tempobet yeni adresi

EN NL
like this cd review

20/11/2014 : JONI MITCHELL - Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced

JONI MITCHELL

Love Has Many Faces: A Quartet, A Ballet, Waiting To Be Danced

MusicCD
Singer Songwriter

[85/100]   
20/11/2014, William LIÉNARD

EN

Since 2007 (Shine), no new music by American singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell was released and the chance of that ever happening again is small given her distaste for anything to do with the music industry. The now 71-year-old Canadian artist - but for decades living in L.A., California – has accepted to make a thematic overview of her career and the fans will not be surprised that the material is grouped around the theme of love, which Mitchell searched her whole life and rarely found. But just as poverty inspired Vincent van Gogh to create great paintings, the lack of love inspired Joni Mitchell to write unique and impressive compositions, spread over some 19 albums in the past 45 years. From Song to a Seagull (1968) to Shine (2007): all that matters is love.

The brand new four-part CD box Love Has Many Faces: a Quartet, a Ballet, Waiting to be Danced was originally conceived as a ballet about love (on one disk), but that idea was quickly abandoned when it proved impossible to reach that goal with a handful of songs. I wanted the music to feel like a total work, a new work, Joni Mitchell writes in the liner notes of the set, but no matter what I did, at that length, it remained merely a collection of songs. However, Joni Mitchell is a go-getter, always been, and two years later her four-part ballet, based on 53 of her songs, was ready. I am a painter who writes songs, she writes, my songs are very visual. The words create scenes... What I have done here is to gather some of these scenes (like a documentary filmmaker) and by juxtaposition, edit them into a whole new work.

The music is organized into different thematic acts, which allow her songs to interact with one another in a whole new way. The process, she says, was a lot like making a film. I had forty years of footage to review. Then, suddenly, scenes began to hook up. Then series began to form. Instead of it being an emotional roller coaster ride as it was before - crammed into one disc - themes began to develop. Moods sustained. I was getting there... When this long editorial process (two years) finally came to rest, I had four ballets or a four-act ballet - a quartet. I also had a box set.

The oeuvre of Joni Mitchell was given a digital upgrade for this release (the albums up to Blue had already been technically upgraded before), and discloses details that were hardly audible on previous records. The songs sound familiar and fresh and the new arrangements often provide a new meaning. Whether that 's important depends on your personal appreciation, but for new fans it might be the start of a fascinating journey through a unique, harmonious and innovative oeuvre, achieved with the help of great artists from the rock and jazz music world.

The package is a book containing 53 lyrical poems, six new paintings, and an autobiographical text illuminating her recording process.

Joni Mitchell, Love Has Many Faces : a Quartet, a Ballet, Danced Waiting is available on Rhino.

 

Disk/disc 1:
· In France They Kiss On Main Street
· Ray's Dad's Cadillac
· You Turn Me On I'm A Radio
· Harlem In Havana
· Car On a Hill
· Dancin’ Clown
· River
· Chinese Cafe/Unchained Melody
· Harry's House/Centerpiece
· Shades of Scarlett Conquering
· Number One
· The Windfall (Everything For Nothing)
·Come In From the Cold

Disk/disc 2:
· Court and Spark
· No Apologie
· Trouble Child
· Not to Blame
· Nothing Can Be Done
· Comes Love
· Moon At the Window
· Blue
· Tax Free
· The Wolf That Lives In Lindsey
· Hana
· Hejira
· Stay In Touch
· Night Ride Home

Disk/disc 3:
· You're My Thrill
· The Crazy Cries of Love
· Love Puts On a New Face
· Borderline
· A Strange Boy
· You Dream Flat Tires
· Love
· All I Want
· Be Cool
· Yvette In English
· Just Like This Train
· Carey

Disk/disc 4:
· Don Juan's Reckless Daughter
· Two Grey Rooms
· God Must Be a Boogie Man
· Down To You
· A Case of You
· The Last Time I Saw Richard
· Raised on Robbery
· Sweet Sucker Dance
· Lakota
· Cool Water
· Amelia
· Both Sides Now
· My Best To You

 

 

William LIÉNARD
20/11/2014


NL

Sinds 2007 (Shine) is er geen nieuw werk van de Amerikaanse singer-songwriter Joni Mitchell verschenen en de kans dat dat nog ooit gebeurt is klein gezien haar afkeer voor alles wat met de muziekindustrie te maken heeft. De inmiddels 71-jarige Canadese – maar sinds decennia woonachtig in L.A., California - heeft zich inmiddels laten verleiden tot het samenstellen van een thematische overzicht van haar carrière en het zal de fans niet verbazen dat het materiaal gegroepeerd is rondom het thema liefde, die Mitchell haar hele leven heeft gezocht en naar eigen zeggen zelden gevonden. Maar net zoals ontbering Vincent van Gogh tot grote artistieke prestaties dreef, zo heeft alles wat met liefde te maken heeft Joni Mitchell tot unieke en indrukwekkende composities gedreven die ze in de voorbije 45 jaar over zo’n 19 albums heeft uitgesmeerd. Van Song to a Seagull (1968) tot Shine (2007): het enige wat telt is liefde.

