tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : LILI GRACE - Lili Grace

LILI GRACE

Lili Grace

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie

[83/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two Flemish women who make mysterious danceable indie pop. With such a description, you think of Dark Poem, right? However, after hearing this EP, you will have Lili Grace from Limburg (Belgium) in mind as well. Not that the sisters Bogaerts are rookies, because in 2012 they were selected for the final of Rock Rally which is the most important rock contest in Belgium. Afterwards, everything got quiet and the two focused on theater productions.

But now there is an EP with Jo Francken, one of the best Belgian top producers nowadays, who already worked with Axelle Red, DAAU and Joost Zwegers.

Before The Storm is an ideal opener, because we immediately hear what Dienne and Nele Bogaerts are capable of. Dark pop embraces intelligent electronics.

The two ladies already shared the stage with Coco Rosie, and once you hear the danceable The Spell, that link becomes apparent. Delicious pop, but dangerous too.

During the impending Mist Of Love, Dienne and Nele get the opportunity to show what they can do with their vocal cords. Impressive!

As is the case with Dark Poem (here we are again!), Do Not Drag Me Down is dominated by tribal drums.

This excellent EP ends with the almost neoclassical (but later danceable) Close. Lili Grace is not a name to remember, but one to discover immediately!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een Vlaams vrouwenduo dat mysterieuze dansbare indiepop maakt. Dan denk je toch aan Dark Poem? Helemaal correct, maar na het beluisteren van deze ep, komt daar ook Lili Grace uit Limburg bij. Nu goed, echte debutanten zijn de zusjes Bogaerts nu ook weer niet, want in 2012 dongen de twee al mee in de Rock Rally, en ze haalden zelfs de finale. Nadien werd alles iets rustiger en legden ze zich meer toe op theaterproducties.

Maar nu is er een ep met Jo Francken, één van de Belgische topproducers die eerder al mooie dingen met Axelle Red, DAAU en Joost Zwegers deed.

Before The Storm is als opener ideaal gekozen, meteen horen we over wat voor een stemmen de zusjes Dienne en Nele Bogaerts beschikken. Donkere pop omarmt eigenzinnige elektronica.

De twee dames stonden ooit al op het podium met Coco Rosie, en eens je het dansbare The Spell hoort, merk je dat. Lekker poppy, maar het klinkt minstens even gevaarlijk.

In het dreigende Mist Of Love krijgen Dienne en Nele volop de kans om te bewijzen wat ze met hun stembanden aankunnen. En geloof ons, dat is heel wat! Net zoals bij Dark Poem (hier zijn we weer!) overheersen de tribale drums op Don’t Drag Me Down.

De knappe ep wordt afgesloten met het bijna neoklassieke (maar op het einde meer dansbare) Close. Neen, Lili Grace is geen naam om te onthouden, wel eentje om onmiddellijk te ontdekken!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + INDIE
GOSPEL • Disasters Running Wild

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)
ANNELIES MONSERE • Debris
EILERA • Face Your Demons
GLOBELAMP • The Orange Glow

 

Same genre: INDIE
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP
WE ARE TEMPORARY • Embers
KASPER HATE • Why Live When You Can Rule
SPARE SNARE • Unicorn
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
TOMY LOBO • Golden Birds
TOMMIGUN • Wooden Son
SKINNY GIRL DIET • Heavyflow
KING CHAMPION SOUNDS • To Awake In That Heaven Of Freedom

Music reviews

17
02
NEON ELECTRONICS
Mondriaan
15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Damned, Damned, Damned - At 42, 42, 42!
18
02
Today, exactly 16 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
Mechanical Man | Remembering Bob Casale - The Devo Legend
15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
02
ADRIANO CANZIAN
Almost Everything That Is Produced Today Makes Me Sick
16
02
THE ARCH
Living healthy can be pretty stressful
16
02
EVI VINE
'..I am a human being taking one step forward-two steps back like everyone else'
15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.

PHOTOS

17
02
KAELAN MIKLA
Magasin 4
17
02
SOME EMBER
Magasin 4
17
02
TURQUOISE
Magasin 4
10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
02
DOWNLOAD
Neuron Proper
18
02
WARHAUS
The Good Lie
17
02
HYBRYDS
I hear you calling
16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)