tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

03/11/2015 : AM TIERPARK - Uncaged

AM TIERPARK

Uncaged

MusicCD
ElectronicsSynth Pop / Electro Pop

[84/100]   

Distortion Productions
03/11/2015, Didier BECU

EN

A funny, but strange name, you think? Well, that happens when you walk at the zoo in Berlin and think about synthpop. It happened to John Mirland and Claus Larsen. When the two were in the German capital to play with Leaether Strip and Holm/Mirland at the K-17, they decided to take a walk at the famous animal park. While the musicians were gazing at the animals, they noted that they had a passion for synthpop with good melodies in common. Well, who has not? The two became friends, and five months later the first album Uncaged is a fact.

Do not be fooled by the cover that makes you think that you have the latest Nitzer Ebb in your hands, because this is synthpop in all its glory. Of course, everyone knows Claus Larsen as Leaether Strip, but once you've heard Am Tierpark, you will notice that there is also a hidden Simon Le Bon living inside the man.

The fifteen tracks that you find here all sound like familiar friends that you know for a long time. You play the tracks twice and they are stuck in your head and it looks like if they were already in your singles collection among Talk Talk and Alphaville or other goodies for years. The dark (but very melodic) synths by Mirland has a delicious 80's sound, while the duo never forgets the essence of a good pop song: it has to have an immortal melody.

Sometimes there’s a slight EBM sound on this album like in The First Stone, but Uncaged is primarily delicious synthpop of the highest level. If charts still would exist and if people still would have as good a taste as in the 80s, than you certainly could pick ten hit singles from Uncaged. Absolutely recommended for synth pop (or just pop) fanatics!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


NL

Een leuke, maar toch wat vreemde naam, denk je? Nou ja, dat gebeurt nu eenmaal als je in de zoo van Berlijn loopt te mijmeren over synthpop. Het overkwam John Mirland en Claus Larsen. Toen de twee in de Duitse hoofdstad waren om met Leaether Strip en Holm/Mirland in de K-17 te spelen, namen ze een kijkje in het dierenpark. Terwijl de muzikanten naar de dieren stonden te gapen, merkten ze dat zij een passie voor synthpop met goede melodieën gemeen hadden. Tja, wie heeft dat niet? De twee werden vrienden, en vijf maanden later is de eerste plaat Uncaged een feit.

Laat je niet misleiden door de hoes die je doet vermoeden dat je de nieuwste Nitzer Ebb in handen hebt, want dit is synthpop in al zijn glorie. Iedereen kent Claus Larsen natuurlijk van zijn werk als Leaether Strip-frontman, maar eens je Am Tierpark hebt gehoord, merk je dat er tevens een verborgen Simon Le Bon in de man leeft.

De vijftien tracks die je hierop aantreft klinken allemaal als vertrouwde vrienden die je al heel lang kent. Je draait de nummers twee keer en ze zitten vast in je hoofd en het lijkt alsof de nummers reeds jarenlang in je singlesbak tussen Talk Talk of Alphaville zitten. De donkere (maar uiterst melodische) synths van Mirland klinken heerlijk 80s, en het duo slaat nooit de essentie van een goed popnummer in de wind: het moet een onsterfelijke melodie hebben.

Soms weerklinkt wel eens een EBM-geluidje zoals in The First Stone, maar Uncaged is in de eerste plaats heerlijke synthpop van het allerhoogste niveau. Mocht er vandaag nog een hitparade bestaan en mochten de mensen nog een even goede smaak hebben zoals in de jaren 80, dan kon je uit Uncaged gegarandeerd tien hitsingles releasen. Absoluut verplicht luistervoer voor synthpop- (of gewoon pop-) fanaten!

Didier BECU
03/11/2015


Music reviews

10
01
THE MARS MODEL
Primal Urge
10
01
ELM
Penetrator
09
01
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Fear
09
01
DE DELVERS
Hart in neonlicht
20
12
TC75
5th
19
12
THE GODFATHERS
ALPHA BETA GAMMA DELTA (2022)

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
02
Johnathan|Christian Addresses Rejection & Resilience With New EP
07
02
Gimme Danger | The Stooges Raw Power Is 50-Today!
06
02
On this day, 41 years ago, the Kraftwerk single ‘The Model’ reached the Top 1 of the UK Singles Chart!
05
02
Plastic Passion | This Day 43 Years Ago, The Cure Release Boys Don’t Cry!
05
02
33 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Lightningman
04
02
Gold Star Punk | The Ramones End Of The Century At 43!

Concert reviews

02
11
AKALOTZ - DREADFOOL - DELERITAS - WULF7
EBM NIGHT IN LIEGE...
05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

22
12
DERISION CULT
An Interview With Dave McAnally of Derision Cult
16
12
OK LION
I didn't convince Patrick Codenys to work with us, it was his idea!
30
11
THE JUGGERNAUTS
Let’s leave the love dramas and (fake) feel good theme to pop music and the brain dead Tik-Tok generation.
28
11
MONSTERGOD
With their most recent release “Ozymandias” Monstergod prove that dark sounds and poetry may go hand in hand to reach the effect that is both mesmerizing and dynamic in the most excellent hard-hitting way.
29
10
PSY'AVIAH
Wanting to have everything under control is problematic, as is wanting to have nothing under control.

PHOTOS

05
02
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Matrix Bochum
05
02
JAN REVOLUTION
Matrix Bochum
30
01
THE RESIDENTS
Botanique Brussel
23
01
NITZER EBB JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
FRONT 242 JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
23
01
LIEBKNECHT JOIN THE FORCES TOUR 23
Turbinenhalle Oberhausen
01
01
NNHMN
In Between Days Meschede Stadthalle

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
02
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
06
02
FRONTMASCHINE
EXP9
05
02
AFFET ROBOT
Fırtına
04
02
DEPECHE MODE
Never Let Me Down again
03
02
SCHULTZ
Rats In The Sewers
02
02
NACHTFALTER
Maschinenklang
01
02
THE KLINIK
Face To Face