tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2018 : VOGON POETRY - Life, The Universe and Everything

VOGON POETRY

Life, The Universe and Everything

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[81/100]   

Self-released
13/06/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Life, the Universe and Everything, is the third full album by Vogon Poetry. A musical journey through the world of compelling space adventures and winding paths through the human mind. What we are now certain about with this three-headed company is that the vocal possibilities of John Andersson are an added value. A voice like a stone wall that is a perfect match with the synthpop / electropop that brings the band.

In Life, the Universe and Everything we hear sci-fi-inspired songs like The Heart of Gold and The Upside Down, inspired by the fantastic TV series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space. The Upside Down is a timid opener, hip-hopping synthpop where Andersson immediately shows what he has got. Dangers of Space takes us into the cosmos. Increased tempo and danceable all the way. The fact that these are more than just nice melodies and that the lyrical content may also come to the forefront becomes clear on Children Of Time and Tomorrow, which both ask, in their own way, what the future will bring. Also on the menu, the great In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, quietly rippling on, without real peaks but just beautiful because of the simplicity, the very persistent melody and a wavering pulse of a beat. Towards the end the Atari space sounds greet you. So why don’t we throw some futurepop on it? Heart of Gold is pretty close. Although there is also a sip of synthwave in a number of passages. The synth sound in particular evokes that impression. Serenity is an instrumental with that typical sound. It gives me a feeling that I suddenly expect to see Jean-Michel Jarre appear in the firmament.

This is not exceptional or unique synthpop but the vocal power of Andersson gives it added value. Certainly more enjoyable that it is varied too. In this way, Vogon Poetry can donate a lot of music to mankind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


NL

Life, the Universe and Everything, is het derde full album van Vogon Poetry. Een muzikale reis door de wereld van meeslepende ruimteavonturen en de slingerende paden doorheen de menselijke geest. Wat we intussen zeker mogen verwachten van dit driekoppige gezelschap, is dat de vocale mogelijkheden van John Andersson een meerwaarde zijn. Een stem als een dijk die een perfecte match is met de synthpop/electropop die de band brengt.

Op Life, the Universe en Everything horen we sciFi-geïnspireerde nummers zoals The Heart of Gold en The Upside down, geïnspireerd door de fantastische tv-series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space.

The Upside Down is een bedeesde opener, heupwiegende synthpop waar Andersson meteen laat horen wat hij in zijn mars heeft. Dangers of Space neemt ons mee de ruimte in. Meer tempo en dansbaar all the way.

Dat het om meer dan leuke melodieën gaat en de inhoud op de voorgrond mag treden, wordt duidelijk op Children Of Time en Tomorrow die beide op hun eigen manier de vraag stellen wat de toekomst zal brengen.

Op het menu ook het geweldige In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, dat op zich rustig voortkabbelt, zonder echte bokkensprongen, maar net mooi is door de eenvoud. En heel vasthoudende melodie en een weifelende dreun van een beat. Naar het einde toe komen de atari-spelmodule space-geluiden je tegemoet.

En waarom gooien we er ook geen futurepop tegenaan? Heart Of Gold komt aardig in de buurt, al valt er in een aantal passages een vleugje synthwave te ontwaren. Vooral de synthsound wekt die indruk.

Serenity is een instrumentaaltje met die typerende sound. Het geeft mij een gevoel dat ik Jean-Michel Jarre plots aan het firmament zie verschijnen.

Dit is geen uitzonderlijke of unieke synthpop, maar de vocale kracht van Andersson geet het toch meerwaarde. Genietbaar is het zeker, gevarieerd ook. Vogon Poetry mag op deze manier nog véél muziek aan de mensheid schenken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

23
06
IN THIS MOMENT
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On