tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/06/2015 : GENGAHR - A Dream Outside

GENGAHR

A Dream Outside

MusicCD
Alternative RockBritpopRock

[80/100]   

PIAS
22/06/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

After the debut single Powder (2014) and its successor She's a Witch (Spring 2014), the North London quartet Gengahr launches its first album A Dream Outside, from which the new single Heroine is released. Much is expected of Gengahr, because the band was already on stage with ALT-J, performed at Glastenbury and Latitude, and this year a tour is planned with Maccabees. They themselves call the success of Gengahr a happy coincidence, but if we are to believe the British press, then Gengahr is just the next big thing.

On the album A Dream Outside Felix Bushe (vocals/guitar), Hugh Schulte (bass), John Victor (guitar) and Danny Ward (drums/vocals) bring us beautiful vocals (multiple high voices) and emphatic guitar work. The repertoire sounds good and as a result Dizzy Ghost settles smoothly in the ear. The high-pitched voices are equally present in She's a Witch, with a catchy chorus that takes you straight on a magical journey through the Gengahr universe, again to the sound of hearty-sounding guitars. Heroine floats on an attractive rhythm, sounds louder than the two previous songs and unfolds as a violent and at the same time fragile rock ballad. Fragile vocals are a hallmark of the Gengahr repertoire and as a consequence Bathed in Light is again an appealing pop song. Bass and drums spread a perfect crib for sweet and attractive guitars and the versatile vocals are absolutely stunning. Four in a row.

In the British press, Gengahr is often associated with Radiohead and Where I Lie
tells you why: a song which starts quietly, and then gradually gains momentum through the enchanting vocals, while Darkstar, with its long intro of drums, twinkling guitars and little voices, passes quietly, but does not make less impression. Embers floats on a nervous drumbeat and later develops into an up-tempo rock ballad in which again the vocals take the lead and to which the solo guitar adds attractive ornaments. Halfway we hear an instrumental of abrasive guitars and noise, but the eloquence is restored after a short while and the hectic vocals take us in the direction of the coda. The single Powder rightly received great reviews in the NME and The Guardian and was added to the playlist of BBC 6Music and XFM. It is a perfect rock ballad, soft and hard, melodic and then angular and loud, rock music as it really should sound more often.

Fill My Gums with Blood seems an excellent choice for a follow-up single, because the melody is very catchy and the general impression is strong. But actually these guys write only good sounding and melodious songs and Lonely as a Shark is again an excellent example. By now, we know how the voices and guitars sound, but the band surprises us halfway with a bite of dangerous noise, followed by undulating guitars, while Trampoline is primarily a vocal tour de force.

Beautiful harmonies and nagging melodic guitars are the secret blend of the musical universe of Gengahr. It would be a surprise if the band could convince fans of Radiohead, because ultimately these North Londoners sound a lot more commercial, but halfway through the pop & rock playground there is certainly enough space for Gengahr.

Tracklist:
1. Dizzy Ghosts
2. She’s A Witch
3. Heroine
4. Bathed In Light
5. Where I Lie
6. Dark Star
7. Embers
8. Powder
9. Fill My Gums With Blood.
10. Lonely As A Shark
11. Trampoline

William LIÉNARD
22/06/2015


NL

Na de debuutsingle Powder (2014) en de opvolger She’s a Witch (voorjaar 2014), lanceert het Noord-Londense kwartet Gengahr z’n eerste album A Dream Outside, waaruit ter promotie de nieuwe single Heroine is gereleased. Van Gengahr wordt heel wat verwacht, want eerder stond de band op het podium met ALT-J, waren ze te gast op Glastenbury en Latitude, en voor 2015 staat een tournee met Maccabees op het programma. Zelf noemen ze het success van Gengahr een gelukkig toeval, maar als we de Britse pers mogen geloven, is Gengahr gewoon the next big thing.

Felix Bushe (vocals/gitaar), Hugh Schulte (bass), John Victor (gitaar) en Danny Ward (drums/vocals) grossieren op A Dream Outside in prachtige vocalen (meervoudige hoge stemmen) en nadrukkelijk gitaarwerk. Het repertoire is melodieus en Dizzy Ghost nestelt zich dan ook probleemloos in je oor. De hoge stemmetjes zijn eveneens van de partij in She’s a Witch, waarvan het catchy refrein je meteen meeneemt op een sprookjesachtige tocht door het Gengahr-universum, opnieuw op de tonen van stevig klinkende gitaren. Heroine drijft op een aantrekkelijk tempo, klinkt harder dan de beide vorige songs en ontvouwt zich als een heftige en tegelijk fragiele rockballade. Breekbare vocalen zijn een hoofdkenmerk van het repertoire van Gengahr en met Bathed in Light leveren ze opnieuw een aantrekkelijke popsong af. Bass en drums spreiden een perfect bedje voor lieflijke en aantrekkelijke gitaren en de veelzijdige zangpartij is zondermeer bloedmooi. Vier op een rij.

