tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd (ep) review

09/12/2016 : LILI GRACE - Lili Grace

LILI GRACE

Lili Grace

MusicCD (EP)
ElectronicsEthereal / Heavenly VoicesIndie

[83/100]   

Self-released
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Two Flemish women who make mysterious danceable indie pop. With such a description, you think of Dark Poem, right? However, after hearing this EP, you will have Lili Grace from Limburg (Belgium) in mind as well. Not that the sisters Bogaerts are rookies, because in 2012 they were selected for the final of Rock Rally which is the most important rock contest in Belgium. Afterwards, everything got quiet and the two focused on theater productions.

But now there is an EP with Jo Francken, one of the best Belgian top producers nowadays, who already worked with Axelle Red, DAAU and Joost Zwegers.

Before The Storm is an ideal opener, because we immediately hear what Dienne and Nele Bogaerts are capable of. Dark pop embraces intelligent electronics.

The two ladies already shared the stage with Coco Rosie, and once you hear the danceable The Spell, that link becomes apparent. Delicious pop, but dangerous too.

During the impending Mist Of Love, Dienne and Nele get the opportunity to show what they can do with their vocal cords. Impressive!

As is the case with Dark Poem (here we are again!), Do Not Drag Me Down is dominated by tribal drums.

This excellent EP ends with the almost neoclassical (but later danceable) Close. Lili Grace is not a name to remember, but one to discover immediately!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Een Vlaams vrouwenduo dat mysterieuze dansbare indiepop maakt. Dan denk je toch aan Dark Poem? Helemaal correct, maar na het beluisteren van deze ep, komt daar ook Lili Grace uit Limburg bij. Nu goed, echte debutanten zijn de zusjes Bogaerts nu ook weer niet, want in 2012 dongen de twee al mee in de Rock Rally, en ze haalden zelfs de finale. Nadien werd alles iets rustiger en legden ze zich meer toe op theaterproducties.

Maar nu is er een ep met Jo Francken, één van de Belgische topproducers die eerder al mooie dingen met Axelle Red, DAAU en Joost Zwegers deed.

Before The Storm is als opener ideaal gekozen, meteen horen we over wat voor een stemmen de zusjes Dienne en Nele Bogaerts beschikken. Donkere pop omarmt eigenzinnige elektronica.

De twee dames stonden ooit al op het podium met Coco Rosie, en eens je het dansbare The Spell hoort, merk je dat. Lekker poppy, maar het klinkt minstens even gevaarlijk.

In het dreigende Mist Of Love krijgen Dienne en Nele volop de kans om te bewijzen wat ze met hun stembanden aankunnen. En geloof ons, dat is heel wat! Net zoals bij Dark Poem (hier zijn we weer!) overheersen de tribale drums op Don’t Drag Me Down.

De knappe ep wordt afgesloten met het bijna neoklassieke (maar op het einde meer dansbare) Close. Neen, Lili Grace is geen naam om te onthouden, wel eentje om onmiddellijk te ontdekken!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


 

Next reviews
HERMAN NITSCH • (Brussels, Begijnenkerk, 28/02/2016)
WOLVENNEST • Wolvennest Featuring Der Blutharsch And The Infinite Church Of The Leading Hand
10CC • Leuven, Het Depot (28/02/16)
LION SHEPHERD • Hiraeth
RECORDERS • Coast To Coast
LUCA SIGURTA • Warm Glow
CRANIAL • Dead Ends
DEUX FILLES • Space & Time
LACRIMOSA + CANTERRA • Roeselare, Kerelsplein (27/02/16)
NOISEDELIK • Don't Play With Fate

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES + INDIE
GOSPEL • Disasters Running Wild

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha

 

Same genre: ETHEREAL / HEAVENLY VOICES
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE • Music for certain rituals
AIMAPROJECT • Di AimA Il Segno
AIMA • Haiku Irregolari In Forma Di Musica
DAEMONIA NYMPHE • PSYCHOSTASIA
HEILUNG • Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
PAULINA CASSIDY • Drawing Up A Storm
ANDERS MANGA • Perfectly Stranger
AUTUMN • The Fall
BLACK NEEDLE NOISE • Lost In Reflections
KID KOALA • Music To Draw To (Satellite)

 

Same genre: INDIE
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus

Music reviews

05
07
JAYE JAYLE
PRISYN
03
07
PORTION CONTROL
Head Buried
02
07
AIMA & THE ILLUSION OF SILENCE
Music for certain rituals
28
06
VARIOUS ARTISTS
PERIHELION 2134
24
06
COLD IN MAY
Isolation songs
19
06
UNITCODE:MACHINE
Paper empires

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
07
Darkwave Artist DISSONANCE Announces New Maxi-Single 'Precipice;' A Lament Of Personal Struggle
07
07
Darkwave Band STYKFAKTOR Reveals New Single, 'Distance' - An Emotional Struggle With Social Distancing
07
07
FRONT 242's Daniel B. celebrate his 66th birthday with the release of 6+6
04
07
Industrial Band RIOTLEGION Announces The Release Of Machine Liberation
03
07
I Wanted To Tell Her by Ministry turns 37 years this month!
15
06
Today it’s exactly 41 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
07
J.ROBBINS
'When someone has a song and they’re struggling about - what’s the best way to present it...'
04
07
LAIBACH
When they banned Laibach, we said 'great, let's move further'!
27
06
BURTON C.BELL (FEAR FACTORY, ASCENSION OF THE WATCHERS )
'It all comes from my head – whatever I’m feeling, whatever I’m thinking of.'
27
06
RODNEY ORPHEUS / THE CASSANDRA COMPLEX
I Think I’m Still As Revolutionary And Opinionated As Ever...
25
06
THE COLOURS OF SILENCE
Isolation Is Good For Art. Embrace It And Use It

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
07
XUP
CUT YOU OPEN
09
07
FAR
Epicaricacy
08
07
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO & DAVID SYLVIAN
Life, Life
07
07
KDF
Innocence
06
07
SNOG
Spätzle Machine
06
07
THE HORRORIST
The Horrorist - One Night In New York City (Uncensored)(Chris Liebing Remix)
05
07
GOLDFRAPP
Winter Wonderland