tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : DAGHRAVEN - #1

DAGHRAVEN

#1

MusicCD
Dark Ambient

[85/100]   

ConSouling Sounds
09/12/2016, John R. MIRLAND

EN

Belgian Daghraven is - at least to me - a newcomer on the dark ambient scene featuring Kevin Imbrechts of the neoclassical orchester Illuminine. Interestingly the dark ambient scene seems to grow bigger each day with a growing number of labels and releases from all over the world.

The album #1 comes through as “classic” dark ambient. Drones, manipulated samples, noise, subsonic rumbling - it’s all there. But what’s especially good about it is that it works as a musical composition. The album moves forward like chapters in a book. Some parts stand out as stronger than others (De Admiral Heeft Geschoten, De Tand Des Tijds) but all parts are relevant as parts of the bigger picture.

Time to time the Daghraven debut album doesn’t seem really dark, evil or brooding even if the press release calls it creepy. It may be the Illuminine background that shines through with a lighter sound.The #1 album stands out as nuanced in the details which may be due to the samples chosen and sounds that remind of broken nursery rhymes (De Tand Des Tijds) and distant fairgrounds. Strangely parts of this album made me think of The KLF Chill Out (a definite must in any collection) had that album been minor instead of major. Listen to Gedane Zaken Nemen Geen Keer which is proto-dark ambient and still in the distance the fairground is yet to close.

There’s something massively creepy about the contrastingTen Dans in Tranendal. With it’s broken piano it is the one track without massive drones but sounding like the last piano playing on the last day. On Op de Laatste Rij, Daar Zwijgt Ge Niet the piano is still playing but more fragmented and farther away drowning in the background noises.

Album closer Ten Halve Gekeerd, Ten Hele Gedwaald is a 13 minutes long drone that keeps evolving and fluctuating into dissolvement until there’s nothing left.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


NL

De Belgische Daghraven is (althans voor mij toch) een nieuwkomer in de dar ambientscène en wordt gevormd door Kevin Imbrechts van de neoklassieke band Illuminine. Best interessant, want de darkambientscène lijkt alsmaar te groeien, met iedere dag nieuwe labels en talrijke releases van over de hele wereld.

Het album # 1 is "klassieke" dark ambient. Drones, gemanipuleerde samples, noise, subsonische klanken - het is er allemaal. Maar er is vooral goed over nagedacht, en het is net daardoor dat deze muzikale compositie zo goed werkt. Het album is net een boek met verschillende hoofdstukken. Sommige delen zijn wel wat sterker dan andere (De admiraal Heeft Geschoten, De Tand des tijds), maar eigenlijk moet je de onderdelen als één groot geheel zien.

Van tijd tot tijd lijkt het debuutalbum van Daghraven donker, er zit iets kwaadaardigs in, het persbericht noemt het zelfs griezelig. Het is wellicht Illuminine die hier doorschijnt. # 1 onderscheidt zich door zijn details zoals bijv. de gekozen samples en geluiden die soms doen denken aan kinderliedjes (De Tand Des Tijds) en kermissen. Sommige delen van dit album doen me zelfs gewoon denken aan Chill Out van The KLF (een absolute must in iedere collectie). Luister naar Gedane Zaken Nemen Geen Keer dat proto-dark ambient is.

Ten Dans in Tranendal heeft iets macabers. Met zijn gebroken piano is dit het enige nummer zonder die massieve drones, maar het klinkt wel alsof het de laatste dag is waarop men piano speelt. Die piano hoor je in Op de Laatste Rij, Daar Zwijgt Ge Niet nog steeds, maar meer gefragmenteerd en langzaam verdrinkend in de achtergrondgeluiden.

Het album sluit af met Ten Halve Gekeerd, Ten Hele Gedwaald, een 13 minuten lange drone die blijft evolueren tot er niets meer overblijft.

John R. MIRLAND
09/12/2016


Music reviews

14
06
CABINET OF MILLIONAIRES
Theresa, Vol.3 Ep
13
06
DEF ROBOT
Makers Of Mountains
04
06
THIS CAN HURT
Worlds Apart
03
06
RADERKRAFT
Smart Control
02
06
MASSIVE EGO
Church For The Malfunctioned
01
06
VUKOVAR
Cremator

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
06
Dependent Records Announces The Release of German Electronic/Industrial Act FIX8 SED8's WARNING SIGNS
15
06
Today it’s exactly 40 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
03
06
Today, 41 years ago, Joy Division self-released their very first 7' EP, An Ideal For Living!
29
05
UK's Electronic-Pop Band EMPATHY TEST Announce The Release of EMPTY-HANDED EP
16
05
45 years of Diamond Dogs (David Bowie)
15
05
On this day, 29 years ago, British post-punk band Wire released their 7th studio album Manscape

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
06
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO
'I feel connected to other people because they understand the result of my thoughts.'
15
06
KENNEY JONES
'There's always an element of doubt in anything you do'
23
05
JAKE BURNS (STIFF LITTLE FINGERS)
'We were writing a songs about our own rights'
22
05
TREHA SEKTORI
‘I Have A Feeling Of Constant Dissatisfaction, So I'll Get Back To Work To Make It Better’
10
05
APSURDE
No Matter What We Do, We Will Always Sound Like Depeche Mode

PHOTOS

16
06
WAPPENBUND
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
16
06
PANTSER FABRIEK
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
RIOTMILOO
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
ASHTORETH
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
FOR GREATER GOOD
Trouwfe(e)st #3, Wommelgem
12
06
AGONOIZE
Agra, WGT Leipzig
12
06
VELVET ACID CHRIST
Agra, WGT Leipzig

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
06
EVI VINE
Porcelain
17
06
LEVITIKA
Zombie Barbie
16
06
WHITE ZOMBIE
More Human Than Human
15
06
KARIN PARK
Hurricane
14
06
AUSTRA
I Love You More Than You Love Yourself
13
06
FACTICE FACTORY
L'Aurore
12
06
SOWULU
Ginnungagap