tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1

VARIOUS ARTISTS

You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[75/100]   

Amazing Record Co
09/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This collection is a collaboration between Amazing Record Co. (on which you find acts like Therapy?) and Amazing Radio. The album is compiled by rock specialist Aaron Phillips. After You Heard It Here First: Indie Vol.1 contained names like Beach House and Pins, and on this release we hear another bunch of new alternative rock bands.

This compilation contains many lesser known names, albeit with decent songs. In total you find sixteen songs here, with music that reminds us of The White Stripes, Billy Talent, The Fratellis and Supergrass.

God Damn opens strongly with Vultures: a track that is in the realm of Nirvana. Vukovi also has a quite good song on this CD: Boy George, which fortunately has musically nothing to do with the famous man.

Bury Tomorrow comes up with a strange mix of metal (grunts and a double bass drum) and alternative rock. Little Eye and Tellison are two new bands that each are included with a catchy rock song. With Age Of Terror, Halo Torah makes the best impression: a track that is situated in the prog rock atmosphere. Press To Meco combines metal guitars with melodic rock. Colt 45 lives a bit in the shadows of Fall Out Boy and Nickelback.

People who want to discover new alternative rock bands can definitely try this brand new compilation.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/10/2015


NL

Deze verzameling is een samenwerking tussen Amazing Record Co. (waarop je bijv. Therapy? vindt) en Amazing Radio. Het is een album dat is samengesteld door rockspecialist Aaron Phillips. Na You Heard it here First: Indie Vol.1 met namen zoals Beach House en Pins, bevat deze release opnieuw een flinke brok alternatieve rock.

Er staan ook heel wat minder bekende namen op deze compilatie, zij het met hier en daar goede songs. In totaal gaat het om zestien nummers met muziek dat zich ergens binnen het speelterrein van The White Stripes, Billy Talent, The Fratellis of Supergrass situeert.

God Damn opent sterk met Vultures: een nummer in de sfeer van Nirvana. VUKOVI heeft ook een degelijke song op deze cd staan: Boy George, maar dat heeft gelukkig muzikaal niets met de man te maken.

Bury Tomorrow brengt ons een vreemde mix van metal (grunts en een dubbele basdrum) en alternatieve rock. Met Little Eye en Tellison horen we twee bands met elk een catchy rocknummer. Halo Tora is een voor mij onbekende groep die met Age Of Terror de sterkste bijdrage levert: een nummer dat wat in de progrocksfeer zit. Press To Meco combineert metalgitaren met melodische rock. Colt 45 leeft wat in de schaduw van bands als Fall Out Boy of Nickelback. De andere bands klinken eerder gewoon, maar wel degelijk.

Mensen die nieuwe alternatieve rockbands willen ontdekken, moeten deze verzameling zeker eens uitproberen.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/10/2015


Music reviews

05
04
KALTE NACHT
The Last Breath
02
04
LOVATARAXX
Tilda Vaast
14
03
THEN COMES SILENCE
Trickery
13
03
DARK MINIMAL PROJECT
Remixes
27
02
WHISPERING SONS
The Great Calm
22
02
YOUR ENEMY
Broken Toys

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

21
04
Today, 38 years ago, Siouxsie and the Banshees released Tinderbox!
16
04
39 years ago, The Sisters Of Mercy performed No Time To Cry on German TV!
15
04
On this day, 23 years ago, FAD GADGET performed his first legendary come-back show!
14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene(° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
37 years ago MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
11
04
LIVERNOIS Addresses The Human Reaction To Trauma With ':ablation:'

Concert reviews

15
04
FAD GADGET
***FLASHBACK REVIEW***The Return of FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REVIEW***
16
11
DREADFOOL - EUFORIC EXISTENCE - EULFI
ELECTRO au BNR
09
09
ENZO KREFT - DARK MINIMAL PROJECT - CAUSENATION
@B52 Music Club Eernegem
23
08
AMPHI FESTIVAL 2023
A second opinion...
18
06
ERATO - BLACK SNOW IN SUMMER
Black Planet Fest - @ B 52 Music Club Eernegem - friday 19th of may
18
06
KORINTHIANS, NEL & JP, NONA PROBLEMO
@Charlatan Ghent - 25 mei 2023

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

10
04
ATTRITION
An Interview With The Legendary, ATTRITION
09
04
DE DELVERS
With the lyrics, I try to name things that I see happening around me and to pay attention to what we sometimes prefer to turn our heads away from.
03
04
FRONTAL BOUNDARY
An Interview With Harsh Electro Band, Frontal Boundary
20
03
BESTIAL MOUTHS
An Interview With Bestial Mouths
19
03
TVASHTAR
We never insisted on being an all-female band.

PHOTOS

16
04
PROJECT PITCHFORK
Kulttempel Oberhausen
16
04
NICHTS
Christuskirche Bochum
15
04
FAD GADGET (15.04.2001)***FLASHBACK REPORT***
Elektrofest 15/04/2001, Mean Fiddler, London
14
04
OTTO VON SCHIRACH
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
AMBASSADOR 21
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
FRACTIONAL
Magasin4 Anderlecht
14
04
O VEUX
Wasted Night #5 Borgloon

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

21
04
ANIMACHINES
Pandemia
20
04
CHAOS RESEARCH
In Power we entrust the Love advocated
19
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
18
04
COCAINE PISS
The Dancer
17
04
CHMCL STR8JCKT
Dressed to Kill
16
04
30,000 MONKIES
Coproliet
15
04
WIM MERTENS
Struggle For Pleasure