tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/11/2014 : JONI MITCHELL - Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced

JONI MITCHELL

Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[85/100]   
20/11/2014, William LIÉNARD

EN

Since 2007 (Shine), no new music by American singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell was released and the chance of that ever happening again is small given her distaste for anything to do with the music industry. The now 71-year-old Canadian artist - but for decades living in L.A., California – has accepted to make a thematic overview of her career and the fans will not be surprised that the material is grouped around the theme of love, which Mitchell searched her whole life and rarely found. But just as poverty inspired Vincent van Gogh to create great paintings, the lack of love inspired Joni Mitchell to write unique and impressive compositions, spread over some 19 albums in the past 45 years. From Song to a Seagull (1968) to Shine (2007): all that matters is love.

The brand new four-part CD box Love Has Many Faces: a Quartet, a Ballet, Waiting to be Danced was originally conceived as a ballet about love (on one disk), but that idea was quickly abandoned when it proved impossible to reach that goal with a handful of songs. I wanted the music to feel like a total work, a new work, Joni Mitchell writes in the liner notes of the set, but no matter what I did, at that length, it remained merely a collection of songs. However, Joni Mitchell is a go-getter, always been, and two years later her four-part ballet, based on 53 of her songs, was ready. I am a painter who writes songs, she writes, my songs are very visual. The words create scenes... What I have done here is to gather some of these scenes (like a documentary filmmaker) and by juxtaposition, edit them into a whole new work.

The music is organized into different thematic acts, which allow her songs to interact with one another in a whole new way. The process, she says, was a lot like making a film. I had forty years of footage to review. Then, suddenly, scenes began to hook up. Then series began to form. Instead of it being an emotional roller coaster ride as it was before - crammed into one disc - themes began to develop. Moods sustained. I was getting there... When this long editorial process (two years) finally came to rest, I had four ballets or a four-act ballet - a quartet. I also had a box set.

The oeuvre of Joni Mitchell was given a digital upgrade for this release (the albums up to Blue had already been technically upgraded before), and discloses details that were hardly audible on previous records. The songs sound familiar and fresh and the new arrangements often provide a new meaning. Whether that 's important depends on your personal appreciation, but for new fans it might be the start of a fascinating journey through a unique, harmonious and innovative oeuvre, achieved with the help of great artists from the rock and jazz music world.

The package is a book containing 53 lyrical poems, six new paintings, and an autobiographical text illuminating her recording process.

Joni Mitchell, Love Has Many Faces : a Quartet, a Ballet, Danced Waiting is available on Rhino.

 

Disk/disc 1:
· In France They Kiss On Main Street
· Ray's Dad's Cadillac
· You Turn Me On I'm A Radio
· Harlem In Havana
· Car On a Hill
· Dancin’ Clown
· River
· Chinese Cafe/Unchained Melody
· Harry's House/Centerpiece
· Shades of Scarlett Conquering
· Number One
· The Windfall (Everything For Nothing)
·Come In From the Cold

Disk/disc 2:
· Court and Spark
· No Apologie
· Trouble Child
· Not to Blame
· Nothing Can Be Done
· Comes Love
· Moon At the Window
· Blue
· Tax Free
· The Wolf That Lives In Lindsey
· Hana
· Hejira
· Stay In Touch
· Night Ride Home

Disk/disc 3:
· You're My Thrill
· The Crazy Cries of Love
· Love Puts On a New Face
· Borderline
· A Strange Boy
· You Dream Flat Tires
· Love
· All I Want
· Be Cool
· Yvette In English
· Just Like This Train
· Carey

Disk/disc 4:
· Don Juan's Reckless Daughter
· Two Grey Rooms
· God Must Be a Boogie Man
· Down To You
· A Case of You
· The Last Time I Saw Richard
· Raised on Robbery
· Sweet Sucker Dance
· Lakota
· Cool Water
· Amelia
· Both Sides Now
· My Best To You

 

 

William LIÉNARD
20/11/2014


NL

Sinds 2007 (Shine) is er geen nieuw werk van de Amerikaanse singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell verschenen en de kans dat dat nog ooit gebeurt is klein gezien haar afkeer voor alles wat met de muziekindustrie te maken heeft. De inmiddels 71-jarige Canadese – maar sinds decennia woonachtig in L.A., California - heeft zich inmiddels laten verleiden tot het samenstellen van een thematische overzicht van haar carrière en het zal de fans niet verbazen dat het materiaal gegroepeerd is rondom het thema liefde, die Mitchell haar hele leven heeft gezocht en naar eigen zeggen zelden gevonden. Maar net zoals ontbering Vincent van Gogh tot grote artistieke prestaties dreef, zo heeft alles wat met liefde te maken heeft Joni Mitchell tot unieke en indrukwekkende composities gedreven die ze in de voorbije 45 jaar over zo’n 19 albums heeft uitgesmeerd. Van Song to a Seagull (1968) tot Shine (2007): het enige wat telt is liefde.

De gloednieuwe vierdelige cd-box Love Has Many Faces: a Quartet, a Ballet, Waiting to be Danced was oorspronkelijk geconcipieerd als een ballet over de liefde (op één disk), maar dat idee werd snel verlaten toen het onmogelijk bleek om met een handvol songs het doel te bereiken. Ik wilde dat de verzameling als een nieuw werk klonk, zegt Joni Mitchell in de hoestekst, maar wat ik ook deed, op het einde was het niet meer dan een verzameling liedjes. Joni Mitchell is evenwel een doorzetter, altijd geweest overigens, en twee jaar later was haar vierdelige ballet, gebaseerd op 53 van haar songs, klaar. Ik ben een schilder die liedjes schrijft, zegt ze over de selectie op de vier disks, ze zijn zeer visueel. De woorden creëren scènes… en sommige van die scènes heb ik hier verzameld (zoals een documentairemaker) en via nevenschikking is dan een totaal nieuw werk ontstaan.

