tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

23/11/2014 : SIMPLE MINDS - Big Music

SIMPLE MINDS

Big Music

MusicCD
New wavePop

[75/100]   

Caroline International
23/11/2014, Wim GUILLEMYN

EN

Some might frown. A Simple Minds review? It was not very hip to say you liked them in the past years. And yet, Simple Minds were part of the New Wave scene. I remember as a 16 year old going to my first black party where Theme From The Great Cities was played among Siouxsie and The Sisters of Mercy. After their worldwide hit Don’t You they seemed a total different band: mainstream, big gestures... especially after their disappointing Once Upon A Time and the following (weak) albums. The departure of keyboard player MacNeil was surely felt.

Since their album Cry there was a notable improvement. The quality of the songs was better, and every album was simply getting better. They continue the trend with this album, which comes close to their work before Once Upon A Time

Opener Blindfolded is a lovely song: beautiful synths and Charlie Burchill's delicious crunching guitar. A song that lingers in your head. Mind Night Walking and Honest Town are also good, with Jim Kerr in good shape. Human has a great melody and chorus, while Let The Day Begin starts with a beautiful synth line. The nice guitar riff halfway the song makes it complete. Imagination and Broken Glass Park are decent tracks too. Burchill's guitar parts are top notch and the synths sound right. Sometimes you hear echoes of their older work, but everything is done in a modern way. And it suits them.

Is it all good? No. Some songs are burdened by too much grandeur or pathetic texts, such as the title track Big Music or Blood Diamonds.

It must be said that since their 5x5 live tour, where they played five songs from each of their first five albums, they showed to be back. Especially Jim Kerr's voice was not always very reliable and the older songs were sometimes unrecognizable.

So, not as good as Empire and Dance, Songs And Fascination or New Gold Dream, but nonetheless a good album they can be proud of.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2014


NL

Sommigen zullen misschien hun wenkbrauwen fronsen. Een review over de Simple Minds? De laatste decennia was het niet erg hip om te zeggen dat je graag naar ze luisterde. Nochtans maakten ze in een ver verleden deel uit van de newwavescène. Ik herinner mij als 16-jarige mijn eerste “zwarte” fuif waar hun Theme For The Great Cities tussen Siouxsie en The Sisters Of Mercy werd gedraaid. Na hun wereldhit Don’ t you werd het als het ware een andere groep (mainstream of hun grote gebaren), en zeker na hun teleurstellende Once Upon A Time en de matige tot heel zwakke albums die daarop volgden. Het vertrek van keyboardspeler MacNeil was inderdaad voelbaar.

Sedert hun album Cry is er beterschap merkbaar. De kwaliteit van de songs op die plaat is nogal wisselvallig, maar met elk album kwam daar verbetering in. Die trend zetten ze met deze cd voort, want Big Music sluit kwalitatief aan bij hun werk vóór Once Upon A Time. Vandaar deze bespreking…

De opener Blindfolded is een heerlijke song: mooie synths en de prachtig knarsende gitaar van Charlie Burchill. Een nummer dat in je hoofd blijft hangen. Ook Mindnight Walking en Honest Town zijn goeie nummers waarin alles klopt en die Jim Kerr fijn zingt. Human heeft een melodie/refrein dat er precies al altijd was. Let The Day Begin begint met een mooie synthlijn. De mooie gitaarriff halfweg, maakt de song compleet. Ook Imagination en Broken Glass Park zijn degelijke songs. Het spelplezier lijkt er bij momenten af te spatten. De gitaarpartijen van Burchill zijn top en de synths zijn op hun plaats. Soms hoor je echo’s die je aan het oudere werk laten denken, toch zit alles in een modern jasje. En dat jasje staat hen.

Is het dan allemaal goed? Nee, dat nu ook weer niet. Enkele songs gaan gebukt onder teveel grootsheid of veel te pathetische teksten, zoals het titelnummer Big Music bijv. of Blood Diamonds. De aard van het beestje, zeker… Kerr's stem komt toch het best van al tot zijn recht als hij wat ingetogener zingt. Het moet worden gezegd dat sedert hun 5x5 live tour, waarop ze 5 nummers uit elk van hun eerste vijf albums speelden, aantoonden dat ze er live weer stonden, wat rond de eeuwwisseling niet altijd het geval was. Met name de stem van Jim Kerr was live niet altijd erg betrouwbaar en oudere nummers waren soms gewoon onherkenbaar.

Zo donker en spannend als ten tijde van Empire And Dance, Songs And Fascination of New Gold Dream is het niet. Maar het is al bij al een goed album waarop ze trots mogen zijn.

Wim GUILLEMYN
23/11/2014


 

Next reviews
WILLIAM FRIEDKIN • To Live And Die In LA
CLARK • Clark
MARTIN ASTON • Facing The Other Way, The Story Of 4-AD
JEAN-JACQUES ANNAUD • Coup De Tête
FRANCIS LAWRENCE • The Hunger Games: Mockingjay - Part 1
SLEEPING PULSE • Under The Same Sky
WINTERKÄLTE • Maschinenfest Tracks 1999-2014
• Ray Donovan Season 1
TOBE HOOPER • The Texas Chainsaw Massacre
AUTOMAT • Automat

 

Other reviews from SIMPLE MINDS
SIMPLE MINDS • Walk Between Worlds
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream '81 '82 '83 '84
SIMPLE MINDS • Brussels, Vorst Nationaal (14/11/2015)
SIMPLE MINDS • Antwerp, Lotto Arena (15/11/2015)
SIMPLE MINDS • New Gold Dream
SIMPLE MINDS • Sparkle In The Rain
SIMPLE MINDS • Honest Town
SIMPLE MINDS • Big Music

 

Same combination of genres: NEW WAVE + POP
TYCHO BRAHE • Triplex [Complete]
BOOTBLACKS • Veins
CLAUDIA BRUCKEN • Combined
AN PIERLE • Arches
MEILYR JONES • 2013
NOVASTORM • Bad Taste
LUSTS • Illuminations
KIM WILDE • Kim Wilde
VARIOUS ARISTS • Quattroannidiversi
PROPAGANDA • Noise And Girls Come Out To Play

 

Same genre: NEW WAVE
BALVANERA • Courses of Action
DIRK DA DAVO • The Unreal
ADULT. • Becoming Undone
MICHAEL ZODOROZNY • Other Side
DIRK DA DAVO • King Of Fools
DE DELVERS • Hart in neonlicht
CAWATANA • In The Silver Light (7')
SHE HATES EMOTIONS • See The Light (Single)
HYSTÉRIE • Deuil
DAGEIST • Sexy

 

Same genre: POP
LAPECHE • Blood In The Water
DEZ MONA & B.O.X • LUCY
MONICA RICHARDS & ANTHONY JONES • AESTUARIUM
LISA MORGENSTERN • Chameleon
PARRALOX • Subculture
FORMER BULLIES • Stranger
NINE MILLION WITCHES • The Rapture
AGNES OBEL • Citizen Of Glass
NOSOUND • Scintilla
GRACE JONES • Warm Leatherette

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'
05
08
Darkwave Duo Sever The Servants Drop Apocalyptic Debut LP

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
ROME
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)
02
08
DIE KRUPPS
Goldfinger
01
08
ZARDONIC
Revelation