tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

14/06/2015 : THE VIEW ELECTRICAL - Roseland

THE VIEW ELECTRICAL

Roseland

MusicCD
Alternative RockDreampopIndie Rock

[90/100]   

Hummus Records
14/06/2015, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

The debut of this Swiss project sounds mature, with pleasant vocals and lots of different instruments like guitar, synths, strings and voice harmonies. This project includes members of bands like Cortez, Kruger, No Sun in San Francisco and Sonograph. But the music on this album doesn’ t sound like these bands. No metal, mostly we hear alternative rock en indie.

On the whole everything sounds nice and sweet with a little angelsometimes in the form of synth sounds or tendencies to post hardcore, but all mixed as easy listening.

Starter ‘Haunted By A Dream’ sets the tone: semi acoustic guitar, easy singalong chorus and some strings for the atmosphere. Well worked out melodies as well. Nice and organic starter. ‘At All Costs’ starts with some dubstep and electro elements. The acoustic tune contrasts nicely, just like the talking halfway. A lot of diversity during this six minutes song. ‘Life in Every Breath’ is the first single and begins with a nice guitar tune. Later the song burst open with the chorus and for the first time we hear a little anger in the vocals. A very nice song. ‘Treasures’ and ‘A Voice of My Own’ are rather dream pop tracks with beautiful percussion. ‘Roseland’ and ‘We Won’ t Stay’ last both 9 minutes and contain all the elements of this album: fragile, poppy, rocky with some grunt in the choruses. 

You hear two kinds of songs: fragile and more rocking tracks, all worked out well and fascinating to listen to. Especially as there’ s no formula for the song writing: long, simple, short and complex songs. With no doubt a nice pearl to discover.

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/06/2015


NL

Het debuut van dit Zwiterse project klinkt volwassen: aangename stem, veel verschillende instrumenten zoals synths, strijkers en meerdere stemharmonieën. Dit project bestaat uit leden van Cortez, Kruger, No Sun In San Francisco en Sonograph. De muziek op is wel helemaal anders dan van eerder genoemde bands. Metal en dergelijke meer vind je hier niet terug. Wel voornamelijk Indie en alternative rock.

Over het algemeen klinkt alles heel aardig en zoet met hier en daar een weerhaakje in de vorm van elektrosounds of een neiging tot post-hardcore. Maar alles is wel zo gemixt dat het vlot beluisterbaar blijft.

Opener ‘Haunted By A Dream’ zet meteen de toon: semi-akoestische gitaar, een vlot meezingrefrein en wat strijkers die de sfeer aanzwengelen. Voorts goed uitgewerkte melodieën. Leuke opener. Waar de opener nog helemaal organisch klinkt, begint ‘At All Costs’ eerder als een dubstepelectrosong. De akoestische gitaarriedel kontrasteert mooi alsook het gepraat hier en daar. Heel veel afwisseling in dit 6 minuten durende liedje. ‘Life in Every Breath’ is de eerste single en begint met een mooi gitaarriedeltje en de song breekt open met het refrein met voor het eerst wat nijdigheid in de zang. Een heel geslaagd nummer. ‘Treasures’ en ‘A voice of My Own’ zijn eerder dreampopsongs voorzien van mooie percussie. ‘Roseland’ en ‘We Won’ t Stay’ duren beide negen minuten en bevatten zowat alle elementen van dit album: breekbaar, poppy, rockend tot zelfs bijna grunt in het refrein.

Je hoort breekbare songs en meer rockende, allemaal mooi uitgewerkt en boeiend om naar te luisteren. Vooral omdat er niet echt een formule qua songschrijven is. Er zijn lang uitgesponnen, variërende alsook korte en eenvoudige nummers te horen. Een pareltje dat het ontdekken waard is!

Wim GUILLEMYN
14/06/2015


 

Next reviews
STEVEN SPIELBERG • Schindler's List
NICK GREY & THE RANDOM ORCHESTRA • Breaker of Ships
SAM TAYLOR-JOHNSON • Fifty Shades Of Grey
SHE PAST AWAY • Narin Yalnizlik
• THE NEWSROOM SEASON 3
MARINO GIROLAMI • Zombi Holocaust
HEAD-LESS • A band to discover
MONOCORPSE, FFFC, FOQL • 3 EP's on Gooiland Electro
THE NAMES • Brussels, Novanois 29/05/2015
MARTIN SCORSESE • Who's That Knocking At My Door

 

Other reviews from THE VIEW ELECTRICAL
THE VIEW ELECTRICAL • Roseland

 

Same genre: ALTERNATIVE ROCK
DEF ROBOT • Makers Of Mountains
KIM THOMPSETT • The Hollows
DAVID J • The Auteur (Redux / The Starlet's Cut) Ft. Rose McGowan
KRISTIN HERSH • Crooked (Reissue)
WHERE WE SLEEP • The Desert
MARTY WILSON-PIPER • Hanging Out In Heaven (Reissue)
BEAUTY IN CHAOS • Un-Natural Disaster - ft. dUg Pinnick, Zakk Wylde and Ice-T (Collide Mix)
THE RECEIPTS • The Receipts
FONTAINES D.C • Dogrel
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti

 

Same genre: DREAMPOP
FRAGRANCE • Now That I'm Real
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
FRAGRANCE • Dust & Disorders
14 ICED BEARS • 14 Iced Bears / Wonder
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
NEWMOON • Space
ERIK BLOOD • Lost In Slow Motion
CHELSEY AND THE NOISE • Losing Landscapes EP
QUEEN OF THE MEADOWS • Aligned With Juniper

 

Same genre: INDIE ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
EVI VINE • Black Light White Dark
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
THE EXPLODING BOY • Alarms!
ASTRASONIC • Passengers
PIXIES • Head Carrier
M IS WE • Feels Like Five Days

Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis