tempobet yeni adresi
like this cassette review

28/11/2017 : MALA HERBA - Demo

MALA HERBA

Demo

MusicCassette
Cold WaveDarkwaveSynthpop

[98/100]   

Self-released
28/11/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Mala Herba, aka Zosia Hołubowska, has recently released a six track 'Demo' on her Bandcamp page, right after a two track EP. Don't be fooled by the name though, this is not a demo at all, it actually feels like a full-on release, powerful, emotional and highly addictive. "Synth witchcraft" as it's described by the artist herself.

The six tracks, apparently sang in Polish, are pretty much darkwave/coldwave instrumentally speaking, although the structure, mixing and harmonies of the songs are highly original and with a certan roughness that makes them even more interesting and mysterious. On top of it all we hear Jasmin Maria's beautifully witchy, low-pitch vocals. They are full of reverb, haunting, extremely dramatic and pretty much impossible to describe. I don't know if there's any elements of traditional Polish music here but both in the delivery and the harmonies it does feel close to the amazing Bulgarian State Television Female Vocal Choir that most of us knew thanks to 4AD, although with a sinister dose of Anja Huwe thrown in the mix.

The mini album includes darker, menacing tracks like Zaklęcie: Droga and Pańszczyzna, together with more upbeat ones like Kupały or the instant darkwave classic Rusałki. Personally, I think this is one best releases of the year so far. Especially recommended for lovers of, well, synth witchcraft.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
28/11/2017


28/11/2017 : MALA HERBA - Demo 28/11/2017 : MALA HERBA - Demo

 

Next reviews
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF • Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
OUR BANSHEE • 4200
IMPLANT • The Phone Call (EP)

 

Same genre: COLD WAVE
MANNEQUIN • From a distance
RINGFINGER • Pressure
DAGEIST • Sexy
MOONLIGHT MEADOW • Moonlight Meadow
NAIROD YARG • Nairod Yarg
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE • Endgame 69:
MEAGER BENEFITS • Crawling
MANDIVULA • Nonsens
JESUS LIVES IN VEGAS • Jesus Lives In Vegas
DER KLINKE • Decade

 

Same genre: DARKWAVE
THE HERESY GENE • La Luz Del Padre
PETER BJARGO (ARCANA) • Structures and Downfall
PLASTIKSTROM • Beton Gegen Angst
JE T'AIME • Je T'aime
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
BLUTENGEL • UN:GOTT
SELOFAN • Vitrioli
EUROPEAN GHOST • Collection Of Shadows
AFTER ABSENCE • Demotape 1

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
GRENDEL • Ascending The Abyss
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow
MORTAL VOID • Of shadows and mirrors

Music reviews

29
03
CHRISTIAN WOLZ
La Fore
28
03
JIMMY SWEENEY
Without You
27
03
FEU FOLLET
Le champ des morts
18
03
MANNEQUIN
From a distance
16
03
OCTOLAB
Mystery Park
14
03
REALITY'S DESPAIR
Melancholic Disposition

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

29
03
On this day, 40 years ago, Kraftwerk performed Das Model on German TV.
28
03
On this day, 15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released 'The Hands That Feeds' single
27
03
Electro-Industrial Artist I YA TOYAH Reveals Latest Video: 'Motion (SKOLD Remix)'
22
03
Today, exactly 31 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released their second single Head Like a Hole!
21
03
No-One Driving since 1980! John Foxx released his second 7' 40 years ago!
21
03
Bone Machine | 32 - Years Since The Pixies Surfer Rosa

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

29
03
AMBER TEASER
We Also Like Putting Some Strange Elements In Pop Music
19
03
DYLAN WITTROCK
'Sometimes I just write characters’ thoughts, like journal entries.'
17
03
PREEMPTIVE STRIKE 0.1
‘I Love The Belgian Scene’
14
03
COMMON EIDER, KING EIDER
‘The Dreams Of Capitalism Are Being Revealed As Smoke And Mirrors...
03
03
DAVID SARDY
Producer David Sardy on his work with The Who, Oasis, Marilyn Manson and scoring work.

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

29
03
MAYFLOWER MADAME
Vultures (official video)
28
03
EROTIC ELK
Watching You (featuring Karin My)
28
03
DES AMES LIBRES
Enemy
27
03
THE RITUALISTS
I'm With The Painted People (Official Music Video)
26
03
SEGBROEK
Hungry Eyes
25
03
JOZEF VAN WISSEM
Ruins
24
03
KRANKLAND
In the Realms of the Unreal