tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

09/12/2016 : ECHO BEATTY - Nonetheless

ECHO BEATTY

Nonetheless

MusicCD
Dark PopIndie

[88/100]   

Waste My Records
09/12/2016, Didier BECU

EN

Love at first sight exists, especially when Annelies Van Dinter stands behind the microphone. When I saw her five years ago in an almost empty venue, I knew that I was watching a great talent. Years later, a lot of music fans have embraced her. Even though the music of Annelies and Jochem Baeluis is not really difficult, it always has a mysterious atmosphere. Some hear David Lynch, and even though you can link all mysterious music to Twin Peaks, the second album Nonetheless could be an ideal soundtrack for the cult series. In every song Annelies takes you to a strange world, and you really won’t know what is happening.

Echo Beatty has been in the underground scene for a long time, but this definitely will change after Nonetheless. Not that Echo Beatty is more commercial now, it’s just a record that screams for attention, simply because of its quality. Nine songs and although they all bathe in the same darkness, they sound different one by one. Minimal pop that is focusing on Annelies' voice and an extraordinary atmosphere that sucks you in the unique universe of Echo Beatty.

In Ravel Ravel Annelies shows her inner soul; this masterful song could be in the repertoire of Nico and PJ Harvey. Indeed two legends we compare this Antwerp duo with, but that is how Echo Beatty sounds. Is it fear or hope, no one really knows. The fact is that Annelies sounds as a female Nick Cave in Soldier On Furlough. The accompanying instruments are frightening, it's music that wants to tell you something, musical notes which will penetrate your mind.

Just when you think Echo Beatty can’t be any darker, Spastic Dancers begins. It's almost a shame that we make comparisons all the time, but this sounds like an unreleased track of Horses by Patti Smith. Again sublime! Knots is minimal singersongwriter pop with a lot of attention to the background noises, headphones are almost required!

Where do we go from here?, she wonders in Circles/Over The Plains. We do not know. All we know is that the pop noir (as Annelies and Jochem Baelus call the music) makes the hairs on our arms stand up. This is music that crawls under your skin. Poison.

In Hunger Hunger, the guitars knock you down. Although the song is radio friendly, we descend again in the inner depths of Annelies’ soul. Sealskin closes one of the most beautiful albums of the year. Echo Beatty is magic, finding another word is impossible.

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


NL

Liefde op het eerste gezicht bestaat, zeker als Annelies Van Dinter achter de microfoon staat. Toen ik haar een vijftal jaar geleden in een bijna lege Kinky Star aan het werk zag, wist ik dat naar een groot talent stond te kijken. Jaren later zijn ,heel wat muziekfans op de knieën gegaan voor haar aparte, vaak donkere stem die soms angstig, en (ook al is het zelden) hoopvol klinkt. Ook al zijn de composities van Annelies en Jochem Baeluis niet echt moeilijk, zweeft er altijd een mysterieuze wolk boven. Sommigen horen er zelfs David Lynch in, en ook al kan je eigenlijke zowat alle geheimzinnige muziek aan Twin Peaks linken, zou het tweede album Nonetheless een ideale soundtrack voor de cultserie kunnen zijn. In iedere song neemt Annelies je mee naar een vreemde wereld, zonder dat je echt beseft wat er aan de hand is.

Echo Beatty was lange tijd een band die je alleen maar in de undergroundscène aantrof, maar daar zal na Nonetheless beslist verandering in komen. Niet dat Echo Beatty plots commercieel klinkt, maar gewoon omdat het een plaat is die om aandacht schreeuwt, en dit wegens de kwaliteit.

Je vindt er negen liedjes op, en hoewel ze allemaal in dezelfde duisternis baden, klinken ze toch één voor één verschillend. Minimalistische pop waarin de nadruk op Annelies’ stem ligt, en een aparte atmosfeer die je volledig meezuigt in het aparte universum van Echo Beatty.

In Ravel Ravel legt Annelies meteen haar ziel bloot; deze magistrale song zou zo uit het repertoire van Nico en PJ Harvey kunnen komen. Het zijn inderdaad twee ferme namen waarmee we dit Antwerpse duo vergelijken, maar zo klinkt Echo Beatty nu eenmaal. Is het angst of hoop, wie zal het zeggen in deze tijden. Feit is dat Annelies zich in Soldier On Furlough in deze song als een vrouwelijke Nick Cave ontpopt. De begeleidende instrumenten klinken angstaanjagend. Het is muziek die je iets wil vertellen, muzikale noten die in je geest willen dringen. Het is grootse magie van een frêle vrouw met ontzettend veel talent.

Net op het moment dat je denkt dat Echo Beatty niet donkerder kan, wordt Spastic Dancers ingezet. Het is bijna een schande dat we steeds maar vergelijkingen maken, maar hier dwaalt werkelijk de geest van Patti Smith van Horses rond. Opnieuw groots dus. Knots is minimalistische singersongwriterpop, let vooral op de achtergrondgeluiden, bijna wordt een hoofdtelefoon hier verplicht!

Where do we go from here?, vraagt Annelies zich af in In Circles/Over The Plains. We weten het niet. Wel zorgt de noir pop (zoals Annelies en Jochem Baelus hun muziek zelf omschrijven) ervoor dat de haren op onze arm rechtstaan. Dit is muziek die onder je huid kruipt.

In Hunger Hunger slaan de gitaren je murw. Alhoewel de song radiovriendelijk is, dalen we wederom af in het diepste van Annelies’ ziel.

Sealskin is de afsluiter van één van de prachtigste platen van het jaar. Echo Beatty is pure magie, andere woorden vinden we niet meteen!

Didier BECU
09/12/2016


Music reviews

06
02
HARRY CLOUD
The Pig And The Machine
03
02
MISERIA ULTIMA
Graygarden
01
02
MONO INC.
The Book Of Fire
30
01
THE MARS MODEL
FrancoBelga
27
01
6TH CROWD
Самозванцы (Samozvantsiy)
18
01
RINGFINGER
Pressure

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

18
02
Today, exactly 17 years ago, American Industrial Metal band Ministry released Animositisomina!
17
02
On this day, 6 years ago, DEVO guitarist Bob Casale (61) died.
15
02
LEPROUS – Launch drum playthrough video for “The Sky Is Red”
15
02
This February, it's 33 AGO Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
Today, exactly 41 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
09
02
German Electronic/Synthpop Act SEA OF SIN Presents Their Single & Video Release For 'YOU'

Concert reviews

31
12
EUFORIC EXISTENCE, ZYNIK 14, WULF7, DELERITAS, CAUSENATION
EBM is still alive (part 1) - Club 52, Eernegem
25
11
SUPER DRAGON PUNCH !! + AMBASSADOR 21 + SUICIDE COMMANDO
MAGASIN 4, NOV 8TH 2019, BRUSSELS (BELGIUM)
21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

17
02
H.R. (THE BAD BRAINS)
'I always wanted to play reggae!'
11
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN)
'Putting a krautrock band together I always wanted this fearlessness.' (Interview Part 2)
10
02
NICKY GARRATT (UK SUBS, HEDERSLEBEN): PART II
'In punk, I found the vehicle for skepticism.' (Interview Part 1)
07
02
DOUGLAS P. (DEATH IN JUNE)
'Words/lyrics are continuously coming to me, everywhere and anywhere...'
02
02
CHRIS CUTLER (HENRY COW)
'We all shared a common concern with extending the vocabulary of rock...'

PHOTOS

12
02
MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
12
02
SAINT AGNES SUPPORT MONSTERMAGNET
FZW Dortmund,Germany
26
01
FIX8:SED8
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
GRAUSAME TOCHTER
Oefenbunker Landgraaf
26
01
LAPIS EXILIS
Oefenbuker Landgraaf
25
01
ASHBURY HEIGHTS
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany
25
01
MASSIVE EGO
Rockpalast Matrix Bochum Germany

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

26
02
ART OF EMPHATHY
Where Souls Shine Brightest
26
02
OUTPOST 11
Action
25
02
MARILYN MANSON
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This)
24
02
ESPLENDOR GEOMETRICO
Trybuna Robotnicza I
23
02
DAVID BOWIE
No Plan
22
02
EIGTH WONDER
I'm Not Scared
21
02
PETER BRODERICK
Up Niek Mountain