tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this album classics review

09/12/2016 : BLONDIE - Parallel Lines

BLONDIE

Parallel Lines

MusicAlbum Classics
PopPunk

[90/100]   

EMI
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Blondie? Yes, Blondie is fantastic! Or can you think of one band with such as front woman as Debbie Harry? The blonde knew very well what she was doing. Because of her irresistible looks, she starred on posters in countless bedrooms of boys who like to keep the light on after ten o’ clock, and Debbie was at least as punk as say Patti Smith.

We chose Parallel Lines from 1978 for you. Partly for the legendary cover, but also because this third album was a turning point in the career of this American rock band. After Plastic Letters from 1978 that featured the monster hit Denis, Blondie was no longer the punk band from New York, but a hit machine. Parallel Lines was the (difficult) third LP, which was produced by Mike Chapman who invented commercial glam rock pop. Not that this was so obvious, because if you believe the tabloids than Blondie was, according to Chapman, the most unprofessional band he ever worked with. It was the confrontation of a hit producer and a group that came from the punk era, and that is probably why bassist Nigel Harrison threw an expensive synth on the floor when he had enough of Chapmans perfectionism.

Hanging On The Telephone was the perfect opener, the perfect balance between catchy punk and new wave. A timeless sing-along that sums up the ingenuity of Blondie in one song. The influence of producer Mike Chapman is clear on One Way Or Another. Debbie Harry retained her angry voice, but the raw new wave sound that producer Richard Gottehrer invented, disappeared on the third Blondie album. The band was still great, but it was a record that for the charts. However, if you don’t count Union City Blue, then you find the most beautiful song Blondie ever made: Picture This.

Fade Away And Radiate is one of those songs no one knows, even though almost every music fan has Parallel Lines in his collection. It is perhaps the most experimental song Blondie ever recorded.

Pretty Baby is Blondie pur sang : sexy with a lot of hit potential. On Will Anything Happen? Debbie reminds us that she was a punk star in the first place. Blondie was a band that perfectly understood how to compose the perfect three minutes pop song. Just listen to Sunday Girl...

And then there’s Heart Of Glass in which Debbie flirts with disco sounds for the first time. The result is phenomenal. You've heard it a thousand times in your life, but it remains equally contagious. Once I had a love and it was a gas. Try to beat that!

Parallel Lines is a perfect pop album, and what a cover!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Blondie? Ja, Blondie is gewoon fantastisch! Of kan je zelf ook maar één band bedenken die een frontvrouw als Debbie Harry had? De blondine wist natuurlijk maar al te goed hoe ze het (mannelijke) publiek moest bespelen. Door haar onweerstaanbare looks hing ze dan ook op posters in talloze slaapkamers van jongens die na tien uur het licht nog aan hadden, en tegelijkertijd was Debbie minstens even punk als pakweg Patti Smith.

Wij kozen Parallel Lines uit 1978 voor je uit. Deels voor de legendarische hoes, maar ook omdat deze derde plaat een scharnier was in de carrière van deze Amerikaanse rockband. Na Plastic Letters uit 1978, waarop de monsterhit Denis stond, was Blondie niet langer de punkband uit New York, maar een hitmachine waar zeer veel geld mee te verdienen viel. Parallel Lines was de (moeilijke) derde lp die werd geproduceerd door Mike Chapman, zeg maar, de uitvinder van de brave glamrockpop. Niet dat dat zo vanzelfsprekend was, want als je de roddelbladen mag geloven dan was Blondie volgens Chapman zowat de meest onprofessionele groep waarmee hij ooit samenwerkte. Het was uiteindelijk niet meer dan de onvermijdelijke confrontatie van een hitproducer en een groep die uit het punkmilieu komt, en dat was waarschijnlijk ook de reden waarom bassist Nigel Harrison een peperdure synthesizer op de grond kegelde toen hij genoeg had van Chapmans perfectionisme.

