tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

02/10/2014 : SIMPLE MINDS - Big Music

SIMPLE MINDS

Big Music

MusicCD
New wavePopRock

[70/100]   

Self-released
02/10/2014, Paul PLEDGER

As a teenager, a new Simple Minds album became something of an event every two years or so. But when Jim Kerr's charges gradually sailed away on an ocean of irksome stadium-rock and faux-folkisms at the end of the '80s, I jumped ship along with many other fans I knew at the time. It is telling, therefore, that for this, their 17th studio-album, the newest incarnation of the Minds has opted to appropriate elements of their earlier career, rather than attempt to recreate another Belfast Child. Having Mel Gaynor and Charlie Burchill on board has certainly helped to galvanize the band's core in 2014.

Big Music certainly is big. Plenty of huge drums (though not as heavy as Up On The Catwalk or Speed Your Love To Me), oodles of guitar riffs and waves of synths converge to make this collection a damned sight more palatable than their late '90s and early '00s output. While nowhere near as magical as Empires and Dance, New Gold Dream or Sparkle In The Rain, Big Music can be summarised as a 'return to form'.

Blindfolded has already been doing the rounds as a video-teaser - as a song it's an uplifting hopeful sort of anthem but nowhere near as bold a statement as the title-track which really should have kicked things off with its thumping unashamedly rock chops. Also reminiscent of a bygone age are Let The Day Begin, a sort of nu-rave take on Waterfront, and Concrete and Cherry Blossom which kicks off with the same syndrum as King Is White (from New Gold Dream), before evolving into a typical Kerr singalong - this'll become a firm fan favourite on their 2015 shows.

In all honesty, very little of Big Music is unlikeable. OK, lyrics are as mythical and vague as ever, the brutalist darkness of, say, Empires and Dance or Sister Feelings Call is missing and there are some elements of dance-music on here that veer closer to Avicii and the like, more than Burial (more's the pity). But, despite the occasionally contrived delivery, Simple Minds have eschewed the bad of the old days and stuck to what they've been good at, all along - simple, yet spirited, synth-rock epics. Big, Big Music.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
02/10/2014


 

Next reviews
ALLES • Post
KING CREOSOTE • From Scotland With Love
• THE WALKING DEAD SEASON 4
TO ROCOCO ROT • Instrument
PSY'AVIAH • The Xenogamous Endeavour
TOM THE LION • Sleep
LAKE BELL • In A World
GIUSEPPE TORNATORE • The Best Offer
VIEON • The sound of the future
BELL GARDENS • Slown Dawn For Lost Conclusions

 

Other reviews from SIMPLE MINDS
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream
SIMPLE MINDS • Sparkle In The Rain
SIMPLE MINDS • Big Music
SIMPLE MINDS • Honest Town

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POP + ROCK
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
AN PIERLE • Arches
MEILYR JONES • 2013
PORTRAIT BIZARRE • a new day
MATTHEW CHOJNACKI • Put The Needle On The Record: The 1980s At 45 R.P.M.

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

 

Same genre: ROCK
THIS CAN HURT • A Darker Shade Of Blue
THE HEAT INC. • EP
STEREOSEAT • Heavenly Creatures
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
PRINCIPE VALIENTE • Choirs of Blessed Youth
THE SLOW SHOW • DREAM DARLING
THE PRETENDERS • Alone
WAREHOUSE • Super Low
NEW MODEL ARMY • Winter

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
08
Futurepop Act, Voicecoil Reflects On Strange Days With New Album
14
08
Darkwave Duo, Male Tears Addresses Nightlife Hypocrisy & Abuse With New Single
10
08
Today, it’s exactly 35 years ago Nitzer Ebb released Join In The Chant!
09
08
Electronic Band She 1 - Him 2 Addresses Breaking Free With New Single
08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

17
08
SISTERS OF MERCY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
17
08
THE MISSION
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
SCHANDMAUL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
ROTERSAND
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
VNV NATION CLASSICAL
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim
16
08
COMBICHRIST
Mera Luna Festival Hildesheim

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

19
08
THE DEVIL & THE UNIVERSE
Kali's Tongue
18
08
CASPIAN
Arcs of Command
17
08
FIELDS OF THE NEPHILIM
Moonchild
16
08
0KONTROL
Lullaby
15
08
AUSTRA
Utopia
14
08
THE SMITHS
There Is A Light That Never Goes Out
13
08
DRAB MAJESTY
39 By Design