tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/10/2015 : VARIOUS ARTISTS - You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1

VARIOUS ARTISTS

You Heard It Here First: Rock vol1

MusicCD
Alternative Rock

[75/100]   

Amazing Record Co
09/10/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

This collection is a collaboration between Amazing Record Co. (on which you find acts like Therapy?) and Amazing Radio. The album is compiled by rock specialist Aaron Phillips. After You Heard It Here First: Indie Vol.1 contained names like Beach House and Pins, and on this release we hear another bunch of new alternative rock bands.

This compilation contains many lesser known names, albeit with decent songs. In total you find sixteen songs here, with music that reminds us of The White Stripes, Billy Talent, The Fratellis and Supergrass.

God Damn opens strongly with Vultures: a track that is in the realm of Nirvana. Vukovi also has a quite good song on this CD: Boy George, which fortunately has musically nothing to do with the famous man.

Bury Tomorrow comes up with a strange mix of metal (grunts and a double bass drum) and alternative rock. Little Eye and Tellison are two new bands that each are included with a catchy rock song. With Age Of Terror, Halo Torah makes the best impression: a track that is situated in the prog rock atmosphere. Press To Meco combines metal guitars with melodic rock. Colt 45 lives a bit in the shadows of Fall Out Boy and Nickelback.

People who want to discover new alternative rock bands can definitely try this brand new compilation.

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/10/2015


NL

Deze verzameling is een samenwerking tussen Amazing Record Co. (waarop je bijv. Therapy? vindt) en Amazing Radio. Het is een album dat is samengesteld door rockspecialist Aaron Phillips. Na You Heard it here First: Indie Vol.1 met namen zoals Beach House en Pins, bevat deze release opnieuw een flinke brok alternatieve rock.

Er staan ook heel wat minder bekende namen op deze compilatie, zij het met hier en daar goede songs. In totaal gaat het om zestien nummers met muziek dat zich ergens binnen het speelterrein van The White Stripes, Billy Talent, The Fratellis of Supergrass situeert.

God Damn opent sterk met Vultures: een nummer in de sfeer van Nirvana. VUKOVI heeft ook een degelijke song op deze cd staan: Boy George, maar dat heeft gelukkig muzikaal niets met de man te maken.

Bury Tomorrow brengt ons een vreemde mix van metal (grunts en een dubbele basdrum) en alternatieve rock. Met Little Eye en Tellison horen we twee bands met elk een catchy rocknummer. Halo Tora is een voor mij onbekende groep die met Age Of Terror de sterkste bijdrage levert: een nummer dat wat in de progrocksfeer zit. Press To Meco combineert metalgitaren met melodische rock. Colt 45 leeft wat in de schaduw van bands als Fall Out Boy of Nickelback. De andere bands klinken eerder gewoon, maar wel degelijk.

Mensen die nieuwe alternatieve rockbands willen ontdekken, moeten deze verzameling zeker eens uitproberen.

 

 

Wim GUILLEMYN
09/10/2015


Music reviews

18
03
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O
Split Single
14
03
DEZ MONA
Book Of Many
13
03
DAVID J
Thoughts And Prayers
11
03
FRED ABONG
Pulsing Ep
08
03
DRAGON WELDING
Dragon Welding
05
03
I AM A ROCKETSHIP
Mind Grafitti

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
03
Today, 39 years ago, Joy Division released 'Licht und Blindheit'.
17
03
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | The Radiators From Space
17
03
A Darker Shade Of Green | The Virgin Prunes On Saint Patrick’s Day
16
03
Today, 35 years ago, Siousxie And The Banshees released the single Swimming Horses!
15
03
New album and video by UK Goth rockers Children On Stun! Win - Win - Win
15
03
'Locating Silver Lake': Digital movie release on March 22 - DVD coming soon!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

16
03
STEVE IGNORANT (CRASS)
'I think what drives me is the endless injustice that goes through life.'
11
03
SYNAPSCAPE
A Fascinating Challenge About Bringing New Life Into Old Tracks
10
03
BIG JOHN DUNCAN
'I don't like to copy things, I like to try and be original and always happy!'
09
03
MISSING IN STARS
'This music is for everyone, even my closest metal friends support it...'
08
03
DEAN GARCIA - SPC ECO + CURVE
“..I love recording, it's one of the only things that is completely absorbing for me..”

PHOTOS

10
03
DER KLINKE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
A SLICE OF LIFE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
DEAD HIGH WIRE
De Klinker Aarschot
10
03
HATCHLING
De Klinker Aarschot
06
03
LAIBACH
Botanique Brussel
27
02
IAMX
La Madeleine Brussel
24
02
WULFBAND
De Casino St Niklaas

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
03
HAUSCHKA
Craco
17
03
DIVE
Sidewalk Sinner - Snakedressed
16
03
CHRONIC TWILIGHT
Mark of Cain (official lyric video)
15
03
THE YOUNG GODS
Figure sans nom
14
03
PSY'AVIA
Dream Fever
13
03
KRANKLAND
Oh My Love
12
03
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Eye on you (Fan made video)