tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : LILI GRACE - Lili Grace

LILI GRACE

Lili Grace

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie

[83/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two Flemish women who make mysterious danceable indie pop. With such a description, you think of Dark Poem, right? However, after hearing this EP, you will have Lili Grace from Limburg (Belgium) in mind as well. Not that the sisters Bogaerts are rookies, because in 2012 they were selected for the final of Rock Rally which is the most important rock contest in Belgium. Afterwards, everything got quiet and the two focused on theater productions.

But now there is an EP with Jo Francken, one of the best Belgian top producers nowadays, who already worked with Axelle Red, DAAU and Joost Zwegers.

Before The Storm is an ideal opener, because we immediately hear what Dienne and Nele Bogaerts are capable of. Dark pop embraces intelligent electronics.

The two ladies already shared the stage with Coco Rosie, and once you hear the danceable The Spell, that link becomes apparent. Delicious pop, but dangerous too.

During the impending Mist Of Love, Dienne and Nele get the opportunity to show what they can do with their vocal cords. Impressive!

As is the case with Dark Poem (here we are again!), Do Not Drag Me Down is dominated by tribal drums.

This excellent EP ends with the almost neoclassical (but later danceable) Close. Lili Grace is not a name to remember, but one to discover immediately!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een Vlaams vrouwenduo dat mysterieuze dansbare indiepop maakt. Dan denk je toch aan Dark Poem? Helemaal correct, maar na het beluisteren van deze ep, komt daar ook Lili Grace uit Limburg bij. Nu goed, echte debutanten zijn de zusjes Bogaerts nu ook weer niet, want in 2012 dongen de twee al mee in de Rock Rally, en ze haalden zelfs de finale. Nadien werd alles iets rustiger en legden ze zich meer toe op theaterproducties.

Maar nu is er een ep met Jo Francken, één van de Belgische topproducers die eerder al mooie dingen met Axelle Red, DAAU en Joost Zwegers deed.

Before The Storm is als opener ideaal gekozen, meteen horen we over wat voor een stemmen de zusjes Dienne en Nele Bogaerts beschikken. Donkere pop omarmt eigenzinnige elektronica.

De twee dames stonden ooit al op het podium met Coco Rosie, en eens je het dansbare The Spell hoort, merk je dat. Lekker poppy, maar het klinkt minstens even gevaarlijk.

In het dreigende Mist Of Love krijgen Dienne en Nele volop de kans om te bewijzen wat ze met hun stembanden aankunnen. En geloof ons, dat is heel wat! Net zoals bij Dark Poem (hier zijn we weer!) overheersen de tribale drums op Don’t Drag Me Down.

De knappe ep wordt afgesloten met het bijna neoklassieke (maar op het einde meer dansbare) Close. Neen, Lili Grace is geen naam om te onthouden, wel eentje om onmiddellijk te ontdekken!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + INDIE
GOSPEL • Disasters Running Wild

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
LISA GERRARD & JULES MAXWELL • Burn
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • Witches' Lullaby
ANTHONY JONES • Farewell To Flesh
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding

Music reviews

12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue
22
04
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Inner Journeys Through The Living Temples Of Water
20
04
HYDROM LINE
Hydrom Line Edition 2021
19
04
HOCICO
HyperViolent
15
04
DIRK DA DAVO
The Unreal

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

19
05
44 of The Man-Machine!
15
05
On this day, 32 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
13
05
Today it’s exactly 25 years ago Nine Inch Nails released their The Perfect Drug (Versions) EP!
12
05
Witchy Goth Rock Band Metamorph Traverses Darkness With New Single 'Dream Curve'
11
05
Today it’s been 35 years since NITZER EBB released their legendary debut album That Total Age!
08
05
42 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!

Concert reviews

13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

16
05
THE MULTICOLOURED SHADES
Backyard Club Recklinghausen,Germany
15
05
RED ZEBRA
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
ULTRA SUNN
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
15
05
PARTIKUL
This is not a dark fest. Lessines
28
04
FAUN
Christuskirche Bochum
24
04
CLAN OF XYMOX
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

18
05
ZARDONIC
Pure Power
17
05
DOPE
Blood Money
16
05
THE LUST SYNDICATE
Death moves towards us
15
05
EINSTÜRZENDE NEUBAUTEN
Yü-Gung (Fütter Mein Ego) - (Live Rockpalast 1990)
14
05
KATATONIA
Old Heart Falls
13
05
EVI VINE
Welcome The Dreamled Masses
12
05
RABIA SORDA
Deaf