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Benedicere
ILLUMININE & MICHAEL PRICE TRIO • Antwerp, De Roma, 22/10/2015
STEVE MOORE • Welp/Cub OST

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi