tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/11/2015 : AM TIERPARK - Uncaged

AM TIERPARK

Uncaged

MusicCD
ElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Distortion Productions
03/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A funny, but strange name, you think? Well, that happens when you walk at the zoo in Berlin and think about synthpop. It happened to John Mirland and Claus Larsen. When the two were in the German capital to play with Leaether Strip and Holm/Mirland at the K-17, they decided to take a walk at the famous animal park. While the musicians were gazing at the animals, they noted that they had a passion for synthpop with good melodies in common. Well, who has not? The two became friends, and five months later the first album Uncaged is a fact.

Do not be fooled by the cover that makes you think that you have the latest Nitzer Ebb in your hands, because this is synthpop in all its glory. Of course, everyone knows Claus Larsen as Leaether Strip, but once you've heard Am Tierpark, you will notice that there is also a hidden Simon Le Bon living inside the man.

The fifteen tracks that you find here all sound like familiar friends that you know for a long time. You play the tracks twice and they are stuck in your head and it looks like if they were already in your singles collection among Talk Talk and Alphaville or other goodies for years. The dark (but very melodic) synths by Mirland has a delicious 80's sound, while the duo never forgets the essence of a good pop song: it has to have an immortal melody.

Sometimes there’s a slight EBM sound on this album like in The First Stone, but Uncaged is primarily delicious synthpop of the highest level. If charts still would exist and if people still would have as good a taste as in the 80s, than you certainly could pick ten hit singles from Uncaged. Absolutely recommended for synth pop (or just pop) fanatics!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


NL

Een leuke, maar toch wat vreemde naam, denk je? Nou ja, dat gebeurt nu eenmaal als je in de zoo van Berlijn loopt te mijmeren over synthpop. Het overkwam John Mirland en Claus Larsen. Toen de twee in de Duitse hoofdstad waren om met Leaether Strip en Holm/Mirland in de K-17 te spelen, namen ze een kijkje in het dierenpark. Terwijl de muzikanten naar de dieren stonden te gapen, merkten ze dat zij een passie voor synthpop met goede melodieën gemeen hadden. Tja, wie heeft dat niet? De twee werden vrienden, en vijf maanden later is de eerste plaat Uncaged een feit.

Laat je niet misleiden door de hoes die je doet vermoeden dat je de nieuwste Nitzer Ebb in handen hebt, want dit is synthpop in al zijn glorie. Iedereen kent Claus Larsen natuurlijk van zijn werk als Leaether Strip-frontman, maar eens je Am Tierpark hebt gehoord, merk je dat er tevens een verborgen Simon Le Bon in de man leeft.

De vijftien tracks die je hierop aantreft klinken allemaal als vertrouwde vrienden die je al heel lang kent. Je draait de nummers twee keer en ze zitten vast in je hoofd en het lijkt alsof de nummers reeds jarenlang in je singlesbak tussen Talk Talk of Alphaville zitten. De donkere (maar uiterst melodische) synths van Mirland klinken heerlijk 80s, en het duo slaat nooit de essentie van een goed popnummer in de wind: het moet een onsterfelijke melodie hebben.

Soms weerklinkt wel eens een EBM-geluidje zoals in The First Stone, maar Uncaged is in de eerste plaats heerlijke synthpop van het allerhoogste niveau. Mocht er vandaag nog een hitparade bestaan en mochten de mensen nog een even goede smaak hebben zoals in de jaren 80, dan kon je uit Uncaged gegarandeerd tien hitsingles releasen. Absoluut verplicht luistervoer voor synthpop- (of gewoon pop-) fanaten!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


Music reviews

03
05
BOYTRONIC
The Robot Treatment
02
05
ARMAGEDDON DILDOS
Heut Nacht
01
05
BLUTENGEL + HOCICO
Obscured
30
04
STRIKKLAND
Predatorial Right
29
04
THIRD REALM
The Art of Despair
28
04
THE BIRTHDAY MASSACRE
DIAMONDS

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

24
05
46 years Of Diamond Dogs!
23
05
34 years of 'Let Your Body Learn!'
22
05
39 years Spellbound!
21
05
Electro / EBM pioneers PORTION CONTROL strike hard with new album 'Head Buried'!
20
05
40 years ALAN VEGA · MARTIN REV or THE SECOND SUICIDE ALBUM!
19
05
42 years of The Man-Machine!

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
05
JOSH KLINGHOFFER (PLURALONE,RHCP)
“I suddenly found the piano the most exciting instrument to write on.”
19
05
THE HERESY GENE
'The More We Do It, The More Important It Feels.'
01
05
AUTUMN TEARS
An Interview With Autumn Tears
30
04
EMPUSAE
One thing is for sure... I'll never stop making music!
30
04
DAVID GEDGE (THE WEDDING PRESENT)
'I do like to make the song as personal as possible!'

PHOTOS

13
03
SIGLO XX
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
ROME
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ROSE OF AVALANCHE
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE DANSE SOCIETY
Porta Nigra Aarschot
13
03
THE ARCH
Porta Nigra Aarschot
11
03
FRONT 242
Pulse Namur Isnes
11
03
SHAARGHOT
Pulse Namur Isnes

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

25
05
POISON POINT
Imaginary Veil
24
05
GRAUZONE
Eisbaer
23
05
SCHONWALD
Fury
22
05
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE
Awake
21
05
SIOUXSIE & THE BANSHEES
Happy House
20
05
ELEFANT
Mumbo Jumbo
19
05
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
ICOLATE