In de Britse pers valt af en toe de naam Radiohead in verband met Gengahr en dat hoor je in Where I Lie, een song die rustig wordt ingezet, maar dan geleidelijk aan kracht wint, terwijl Dark Star met z’n lange intro van drums, twinkelende gitaren en kleine stemmetjes, rustig passeert. Embers dobbert op een zenuwachtig drumritme en bloeit later open tot een up-tempo rockballade waarin opnieuw de prachtige vocalen het voortouw nemen en de sologitaar aantrekkelijke versieringen aanbrengt. Halfweg horen we een instrumental van schurende gitaren en noise, maar meteen wordt de melodiciteit hersteld en voeren de jagende vocalen je richting coda. De single Powder kreeg terecht goede recensies in o.a. de NME en The Guardian en haalde de playlist van BBC 6Music en XFM. Het is een perfect in het oor liggende rockballade, zacht en hard, melodisch en dan hoekig en luid, rockmuziek zoals ze eigenlijk vaker zou mogen klinken.

Fill My Gums with Blood lijkt ons een uitstekende keuze voor een ev. volgende single, want de melodie is opnieuw zeer aanstekelijk en de algemene indruk is sterk. Maar eigenlijk schrijven ze bij Gengahr alleen maar goed klinkende en melodieuze liedjes en daarvan is Lonely as a Shark het zoveelste voorbeeld. We weten ondertussen hoe de stemmen en de gitaren klinken, maar hier verrast het gezelschap met een partijtje gevaarlijke noise halfweg, gevolgd door golvende gitaren, terwijl Trampoline vooral een vocal hoogstandje is.

Prachtige harmonieën en melodieus jengelende gitaren vormen de geheime mix van het muzikale universum van Gengahr. Het zou ons verbazen indien de band fans van Radiohead zou kunnen overtuigen, want uiteindelijk klinken deze Noord-Londenaren een flink stuk commerciëler, maar halfweg het pop- & rockspeelveld is er beslist voldoende ruimte voor Gengahr.

William LIÉNARD
22/06/2015


Music reviews

27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure
16
01
SYRENOMILIA
A Rose Shattered
14
01
M73
Tainted
09
01
NEGANT
Schwarz!
08
01
MORE EPHEMEROL
Obituary Templates

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

25
01
Exactly 42 years ago, Joy Division played their very first concert!
24
01
Canadian DJ/Multi-Genre Artist JHNN Reveals New Single And Video 'My Strange Addiction'
24
01
Today, exactly 29 ago years ago Front 242 released the album Tyranny ▶For You◀
24
01
Today, 2 years ago, Mark E. Smith, singer of legendary post-punk band The Fall died, aged 60
23
01
Dirk Da Davo (former The Neon Judgement) and Jean-Marie Aerts (former TC MATIC) announce first joint venture full album!
22
01
On this day, 10 years ago, Nitzer Ebb released their sixth studio album Industrial Complex!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

24
01
TREY GUNN (KING CRIMSON,TU ,SECURITY PROJECT,...)
'I’m trying to set up an experiential thing...'
20
01
AARON TURNER (SUMAC, ISIS, MAMIFFER...)
'It’s like a dialogue between me and what I’m hearing...'
19
01
IAN EVERETT (SOLID BRONZE)
'had a lot of time to sit with these songs...'
17
01
BROOK
I’ve soaked up a lot of musical genres over the years, and I like to think that maybe this is reflected throughout the Brook album.
15
01
ORDO ROSARIUS EQUILIBRIO
I never thought I’d live to see the day when Ordo Rosarius Equilibrio was mentioned next to Current 93 and Death in June.

PHOTOS

26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
19
01
DAGEIST
Dark Winter Festival Liège
19
01
THE ARCH
Dark Winter Festival Liège

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

28
01
DEPECHE MODE
Enjoy The Silence
27
01
GEOMETRIC VISION
Apocalypse Queen
26
01
MASSENHYSTERIE
Weiber regieren die Welt
25
01
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Armored Core
24
01
DE DELVERS
Poolnacht
23
01
GOLDFRAPP
Systemagic
22
01
JOSIE PACE & SAMMI DOLL
Perfect Replacement (Official Music Video)