Hanging On The Telephone was de ideale opener, het perfecte evenwicht tussen brave punk en hitgevoelige new wave. Een tijdloze meezinger die het vernuft van Blondie in één song samenvat. De invloed van producer Mike Chapman was meteen duidelijk op One Way Or Another. Debbie Harry behield wel haar nijdige stem, maar de rauwe newwavesound waarvoor producer Richard Gottehrer toch grotendeels verantwoordelijk was, verdween bijna volledig op de derde plaat van Blondie. De band was nog steeds groot, maar het was een plaat die rekening hield met de hitparade. Alhoewel, als je Union City Blue niet meerekent, dan vind je op Parallel Lines de allermooiste Blondie-song die er is: Picture This.

Fade Away And Radiate is één van die Blondie-songs die geen mens kent (ook al heeft bijna iedere muziekfan Parallel Lines in zijn collectie zitten). Het is misschien de meest experimentele song die de groep ooit opnam. Pretty Baby is Blondie pur sang: sexy en hitgevoelig. Op Will Anything Happen? herinnert Debbie ons eraan dat zij in de eerste plaats een punkster was. Blondie was een band die perfect begreep hoe je in 3 minuten de perfecte popsong componeert. Dat kan je ook van Sunday Girl zeggen...

Maar de track bij uitstek is natuurlijk Heart Of Glass, waarin Debbie voor het eerst in haar carrière met discoklanken flirt. Het resultaat is dan ook fenomenaal, je hebt de song al meer dan duizend keer in je leven gehoord, toch blijft hij altijd even aanstekelijk. Once I had a love and it was a gas. Probeer dit maar eens te overtreffen!

Parallel Lines is een perfecte popplaat, die hoes alleen al!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

01
09
A SLICE OF LIFE
Restless
31
08
DICEPEOPLE
One From Many
30
08
VARIOUS
ALCATRAZ METAL FESTIVAL 2018 10-12th August, Kortrijk, Belgium
28
08
LEAETHER STRIP
World Molæster
27
08
EUROPEAN GHOST
Collections Of Shadows
09
08
RAT SCABIES
Rat Scabies - P.H.D.

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

22
09
Today it’s been exactly 26 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Today: Russian dark-electro over Brussels!
16
09
Diane Grace releases first of three videos, 'Wedding', taken from their new EP 'Pan!c'!
15
09
Dead High Wire release their debut single ‘Pray For Us’!
14
09
HOLYGRAM as support for VNV NATION - NOIR TOUR
04
09
Two new DAFT RECORDS releases upcoming!

Concert reviews

14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018
24
05
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live at De Casino, Sint-Niklaas - Belgium - 05.05.2018
19
04
SCORPIONS
Live at Vorst Nationaal - Belgium - 04.04.2018
19
03
FEVER RAY
Live @ AB - Brussels - 15.03.2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

06
09
STRONG PRODUCT, 0KONTROL
What RUSSIAN EBM and ATOMWAVE are all about
04
09
SOPHYA
Luckily The Human Being Is Bored Easily And Vinyl Saved The Day
01
09
DEAD ASTROPILOTS
There Is Also Something Related To Decay That We Love With Vinyl Records
11
08
MICK HARVEY
Interview with Mick Harvey (The Boys Next Door, The Birthday Party, Crime & the City Solution, Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds, PJ Harvey)
07
08
RAT SCABIES (EX THE DAMNED)
'I never planned to make a solo record... It was something I was doing for fun.'

PHOTOS

20
09
PERSEPHONE
Théâtre Mercelis Brussels
23
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
SHE PAST AWAY
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
ASH CODE
W-Fest Amougies
23
08
DAGEIST
W-Fest Amougies
22
08
KIM WILDE
W-Fest Amougies

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

22
09
UNZUCHT
Neuntöter
21
09
CASPIAN
Rioseco
20
09
LOVELESSLUT
AntiYouth
19
09
ERIC13
Devil's Highway
18
09
THE NAMES
Nightshift
17
09
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi
16
09
SCHWEFELGELB
Bis zum Nächsten Tag