tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/11/2015 : AM TIERPARK - Uncaged

AM TIERPARK

Uncaged

MusicCD
ElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Distortion Productions
03/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A funny, but strange name, you think? Well, that happens when you walk at the zoo in Berlin and think about synthpop. It happened to John Mirland and Claus Larsen. When the two were in the German capital to play with Leaether Strip and Holm/Mirland at the K-17, they decided to take a walk at the famous animal park. While the musicians were gazing at the animals, they noted that they had a passion for synthpop with good melodies in common. Well, who has not? The two became friends, and five months later the first album Uncaged is a fact.

Do not be fooled by the cover that makes you think that you have the latest Nitzer Ebb in your hands, because this is synthpop in all its glory. Of course, everyone knows Claus Larsen as Leaether Strip, but once you've heard Am Tierpark, you will notice that there is also a hidden Simon Le Bon living inside the man.

The fifteen tracks that you find here all sound like familiar friends that you know for a long time. You play the tracks twice and they are stuck in your head and it looks like if they were already in your singles collection among Talk Talk and Alphaville or other goodies for years. The dark (but very melodic) synths by Mirland has a delicious 80's sound, while the duo never forgets the essence of a good pop song: it has to have an immortal melody.

Sometimes there’s a slight EBM sound on this album like in The First Stone, but Uncaged is primarily delicious synthpop of the highest level. If charts still would exist and if people still would have as good a taste as in the 80s, than you certainly could pick ten hit singles from Uncaged. Absolutely recommended for synth pop (or just pop) fanatics!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


NL

Een leuke, maar toch wat vreemde naam, denk je? Nou ja, dat gebeurt nu eenmaal als je in de zoo van Berlijn loopt te mijmeren over synthpop. Het overkwam John Mirland en Claus Larsen. Toen de twee in de Duitse hoofdstad waren om met Leaether Strip en Holm/Mirland in de K-17 te spelen, namen ze een kijkje in het dierenpark. Terwijl de muzikanten naar de dieren stonden te gapen, merkten ze dat zij een passie voor synthpop met goede melodieën gemeen hadden. Tja, wie heeft dat niet? De twee werden vrienden, en vijf maanden later is de eerste plaat Uncaged een feit.

Laat je niet misleiden door de hoes die je doet vermoeden dat je de nieuwste Nitzer Ebb in handen hebt, want dit is synthpop in al zijn glorie. Iedereen kent Claus Larsen natuurlijk van zijn werk als Leaether Strip-frontman, maar eens je Am Tierpark hebt gehoord, merk je dat er tevens een verborgen Simon Le Bon in de man leeft.

De vijftien tracks die je hierop aantreft klinken allemaal als vertrouwde vrienden die je al heel lang kent. Je draait de nummers twee keer en ze zitten vast in je hoofd en het lijkt alsof de nummers reeds jarenlang in je singlesbak tussen Talk Talk of Alphaville zitten. De donkere (maar uiterst melodische) synths van Mirland klinken heerlijk 80s, en het duo slaat nooit de essentie van een goed popnummer in de wind: het moet een onsterfelijke melodie hebben.

Soms weerklinkt wel eens een EBM-geluidje zoals in The First Stone, maar Uncaged is in de eerste plaats heerlijke synthpop van het allerhoogste niveau. Mocht er vandaag nog een hitparade bestaan en mochten de mensen nog een even goede smaak hebben zoals in de jaren 80, dan kon je uit Uncaged gegarandeerd tien hitsingles releasen. Absoluut verplicht luistervoer voor synthpop- (of gewoon pop-) fanaten!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape
14
05
'Locating Silver Lake' out on DVD today!

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode
09
05
ANDY GILL (GANG OF FOUR)
'You never expect Gang of Four to be very optimistic.Do you ?'

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap
11
06
SHE PAST AWAY
Katarsis