tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/11/2015 : AM TIERPARK - Uncaged

AM TIERPARK

Uncaged

MusicCD
ElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Distortion Productions
03/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A funny, but strange name, you think? Well, that happens when you walk at the zoo in Berlin and think about synthpop. It happened to John Mirland and Claus Larsen. When the two were in the German capital to play with Leaether Strip and Holm/Mirland at the K-17, they decided to take a walk at the famous animal park. While the musicians were gazing at the animals, they noted that they had a passion for synthpop with good melodies in common. Well, who has not? The two became friends, and five months later the first album Uncaged is a fact.

Do not be fooled by the cover that makes you think that you have the latest Nitzer Ebb in your hands, because this is synthpop in all its glory. Of course, everyone knows Claus Larsen as Leaether Strip, but once you've heard Am Tierpark, you will notice that there is also a hidden Simon Le Bon living inside the man.

The fifteen tracks that you find here all sound like familiar friends that you know for a long time. You play the tracks twice and they are stuck in your head and it looks like if they were already in your singles collection among Talk Talk and Alphaville or other goodies for years. The dark (but very melodic) synths by Mirland has a delicious 80's sound, while the duo never forgets the essence of a good pop song: it has to have an immortal melody.

Sometimes there’s a slight EBM sound on this album like in The First Stone, but Uncaged is primarily delicious synthpop of the highest level. If charts still would exist and if people still would have as good a taste as in the 80s, than you certainly could pick ten hit singles from Uncaged. Absolutely recommended for synth pop (or just pop) fanatics!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


NL

Een leuke, maar toch wat vreemde naam, denk je? Nou ja, dat gebeurt nu eenmaal als je in de zoo van Berlijn loopt te mijmeren over synthpop. Het overkwam John Mirland en Claus Larsen. Toen de twee in de Duitse hoofdstad waren om met Leaether Strip en Holm/Mirland in de K-17 te spelen, namen ze een kijkje in het dierenpark. Terwijl de muzikanten naar de dieren stonden te gapen, merkten ze dat zij een passie voor synthpop met goede melodieën gemeen hadden. Tja, wie heeft dat niet? De twee werden vrienden, en vijf maanden later is de eerste plaat Uncaged een feit.

Laat je niet misleiden door de hoes die je doet vermoeden dat je de nieuwste Nitzer Ebb in handen hebt, want dit is synthpop in al zijn glorie. Iedereen kent Claus Larsen natuurlijk van zijn werk als Leaether Strip-frontman, maar eens je Am Tierpark hebt gehoord, merk je dat er tevens een verborgen Simon Le Bon in de man leeft.

De vijftien tracks die je hierop aantreft klinken allemaal als vertrouwde vrienden die je al heel lang kent. Je draait de nummers twee keer en ze zitten vast in je hoofd en het lijkt alsof de nummers reeds jarenlang in je singlesbak tussen Talk Talk of Alphaville zitten. De donkere (maar uiterst melodische) synths van Mirland klinken heerlijk 80s, en het duo slaat nooit de essentie van een goed popnummer in de wind: het moet een onsterfelijke melodie hebben.

Soms weerklinkt wel eens een EBM-geluidje zoals in The First Stone, maar Uncaged is in de eerste plaats heerlijke synthpop van het allerhoogste niveau. Mocht er vandaag nog een hitparade bestaan en mochten de mensen nog een even goede smaak hebben zoals in de jaren 80, dan kon je uit Uncaged gegarandeerd tien hitsingles releasen. Absoluut verplicht luistervoer voor synthpop- (of gewoon pop-) fanaten!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


Music reviews

03
09
SHERAPHIM SYSTEM
Phoenix
02
09
CAWATANA
In The Silver Light (7')
01
09
MIKE SOPKO, BILL LASWELL, TYSHAWN SOREY
On Common Ground
31
08
TUKT
Tukt
26
08
EMERGENCY SEQUENCE
Sharpening The Axe
21
08
STRUGGLER
Wilma (Determinated Protector)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 28 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
08
09
SUICIDE COMMANDO release a complete 'Dein herz, meine gier' lyric video for the release of the limited club single CD 'Dein herz, meine gier / Bunkerb!tc!
04
09
39 years ago, Soft Cell's version of ‘Tainted Love’ reached the number one position in the British hit parade!
28
08
43 years ago Iggy Pop released Lust for Life (29th August 1977)
12
08
kaRIN FROM COLLIDE AND SHIKHEE FROM ANDROID LUST RELEASE NEW SINGLE ''ARE YOU LISTENING?''
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

19
09
MORTAR DEVOTIONS
Dystopia Is Just Around The Corner And Orwell Warned Us Already In 1948
16
09
MAT OSMAN (SUEDE)
'I’m always writing short stories...'
15
09
ERASURE
'Music certainly gives us hope' - Erasure talk about their new album 'The Neon'
14
09
WATA (BORIS)
'I will always feel like a rookie...'
12
09
DAWN OF ASHES
‘Covid-19 Is A Gateway To Show Us The True Colors Of The Human Race

PHOTOS

20
09
STAR-INDUSTRY
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DEER DEAR
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LARVA
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
LIZARD SMILE
Liège New Wave Festival
20
09
DELERITAS
Liège New Wave Festival
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau
20
08
JUSTIN SULLIVAN & GASTONE
Kreisverwaltung Groß-Gerau

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
09
ANNA VON HAUSSWOLFF
The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra
22
09
BLACK LINE
Snap
21
09
ALPHAMAY
Silence Emotion
20
09
FREISPIELEREI
Fish Muss Schwimmen, Gell
19
09
TRUE ZEBRA
Connection is addiction
19
09
NO!ON
6
18
09
NEOCOMA
Like An Angel