tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : LILI GRACE - Lili Grace

LILI GRACE

Lili Grace

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie

[83/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two Flemish women who make mysterious danceable indie pop. With such a description, you think of Dark Poem, right? However, after hearing this EP, you will have Lili Grace from Limburg (Belgium) in mind as well. Not that the sisters Bogaerts are rookies, because in 2012 they were selected for the final of Rock Rally which is the most important rock contest in Belgium. Afterwards, everything got quiet and the two focused on theater productions.

But now there is an EP with Jo Francken, one of the best Belgian top producers nowadays, who already worked with Axelle Red, DAAU and Joost Zwegers.

Before The Storm is an ideal opener, because we immediately hear what Dienne and Nele Bogaerts are capable of. Dark pop embraces intelligent electronics.

The two ladies already shared the stage with Coco Rosie, and once you hear the danceable The Spell, that link becomes apparent. Delicious pop, but dangerous too.

During the impending Mist Of Love, Dienne and Nele get the opportunity to show what they can do with their vocal cords. Impressive!

As is the case with Dark Poem (here we are again!), Do Not Drag Me Down is dominated by tribal drums.

This excellent EP ends with the almost neoclassical (but later danceable) Close. Lili Grace is not a name to remember, but one to discover immediately!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een Vlaams vrouwenduo dat mysterieuze dansbare indiepop maakt. Dan denk je toch aan Dark Poem? Helemaal correct, maar na het beluisteren van deze ep, komt daar ook Lili Grace uit Limburg bij. Nu goed, echte debutanten zijn de zusjes Bogaerts nu ook weer niet, want in 2012 dongen de twee al mee in de Rock Rally, en ze haalden zelfs de finale. Nadien werd alles iets rustiger en legden ze zich meer toe op theaterproducties.

Maar nu is er een ep met Jo Francken, één van de Belgische topproducers die eerder al mooie dingen met Axelle Red, DAAU en Joost Zwegers deed.

Before The Storm is als opener ideaal gekozen, meteen horen we over wat voor een stemmen de zusjes Dienne en Nele Bogaerts beschikken. Donkere pop omarmt eigenzinnige elektronica.

De twee dames stonden ooit al op het podium met Coco Rosie, en eens je het dansbare The Spell hoort, merk je dat. Lekker poppy, maar het klinkt minstens even gevaarlijk.

In het dreigende Mist Of Love krijgen Dienne en Nele volop de kans om te bewijzen wat ze met hun stembanden aankunnen. En geloof ons, dat is heel wat! Net zoals bij Dark Poem (hier zijn we weer!) overheersen de tribale drums op Don’t Drag Me Down.

De knappe ep wordt afgesloten met het bijna neoklassieke (maar op het einde meer dansbare) Close. Neen, Lili Grace is geen naam om te onthouden, wel eentje om onmiddellijk te ontdekken!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + INDIE
GOSPEL • Disasters Running Wild

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
10
Exactly 32 years ago Nitzer Ebb released ‘Control I’m Here’
23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

24
10
LACRIMOSA
Die Unbekannte Farbe
23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked