tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

13/06/2018 : VOGON POETRY - Life, The Universe and Everything

VOGON POETRY

Life, The Universe and Everything

MusicCD
Synth Pop / Electro Pop

[81/100]   

Self-released
13/06/2018, Jurgen BRAECKEVELT

EN

Life, the Universe and Everything, is the third full album by Vogon Poetry. A musical journey through the world of compelling space adventures and winding paths through the human mind. What we are now certain about with this three-headed company is that the vocal possibilities of John Andersson are an added value. A voice like a stone wall that is a perfect match with the synthpop / electropop that brings the band.

In Life, the Universe and Everything we hear sci-fi-inspired songs like The Heart of Gold and The Upside Down, inspired by the fantastic TV series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space. The Upside Down is a timid opener, hip-hopping synthpop where Andersson immediately shows what he has got. Dangers of Space takes us into the cosmos. Increased tempo and danceable all the way. The fact that these are more than just nice melodies and that the lyrical content may also come to the forefront becomes clear on Children Of Time and Tomorrow, which both ask, in their own way, what the future will bring. Also on the menu, the great In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, quietly rippling on, without real peaks but just beautiful because of the simplicity, the very persistent melody and a wavering pulse of a beat. Towards the end the Atari space sounds greet you. So why don’t we throw some futurepop on it? Heart of Gold is pretty close. Although there is also a sip of synthwave in a number of passages. The synth sound in particular evokes that impression. Serenity is an instrumental with that typical sound. It gives me a feeling that I suddenly expect to see Jean-Michel Jarre appear in the firmament.

This is not exceptional or unique synthpop but the vocal power of Andersson gives it added value. Certainly more enjoyable that it is varied too. In this way, Vogon Poetry can donate a lot of music to mankind.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


NL

Life, the Universe and Everything, is het derde full album van Vogon Poetry. Een muzikale reis door de wereld van meeslepende ruimteavonturen en de slingerende paden doorheen de menselijke geest. Wat we intussen zeker mogen verwachten van dit driekoppige gezelschap, is dat de vocale mogelijkheden van John Andersson een meerwaarde zijn. Een stem als een dijk die een perfecte match is met de synthpop/electropop die de band brengt.

Op Life, the Universe en Everything horen we sciFi-geïnspireerde nummers zoals The Heart of Gold en The Upside down, geïnspireerd door de fantastische tv-series Stranger Things & Dangers of Space.

The Upside Down is een bedeesde opener, heupwiegende synthpop waar Andersson meteen laat horen wat hij in zijn mars heeft. Dangers of Space neemt ons mee de ruimte in. Meer tempo en dansbaar all the way.

Dat het om meer dan leuke melodieën gaat en de inhoud op de voorgrond mag treden, wordt duidelijk op Children Of Time en Tomorrow die beide op hun eigen manier de vraag stellen wat de toekomst zal brengen.

Op het menu ook het geweldige In Space Nobody Can Hear You Scream, dat op zich rustig voortkabbelt, zonder echte bokkensprongen, maar net mooi is door de eenvoud. En heel vasthoudende melodie en een weifelende dreun van een beat. Naar het einde toe komen de atari-spelmodule space-geluiden je tegemoet.

En waarom gooien we er ook geen futurepop tegenaan? Heart Of Gold komt aardig in de buurt, al valt er in een aantal passages een vleugje synthwave te ontwaren. Vooral de synthsound wekt die indruk.

Serenity is een instrumentaaltje met die typerende sound. Het geeft mij een gevoel dat ik Jean-Michel Jarre plots aan het firmament zie verschijnen.

Dit is geen uitzonderlijke of unieke synthpop, maar de vocale kracht van Andersson geet het toch meerwaarde. Genietbaar is het zeker, gevarieerd ook. Vogon Poetry mag op deze manier nog véél muziek aan de mensheid schenken.

Jurgen BRAECKEVELT
13/06/2018


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

13
08
BLUTENGEL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LORD OF THE LOST ENSEMBLE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
SOLITARY EXPERIMENTS
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
13
08
LACRIMAS PROFUNDERE
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
TYSKKE LUDER
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
OSTFRONT
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
10
08
NOISUF-X
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design
12
08
COCTEAU TWINS
Hazel
11
08
IN STRICT CONFIDENDE
Somebody Else´s Dream
10
08
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain