tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/10/2014 : RODDY FRAME - Seven Dials

RODDY FRAME

Seven Dials

MusicCD
Dark PopIndieSinger Songwriter

[90/100]   

AED Records
07/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Frame's first album in eight years heralds something of a new era, both for the musician on the record and the label releasing the product. Honest Joes AED Records have been dishing out wholesome music by relative unknowns since 2011, save for co-founder Edwyn Collins' luminescent catalogue and occasional stalwart Vic Godard's Caught in Midstream 7" last year. Thus it seems fitting that friends Roddy Frame and Mr Collins have become (in)directly reacquainted again, just like the glory days of Postcard Records in the early '80s.

And just like those heady days of 'young Scotland', the years have been reeled in as though Frame was 19 again - we're talking majestic, here.

Seven Dials was recorded at the label's West Heath Studios and features the Aztec Camera-man fronting a small collective of able musicians and a clutch of truly lovely songs. To say that Seven Dials overshadows his previous album Western Skies is an understatement - it positively romps past the winning post. The unassuming opener White Pony canters past in a typically resonant slow-tempo style with Frame's expressive voice showing no sign of wavering in these later years. And then comes a stream of obvious and immediate would-be singles - there's an element of swoon-some West Coast about Postcard and I don't mean Ayrshire or Pembroke - we're talking Californian all the way.

Brighter days rear their heads in Into The Sun, as does a ridiculously catchy chorus and a subtle change of song direction that only Frame seems capable of these days. Rear View Mirror is perhaps one of the album's dark horses, bathed in a golden glow of Bossa, bass and brush-work, soaked in a lyrical sunset of seemingly unrequited desires.

For Forty Days of Rain, Frame's donned his pop clogs again for an altogether more singalong tune, headed up by hearty harmonica and that jingle-jangle voodoo that he does so well. On The Waves achieves similar uptempo results with a jaunty mid-tempo trademark we've heard many times before across Aztec Camera's catalogue. But the slower ballads win through just as well, particularly on the searching The Other Side, the album's centrepiece (albeit the second-to-last song). Think Killermont Street - it's that good.

No duff tracks, just earnest songwriting from the man whose career has taken a turn for the better lately - his recent renaissance began with 30th anniversary shows for his debut-album High Land Hard Rain and looks set to continue with a set to rival that, as well as North Star, Frestonia and some of Surf. I don't give 10 stars lightly.

If you're quick, you can cop a bonus CD of tracks recorded live in 2007 at the Buxton Opera House by ordering the album from AED Records - there's a rare recording of tricky-to-find b-side The Sea Is Wide as well as more familiar Surf-era classics, Reasons For Living and Western Skies. Tasty.

 

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
07/10/2014

http://www.aedrecords.com/

 

Next reviews
ZIGURI • Ziguri
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
MARK LANEGAN BAND • Phantom Radio
BOB GOLDTHWAIT • God Bless America
R. ELLIS FRAZIER • Misfire
LEONARD COHEN • Popular problems
JEREMY SAULNIER • Blue Ruin
GARY SHORE • CINEMA: Dracula Untold
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
MATTHIAS TERRY, CECILIA VERHEYDEN, JOHAN VAN SCHAEREN • De Brand van Leuven/The Sack of Leuven

 

Same combination of genres: DARK POP + INDIE + SINGER SONGWRITER
TOM THE LION • Sleep
ASTRID WILLIAMSON • Pulse

 

Same genre: DARK POP
DD SANCHEZ • StRaNgE
THIS ETERNAL DECAY • Silence
THIRD REALM • The Art of Despair
AMY STUDT • Happiest Girl in The Universe
VARIOUS ARTISTS • DARKSIDE OF THE CON III
DEZ MONA • Book Of Many
BLUTENGEL • Black
GLAARE • To Deaf and Day
PSYCHE • Youth Of Tomorrow (12'')
BLUTENGEL • Leitbild

 

Same genre: INDIE
SJOBLOM • Tape
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
THIS CAN HURT • Worlds Apart
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
L7 • Scatter The Rats
VUKOVAR • Cremator
TINY FIGHTER • Tell Me
DRAGON WELDING • Dragon Welding
ERNEST MOON • Ba-Jesus
THE REACTION • The World Cup Of Lies EP

 

Same genre: SINGER SONGWRITER
LEIF VOLLEBEKK • Twin Solitude
CANNAERTS & VAN CUTSEM • Mechelen, Theater M/Moonbeat (08/10/2016) CD-presentation
SUZANNE VEGA • Borgerhout, De Roma (06/10/2016)
LIEN SCHOETERS • Rijmenam, Rijmrock (20/08/2016)
EZRA FURMAN • Big Fugitive Life
PETER NORDBERG • Om Man Inte Är Här
THE ANCHORESS + FIONA BRICE • London, Bush Hall (15/06/2016)
LEYLA MCCALLA • A Day for the Hunter, A Day for the Prey
CHRIS COHEN • As If Apart
EYEMER • Temporarily Colourblind

Music reviews

13
10
COMBICHRIST
Compliance
05
10
SONNY VINCENT
Shake Pit Therapy
04
10
MERCYFUL HEAVENS
For Now
08
09
DEZ MONA & B.O.X
LUCY
02
09
SJOBLOM
Tape
01
09
JIHAD
Retrospekt

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

23
10
41 of Subhuman and Adrenalin!
21
10
The Ignition Of Irish Punk | 44 years ago, Radiators From Space released their debut album 'TV Tube Heart'
09
10
Baby Turns Blue and 39 today!
06
10
Electro-Pop Artist EVA X Drops New Video 'Machine'
30
09
Amy Koppelman's novel adaption 'A Mouthful Of Air' coming to theaters October 29th!
29
09
Canadian Industrial Act DI AUGER Takes Raw Anger To Government Tyranny with 'Piss & Vinegar'

Concert reviews

21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

04
10
HANTE
I broke away from the pressure you have as an artist to appeal to a certain type of audience, to create dance floor hits.
30
09
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Dimitri from Wool-E Discs had learned that I was part of a band in the 80s and asked me to listen.
29
09
UNITCODE:MACHINE
An Interview With unitcode:machine
07
09
CYBORG AMOK
An Interview With Post-Punk / Gothic Duo, CYBORG AMOK
04
08
THE IMAGINARY SUITCASE
For most of my life, I have behaved the way I thought they wanted me to behave. And this is a scam.

PHOTOS

23
10
FRONT 242
Depot Leuven
23
10
RADICAL G
Depot Leuven
03
10
THE ULTIMATE DREAMERS
Cali Club Drogenbos
03
10
PARTIKUL
Cali Club Drogenbos
27
09
SCHILLER
Strandkorb Openair Bochum Kemnader See
25
09
LEBANON HANOVER
Les Nuits Botanique
25
09
SELOFAN
Les Nuits Botanique

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

23
10
ZANIAS
Follow the Body
22
10
AFTER ABSENCE
Collide
21
10
SCHULTZ
I hate You
20
10
HAPAX
Hands (Official Video)
19
10
PRECIOUS CHILD
Hollow
18
10
LIGHT ASYLUM
Skull Fucked
17
10
SELOFAN
Sto Skotadi