tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2018 : VOGON POETRY - Life, The Universe and Everything

VOGON POETRY

Life, The Universe and Everything

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[81/100]   

Self-released
13/06/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Life, the Universe and Everything, is the third full album by Vogon Poetry. A musical journey through the world of compelling space adventures and winding paths through the human mind. What we are now certain about with this three-headed company is that the vocal possibilities of John Andersson are an added value. A voice like a stone wall that is a perfect match with the synthpop / electropop that brings the band.

In Life, the Universe and Everything we hear sci-fi-inspired songs like The Heart of Gold and The Upside Down, inspired by the fantastic TV series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space. The Upside Down is a timid opener, hip-hopping synthpop where Andersson immediately shows what he has got. Dangers of Space takes us into the cosmos. Increased tempo and danceable all the way. The fact that these are more than just nice melodies and that the lyrical content may also come to the forefront becomes clear on Children Of Time and Tomorrow, which both ask, in their own way, what the future will bring. Also on the menu, the great In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, quietly rippling on, without real peaks but just beautiful because of the simplicity, the very persistent melody and a wavering pulse of a beat. Towards the end the Atari space sounds greet you. So why don’t we throw some futurepop on it? Heart of Gold is pretty close. Although there is also a sip of synthwave in a number of passages. The synth sound in particular evokes that impression. Serenity is an instrumental with that typical sound. It gives me a feeling that I suddenly expect to see Jean-Michel Jarre appear in the firmament.

This is not exceptional or unique synthpop but the vocal power of Andersson gives it added value. Certainly more enjoyable that it is varied too. In this way, Vogon Poetry can donate a lot of music to mankind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


NL

Life, the Universe and Everything, is het derde full album van Vogon Poetry. Een muzikale reis door de wereld van meeslepende ruimteavonturen en de slingerende paden doorheen de menselijke geest. Wat we intussen zeker mogen verwachten van dit driekoppige gezelschap, is dat de vocale mogelijkheden van John Andersson een meerwaarde zijn. Een stem als een dijk die een perfecte match is met de synthpop/electropop die de band brengt.

Op Life, the Universe en Everything horen we sciFi-geïnspireerde nummers zoals The Heart of Gold en The Upside down, geïnspireerd door de fantastische tv-series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space.

The Upside Down is een bedeesde opener, heupwiegende synthpop waar Andersson meteen laat horen wat hij in zijn mars heeft. Dangers of Space neemt ons mee de ruimte in. Meer tempo en dansbaar all the way.

Dat het om meer dan leuke melodieën gaat en de inhoud op de voorgrond mag treden, wordt duidelijk op Children Of Time en Tomorrow die beide op hun eigen manier de vraag stellen wat de toekomst zal brengen.

Op het menu ook het geweldige In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, dat op zich rustig voortkabbelt, zonder echte bokkensprongen, maar net mooi is door de eenvoud. En heel vasthoudende melodie en een weifelende dreun van een beat. Naar het einde toe komen de atari-spelmodule space-geluiden je tegemoet.

En waarom gooien we er ook geen futurepop tegenaan? Heart Of Gold komt aardig in de buurt, al valt er in een aantal passages een vleugje synthwave te ontwaren. Vooral de synthsound wekt die indruk.

Serenity is een instrumentaaltje met die typerende sound. Het geeft mij een gevoel dat ik Jean-Michel Jarre plots aan het firmament zie verschijnen.

Dit is geen uitzonderlijke of unieke synthpop, maar de vocale kracht van Andersson geet het toch meerwaarde. Genietbaar is het zeker, gevarieerd ook. Vogon Poetry mag op deze manier nog véél muziek aan de mensheid schenken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


Music reviews

09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.
09
08
REACTOR7X
And Chaos Bacame The New Order
01
08
ANNINA MELISSA
Exhibition of Death
31
07
CRIMEN
Silent Animals
26
07
VIOLENCE
Le Flux de la Nature
22
07
SEMIOTICS DEPARTMENT OF HETERONYMS
Semiotics Department of Heteronyms

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
08
Today, it’s exactly 31 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
08
08
James Ray (The voice from The Sisterhood) returns with brand new album, band and musical style change!
02
08
This month, 35 years ago, Nitzer Ebb recorded their first demo Basic Pain Procedure!
30
07
'Anything' movie: UK digital release on August, 6th!
25
07
Spacelab revisited! ISS calls Kraftwerk from outer Space!
25
07
'Locating Silver Lake' screening at Breckenridge Film Festival in September!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'
03
08
LIZARD SMILE
'I still see it as the expression of appreciation par excellence to buy a physical album. It still remains more ‘real’ … one way or another.'
29
07
SN-A
I Also Love Telling Stories Without Words
27
07
STIN SCATZOR
I never could have thought Stin Scatzor would ever release an album on DAFT Records!

PHOTOS

16
08
16
08
BAUHAUS
W-Fest Amougies
12
08
12
08
GARY NUMAN
Lokerse Feesten
01
08
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Amphi
01
08
PERSEPHONE
Amphi
01
08
MAD SIN
Amphi

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

20
08
MORTIIS
Demons Are Back
19
08
THE SISTERS OF MERCY
Lucretia, My Reflection
18
08
MARY OCHER
The Android Sea
17
08
THE VISION BLEAK
Into The Unknown
16
08
DE/VISION
Brotherhood Of Man
15
08
SOLAR FAKE
Under Control
15
08
NEW ORDER
Restless