tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/11/2015 : AM TIERPARK - Uncaged

AM TIERPARK

Uncaged

MusicCD
ElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Distortion Productions
03/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A funny, but strange name, you think? Well, that happens when you walk at the zoo in Berlin and think about synthpop. It happened to John Mirland and Claus Larsen. When the two were in the German capital to play with Leaether Strip and Holm/Mirland at the K-17, they decided to take a walk at the famous animal park. While the musicians were gazing at the animals, they noted that they had a passion for synthpop with good melodies in common. Well, who has not? The two became friends, and five months later the first album Uncaged is a fact.

Do not be fooled by the cover that makes you think that you have the latest Nitzer Ebb in your hands, because this is synthpop in all its glory. Of course, everyone knows Claus Larsen as Leaether Strip, but once you've heard Am Tierpark, you will notice that there is also a hidden Simon Le Bon living inside the man.

The fifteen tracks that you find here all sound like familiar friends that you know for a long time. You play the tracks twice and they are stuck in your head and it looks like if they were already in your singles collection among Talk Talk and Alphaville or other goodies for years. The dark (but very melodic) synths by Mirland has a delicious 80's sound, while the duo never forgets the essence of a good pop song: it has to have an immortal melody.

Sometimes there’s a slight EBM sound on this album like in The First Stone, but Uncaged is primarily delicious synthpop of the highest level. If charts still would exist and if people still would have as good a taste as in the 80s, than you certainly could pick ten hit singles from Uncaged. Absolutely recommended for synth pop (or just pop) fanatics!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


NL

Een leuke, maar toch wat vreemde naam, denk je? Nou ja, dat gebeurt nu eenmaal als je in de zoo van Berlijn loopt te mijmeren over synthpop. Het overkwam John Mirland en Claus Larsen. Toen de twee in de Duitse hoofdstad waren om met Leaether Strip en Holm/Mirland in de K-17 te spelen, namen ze een kijkje in het dierenpark. Terwijl de muzikanten naar de dieren stonden te gapen, merkten ze dat zij een passie voor synthpop met goede melodieën gemeen hadden. Tja, wie heeft dat niet? De twee werden vrienden, en vijf maanden later is de eerste plaat Uncaged een feit.

Laat je niet misleiden door de hoes die je doet vermoeden dat je de nieuwste Nitzer Ebb in handen hebt, want dit is synthpop in al zijn glorie. Iedereen kent Claus Larsen natuurlijk van zijn werk als Leaether Strip-frontman, maar eens je Am Tierpark hebt gehoord, merk je dat er tevens een verborgen Simon Le Bon in de man leeft.

De vijftien tracks die je hierop aantreft klinken allemaal als vertrouwde vrienden die je al heel lang kent. Je draait de nummers twee keer en ze zitten vast in je hoofd en het lijkt alsof de nummers reeds jarenlang in je singlesbak tussen Talk Talk of Alphaville zitten. De donkere (maar uiterst melodische) synths van Mirland klinken heerlijk 80s, en het duo slaat nooit de essentie van een goed popnummer in de wind: het moet een onsterfelijke melodie hebben.

Soms weerklinkt wel eens een EBM-geluidje zoals in The First Stone, maar Uncaged is in de eerste plaats heerlijke synthpop van het allerhoogste niveau. Mocht er vandaag nog een hitparade bestaan en mochten de mensen nog een even goede smaak hebben zoals in de jaren 80, dan kon je uit Uncaged gegarandeerd tien hitsingles releasen. Absoluut verplicht luistervoer voor synthpop- (of gewoon pop-) fanaten!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


Music reviews

18
06
ASTRASONIC
Passengers
15
06
NEGANT
No !
13
06
VOGON POETRY
Life, The Universe and Everything
24
05
HA:PEOPLE 355
One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
15
05
FERAL BODY
Chain Ritual
14
05
ORNAMENTI D'ORO
Mater Tenebrarum

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Ryan Murphy’s new show POSE is a trip back to the 1980s - glamorous and electrifying!
17
06
'The Boys In The Band' - A modern and inspiring story with long-standing roots!
10
06
Shakespeare meets Hollywood: 'A Midsummer Night's Dream' reloaded!
02
06
International premiere of 'Locating Silver Lake' at Edinburgh Film Fest this month!
28
05
Peter Murphy & David J celebrate 40 years of Bauhaus at W-Fest!
28
05
British alternative rock outfit, Shriekback, will release new album ‘Why Anything? Why This?’ on 25th May!

Concert reviews

24
05
LES NÉGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018
14
03
DER KLINKE - STORY OFF
De Kelk, Brugge - 9 maart 2018
12
03
DISTORTED RETROSPECT
Distorted Retrospect - 6th March 2018 - Charlottesville, VA (USA)
11
03
ERASURE
Erasure “World Be Gone” 2018 tour: Guildford performance at G Live on 20 February, UK

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

23
06
DISTRICT 13
Many have a “life in chains”, each for themselves.[...] Many would like to be free, but they are trapped.
21
06
DANIEL B / PROTHESE
‘I Don’t Want To Be Confined In A Genre That Creates Expectations And Borders’
15
06
THE LIVELONG JUNE
OUR AIM WAS TO PRODUCE SOMETHING THAT SOUNDED LIKE NOTHING ELSE THAT WE LISTENED TO
04
06
LEAETHER STRIP
‘MY BIGGEST HERO IS ALAN WILDER’
31
05
PARADOX OBSCUR
EVERY NEW ALBUM IS GETTING CLOSER TO THE FUTURE…

PHOTOS

22
06
HEILUNG
Graspop, Dessel
22
06
GHOST
Graspop, Dessel
19
06
ONRUST
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
TRAUM'ER LEBEN
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
ANEMONE TUBE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
DEAD MAN'S HILL
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium
19
06
URZON FEAT. ORRYELLE
Trouwfe(e)st #2, JH Wommel, Wommelgem, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
06
GOETHES ERBEN
Lazarus
22
06
THE EDITORS
Papillon
21
06
KONTRAVOID
Silent Visions
20
06
RED LORRY YELLOW LORRY
Talk About The Weather
19
06
THE SOUND
Winning
18
06
DIE ANTWOORD
I FINK U FREEKY
17
06
JUNO REACTOR
Let's Turn On