De gloednieuwe vierdelige cd-box Love Has Many Faces: a Quartet, a Ballet, Waiting to be Danced was oorspronkelijk geconcipieerd als een ballet over de liefde (op één disk), maar dat idee werd snel verlaten toen het onmogelijk bleek om met een handvol songs het doel te bereiken. Ik wilde dat de verzameling als een nieuw werk klonk, zegt Joni Mitchell in de hoestekst, maar wat ik ook deed, op het einde was het niet meer dan een verzameling liedjes. Joni Mitchell is evenwel een doorzetter, altijd geweest overigens, en twee jaar later was haar vierdelige ballet, gebaseerd op 53 van haar songs, klaar. Ik ben een schilder die liedjes schrijft, zegt ze over de selectie op de vier disks, ze zijn zeer visueel. De woorden creëren scènes… en sommige van die scènes heb ik hier verzameld (zoals een documentairemaker) en via nevenschikking is dan een totaal nieuw werk ontstaan.

De artieste heeft vier thema’s gekozen en de songs zijn zo gerangschikt dat er sprake is van een nieuwe interactie. Het was een beetje zoals tijdens het maken van een film, zegt ze, ik had 40 jaar footage ter beschikking en na verloop van tijd vormden er zich aaneengesloten scènes en vervolgens thema’s met een zeer eigen sfeer. Toen het proces achter de rug was had ik vier balletten of een ballet in vier acts, een kwartet. Ik had een boxset.

Voor deze release heeft het hele oeuvre van Joni Mitchell een digitale upgrade gekregen (de albums tot en met Blue waren al eerder technisch opgewaardeerd) waardoor het materiaal details prijsgeeft die op eerdere releases niet of nauwelijks hoorbaar waren. De songs klinken bekend en fris en in de nieuwe rangschikking krijgen ze vaak een heel nieuwe betekenis. Of u dat belangrijk vindt hangt van uw persoonlijke appreciatie af, maar voor nieuwe fans is het wellicht de start van een boeiende reis door een zeer apart, harmonisch en innovatief oeuvre waaraan een hele rij grote artiesten uit de rock- en jazzmuziek hun medewerking hebben geleverd.

De uitgave is een boek waarin de 53 songteksten zijn afgedrukt, samen met afbeeldingen van 6 nieuwe schilderijen en een autobiografische tekst.

Joni Mitchell, Love Has Many Faces: a Quartet, a Ballet, Waiting to be Danced verschijnt op Rhino.

William LIÉNARD
20/11/2014


Music reviews

12
11
BEAUTY IN CHAOS
Finding Beauty In Chaos
11
11
SIOUXSIE AND THE BANSHEES
Juju
10
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
You, Vicious!
09
11
VIRGIN PRUNES
Hérésie
08
11
HATCHLING
Alpha
07
11
THURSTON MOORE WITH TOM SURGAL
Klangfarbenmelodie​.​. And The Colorist Strikes Primitiv

NEWSLETTER

Subscribe to our weekly newsletter.

NEWS

12
11
Ethereal alt-rock outfit Evi Vine presents 'Sabbath', a sweet and heavy preview of their long-awaited long-play 'Black Light White Dark'!
10
11
Today it's 32 years since Kraftwerk release Electric Café!
09
11
Today, 37 years ago, Men At Work released their debut album Business As Usual!
08
11
This month its 31 years since Canadian industrial band Front Line Assembly released their first official album, The Initial Command!
08
11
Last chance to watch 'Locating Silver Lake': Eric Bilitch's movie celebrates Texas premiere at the Lone Star Film Festival this weekend!
07
11
Today it’s been exactly 27 years since Industrial/Metal band Ministry released Jesus Built My Hotrod!

Concert reviews

06
11
INCONCESSUS LUX LUCIS
30
10
SERPENTYNE
European Tour 2018
24
09
MODELE MARTIAL - AUTOPSIE D'UNE OMBRE - IAMTHESHADOW
B52 - Eernegem - 14/09/2018
14
08
WAVE GOTIK TREFFEN
Review from WGT 2018, Leipzig, Germany
10
08
GOLDEN EARRING + THE KIDS
Live at Zulzeekse Feesten, Kluisbergen - Belgium - 28.07.2018
16
07
COVENANT W/ STONEBURNER
Live @ Ivy Smokehouse, Washington DC, 15th April 2018

GET A COPY OF OUR MAGAZINE
SEND TO YOUR HOME

INTERVIEWS

11
11
CAUSTIC
The Way America Is At The Moment I Realized I Needed To Say Some Things
09
11
MICHAEL CIRAVOLO ( BEAUTY IN CHAOS )
'Recording this album is vastly different than producing a new band. '
08
11
THE HEARTBREAKERS, THE WALDOS
'Being in a band is a way of life!'
07
11
BRIX AND THE EXTRICATED
Interview with Brix Smith-Start
05
11
GERTRUD STEIN
'La coriandre et le persil ont beau se ressembler, dans le papet Vaudois, la coriandre ça le fait moyen.'

PHOTOS

10
11
SIGLO XX
Breaking Barriers, Depot Leuven
02
11
LENE LOVICH BAND
B52 Eernegem
02
11
MORGAN KING
B52 Eernegem
02
11
KIRSTEN MORRISON
B52 Eernegem
23
10
VNV NATION + HOLYGRAM
De Casino - St. Niklaas
16
10
STIN SCATZOR
Le Garage Luik
16
10
DOGANOV
Le Garage Luik

ADVERTISE
IN PEEK-A-BOO

VIDEO CLIPS

12
11
0KONTROL
Ty Vezde (abstract remix by People Theatre)
12
11
PALAIS IDEAL
Context Collapse (official video)
11
11
DUSK
EPOKA 3000 (extended version)
10
11
PARADOX OBSCUR
Afterlife Effect (Official Video)
09
11
MEANDER
This is Meander.
08
11
BUZZ KULL
Avoiding The Light (official video)
07
11
YOU, VICIOUS!
Control Freak