tempobet yeni adresi
like this cd / vinyl review

19/10/2018 : CHRIS WATSON - Locations Processed

CHRIS WATSON

Locations Processed

MusicCD / Vinyl
ElectronicsExperimental

[80/100]   
19/10/2018, Paul PLEDGER

Now considered a veteran of sound and field recording, Chris Watson's commercial past began with Sheffield noise-engineers Cabaret Voltaire in the early '70s, before a spell in local TV and the later founding of sound-collage outfit The Hafler Trio. He is now renowned for his pin-sharp soundwork for many a David Attenborough documentary.

For Locations Processed, he revisits the Moog Sound Lab's System 55 machines, coaxes some otherwordly entity out of them and drops in layers of field-recordings for good measure. Watson's ability to record the mundane and transform it into a thrill is unprecedented - one run-through on headphones of Grand Central Terminal and Rockefeller Centre demonstrates this skill to ear-teasing effect. Central Park offers a fly-on-the-wall insight into the everyday bustle of New Yorks verdant centrepiece, while Times Square sounds as confused, exciting and gritty as you'd expect.

Virtually music free, save for the melody of the natural and man-made babble within its grooves, Locations Processed is as far removed as his celebrated Tweet Of The Day series as you could wish to get.

Paul PLEDGER
19/10/2018


 

Next reviews
COLE VARGAS • Cole Vargas
DAVID BOWIE • Low, Heroes, Lodger
ALVAR • I Sew A Blanket Of All The Broken Clouds
BAUHAUS • Bela Lugosi’s Dead
VLIMMER • Angststand
VENTENNER • Killing Jar
GOO MUNDAY • Goo Munday
TRAGEDY OF MINE • Tenebris
THE VELVET UNDERGROUND • White Light/White Heat
T-ERROR MACHINEZ • The War Of The Valkyries (Reworked)

 

Other reviews from CHRIS WATSON
CHRIS WATSON • El Tren Fantasma

 

Same combination of genres: ELECTRONICS + EXPERIMENTAL
DEAR DEER / EMBERS • Split
PAS MUSIQUE • The Phoenix
THE TEAR GARDEN • The Brown Acid Caveat
LINGOUF • Quatuor Solitaire
GROUP A • 70 + a =
DENEUVE • Ugly
MATMOS • Hasselt, Kunstencentrum België (11/06/2016)
SCANNER & ANNI HOGAN • Scanni
DENNIS YOUNG • WAVE/Electronic Music 1984-1988
SONIC AREA • Eyes In The Sky

 

Same genre: ELECTRONICS
PORTION CONTROL • SEED EP3
WULF7 • Dark Hate
FIRST • Restless
VARIOUS ARTISTS • PERIHELION 2134
GHOSTING • The Flanders EP
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA • Mesmeranto
STATIQBLOOM • Asphyxia
MECHANIMAL • White Flag Single
RADIOAKTIVISTS • Radioakt One
METROLAND • Memorabilia & Memorabilia The Remixes

 

Same genre: EXPERIMENTAL
ANALFABETISM • Rotvälta
JESU • When I Was Small
ALSO • Live in Celovec
LUKE LUND • Hopium
YATES AND YOUNG • Splinters Ep
NICK CAVE AND THE BAD SEEDS • Ghosteen (Ghosteen/Bad Seed Ltd.)
SIX HANDS // A-TOTA-SO • Bromance EP
I AM A ROCKETSHIP • Mind Grafitti
FRONT LINE ASSEMBLY • Wake Up The Coma
HACKEDEPICCIOTTO • Menetekel

Music reviews

27
06
BALVANERA
Courses of Action
14
06
TERMINAL SERIOUS
Gift For You
10
06
SAMHAIN
Experiment
09
06
CELESTIAL NORTH
When The Gods Dance
12
05
SHE HATES EMOTIONS
Space and time
11
05
THIS CAN HURT
A Darker Shade Of Blue

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

28
06
Ayria releases new single Irreplaceable on Artoffact Records
28
06
The Number H Explores Loss & Regret With New EP, 'The Conditioning'
16
06
44 years ago Suicide performed their legendary '23 minutes over Brussels'!
15
06
Roobanok: new talent on SkyQode
15
06
Today it’s exactly 43 years ago since Joy Division released their debut studio album Unknown Pleasures (15 June 1979).
14
06
Industrial band, The Royal Ritual addresses organized religion ethics with debut LP, /Martyrs/

Concert reviews

14
06
WULF7 + THE JUGGERNAUTS
11/06/2022 - LIVE AT THE BAROCK - BRUGGE
14
06
'N TALES, INTERZONE, GROUND NERO
At B52 Club Eeernegem
24
05
STAATSEINDE
Staatseinde live @Kinky Star - 14 mei 2022
13
05
WUK
A try-out that became a book...
21
10
NICK CAVE
Nick Cave & Warren Ellis - 2021 Tour - Stadsschouwburg, Antwerp- 20/10/2021

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

18
05
PUSSY RIOT
Unfortunately, everyone only understood what Putin is like when he started a war in Ukraine.
18
05
HAGAR THE WOMB
Now we know the audience will help us out when we forget the lyrics.
18
05
HETZE
We all work with homeless people on a daily basis and we try to be actively involved in their struggle.
20
04
NINO SABLE
I am not a friend of boxed content...
13
04
ECHO ROAD
'There was no easy way or any shortcut to be taken in terms of producing something truly representative of the human experience. We simply had to ‘just do it'.'

PHOTOS

27
06
THE MISSION
Live am See Meschede Germany
23
06
THE JESUS & MARY CHAIN
Trix Antwerpen
22
06
MONROE SUPPORT ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
22
06
ALICE COOPER
Mitsubishi Electric Halle Düsseldorf
21
06
EINSTURZENDE NEUBAUTEN
AB Brussel
19
06
GARY NUMAN
New Waves Day Oberhausen
19
06
PINK TURNS BLUE
New Waves Day Oberhausen

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

28
06
GUS GUS
Deep Inside
27
06
MOTOR!K
Stunden (Official Visualizer)
27
06
SEA OF SIN
Synchronize
27
06
MERCIFUL NUNS
Lightwaves
26
06
AMBASSADOR21
FUCKALLSYSTEMS
25
06
CIRCLE OF DUST
Outside In
24
06
LUH
Beneath The Concrete