De artieste heeft vier thema’s gekozen en de songs zijn zo gerangschikt dat er sprake is van een nieuwe interactie. Het was een beetje zoals tijdens het maken van een film, zegt ze, ik had 40 jaar footage ter beschikking en na verloop van tijd vormden er zich aaneengesloten scènes en vervolgens thema’s met een zeer eigen sfeer. Toen het proces achter de rug was had ik vier balletten of een ballet in vier acts, een kwartet. Ik had een boxset.

Voor deze release heeft het hele oeuvre van Joni Mitchell een digitale upgrade gekregen (de albums tot en met Blue waren al eerder technisch opgewaardeerd) waardoor het materiaal details prijsgeeft die op eerdere releases niet of nauwelijks hoorbaar waren. De songs klinken bekend en fris en in de nieuwe rangschikking krijgen ze vaak een heel nieuwe betekenis. Of u dat belangrijk vindt hangt van uw persoonlijke appreciatie af, maar voor nieuwe fans is het wellicht de start van een boeiende reis door een zeer apart, harmonisch en innovatief oeuvre waaraan een hele rij grote artiesten uit de rock- en jazzmuziek hun medewerking hebben geleverd.

De uitgave is een boek waarin de 53 songteksten zijn afgedrukt, samen met afbeeldingen van 6 nieuwe schilderijen en een autobiografische tekst.

Joni Mitchell, Love Has Many Faces: a Quartet, a Ballet, Waiting to be Danced verschijnt op Rhino.

William LIÉNARD
20/11/2014


Music reviews

18
10
NEW MODEL ARMY
From Here
18
10
RIDE
This Is Not a Safe Place
17
10
THE BLACKHEART ORCHESTRA
Mesmeranto
17
10
ROSE MCDOWALL AND SHAWN PINCHBECK
Far From The Apple Tree
16
10
CABARET VOLTAIRE
Chance Versus Causality
16
10
MASSIVE ATTACK
Massive Attack vs Mad Professor Part II | Mezzanine Remix Tapes

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

10
10
29 years ago Nine Inch Nails released 'Sin'
09
10
The Arch releases new album 'XII'
08
10
Eclectic Artist Addie Brik Releases New Single
07
10
YOVA - Debut Single 'Moondog' (featuring members of PJ Harvey / Grumbling Fur / Cameron Craig)
22
09
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Nine Inch Nails released Broken (EP)
21
09
Industrial/Metal Band DECENT NEWS Announces The Release Of 'Monolith'

Concert reviews

21
08
LES NEGRESSES VERTES
Live @ Moods Festival, Brugge - Belgium - 2.08.2019
07
08
DIARY OF DREAMS, STAR INDUSTRY, YOUR LIFE ON HOLD, A SLICE OF LIFE, LA SCALTRA
Summer event - za 3 augustus, Schoten
06
08
DE DELVERS, STAATSEINDE
Genste Feesten, Kinky Star , 28 juli 2019
14
07
MIDNIGHT OIL
MIDNIGHT OIL Live @ Rock Zottegem - Belgium - 05.07.2019
15
01
PALAIS IDEAL & DAGEIST
B52 - Eernegem - 16/12/2018
14
01
STAR INDUSTRY, DAGEIST, KEZDOWN
EGW- ROCK, Jeugdhuis Asgaard

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

14
10
JAMES MCGREGOR (THE CLOCKWORKS)
'Our dynamic is genuinely a gang scenario'
12
10
NEON INSECT
A Conversation With Neon Insect
11
10
ENZO KREFT
Many tracks from 'Control' are about the relationship between humans and technology and the dangerous consequences of this in the near future.
10
10
AMY STUDT
'It’ll be alright in the end and if it isn’t alright, it isn’t yet the end.'
09
10
STALINGRAD VALKYRIE
The old world will be collapsing pretty soon!

PHOTOS

06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
06
10
GROUND NERO
De Klinker Aarschot
04
10
SLAVE SEPERATION VS KNK
Fetish Café Antwerpen
04
10
LEAETHER STRIP
Fetish Café Antwerpen
22
09
WHISPERING SONS
Liege New Wave Festival
22
09
ASH CODE
Liege New Wave Festival

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

Articles

26
04
JOBRIATH
Talent To Burn - The Legend Of Jobriath
29
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: THE SPECIALS, SKA AND TWO TONE
27
03
VARIOUS ARTISTS
A BRIEF HISTORY OF: KRAUTROCK AND THE GERMAN MUSICAL REVOLUTION

VIDEO CLIPS

18
10
MONICA JEFFRIES
In Circles
17
10
AZAR SWAN
Over
16
10
ILLUMININE
For What It's Worth (Live at Sundlaugin Studio)
15
10
RYUICHI SAKAMOTO
Merry Christmas Mr Lawrence
14
10
DELERIUM
Keep on Dreaming (featuring Jaël)
13
10
SAIGON BLUE RAIN
Queen Ephemeria / live in Hamburg
12
10
THE FROZEN AUTUMN
Static Cold