tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd review

20/11/2014 : AUTOMAT - Automat

AUTOMAT

Automat

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimental

[70/100]   

Bureau B
20/11/2014, Paul PLEDGER

With a guest-star role-call that includes Lydia Lunch, Genesis Breyer P-Orridge and Blixa Bargeld, you'd be forgiven for thinking that Automat's self-titled project would comprise ear-splitting experimentalism and hard-hitting lyrics. Sure, with members of Einsturzende Neubaten and Die Haut in permanent attendance you'd expect a bit of electronic argy-bargy but, to be fair, Automat is more subtle than expected. It's also not your typical Bureau B album - by crikey, there are dance-beats akimbo!

The three key guests provide an interesting array of husky utterances, drawled passages and verbal diversions while the remaining mainstays churn out some ball-banging beats and dubbed up decadence from another era. This is the '90s era when the likes of Meat Beat Manifesto frightened hi-fi's with throbbing basslines, the '80s period when Jah Wobble was well and truly leaving behind his PiL roots and the '70s decade when Can became prog-rock's punks.

It is also 2014 and all the above genres converge on the hypnotic SXF and thunderous opener THF, as well as Bargeld's Am Schlachtensee. In short, Automat have created something out of very little - small melodies gradually blossom into fully-grown epics and thus cement the reputations of all concerned, rather triumphantly. Whilst there aren't any songs as such, Automat craft a rather morish groove that chugs and sputters rather appealingly.

This review also appeared on Flipside Reviews

Paul PLEDGER
20/11/2014


 

Next reviews
JONI MITCHELL • Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced
SCOTT WALKER AND SUN 0))) • Soused
PATRICK HUGHES • The Expendables 3
XARAH DION • Le Mal Nécessaire
GRACE JONES • Nightclubbing (Reissue)
VELVET ACID CHRIST • Subconscious Landscapes
ATE DE JONG • Deadly Virtues
TUXEDOMOON • CLASSICS: At Twilight
HAYAO MIYAZAKI • The Wind Rises
NZ • Agressions

 

Other reviews from AUTOMAT
AUTOMAT • OstWest

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN • 40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma

Music reviews

28
07
WULF7
I don't want (Anymore)
06
07
TRAGIC IMPULSE
Distant Worlds
04
07
RAMMSTEIN
Zeit
27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

08
08
32 years of Head/Down with MOEV
07
08
Neo-Fanfare/Darkwave Band, Crooniek Reflects On The Concept Of Time With New Album
06
08
Post-Punk Artist Daniel Ouellette Brings Life To A Haunted House With New Album
05
08
Industrial bass artist SINthetik Messiah addresses violence in The Vatican with new single
05
08
NOISE UNIT is back in full force!
05
08
Industrial artist, Nuda addresses past trauma & mental illness with 'Trigger'

Concert reviews

05
07
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
40 Years Einsturzende Neubauten at Ancienne Belgique - Brussels - B (20+21.06.2022)
14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

05
08
MOTOR!K
I have to admit that I often still find it strange and difficult to grasp: people going crazy on three weirdos playing some repetitive music
12
07
FERALIA PLANITIA & DAS AUGE
'Thanks to our overlapping tastes in music, we became good friends; music was our cement, sort of speak…'
18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.

PHOTOS

08
08
NEW MODEL ARMY
Rockfabrik Uebach-Palenberg
05
08
RAMMSTEIN
Park De Nieuwe Koers Oostende
02
08
SHE PAST AWAY
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
FROZEN PLASMA
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MONO INC.
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
[:SITD:]
Amphi Festival Keulen
02
08
MESH
Amphi Festival Keulen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

09
08
WE NEVER MET
Come Play With Fire
08
08
ROSARUBEA
Window Pain
07
08
CREMATORY
Haus Mit Garten
06
08
K-X-P
Space Precious Time
05
08
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
04
08
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
03
08
THE CURE
A Forest (Live in Paris 1979)