tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

11/12/2016 : LINGOUF - Quatuor Solitaire

LINGOUF

Quatuor Solitaire

MusicCD
ElectronicsExperimental

[85/100]   

Ant-Zen
11/12/2016, Peter HESELMANS

EN

The Frenchman Vincent Lagouf remains very active on the Ant-Zen label. This is already his tenth cd since he joined this German label in 2008. Complex sounds and influences are skillfully distilled in his own world and environment.

Special about this release is that samples, acoustic instruments and vocals were omitted, so the synthesizer is the only sound source. Each track was recorded in four parts and is therefore an integral part of the concept of this CD. The four fundamental elements are fire, water, wind and air. Each song is a musical journey and although we still catalogue this CD as experimental and industrial, most songs aime at a broader audience than his past work.

Opener Sans Voix starts slowly. The atmospheric electronic tones are joined by bombastic beats. Creaking rhythms and dark atmospheric sounds give us an idea of the changing moods and feelings of this artist.

The conceptual tour continues with Voie Sans Mots: slowly accumulating electronics with amazing twists and atmospheric monotone sounds, without the really heavy experimental sounds that this artist is known for.

We hear dark depressive sounds on Coeur Au Core, and again, those great twists of sound and color, a wonderful versatility on each song, a true tour through the electronic fantasies of Vincent.

On Corps De Maux we even hear some metallic electro sounds, joined by distorted and brutal sounding synthesisers. Former releases often sounded like a tsunami of sounds with little variety, but on this album each song is an electronic mixture.

The same strategy on Choeur De Pas Sages, with a beautiful arangement of sounds. The danceable dark passages would certainly make some of us move in a dark alternative club.

The seven powerful tracks on this release are an example of variable and creative electronic music, ranging from dreamy atmospheres, mighty bass lines, obscure sounds and even danceable electronoise. They have much to tell and never get boring. Discover the wonderful new sounds and atmospheres on the new Lingouf album!

Peter HESELMANS
11/12/2016

https://ant-zen.bandcamp.com/album/quatuor-solitaire

NL

De Fransman Vincent Lagouf blijft zeer actief op het label Ant-Zen. Dit is alweer zijn tiende cd sinds hij in 2008 bij het Duitse label tekende. Complexe geluiden en invloeden worden door deze artiest vakkundig gedistilleerd uit zijn eigen leefwereld. Speciaal aan deze release is dat samples, akoestische instrumenten en zang zijn weggelaten en vervangen door synthesizers. Elke track is in vier delen opgenomen en is bijgevolg een integraal onderdeel van het concept achter deze cd. De vier fundamentele elementen du: vuur, water, wind en lucht.

Elke song is een muzikale reis op zich, en alhoewel we deze cd nog steeds cattegoriseren als experimenteel en industrieel, zijn de meeste songs meer dan zijn vroegere werk geschikt voor een ruimer publiek.

Opener Sans Voix komt traagjes op gang: sfeervolle elektronische tonen die voorzichtig weerklinken tot de bombastische beats toeslaan. Krakende ritmes en donkere atmosferische geluiden geven een gevoel van de wisselende gemoedstoestanden van deze artiest

De conceptuele excursie gaat voort met Voie Sans Mots: intieme, langzaam opgebouwde elektronica met verbazende wendingen en atmosferische monotone geluiden, zonder dat het echt zwaar experimenteel klinkt. Donkere depressieve klanken horen we in Coeur Au Core, maar ook hier weer die fantastische wendingen van klank en kleur. Wonderlijke veelzijdigheid in elke song, een excursie doorheen de elektronische fantasieën van Vincent. In Corps de Maux worden we halverwege zelfs verrast met metaalachtige elektrogeluiden, distortie en brutaal klinkende synthesizers.

In vroegere releases werd je vaak bedolven door een tsunami van geluid met weinig afwisseling, op dit album biedt elke song de nodige verscheidenheid. In Haut Choeur De Pas Sages wisselen zelfs hippe vrolijke tonen af met dansbare donkere passages die niet zouden misstaan in een alternatieve donkere club.

De rest van de songs op deze cd is op dezelfde leest geschoeid qua opbouw. Het zijn zeven krachtige tracks met variabele en creatieve electronica, gaande van sfeervolle en dromerige stemmingen, machtige baslijnen en obscure klanken tot dansbare elektronoise. Ze hebben heel wat te vertellen en vervelen nooit. Heerlijk om steeds weer nieuwe geluiden en stemmingen te ontdekken op deze tot nu toe meest toegankelijke release van deze artiest.

Peter HESELMANS
11/12/2016

https://ant-zen.bandcamp.com/album/quatuor-solitaire

 

Next reviews
PIXIES • Head Carrier
THE SECOND WAVE • Various Artists
LAURENT DOUMONT QUARTET • Mechelen, Jazzzolder (23/09/2016)
LOTUS THIEF • Gramarye
THE AGONIST • Five
SWAN DEATH • Dendermonde, Mina's Irish Pub (24/09/2016)
BRUNO BAVOTA • Out Of The Blue
HIDDEN PLACE • Nero Schwarz (Collezione)
WOLVERINE • Machina Viva
WINTER DUST • Thresholds

 

Other reviews from LINGOUF
LINGOUF • Oeuvre au Noir
LINGOUF • Frequences Sensibles
LINGOUF • Terre De Pierres
LINGOUF • Doéme

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
CHRIS WATSON • Locations Processed
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
SONIC AREA • Eyes In The Sky
BIG HARE • Hasyayoga
ANNA MEREDITH • Varmints

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes
YOU, VICIOUS! • You, Vicious!
HATCHLING • Alpha
WE ARE THE WAY FOR THE COSMOS TO KNOW ITSELF • Flashbacks
FERAL BODY • Chain Ritual
ORNAMENTI D'ORO • Mater Tenebrarum
VIKTOR KALIMA • Club Muscle
THE ART OF NOISE • In Visible Silence
KRAFTWERK • 3-D Catalogue

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
HA:PEOPLE 355 • One Bear, Two Bicycles And One Xylophone
ABYSS X • Pleasures Of The Bull
MIRLAND/LARSEN • Disturbia
PARADE GROUND • Sanctuary
BRAND NEW • Science Fiction
THE PHYSICS HOUSE BAND • Mercury Fountain
HAUSCHKA • Live in the AB, Brussels | 07.04.2017
DANIELLE DE PICCIOTTO & ALEXANDER HACKE • Perseverantia
LILIUM SOVA • Lost Between Mounts and Dales/Set Adrift in the Flood of People

Music reviews

15
02
QUAL
Cyber Care
14
02
0KONTROL
3RDEYE2NDHAND
12
02
LIEBKNECHT
ICE over Erfurt
11
02
THE SPECIALS
Encore
02
02
PRINCIPE VALIENTE
Choirs of Blessed Youth
20
01
DEAD HIGH WIRE
Pray for us

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

15
02
This month it’s been 23 years since Ministry released their cover version of Bob Dylan’s ‘Lay Lady Lay’!
15
02
This February, it's 32 years since Kraftwerk released 'The Telephone Call / Der Telefon-Anruf'.
14
02
One year ago Peek-a-Boo and Black Easter founder Ward De Prins passed away...
14
02
Today, exactly 40 years ago, John Peel broadcast the first Peel Sessions, performed by Joy Division
13
02
In The Light | Happy Birthday Peter Hook!
12
02
Producer/composer Phil Western (Download/PlatEAU/...) passed way on Saturday 9 February.

Concert reviews

15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard
06
01
RITUAL SERVICE, MOTHER WITCH AND & DEAD WATER GHOSTS AND GOOSLA
Live at The Volume Club, Kiev, 7th December 2018
16
11
HEILUNG
Live at The Islington Assembly Hall
06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

15
02
MORTAJA
It Always Has Been My Dream And I'm Enjoying It A Lot
13
02
MONICA RICHARDS
I always felt out of step with the Modern world, ever since I was a child, I do even more so now.
09
02
SIMON SCOTT (SLOWDIVE)
'We've always wanted to have a say in our production.'
07
02
GOETHES ERBEN
Goethes Erben: Strangely enough, those who cry the loudest are not those who drown during their flight
01
02
WAYNE HUSSEY
'I think for every action there is a reaction.'

PHOTOS

10
02
LORDS OF ACID
YAP Leopoldsburg
20
12
COVENANT
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
LEAETHER STRIP
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
AGENT SIDE GRINDER
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
GERTRUD STEIN
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
NZ
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium
20
12
STAHLR
BIMFest XVII, De Casino, Sint-Niklaas, Belgium

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

16
02
WULFBAND
Gewalt!
15
02
UNDERVIEWER
Nobody But You (Redux)
14
02
CLAN OF XYMOX
Obsession
13
02
CROONA
Bleed For Me (Official Video Mix)
12
02
COMBICHRIST
My Life My Rules
11
02
SLOVENSKA TELEVIZA
Muskiz
11
02
ALVAR
The Fluid