tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

07/10/2014 : ZIGURI - Ziguri

ZIGURI

Ziguri

MusicCD
KrautrockPsychedelic

[70/100]   

Bureau B
07/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

Ziguri is a Mexican name derived from the hallucinogenic Peyote cactus which is as apt a name as you could get, considering the music on offer - there may have been some narcotics involved in the making of this album (allegedly). Messrs Kölsch, Schickert and Erdenreich have all at some point, collectively or solo, stamped their credentials all over the German psychedelic scene during the past thirty years or so - Ziguri is the result of a resumption of band status in 2011. Still, it's still something of a surprise to learn that this five-track album is indeed their debut. It's only taken 27 years or so, after all.

Opening piece General Klickman certainly bears all the hallmarks of Krautrock masters Can, with its insistent motorik rhythm and hollered stuttered vocals, a formula repeated on the albums whirling dervish of a closer, Goa Constrictor (see what they did there?). So what happens in-between? A fair bit - Massa is the rather more spacey inclusion here, vaguely reminiscent of Steve Hillage or Ozric Tentacles, while YoYoDyne is a brooding rock workout that reminds me of The Pixies for some strange reason. Perhaps it's the part-spoken vocals and the oblique lyrics that do it.

Bella Hopp is a pulsating mantra of sorts and takes the whole Ziguri exercise to a new level with a celebratory and almost religious experience that builds organically without the need for too much studio trickery en route.

Schneider TM, alias Dirk Dresselhaus, is your producer and the whole album clocks in at under forty minutes, some of which has previously been aired at recent shows supporting Damo Suzuki

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
07/10/2014


 

Next reviews
THE FALL • Creative Distortion
MARK LANEGAN BAND • Phantom Radio
BOB GOLDTHWAIT • God Bless America
R. ELLIS FRAZIER • Misfire
LEONARD COHEN • Popular problems
JEREMY SAULNIER • Blue Ruin
GARY SHORE • CINEMA: Dracula Untold
SAIGON BLUE RAIN, SOROR DOLOROSA AND THE BREATH OF LIFE • Fantastic.Night XLIII, TAG, Brussels, Belgium, 4/10/2014
MATTHIAS TERRY, CECILIA VERHEYDEN, JOHAN VAN SCHAEREN • De Brand van Leuven/The Sack of Leuven
NINA PERSSON • Animal Heart

 

Same combination of genres: KRAUTROCK + PSYCHEDELIC
DER BLUTHARSCH AND THE INFINITE CHURCH OF THE LEADING HAND • Joyride
THE LEGENDARY PINK DOTS • The Crushed Velvet Apocalypse

 

Same genre: KRAUTROCK
MOTOR!K • Motor!k
VARIOUS ARTISTS • A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION
CRIMEN • Silent Animals
EXPLODED VIEW • Exploded View
CAMERA • Phantom Of Liberty
JASTREB • Orient And Occident
NOTHING BUT NOISE VS PROTHESE • Music For Muted TV 2
ONE UNIQUE SIGNAL • Hoopsnake
THE LOVED DRONES • Good Luck Universe:
INWOLVES • Involves

 

Same genre: PSYCHEDELIC
CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX • Ellengæng
THE MEMBRANES • What Nature Gives… Nature Takes Away
ORPHAN GOGGLES/ ACID MOTHERS TEMPLE & THE MELTING PARAISO U.F.O • Split Single
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
FOLK DEVILS • Beautiful Monsters
THE TEMPEST • 5 Against The House
TRUE WIDOW • Avvolgere
ROBBING MILLIONS • Robbing Millions
MAIDAVALE • Tales of the Wicked West

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation