tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

22/06/2015 : GENGAHR - A Dream Outside

GENGAHR

A Dream Outside

MusicCD
Alternative RockBritpopRock

[80/100]   

PIAS
22/06/2015, William LIÉNARD

EN

After the debut single Powder (2014) and its successor She's a Witch (Spring 2014), the North London quartet Gengahr launches its first album A Dream Outside, from which the new single Heroine is released. Much is expected of Gengahr, because the band was already on stage with ALT-J, performed at Glastenbury and Latitude, and this year a tour is planned with Maccabees. They themselves call the success of Gengahr a happy coincidence, but if we are to believe the British press, then Gengahr is just the next big thing.

On the album A Dream Outside Felix Bushe (vocals/guitar), Hugh Schulte (bass), John Victor (guitar) and Danny Ward (drums/vocals) bring us beautiful vocals (multiple high voices) and emphatic guitar work. The repertoire sounds good and as a result Dizzy Ghost settles smoothly in the ear. The high-pitched voices are equally present in She's a Witch, with a catchy chorus that takes you straight on a magical journey through the Gengahr universe, again to the sound of hearty-sounding guitars. Heroine floats on an attractive rhythm, sounds louder than the two previous songs and unfolds as a violent and at the same time fragile rock ballad. Fragile vocals are a hallmark of the Gengahr repertoire and as a consequence Bathed in Light is again an appealing pop song. Bass and drums spread a perfect crib for sweet and attractive guitars and the versatile vocals are absolutely stunning. Four in a row.

In the British press, Gengahr is often associated with Radiohead and Where I Lie
tells you why: a song which starts quietly, and then gradually gains momentum through the enchanting vocals, while Darkstar, with its long intro of drums, twinkling guitars and little voices, passes quietly, but does not make less impression. Embers floats on a nervous drumbeat and later develops into an up-tempo rock ballad in which again the vocals take the lead and to which the solo guitar adds attractive ornaments. Halfway we hear an instrumental of abrasive guitars and noise, but the eloquence is restored after a short while and the hectic vocals take us in the direction of the coda. The single Powder rightly received great reviews in the NME and The Guardian and was added to the playlist of BBC 6Music and XFM. It is a perfect rock ballad, soft and hard, melodic and then angular and loud, rock music as it really should sound more often.

Fill My Gums with Blood seems an excellent choice for a follow-up single, because the melody is very catchy and the general impression is strong. But actually these guys write only good sounding and melodious songs and Lonely as a Shark is again an excellent example. By now, we know how the voices and guitars sound, but the band surprises us halfway with a bite of dangerous noise, followed by undulating guitars, while Trampoline is primarily a vocal tour de force.

Beautiful harmonies and nagging melodic guitars are the secret blend of the musical universe of Gengahr. It would be a surprise if the band could convince fans of Radiohead, because ultimately these North Londoners sound a lot more commercial, but halfway through the pop & rock playground there is certainly enough space for Gengahr.

Tracklist:
1. Dizzy Ghosts
2. She’s A Witch
3. Heroine
4. Bathed In Light
5. Where I Lie
6. Dark Star
7. Embers
8. Powder
9. Fill My Gums With Blood.
10. Lonely As A Shark
11. Trampoline

William LIÉNARD
22/06/2015


NL

Na de debuutsingle Powder (2014) en de opvolger She’s a Witch (voorjaar 2014), lanceert het Noord-Londense kwartet Gengahr z’n eerste album A Dream Outside, waaruit ter promotie de nieuwe single Heroine is gereleased. Van Gengahr wordt heel wat verwacht, want eerder stond de band op het podium met ALT-J, waren ze te gast op Glastenbury en Latitude, en voor 2015 staat een tournee met Maccabees op het programma. Zelf noemen ze het success van Gengahr een gelukkig toeval, maar als we de Britse pers mogen geloven, is Gengahr gewoon the next big thing.

Felix Bushe (vocals/gitaar), Hugh Schulte (bass), John Victor (gitaar) en Danny Ward (drums/vocals) grossieren op A Dream Outside in prachtige vocalen (meervoudige hoge stemmen) en nadrukkelijk gitaarwerk. Het repertoire is melodieus en Dizzy Ghost nestelt zich dan ook probleemloos in je oor. De hoge stemmetjes zijn eveneens van de partij in She’s a Witch, waarvan het catchy refrein je meteen meeneemt op een sprookjesachtige tocht door het Gengahr-universum, opnieuw op de tonen van stevig klinkende gitaren. Heroine drijft op een aantrekkelijk tempo, klinkt harder dan de beide vorige songs en ontvouwt zich als een heftige en tegelijk fragiele rockballade. Breekbare vocalen zijn een hoofdkenmerk van het repertoire van Gengahr en met Bathed in Light leveren ze opnieuw een aantrekkelijke popsong af. Bass en drums spreiden een perfect bedje voor lieflijke en aantrekkelijke gitaren en de veelzijdige zangpartij is zondermeer bloedmooi. Vier op een rij.

In de Britse pers valt af en toe de naam Radiohead in verband met Gengahr en dat hoor je in Where I Lie, een song die rustig wordt ingezet, maar dan geleidelijk aan kracht wint, terwijl Dark Star met z’n lange intro van drums, twinkelende gitaren en kleine stemmetjes, rustig passeert. Embers dobbert op een zenuwachtig drumritme en bloeit later open tot een up-tempo rockballade waarin opnieuw de prachtige vocalen het voortouw nemen en de sologitaar aantrekkelijke versieringen aanbrengt. Halfweg horen we een instrumental van schurende gitaren en noise, maar meteen wordt de melodiciteit hersteld en voeren de jagende vocalen je richting coda. De single Powder kreeg terecht goede recensies in o.a. de NME en The Guardian en haalde de playlist van BBC 6Music en XFM. Het is een perfect in het oor liggende rockballade, zacht en hard, melodisch en dan hoekig en luid, rockmuziek zoals ze eigenlijk vaker zou mogen klinken.

Fill My Gums with Blood lijkt ons een uitstekende keuze voor een ev. volgende single, want de melodie is opnieuw zeer aanstekelijk en de algemene indruk is sterk. Maar eigenlijk schrijven ze bij Gengahr alleen maar goed klinkende en melodieuze liedjes en daarvan is Lonely as a Shark het zoveelste voorbeeld. We weten ondertussen hoe de stemmen en de gitaren klinken, maar hier verrast het gezelschap met een partijtje gevaarlijke noise halfweg, gevolgd door golvende gitaren, terwijl Trampoline vooral een vocal hoogstandje is.

Prachtige harmonieën en melodieus jengelende gitaren vormen de geheime mix van het muzikale universum van Gengahr. Het zou ons verbazen indien de band fans van Radiohead zou kunnen overtuigen, want uiteindelijk klinken deze Noord-Londenaren een flink stuk commerciëler, maar halfweg het pop- & rockspeelveld is er beslist voldoende ruimte voor Gengahr.

William LIÉNARD
22/06/2015


Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)