tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/06/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland

THE VIEW ELECTRICAL

Roseland

MusicCD
Alternative RockDreampopIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Hummus Records
14/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The debut of this Swiss project sounds mature, with pleasant vocals and lots of different instruments like guitar, synths, strings and voice harmonies. This project includes members of bands like Cortez, Kruger, No Sun in San Francisco and Sonograph. But the music on this album doesn’ t sound like these bands. No metal, mostly we hear alternative rock en indie.

On the whole everything sounds nice and sweet with a little angelsometimes in the form of synth sounds or tendencies to post hardcore, but all mixed as easy listening.

Starter ‘Haunted By A Dream’ sets the tone: semi acoustic guitar, easy singalong chorus and some strings for the atmosphere. Well worked out melodies as well. Nice and organic starter. ‘At All Costs’ starts with some dubstep and electro elements. The acoustic tune contrasts nicely, just like the talking halfway. A lot of diversity during this six minutes song. ‘Life in Every Breath’ is the first single and begins with a nice guitar tune. Later the song burst open with the chorus and for the first time we hear a little anger in the vocals. A very nice song. ‘Treasures’ and ‘A Voice of My Own’ are rather dream pop tracks with beautiful percussion. ‘Roseland’ and ‘We Won’ t Stay’ last both 9 minutes and contain all the elements of this album: fragile, poppy, rocky with some grunt in the choruses. 

You hear two kinds of songs: fragile and more rocking tracks, all worked out well and fascinating to listen to. Especially as there’ s no formula for the song writing: long, simple, short and complex songs. With no doubt a nice pearl to discover.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/06/2015


NL

Het debuut van dit Zwiterse project klinkt volwassen: aangename stem, veel verschillende instrumenten zoals synths, strijkers en meerdere stemharmonieën. Dit project bestaat uit leden van Cortez, Kruger, No Sun In San Francisco en Sonograph. De muziek op is wel helemaal anders dan van eerder genoemde bands. Metal en dergelijke meer vind je hier niet terug. Wel voornamelijk Indie en alternative rock.

Over het algemeen klinkt alles heel aardig en zoet met hier en daar een weerhaakje in de vorm van elektrosounds of een neiging tot post-hardcore. Maar alles is wel zo gemixt dat het vlot beluisterbaar blijft.

Opener ‘Haunted By A Dream’ zet meteen de toon: semi-akoestische gitaar, een vlot meezingrefrein en wat strijkers die de sfeer aanzwengelen. Voorts goed uitgewerkte melodieën. Leuke opener. Waar de opener nog helemaal organisch klinkt, begint ‘At All Costs’ eerder als een dubstepelectrosong. De akoestische gitaarriedel kontrasteert mooi alsook het gepraat hier en daar. Heel veel afwisseling in dit 6 minuten durende liedje. ‘Life in Every Breath’ is de eerste single en begint met een mooi gitaarriedeltje en de song breekt open met het refrein met voor het eerst wat nijdigheid in de zang. Een heel geslaagd nummer. ‘Treasures’ en ‘A voice of My Own’ zijn eerder dreampopsongs voorzien van mooie percussie. ‘Roseland’ en ‘We Won’ t Stay’ duren beide negen minuten en bevatten zowat alle elementen van dit album: breekbaar, poppy, rockend tot zelfs bijna grunt in het refrein.

Je hoort breekbare songs en meer rockende, allemaal mooi uitgewerkt en boeiend om naar te luisteren. Vooral omdat er niet echt een formule qua songschrijven is. Er zijn lang uitgesponnen, variërende alsook korte en eenvoudige nummers te horen. Een pareltje dat het ontdekken waard is!

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/06/2015


 

Next reviews
STEVEN SPIELBERG • Schindler's List
NICK GREY & THE RANDOM ORCHESTRA • Breaker of Ships
SAM TAYLOR-JOHNSON • Fifty Shades Of Grey
SHE PAST AWAY • Narin Yalnizlik
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
HEAD-LESS • A band to discover
MONOCORPSE, FFFC, FOQL • 3 EP's on Gooiland Electro
THE NAMES • Brussels, Novanois 29/05/2015
MARTIN SCORSESE • Who's That Knocking At My Door

 

Other reviews from THE VIEW ELECTRICAL
THE VIEW ELECTRICAL • Roseland

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
G.U.S.T. • Gust of wind
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE BURYING KIND • The Burying Kind ( EP )
THE HEAT INC. • EP
THE DEMON RIND • Lonely This Evening
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE • DIAMONDS
CLASS M PLANETS • Ravenswood
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Salt Water
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS • Live Happily While Waiting For Death
SUNDAECRUSH • A Real Sensation
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark

Music reviews

14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/
14
06
TELESKOP releases new EP on Progress Productions
13
06
Toxikk Deception releases new album through DSBP Records

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete
23
06
EARTHSET
SO WHAT!?
22
06
DIORAMA
ZSA
21
06
MIEL NOIR
L’ennemi
20
06
POESIE NOIRE
Déjà Vu
19
06
SLITHERUM
Godbox Suicide