tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2018 : VOGON POETRY - Life, The Universe and Everything

VOGON POETRY

Life, The Universe and Everything

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[81/100]   

Self-released
13/06/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Life, the Universe and Everything, is the third full album by Vogon Poetry. A musical journey through the world of compelling space adventures and winding paths through the human mind. What we are now certain about with this three-headed company is that the vocal possibilities of John Andersson are an added value. A voice like a stone wall that is a perfect match with the synthpop / electropop that brings the band.

In Life, the Universe and Everything we hear sci-fi-inspired songs like The Heart of Gold and The Upside Down, inspired by the fantastic TV series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space. The Upside Down is a timid opener, hip-hopping synthpop where Andersson immediately shows what he has got. Dangers of Space takes us into the cosmos. Increased tempo and danceable all the way. The fact that these are more than just nice melodies and that the lyrical content may also come to the forefront becomes clear on Children Of Time and Tomorrow, which both ask, in their own way, what the future will bring. Also on the menu, the great In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, quietly rippling on, without real peaks but just beautiful because of the simplicity, the very persistent melody and a wavering pulse of a beat. Towards the end the Atari space sounds greet you. So why don’t we throw some futurepop on it? Heart of Gold is pretty close. Although there is also a sip of synthwave in a number of passages. The synth sound in particular evokes that impression. Serenity is an instrumental with that typical sound. It gives me a feeling that I suddenly expect to see Jean-Michel Jarre appear in the firmament.

This is not exceptional or unique synthpop but the vocal power of Andersson gives it added value. Certainly more enjoyable that it is varied too. In this way, Vogon Poetry can donate a lot of music to mankind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


NL

Life, the Universe and Everything, is het derde full album van Vogon Poetry. Een muzikale reis door de wereld van meeslepende ruimteavonturen en de slingerende paden doorheen de menselijke geest. Wat we intussen zeker mogen verwachten van dit driekoppige gezelschap, is dat de vocale mogelijkheden van John Andersson een meerwaarde zijn. Een stem als een dijk die een perfecte match is met de synthpop/electropop die de band brengt.

Op Life, the Universe en Everything horen we sciFi-geïnspireerde nummers zoals The Heart of Gold en The Upside down, geïnspireerd door de fantastische tv-series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space.

The Upside Down is een bedeesde opener, heupwiegende synthpop waar Andersson meteen laat horen wat hij in zijn mars heeft. Dangers of Space neemt ons mee de ruimte in. Meer tempo en dansbaar all the way.

Dat het om meer dan leuke melodieën gaat en de inhoud op de voorgrond mag treden, wordt duidelijk op Children Of Time en Tomorrow die beide op hun eigen manier de vraag stellen wat de toekomst zal brengen.

Op het menu ook het geweldige In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, dat op zich rustig voortkabbelt, zonder echte bokkensprongen, maar net mooi is door de eenvoud. En heel vasthoudende melodie en een weifelende dreun van een beat. Naar het einde toe komen de atari-spelmodule space-geluiden je tegemoet.

En waarom gooien we er ook geen futurepop tegenaan? Heart Of Gold komt aardig in de buurt, al valt er in een aantal passages een vleugje synthwave te ontwaren. Vooral de synthsound wekt die indruk.

Serenity is een instrumentaaltje met die typerende sound. Het geeft mij een gevoel dat ik Jean-Michel Jarre plots aan het firmament zie verschijnen.

Dit is geen uitzonderlijke of unieke synthpop, maar de vocale kracht van Andersson geet het toch meerwaarde. Genietbaar is het zeker, gevarieerd ook. Vogon Poetry mag op deze manier nog véél muziek aan de mensheid schenken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


Music reviews

18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates
07
01
CHRISTOPHE CLEBARD
SSS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!
21
01
“A Rose Shattered”, the debut EP by Brussels-based Syrenomelia!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.
14
01
IC 434
find it amazing to live in a highly developed society and at the same time having to realize what a mentally mess it really is.

PHOTOS

19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
DER HIMMEL UBER BERLIN
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
WHITE COAL ADDICTION
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
ERYX LONDON
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
KEZDOWN
DARK WINTER FESTIVAL LIEGE
26
12
SUICIDE COMMANDO
Bimfest

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)
21
01
JAH WOBBLE
How Much Are They?
20
01
THROBBING GRISTLE
Six Six Sixties (Fan made video)
19
01
THE BREATH OF LIFE
Blackout
18
01
SDH (SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS)
No Miracles (Official Video)