tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1

VARIOUS ARTISTS

You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[75/100]   

Amazing Record Co
09/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This collection is a collaboration between Amazing Record Co. (on which you find acts like Therapy?) and Amazing Radio. The album is compiled by rock specialist Aaron Phillips. After You Heard It Here First: Indie Vol.1 contained names like Beach House and Pins, and on this release we hear another bunch of new alternative rock bands.

This compilation contains many lesser known names, albeit with decent songs. In total you find sixteen songs here, with music that reminds us of The White Stripes, Billy Talent, The Fratellis and Supergrass.

God Damn opens strongly with Vultures: a track that is in the realm of Nirvana. Vukovi also has a quite good song on this CD: Boy George, which fortunately has musically nothing to do with the famous man.

Bury Tomorrow comes up with a strange mix of metal (grunts and a double bass drum) and alternative rock. Little Eye and Tellison are two new bands that each are included with a catchy rock song. With Age Of Terror, Halo Torah makes the best impression: a track that is situated in the prog rock atmosphere. Press To Meco combines metal guitars with melodic rock. Colt 45 lives a bit in the shadows of Fall Out Boy and Nickelback.

People who want to discover new alternative rock bands can definitely try this brand new compilation.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/10/2015


NL

Deze verzameling is een samenwerking tussen Amazing Record Co. (waarop je bijv. Therapy? vindt) en Amazing Radio. Het is een album dat is samengesteld door rockspecialist Aaron Phillips. Na You Heard it here First: Indie Vol.1 met namen zoals Beach House en Pins, bevat deze release opnieuw een flinke brok alternatieve rock.

Er staan ook heel wat minder bekende namen op deze compilatie, zij het met hier en daar goede songs. In totaal gaat het om zestien nummers met muziek dat zich ergens binnen het speelterrein van The White Stripes, Billy Talent, The Fratellis of Supergrass situeert.

God Damn opent sterk met Vultures: een nummer in de sfeer van Nirvana. VUKOVI heeft ook een degelijke song op deze cd staan: Boy George, maar dat heeft gelukkig muzikaal niets met de man te maken.

Bury Tomorrow brengt ons een vreemde mix van metal (grunts en een dubbele basdrum) en alternatieve rock. Met Little Eye en Tellison horen we twee bands met elk een catchy rocknummer. Halo Tora is een voor mij onbekende groep die met Age Of Terror de sterkste bijdrage levert: een nummer dat wat in de progrocksfeer zit. Press To Meco combineert metalgitaren met melodische rock. Colt 45 leeft wat in de schaduw van bands als Fall Out Boy of Nickelback. De andere bands klinken eerder gewoon, maar wel degelijk.

Mensen die nieuwe alternatieve rockbands willen ontdekken, moeten deze verzameling zeker eens uitproberen.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/10/2015


Music reviews

15
04
IN ABSENTIA
Charnel House Chatterbox (Remastered 2021)
14
04
THE BURYING KIND
The Burying Kind ( EP )
05
04
VARIOUS ARTISTS
Electropop 18 (Super Deluxe Edition)
23
03
300 000VK
Peter Paradox
10
03
PYRROLINE
Struggling
23
02
THE HEAT INC.
EP

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

14
04
In memorian.... The Punk Empowerment Of Poly Styrene (° 3 July 1957 †25 April 2011)
13
04
34 years MUTE records released 'Let Your Body Learn' by Nitzer Ebb!
07
04
Skinny Puppy’s Cevin Key zoom chat's with à;GRUMH...
04
04
15 years ago, Nine Inch Nails released ‘Every Day Is Exactly the Same’.
03
04
On this day, 19 years ago, Frank Tovey / Fad Gadget died at the age of 45.
02
04
SYNAPTIC DEFECT sends teaser into the world

Concert reviews

24
09
RED ZEBRA
29 augustus 2020 - Zarlarswing

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

12
02
DIVE
We All Can Ask Us The Question ‘Where Do We Go From Here?'
10
02
RAYMOND WATTS (PIG)
'It’s not a re-discovery. It’s finding the way in to let the stuff out...'
02
02
JOHN 3:16
I regularly come across animal remains at various stages of decomposition. That started to affect me, and that's where the concept of the record was born.
07
01
MAMAN KUSTERS
‘Let’s Keep It Intriguing
16
12
THE BREATH OF LIFE
'No, I never considered quitting making music. Nor to taste good special beers.'

PHOTOS

15
04
FAD GADGET
Mean Fiddler, London, England
25
09
PETER HEPPNER
Strandkorb Open Air Mönchengladbach
20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

15
04
FAITH AND THE MUSE
Battle Hymn
14
04
MESH
It scares me
13
04
MONOTONE EXPRESSION
Out Of Tune With Life
12
04
LAID BACK
White Horse
11
04
VOK
Waterfall
10
04
SVEN VATH VS. ANTHONY ROTHER
Komm
09
04
THIS CAN HURT
IF YOU GO