tempobet yeni adresi
like this vinyl review

29/11/2017 : SALLY DIGE - Holding On

SALLY DIGE

Holding On

MusicVinyl
Synth Pop / Electro PopSynthpop

[85/100]   

Avant! Records
29/11/2017, Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY

Sally Dige is back with a new LP, Holding On, two years after the really really good 'Hard To Please' was released on Night School. This time she released her new album both on Avant! and DKA Records.

While 'Hard To Please' was a bit of a collection of songs from her career (including older hits like Immaculate Deception), this new LP is made entirely of brand new material and you can tell that everything sounds slightly less diverse in here, with a clear reference to mid-80s synthpop (especially Depeche Mode). However, even though the sound is more uniform throughout the album, her songwriting and vocal performance are sharper than ever.

Some tracks are clearly hits aimed for the dark/synth dance floor, like the first two Holding On and Emptiness, while just like on her previous album, there are gorgeous melancholy-driven songs, like I Can't Be or Be Gone. And then there are those tracks that fall right in between (Sail To Me, This Life) with those extraordinary melodies especially in the chorus. It's in these songs, I think, where Sally Dige really shows her best. Highly recommended, as usual.

Gustavo A. ROSELINSKY
29/11/2017


29/11/2017 : SALLY DIGE - Holding On 29/11/2017 : SALLY DIGE - Holding On

 

Next reviews
MALA HERBA • Demo
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
PLEASURE TIME • Years About Us
ELEZORIA • Astray
ORCHESTRAL MANOEUVRES IN THE DARK • OMD's 2017 tour: Guildford performance at G Live, 11. November 2017
STAATSEINDE • Neue Zyklus
AM TIERPARK • Trashy Luxury
DIE SELEKTION - STORY OFF • Zondag 17 september - B52 Eernegem
BOY HARSHER • Country Girl
OUR BANSHEE • 4200

 

Other reviews from SALLY DIGE
SALLY DIGE • Hard To Please
SALLY DIGE • Forget me / Losing you

 

Same combination of genres: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP + SYNTHPOP
BEBORN BETON • She Cried
CHROM • Peak And Decay
PSY'AVIAH • Seven Sorrows, Seven Stars
BEBORN BETON • A Worthy Compensation
ANGELS & AGONY • Monument
HATCHLING • Other EP
SCARLET SOHO • Hit the Floor - Favorites and rarities

 

Same genre: SYNTH POP / ELECTRO POP
LUCKY AND LOVE • Transitions
LADYTRON • Ladytron
SIMI NAH • La Terre est Noire
JOHN FOXX • METAMATIC (2018 BOX)
VOGON POETRY • Life, The Universe and Everything
REFLECTION • Lumen
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
HELIOPHILE • Permeate
BETA EVERS + SPATIAL RELATION • Split EP
LIE DETECTOR • To Fly!

 

Same genre: SYNTHPOP
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
NEON ELECTRONICS • Apollo
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
ART DIKTATOR • Isola
ANGEL METRO • DARK DAYS BRIGHT LIGHTS
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS • Semiotics Department of Heteronyms
APSURDE • See Me Coming
STORY OFF • Facing Forward
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
HOCICO, FROZEN AUTUMN, SUFFOCATING MINDS, SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS, T.O.Y., MANOK, STRONG PRODUCT, UNITY ONE • XV Synthetic Snow Festival Moscow

Music reviews

17
05
LISA MORGENSTERN
Chameleon
16
05
VEIL OF LIGHT
Inflict
15
05
KIM THOMPSETT
The Hollows
14
05
L7
Scatter The Rats
13
05
SIGNAL AOUT 42
Insurrection
08
05
KRISTIN HERSH
Crooked (Reissue)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!
13
05
Today it’s exactly 22 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Legendary Gothic/Death Rock Band CHRISTIAN DEATH Announces Forthcoming European Tour & First Ever Live Video Chat/'Forgiven' Video Premiere
12
05
This month it’s been 41 years since Kraftwerk released Die Roboter / The Robots!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'
29
04
STACY COCHRAN
'I didn’t want to write something cruel; I wanted to find the daily fears and even some transcendent pragmatism inside a complicated set of characters...'
28
04
KILL SHELTER
There Is An Inherent Darkness And Sadness In The Music I Create
27
04
VANGUARD
We Had The Concept Of Doing Something That Ties Man And Machine Together

PHOTOS

21
05
PETER HOOK
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
GANG OF FOUR
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
CHAMELEONS VOX
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
AND ALSO THE TREES
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day, Oberhausen
21
05
IN2THESOUND
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
21
05
THEN COMES SILENCE
New Waves Day,Turbinenhalle Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

22
05
NEW MODEL ARMY
Winter
21
05
NUMB
Lies
20
05
LUCIFER'S DREAM
Elixir of Isis
19
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
You're Lost Little Girl
18
05
GROUND NERO
Dark Descent
17
05
JAN SWERTS
Meer Is Er Niet
16
05
IAN MCCULLOCH
Lover Lover Lover